Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
Buy On
  1. May 22, 2020
    90
    Maneater is a straight forward game with a novel hook (what if GTA was about a shark?) and a refusal to over complicate that idea turned it into one of the most entertaining games of the year.
  2. 85
    Maneater’s bite comes from its stunning underwater animations, comedic notes spread throughout the game, and the fact that you get to play an entire game as a goddamn shark. There simply isn’t anything else like it, even if it does follow some of the more rote open-world playbook rules when it comes to progression and collectibles. A choppy framerate in intense sequences is really one of the only things holding the experience back, but like a fisherman without a hand—or a leg—it doesn’t stop me from heading back to the open water for more. Am I still scared of sharks? Hell yeah, more than ever, but at least now I can be scares and fascinates me.
  3. 80
    Maneater mixes ferocious combat, addictive exploration and great humour into a perfectly-sized open world where you play as a murderous shark. It's the game we never knew that we needed.
  4. May 22, 2020
    80
    This is no worthy exploration of man's cruelty to the natural world, and I suspect marine biologists would have something to say about much of the science, but it's the perfect distraction from a world gone mad, and weirdly therapeutic. When you're not filling the water with blood or launching an innocent human into the air with a flick of your tail, the waters are a pretty playground, and there's always mischief to be made in the resorts, water parks, and marinas. Just don't dob me into the killer whale I sponsored when I was 12.
  5. 80
    Although it's hindered by performance issues, Maneater allows you to gleefully live out your wildest (and perhaps bloodiest) killer shark revenge fantasies. What's more, the game's dark sense of humor means you don't have to feel guilty about the carnage that ensues.
  6. 80
    An occasionally rough but always entertaining open world actioner that puts players in control of one of nature's greatest predators, Maneater is the over the top, human chomping odyssey that many of us never knew that we wanted. Until now.
  7. Jun 1, 2020
    75
    For those craving some deliciously cheesy B-movie flavor wrapped around a concise open-world core, Maneater delivers.
  8. May 27, 2020
    70
    Maneater is a game of many of many shortcomings; terrible loading screens, frightening cinematics cuts and a myriad of technical difficulties. However, the game is also extremely fun if you can overlook some of its problems.
  9. May 22, 2020
    70
    You may be tired of open world collectathons, but Maneater bites back with more than enough novelty to make the format feel as fresh as Port Clovis’ well-populated oceans. A moreish gameplay loop with a well-designed sandbox mean there’s some-fin special here, and while it makome as a surprise, not even control and performance issues will deter you from flashing your teeth.
  10. May 22, 2020
    70
    Issues aside, Maneater opportunities for shark chaos can be a lot of fun. The best parts of the game are akin to running around in a Grand Theft Auto game with a rocket launcher, indiscriminately wrecking everything you see as the cops come zooming in from all directions in a futile attempt to stop you. But instead of a guy running around with an arsenal of weapons, you're a monster shark launching itself 30 feet into the air, barrel-rolling straight through a boat, and plucking some screaming dork right off the bow for good measure. With the sharply written, hilariously delivered narration and story beats to freshen up the experience as you go along, Maneater becomes a goofy, fish-flopping romp, with a good balance of limbs to sever, boats to wreck, and challenging creatures to render into bite-sized chunks. Maneater isn't a perfect shark simulator, but it is a fun and funny one whose positive adaptations outpace its drawbacks.
  11. May 22, 2020
    70
    Maneater is a good blow-off, really fun and very pleasant to take in hand. The game from Tripwire Interactive does not take itself seriously and offers a good dose of black humor and satisfying activities. The evolution system of the shark works perfectly. Nevertheless, the game quickly becomes repetitive and its lifespan lacks generosity. Too bad because it is really nice!
  12. May 22, 2020
    70
    While Maneater has its problems, it can also be fun once you get used to the combat. However, those on the fence should wait for a patch or two before investing.
  13. May 28, 2020
    65
    Maneater's unique perspective will keep you playing for a while, though the extremely repetitive mission design and lack of gameplay depth will eventually get on your nerves. The horrible framedrops, however, are hard to forgive.
  14. May 26, 2020
    65
    Maneater is a unique and entertaining shark simulator that is pretty rough around the edges. The camera angles are impossible and there is so little variation in missions. Leaving it to be like many shark movies: funny and lots of entertainment value, but not really bringing its A game.
  15. May 24, 2020
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. May 27, 2020
    60
    Maneater is very fun to play, but there is no denying that the developers failed to break from repetitiveness. It feels exciting to play as a revenge-seeking shark, but there is also a lot of wasted potential that could have made Maneater a much better game.
  17. May 25, 2020
    60
    If the upcoming patch completely irons out the save data, framerate issues, and other technical problems then this could make for a decent bout of fun. Mindlessly chomping on fish while leveling up your shark to be even more murderous can make for an enjoyable albeit frivolous time. As of right now though, until Maneater's problems are definitively dealt with, it might be safer for players to stay out of the water.
  18. May 22, 2020
    60
    Maneater is a crazy concept come to life, Tripwire somehow managing to cobble together a silly ShaRkPG that is more than just a ten-minute novelty. There’s no denying it’s an exotic catch, but when it comes to quality open world action games, there’s plenty more fish in the sea.
  19. May 22, 2020
    60
    Maneater is an enjoyable open-world romp that is just a bit too straightforward and contains more than a handful of bugs and performance issues.
  20. May 22, 2020
    60
    The game’s campiness doesn’t extend to the shark combat, which flounders as a result of it mostly hinging on button-mashing.
  21. May 22, 2020
    60
    If you’re after a big dumb shark game, Maneater will scratch that itch. The quality of the gameplay and some of its RPG mechanics might make you wish there was some more depth and variety to it all though.
  22. May 22, 2020
    60
    Maneater isn’t exactly Jaws, but it isn’t Sharknado either. Crunching up hapless beachgoers and exploring underwater wonders is fun, even if the game’s bite is often blunted by clunky controls, repetitive missions, and a myriad of technical issues. Proceed with caution, but if you’re into sharks and can keep your expectations in check, Maneater’s treacherous waters may be worth wading into.
  23. May 26, 2020
    50
    At $40, plenty will find Maneater provides the silly escapism that many are looking for right now. It has the humor and the charm, and it truly indulges the concept of a massive shark terrorizing the land and sea. But a disappointing mission structure, performance struggles on console, and a lack of variety keep the game from being a breakout hit.
  24. May 22, 2020
    45
    I expected little more than a Deep Blue Sea, but it turned into The Meg pretty quickly, ultimately resulting in a Jaws: The Revenge that ate my savegame. Don't be temped by the prospect of being a sea predator; deep in your heart you know it's not going to be as much fun as you hope it will be.
  25. May 26, 2020
    40
    Don't get us wrong, watching your shark grow from a "toddler" to a "megalodon with bone fins and electric teeth" is a sight to behold, but it ultimately doesn't feel worth the repetitive hours that one has to put in, to say nothing of the game-crashing glitches you may encounter along the way as we did. The idea of playing as a giant shark is a good one, but Maneater just isn't able to capitalize on it.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 69
  2. Negative: 16 out of 69
  1. May 22, 2020
    10
    good game...great story and gameplay.good work tripwire interactive.amazing game ...oh,.and we need killing floor 3 soon pls.
  2. May 29, 2020
    0
    PS4 PRO version is unplayable right now. The console is regularly overheating and the fan noise is simply unbearable. (I have cleaned it lastPS4 PRO version is unplayable right now. The console is regularly overheating and the fan noise is simply unbearable. (I have cleaned it last week and i haven't encountered this issue with my other games)

    Otherwise the game seems fun at first sight, but after 2 hours the gameplay loop is already looking pretty repetitive. Also, i think $40 is way overpriced for this kind of little game.

    IMO game worth a 6/10 so far, but i put a 0 until they fix this overheating issue.

    EDIT 05/29/20 : I wanted to play a little more today, but my save has just disappeared...
    Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2020
    0
    Came back to play after a long week of work to play and all my progress was deleted. Not worth 40 bucks.