User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 908 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2019
    5
    Metro Exodus is a very average experience. It hasn't pushed into a new realm of innovation. This game feels old, mostly due to the predictable development of the story, when you think something may happen, it does every single time. Their is a massive lack of imagination with the crafting of the core game play, the way in which you interact with objects feels 15-20 years old. One ofMetro Exodus is a very average experience. It hasn't pushed into a new realm of innovation. This game feels old, mostly due to the predictable development of the story, when you think something may happen, it does every single time. Their is a massive lack of imagination with the crafting of the core game play, the way in which you interact with objects feels 15-20 years old. One of the big issues, is the mediocre A.I. This would be close to the worst A.I I have experienced in an FPS style game in 20 years. The previous two games, are a far better experience than this. For what it offers, with its lack of innovation and poor game play, give this a big miss until its on sale foe $20.

    if this is a sign of things to come in 2019, then we are going to have a very poor year of games.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 24, 2019
    5
    Metro Exodus wows with some cool graphics but the overall interaction between characters is confusing and overlapping in execution, meaning motion capture and voices in scenes where there is more than 1 people speaking, the game-play it's ok but nothing too much out of the ordinary for an FPS. The AI, both soldiers and monsters is terrible, yes, TERRIBLE. I am very disappointed. The voiceMetro Exodus wows with some cool graphics but the overall interaction between characters is confusing and overlapping in execution, meaning motion capture and voices in scenes where there is more than 1 people speaking, the game-play it's ok but nothing too much out of the ordinary for an FPS. The AI, both soldiers and monsters is terrible, yes, TERRIBLE. I am very disappointed. The voice acting is like russians trying to speak in english so they have a forced accent, which after two hours is pretty annoying. Camera is also moving constantly like shaky-cam videos on the cut-scenes and non playable parts :/ Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2019
    5
    Metro Exodus is a poorly optimized average shooter back from 2009, but with the graphics of 2019. Although the last chapter of this game brings THAT atmosphere of the old Metro games back, it's not enough to justify the rest of its content.
  4. Mar 2, 2019
    7
    Если абстрагироваться от того факта что это СНГ разработчик, и не брать во внимания скандал со steam, оценка 6.8/10. Давать объективную оценку мне поможет и тот факт, что игра пройдена на платину.
    Быстро из минусов, это:
    Лицевая анимация, на уровне "открывает рот и что-то говорит". Русская озвучка, ужасна, просто отвратительно. Озвучка не правдоподобна. К тому же "мля" "нах" и
    Если абстрагироваться от того факта что это СНГ разработчик, и не брать во внимания скандал со steam, оценка 6.8/10. Давать объективную оценку мне поможет и тот факт, что игра пройдена на платину.
    Быстро из минусов, это:

    Лицевая анимация, на уровне "открывает рот и что-то говорит".

    Русская озвучка, ужасна, просто отвратительно. Озвучка не правдоподобна. К тому же "мля" "нах" и подобные сленговые выражения... И слышать будете часто из-за небольшого количества вариаций фраз.

    NPC очень тупые, играл на "Рейнджер Хардкор" враги идут ко мне в комнату и умирают по очереди, или я шумел рядом, но они не обращали на это внимание. Стелс не работает от слова совсем.

    Графика, играл на PS4 там все мыльное, виды с далека красивые, но при детальном осмотре все мыльноватое. трупы дергаются, я часто застревал в текстурах, и проваливался под них.

    Механика стрельбы, ужасная, в отзывах её часто упоминают, это сильный недостаток, часто в плотную сложно попасть в противника.

    Главный герой молчит, есть ситуации в которых молчать просто нельзя, но ГГ на это абсолютно плевать хотел, его что-то спрашивают: - он молчит. И это всю игру.

    Из плюсов и крутых особенностей.

    Сюжет: Не хватает звезд с неба, но на очень хорошем уровне, он такой каким должен быть.

    Повествование этого сюжета: Смена локаций, разносортные враги (разные локации - разные враги, меняется не только внешний вид, но и менталитет, жаргон, стиль реагирования на ситуацию) одни могут сдаться в плен, другие будет драться до конца, и агрессивно нападать.

    Персонажи: Почти все ваши спутники не вызывают отвращения и их хочется слушать, меня удивило что диалогов много, гуляя по поезду можно часто натыкаться на долгую дискуссию между NPC.

    РОССИЯ: В России я люблю только 2 вещи, русский язык и природу. Так... вот если с первым пунктом игра не вывозит (я про русскую озвучку персонажей) То природа и тот факт что ты находился в России добавляет минимум 1 балл к общей оценки, но этот бал только для СНГ аудитории.
    Кастомизация, очень простая и интересная микро моменты в виде зажигалки (используется как дополнительное освещение в тандеме с фонариком). В целом игрой доволен, жду более доделанного продолжения.
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2019
    5
    It's an average to just below average game tbh. Story is dull, voice acting isn't great & audio is all over the place. It looks good in most places, but it's really nothing to be wowed about & has definitely been downgraded. It all feels so slow & boring with exception to the odd moment. I wanted to like it but it's just pretty lame next to most other to aaa games.
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    5
    Это ужас ребята, я очень и очень сильно расстроен. Я не знаю чем были заняты разработчики эти годы... Начнем с минусов:
    1) Анимация персонажей... это крах, аля 2008 год... Прощалось в предыдущих частях(и то там было лучше) ибо не было бюджета сейчас... я хз
    2) Играю на пс4 про версии, есть зависания играть не приятно. 3)Сюжет... Все очень и очень не логично... 4) Это механика. Ну а +,
    Это ужас ребята, я очень и очень сильно расстроен. Я не знаю чем были заняты разработчики эти годы... Начнем с минусов:
    1) Анимация персонажей... это крах, аля 2008 год... Прощалось в предыдущих частях(и то там было лучше) ибо не было бюджета сейчас... я хз
    2) Играю на пс4 про версии, есть зависания играть не приятно.
    3)Сюжет... Все очень и очень не логично...
    4) Это механика.
    Ну а +,
    Это детализация, тут все на высшем уровне. и все по сути... ну история не плохая, но опять же много не логичных моментов...
    Надеюсь что разработчики в следыющих частях все исправят...
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2019
    6
    This game sucks...The people heaping praise on it are either autistic or delusional. Its obvious the game was not ready to ship and still needed ALOT of work...just in 3hrs of play I've had to reset the game atleast 10 different times because I somehow clip into a wall or a car frame and cannot get out of it, I get stuck in a crouch position. The AI is dumber than dirt, the friendly AIThis game sucks...The people heaping praise on it are either autistic or delusional. Its obvious the game was not ready to ship and still needed ALOT of work...just in 3hrs of play I've had to reset the game atleast 10 different times because I somehow clip into a wall or a car frame and cannot get out of it, I get stuck in a crouch position. The AI is dumber than dirt, the friendly AI doesn't react to anything and constantly repeats the same sentence over and over the second you take 1 step too close. The enemy AI can clip inside of walls or die inside of cars making it impossible to loot and or kill them depending on the instance. There have been countless instances where the character gets stuck on nothing just trying to back up, the boat driving is hot garbage you will get stuck and have to back up before you can go forward again....This game is a mess, it seriously needed more polish and bug checking...The fanboys can try to praise it all they want but the game is half broken and you shouldn't have to walk on egg shells or do basic tasks gingerly just to not get stuck in some geometry Expand
  8. Feb 15, 2019
    7
    I absolutely loved the first two Metro games, but this one is a disappointment.

    Pros: Nice graphics Enjoyable combat (if you have ammo) Cons: Guns that just refuse to fire. (Gatling gun) Endless conversation that is plain boring Ridiculous load times Press and hold square - why not just press ? Poor objective information Even on normal difficulty the search for ammo All in
    I absolutely loved the first two Metro games, but this one is a disappointment.

    Pros:
    Nice graphics
    Enjoyable combat (if you have ammo)

    Cons:
    Guns that just refuse to fire. (Gatling gun)
    Endless conversation that is plain boring
    Ridiculous load times
    Press and hold square - why not just press ?
    Poor objective information
    Even on normal difficulty the search for ammo

    All in all, this game is really starting to annoy me. Being assigned a mission by my wife - who suddenly thinks she is in charge - when I have zero ammo for two guns and a third gun which will not fire at all is just plain game stopping for me. Add in the mindless, boring conversation and it is all starting to grate on me.

    I will finish this and move on, I doubt I will want to replay it like I did with the previous two.
    Expand
  9. Feb 16, 2019
    5
    Being a big fan of this series i went with high expectations games still great but kinda frame drops and the endless conversation kills me and ps4 frame drop ruins the gameplay so far resident evil 2 was a better game of 2019
  10. Feb 25, 2019
    7
    Отличное продолжение серии игр Метро. Очень атмосферно и залипательно. Однако присутствие огромного количества багов сильно портит впечатление. Столкнулся с багом при котором персонаж отказывался стрелять и взаимодействовать с окружением каким либо образом. Итог перезапуск главы решил проблему, но проходить все по новой сильно испортило впечатление.Отличное продолжение серии игр Метро. Очень атмосферно и залипательно. Однако присутствие огромного количества багов сильно портит впечатление. Столкнулся с багом при котором персонаж отказывался стрелять и взаимодействовать с окружением каким либо образом. Итог перезапуск главы решил проблему, но проходить все по новой сильно испортило впечатление.
  11. Feb 18, 2019
    7
    It is a pity that the developers have made an open world. It's empty and lifeless. There is no reward for exploring the world. In open spaces, graphics looks too cheap.

    And now to positive impressions. The atmosphere of life of the Soviet people passed great. Holy icons, carpets on the walls all this is transmitted with great accuracy. Many post-Soviet citizens will remember the life of
    It is a pity that the developers have made an open world. It's empty and lifeless. There is no reward for exploring the world. In open spaces, graphics looks too cheap.

    And now to positive impressions. The atmosphere of life of the Soviet people passed great. Holy icons, carpets on the walls all this is transmitted with great accuracy. Many post-Soviet citizens will remember the life of their grandparents with a smile. I am glad that the developers have passed the spirit of that era without stereotypes. I am sorry that foreign players will not be able to appreciate all this splendor.

    Now I understand why Rockstar doesn't allow to translate conversations. Subtitles only. The game has a lot of jargon, catch phrases and slang. I don't know how to explain to my foreign friend what was a joke of a particular phrase. I like the depth of each of the characters. I even remembered their names! It's very nice to come up and just listen to a conversation that can last more than 10 minutes. My respect.
    Expand
  12. Feb 17, 2019
    7
    Have already finished Metro Exodus and I'm a little bit confused.
    Great shooter from 4A Games, fantastic graphics location and storyline, but to many times I had a feeling I was playing Far Cry and I was bored. Honestly I prefered previous parts and small locations in there, so then you feel this huge atmosphere. That's why many people loved Metro universe.
    i like this one but can't say
    Have already finished Metro Exodus and I'm a little bit confused.
    Great shooter from 4A Games, fantastic graphics location and storyline, but to many times I had a feeling I was playing Far Cry and I was bored. Honestly I prefered previous parts and small locations in there, so then you feel this huge atmosphere. That's why many people loved Metro universe.
    i like this one but can't say I love it unfortunately
    Expand
  13. Feb 20, 2019
    6
    The game on PS4 is absolute a joke! Frame rate horrible, bugs any time, npc floatinhg in screen, audio not synchronized with the characters. Loading times than more one hour. Wrong codes for the Expassion Pass, and the european version don't have the option to change the subtitles to portuguese-brazilian.
  14. Feb 22, 2019
    7
    От игры я не ждал чего-то сверхъестественного, впринципе, я получил то же метро, что было и в прошлых частях.
    Идея с открытыми локациями мне понравилась, есть в этом свой шарм.
    Я бы поставил игре девятку, но оптимизация на консоли, просто ужасная. Просадки с 30 fps до 17-20, это не норма.
    От игры я не ждал чего-то сверхъестественного, впринципе, я получил то же метро, что было и в прошлых частях.
    Идея с открытыми локациями мне понравилась, есть в этом свой шарм.
    Я бы поставил игре девятку, но оптимизация на консоли, просто ужасная. Просадки с 30 fps до 17-20, это не норма.
  15. Feb 17, 2019
    7
    Before i start this review i have to say a couple of things about he epic game Fiesco yes i know Deep silver did the wrong thing here and made a exclusive deal with epic but it doesn't make the fact that the game is bad so please stop review bombing the game because it deserves more now that that's out of the way i can start my review

    Metro exodus the third game in the series and a
    Before i start this review i have to say a couple of things about he epic game Fiesco yes i know Deep silver did the wrong thing here and made a exclusive deal with epic but it doesn't make the fact that the game is bad so please stop review bombing the game because it deserves more now that that's out of the way i can start my review

    Metro exodus the third game in the series and a continuation straight out of the secret ending of first light after you the main protagonist survived the events of first light with the nazis and the dark ones you started searching for an outside place without mutants monsters or radiation so you can build a colony outside of the metro and so you find out that Moscow is radio blocked and that are more people in the world not just you and that starts your adventure

    pros:
    - i really liked the change of paste yes the game is eaiser than the others but yet its challenging and aggressive

    - i like that the game is realistic and the fact that your gun will jam if it will get dirty or you being able to patch your mask if it breaks

    - the graphics are just wow i am amazed at how this game looks realistic

    -guns feel amazing and the new crossbow is a cool add on to the mix

    -the open world and the freedom you get is just wow you are able to just explore the world without anyone bugging you about things

    -this game is R Rated which means they don"t hold back and i really like that i can actually feel like i am trying to survive at any cost

    -the new weapon crafting system is awesome and adds a lot more searching the world for parts and new things

    - the Russian dubbing is really good i recommend you to switch voice to Russian and subs to English

    - the new day and night time mechanic is really awesome basically giving you the freedom to decide at what time to strike enemies and travel outside

    cons

    -because of the new crafting system the game got a lot easier and you are harder to kill

    -there is one map where they give you a car to travel by which is pointless in my opinion i just walked off and explored everything i prefer it that way

    -the loading screen is just awful it feels like forever until the game loads up

    - story is pointless and you loose your main goal very early on and then just forget at some point what are you even doing

    -the game is clunky and has a lot of bugs fps drops rendering issues that they have to fix

    -the game is a lot more slow paste then the previous ones sometimes in the bad way

    - the game feels a little bit to short i finished it after 15 hours of exploring and searching everything i guess in this day and age 15 hours is nothing for me and i really wanted more time with this game

    - the people you meet on the way are mostly just crazed lunatics and i really wish you could meet more people to whom you can relate

    - the new mutants are an awesome mix to the roster of mutants and monsters but most are recycled and most of the new ones are plain boring so i really wished they could add better and scarier ones

    - this game took the whole survival aspect to a bad way because you can fix your mask unlike the previous games where you could just take a new one from a dead body or you can just craft bullets which makes this game less scary and you to more of a tank

    -another thing that bothered me is a mechanic they basically recycled from last light and its the do good get the good ending or do bad get the bad ending mechanic more or less like dishonored if you kill your bad but if you knock out your good i really hated the fact that they added this mechanic to the game because unlike last light there is no one there to prove your kindness to and it just effects some peoples reactions and how they talk to you and the ending which was kinda horrible and pointless

    in conclusion this game is a good change of paste but its really different from the other two its more open and you can travel and scavenge stuff and feel like you are trying to just survive but then you pull out your crafting backpack and craft the essentials that you need like air filters or first aid i really liked the game and its realism but somethings just kinda ruined it for me and that brings me to the final score i had a hard time pinning the final score to this game because the series is very close to my heart but i have to be honest about the score so my final score to metro exodus is a 7.5 out of ten it was almost a 8 but there are things in this game that are just not right and the story should have been better
    Expand
  16. Feb 22, 2019
    6
    Mainly because of the short run time, I'd recommend buying when it's on sale. Definitely worth playing, just at a cheaper price. And if you're someone who just can't stand loading screens, either play on easy or not at all.

    Pros: - Graphics - Gameplay - Crafting & Modifications - Takes the Metro series to its next step (feels like progress in the franchise) - Varied Environments
    Mainly because of the short run time, I'd recommend buying when it's on sale. Definitely worth playing, just at a cheaper price. And if you're someone who just can't stand loading screens, either play on easy or not at all.

    Pros:
    - Graphics
    - Gameplay
    - Crafting & Modifications
    - Takes the Metro series to its next step (feels like progress in the franchise)
    - Varied Environments (But check cons too...)
    - Very immersive- almost no HUD but it's easy to check direction, objective etc.

    Cons:
    - Incredibly short
    - The story is lacklustre compared to previous games. Feels generic.
    - Forgets about some of the lore from the previous games
    - Really long loading times (There are no loading screens while travelling anywhere in the world, but when you die, expect loading screens of at least 30 seconds minimum)
    - Some of the mutant enemies feel weird to shoot at...
    - Varied environments (I miss the old Metro where you actually spend most of your time in the metros- although there are still a few underground sections especially towards the end)
    Expand
  17. Mar 2, 2019
    7
    Metro Exodus was the first game of Metro series for me. Usually I don't really like the apocalyptic games but this one kept me interested from the beginning till the end. Yes the game is not perfect and at some moments of it I was felling uninterested( mainly one level in the mid of the game), but rest of it was intriguing for me. There quite a big amount of bugs on PS4( for some peopleMetro Exodus was the first game of Metro series for me. Usually I don't really like the apocalyptic games but this one kept me interested from the beginning till the end. Yes the game is not perfect and at some moments of it I was felling uninterested( mainly one level in the mid of the game), but rest of it was intriguing for me. There quite a big amount of bugs on PS4( for some people might be even critical amount, but if you don't really care about the, you will find the game with the great atmosphere, ok story and good characters.

    Story/Atmosphere 3/4, small spoiler! The whole game kind of feels like combination of small episodes, but despite that the game still manages to follow the main story line.

    Sooting 2/2 the only thing I can say that I had never felt unfair, shooting system is quite good if we take into about that 4A games is kind of small studio.

    Music 1/2 I think that if after you finished the game and you can't think of any soundtrack in it, you can not give full points ti the game.

    Graphics 2/2 if you are not going to go to some far places in which there is no point to go except if you only want to make pictures of bad graphics, you will find graphics in Metro on a good level.

    And -1 point for big amount of bugs.
    Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2019
    5
    I don't understand why everyone is so hyped about this game. i'm playing on a gtx 1080 :
    - graphics, mechanics, bugs and glitches are like I'm playing a game from 2012.
    - the acting it's like you are watching a movie on nikelodeon.

    save your money for other games
  19. Mar 27, 2019
    7
    Fairly good game with some looong movies, but interesting story and situations, especially when you can take decisions what to do, instead of being driven by standard path.

    Still, I have played better games. This is little above average.
  20. May 2, 2019
    5
    Same as the books the quality of each game is lower and lower. Unfortunatelly this one is really terribly. Game mechanics are fine, graphics and immersion are good as well, ale but I have probably never seen so shallow story line like here.
    Pathetic dialogs, obvious plot... It was real missery to go trouh the whole game... Nevermore and I really regret buying the game. Not because the
    Same as the books the quality of each game is lower and lower. Unfortunatelly this one is really terribly. Game mechanics are fine, graphics and immersion are good as well, ale but I have probably never seen so shallow story line like here.
    Pathetic dialogs, obvious plot... It was real missery to go trouh the whole game... Nevermore and I really regret buying the game. Not because the money but becaus it ruined great world it built with first two parts.
    Expand
  21. Apr 8, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metro Exodus gets a lot right, but unfortunately it gets a lot more wrong. Let's start with graphics. The graphics didn't stun me like they stunned a lot of people (I'm running on a GTX 970 on a 1080p 27" monitor while the game was on Ultra), and at times it felt pretty bland. The textures are high in quality, but the design of enemies and environments is pretty bland. I really enjoyed the atmosphere. A post-apocalyptic world with lots to see, and it was very pretty to look at. The character design wasn't the best I've seen, but certainly not the worst either. Really just average, but for a franchise that typically boasts benchmarking I just don't see it.

    The story seems very forces, particularly in the delivery of the characters and voice acting. The main character is fed up that no one else believes there's more to the world outside of Moscow and Metro. In true dreamer fashion, he can't be contained and continues to explore the world until he and his wife see a train. Bam, they aren't alone. He gets shot point blank, falls 20 feet, gets fallen on by two other corpses (who were shot and fell from the same distance), only to get back up, pop a medkit, and roll on out. The character drone on and on in no interesting fashion at all. They want you to complete side missions for them like grabbing a guitar and a doll for them. In other words, put yourself in "danger" and I'll make it worth your while with a gun upgrade or something.

    Combat is nothing innovative. If you've played most modern day fps games, you'll slide right in. That's not a negative either. I found that the combat was pretty seamless and I enjoyed the rare times I got to shoot some people up. It's really stealth that leaves me scratching my head. Typical "crouch in a shadow and the AI wont see you" deal here. You can be right next to an enemy, and if you're crouched in stealth you're as good as shadow. I'd trade the stealth mechanic for more ammo and more enemies.

    On another note, I had really thought there would be more mods for the game. Most all the mods I've seen have been reshades to make a pretty game look even prettier.

    All in all, not impressed with my 20+ hours of the game.
    Expand
  22. Jun 24, 2019
    7
    After playing Metro 2033 and Last Light I couldn't wait to play Metro Exodus. The strongest point of the new game is the expansion of the exploration area and the graphics/landscape. The cinematography of this game is amazing. However I'm afraid to say that this is my least favorite game of the series, why: the game has shifted from an post-apocalytic action game to a post-apocalypticAfter playing Metro 2033 and Last Light I couldn't wait to play Metro Exodus. The strongest point of the new game is the expansion of the exploration area and the graphics/landscape. The cinematography of this game is amazing. However I'm afraid to say that this is my least favorite game of the series, why: the game has shifted from an post-apocalytic action game to a post-apocalyptic survival horror. This game has by far the least action sequences of the previous Metro games. The animation of the characters and the dialogues are not good as it could be. The performance on PS4 Pro + Boost mode is in avg 20~30fps. I've played the game 4 months afte the launch and there are still plenty of bugs. The history is also weaker against the history of the previous games. The first act is fine, the second act (caspian desert) is not good, as its a directly call from mad max, and the third act is the best one (the forest and the metro). If you're a big fan of the game, I recommend it, but don't expect to be as surprised as the last games. If you're a survival genre gamer, you'll probably love this game. Expand
  23. Jul 19, 2019
    7
    This game's story is great, and a good sendoff to Artyom and the crew. The gameplay has some very solid elements, however some frustrating design choices make the experience less enjoyable. If this game had 5 more months of developement time it could have been a masterpiece.
  24. Jun 30, 2019
    6
    Would be a really good game if the game didn't crash constantly and corrupt my save resulting in an entire day of lost progress. Seriously, this game needed another year to fix all the bugs and crashes. There hasn't been a patch in a long while to address these still very prevalent issues, so if you're considering buying this game, just know that the developers have completely abandoned itWould be a really good game if the game didn't crash constantly and corrupt my save resulting in an entire day of lost progress. Seriously, this game needed another year to fix all the bugs and crashes. There hasn't been a patch in a long while to address these still very prevalent issues, so if you're considering buying this game, just know that the developers have completely abandoned it and remember to back up your saves FREQUENTLY.

    Sucks because aside from all the bugs and crashes, the game is really good. Like REALLY good. It just needed more work before being released.
    Expand
  25. Mar 7, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rating 5/10 and being generous.

    Metro Exodus picks up right after the events of Metro 2033 while this furthers the story the game is lack luster at best, while we do get a very much needed QOL improvement in the back pack allowing players to change Only their equipped weapons attachments something that the community has been requesting for Years now. Thats literally it. Everything else about the game is the same from the previous two installments unless you want to count a reskinned arrow launcher over hte first two games. While Im still going to try my damnedest to enjoy this game it has some major flaws that if it wasn't for these I would be rating much higher. I am referring to unskippable cut scenes and having spent the first 20minutes of the game either in a cut scene, stuck in some dialog or stuck in a room unable to move until these NPCs quit circle jerking each other which happened multiple times in just the first 20minutes of game play of which only a minute possibly two were spent actually playing the game having gotten up to go make food, use the facilities or other wise walk away from some boring conversation filler/fluff. This includes the "Hay Artoyms back lets let everyone give a high five" like we all just got done with a big bro fest *shutters as flash backs of high school ensue* This lazy mans attempt of caricature writing seems entirely to optimistic in a world that can only be defined as apocalyptic and dystopian living off of rats and pickled eggs yet were all smiling and not grown men battle hardened crying praying for green fields blue skies a wind without the bitter cold of nuclear radiation and the bitter taste of acid rain that would melt any amount of protective outer wear. Also the beginning seems well lets call it far fetched at best and absurd at worst see the hero returning only to be interrupted by his own people as if the events in the first two games either completely didn't happened or are just being ignored as they literally open fire on Artoym the very person that saved them all.

    And while I havn't gotten to the point where I have Night Vision I can already assume that the same Night Vision Goggles affect exists in this game as it did in the previous incarnations where they all have this weird charging sound when you turn it on for god knows what reason, with the same limited visibility even in the dark having night vision that cant see past 10-15 meters in front of you is not how you do night vision all the while not showing light reflected or refracted off of surfaces like walls all you see is the source in this over overwhelmingly bright greenish white and gray hue, again im assuming that this yet another thing they havn't changed.

    Lastly of course while im nit picking everything thats wrong lets not miss the fact that the game should be called Metro 22,000 as the half life of Plutonium 239 (The main element used in nuclear weapons) has a have life of 22,000Years+- I assume that 2033 or "The Years Following" were more catchy to a focus group?
    Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2019
    6
    Well at least from the references from this game I got the cannon ending in 2033., but not Last Light. Kind of major disconnect to be playing Artyom here. Well considering he blew himself to hell in Last Light ( snip ).

    Ok what I was looking for was a Stalker type of vibe. Open ended maps, freaky mutants, hostile factions, dangerous anomalies and environments. While using funky strange
    Well at least from the references from this game I got the cannon ending in 2033., but not Last Light. Kind of major disconnect to be playing Artyom here. Well considering he blew himself to hell in Last Light ( snip ).

    Ok what I was looking for was a Stalker type of vibe. Open ended maps, freaky mutants, hostile factions, dangerous anomalies and environments. While using funky strange customisable weaponry/gear to survive. Yeah I got it all and out of all the Stalkers well Exodus kind of reminds me of Call of Pripyat most. With the larger maps, but a far lower number of maps compared to SoC or CS. I did want a more open exploration Metro game and I got one that met my general expectations.

    Metros to my mind were never strong FPS games. It was all the other stuff that elevated the Metro 2033/Last Light experience. A tightly scripted linear experience is better for keeping the player focused constantly on the story and narrative. The ambience and atmosphere was amazing in those games. In this Metro the option to meander about poking around makes the story and narrative take a back seat to the exploration factor. Completing 2033/Last Light I have the richness of those memories to add to Exodus. I can see how Exodus would be a lesser experience not being able to draw off the world and character building memories of those two previous games.

    The game looks and sounds great. As for the story ok and the VA passable to meh. Artyom must have a very expressive face and doing sigh language below my FOV. The guy still never says anything, but his companions annoyingly blather on like he does ( wtf ).

    Now for the bad… Scripted action sequences with no QTE and monster boss fights with QTE or just scripted outcomes with the human bosses ( lameo ). Well something is really off and funky about the hit boxes compounded by the jerky scoped sensitivity. I can't see myself replaying on higher difficulties due to more limited resources compound by a re-spawn mechanic in the larger map areas.

    Sneaking around is not fun in big maps, because that is boring and slow. Going loud is fun, hunting monsters is fun, fire fights are fun. Or could be if not for hit boxes and the scoped aim issues. All this fun gets screwed up by the increased difficulty, resource/re-spawn mechanics, technical issues with hit boxes and over-sensitive scoped aim. This game forces you not to play it and where is the fun in that? Higher difficulties would be just to much stealth and avoidance, yawn.

    Metro Exodus is good for one fun run on lower difficulties then back to Stalkers on Master difficulty going loud. Stalkers better scoped gunplay and more resources to tackle those games re-spawn mechanics makes those games more fun open map shooters. They don't force one style like stealth.
    Expand
  27. Mar 9, 2019
    7
    A solid and enjoyable game with many flaws, if you love Metro or other single player survival shooters you will love this on it's higher difficulties. It suffers in some areas such as VA and some input lag but makes up for its flaws in spades with the tense gameplay and fantastic world. It's a game you'll enjoy just din't ecpect to be blown away or experience anything revolutionary.
  28. Mar 9, 2019
    7
    The apocalypse is here, and the gaming industry is making 2019 the year the world ends with games like Metro Exodus, Far Cry New Dawn, Rage 2, and Days Gone. That is just the first half of the year too. The Metro Exodus is the one I was looking most forward out of all of these and for the most part it holds up. Exodus is the third entry of Artyom’s journey through the metro fightingThe apocalypse is here, and the gaming industry is making 2019 the year the world ends with games like Metro Exodus, Far Cry New Dawn, Rage 2, and Days Gone. That is just the first half of the year too. The Metro Exodus is the one I was looking most forward out of all of these and for the most part it holds up. Exodus is the third entry of Artyom’s journey through the metro fighting mutants and bandits alike. Being that this is the third entry they had to turn it up to 11 with this game and take you completely out of the metro this time around; which was an excellent choice.

    The story is a on the road type of apocalypse type of story or in this games case it is a on the rails journey due you travel through Russia via a train the whole game. The game also decided to take literally every single post apocalypse story and cram it into one game. We get the cannibals, religious cult, the baron of a wasteland who controls the gas, and the people who have been trapped in an area and are ignorant to any strangers. You get all that and more!! This does make the story more focused on the characters and their journey and not on any event that was happening unlike Last Light’s Soviet invasion. Artyom still doesn’t talk which truly hurts the scenes where you and Ana (his wife) are supposed to be having heartfelt moments which fall flat because he won’t respond to anything. The worst part of the story is the ending. The ending was cliché and anti-climatic which sucks for something that should be the last in the series of having a lack luster end game.

    The game itself looks and plays great. They introduced this crafting mechanic that isn’t too complicated, but necessary if you want to survive. The crafting makes sense because it is the end of the world there wasn’t going to be any shops laying around for you to buy bullets. One mechanic they introduced I need to see in more games is their human AI. This AI is more tactical and won’t just sit there waiting to be killed they also do something no AI ever does and that is surrender. If you are a killing machine like myself the bandits will drop their guns in which point you can leave them, punch them, or my favorite do a knife execution. The shooting feels nice, but the limited type of guns available meant I really just use the same two throughout most of the story. This time around it is open world which works well with this game. I never did much exploring through the various worlds, so I assume there is much to see I just can’t say for sure.

    Overall it was a good game my only issue is that I don’t know if it’s something that I’d ever go back to. I think that the story never hooked me, and I never ended up caring about the character while the gameplay was fun it wasn’t enough to leave me wanting more. I give this game a nice solid BARGAIN BIN.
    Expand
  29. Apr 12, 2019
    5
    I feel bad reviewing any game after only playing for one hour, so I'm giving a +1 courtesy point to this review, increasing my 4 up to a 5. It's rare to feel so turned off by a game in so little time.

    Pretty much from the start, the gameplay is clunky and slow compared to the enemies. Controls don't work and it takes several tries just to reload your damn weapon. Graphics are on par
    I feel bad reviewing any game after only playing for one hour, so I'm giving a +1 courtesy point to this review, increasing my 4 up to a 5. It's rare to feel so turned off by a game in so little time.

    Pretty much from the start, the gameplay is clunky and slow compared to the enemies. Controls don't work and it takes several tries just to reload your damn weapon. Graphics are on par with a PS3 game, definitely not next-gen. The voice acting reminds me of a drunk friend impersonating a Russian person and had me chuckling and shaking my head for most of the early cutscenes. This was amplified by the poor writing. The ambient sound was pretty bad too, like the superfast pitter-patter sound of your footsteps.

    Anyway, it was pretty obvious after an hour what I was in for, so deciding to remit this title back to Redbox. Really glad i didn't purchase this thing after seeing the cool trailers.
    Expand
  30. May 22, 2019
    7
    First of all my review has nothing to do with the whole epic store debacle.
    I am a huge fan of the series and was very excited to play this game. Yes there is some lag due to the hardware, but it's not bad enough to make the game not enjoyable. So, yes it is an open world metro, however after awhile I found myself wishing maybe it wasn't. I actually always wanted an open world metro,
    First of all my review has nothing to do with the whole epic store debacle.
    I am a huge fan of the series and was very excited to play this game. Yes there is some lag due to the hardware, but it's not bad enough to make the game not enjoyable. So, yes it is an open world metro, however after awhile I found myself wishing maybe it wasn't. I actually always wanted an open world metro, but the thing is there is very little out there. You really have no significant choices to make in the world, so it just ends up ruining the pacing of the game. It's hard to explain but the game just feels pretty average. Yet, I do enjoy the game and it definitely has its moments when you are on a mission and it feels more like the previous entries.
    What's ironic is that I used to read or watch reviews with the exact complaints that I described and though "they are not true fans" or "they are being overly critical because they resent Epic exclusivity," but unfortunately such reviews are spot on.
    Buy this when it hits 20 or maybe 30 dollars.
    Expand
  31. Jun 14, 2019
    7
    Metro Exodus is the third game in the series, and the first time to include elements like open-world, cinematic storytelling and non-winter terrain. So how is the game?

    Well to get it out of the way, it is a good game. Elements it takes from the previous Metro games are still good, and sometimes even better. Unfortunately, there are also many elements that are new or revised which are
    Metro Exodus is the third game in the series, and the first time to include elements like open-world, cinematic storytelling and non-winter terrain. So how is the game?

    Well to get it out of the way, it is a good game. Elements it takes from the previous Metro games are still good, and sometimes even better. Unfortunately, there are also many elements that are new or revised which are not so good.

    The Metro games have always been a Lineair Suvival Horror experience, which it is good at. What it is not so good at, is being a semi-open world. With the new larger maps that give the player more freedom comes the problem of slower pacing, chaotic pathfinding and confusion. The atmosphere of the apocalyptic tunnels and post-nuclear moscow is lost the moment the player enters these open maps, as the tension and well directed fear is lost. To describe this game the best, i will rate every chapter/map:

    Introduction in Moscow: (6/10)
    This part of the game is meant to give a quick tutorial, but also sets up the story. Sadly, this part is not very strong. What makes Moscow interesting as a location, is that you will always be under the threat of radiation. It is your home, yet the story immediately leaves this very interesting location under the bases that there's a whole open world outside Moscow. This twist undermines the great stories of the previous games.

    The Volga (7/10):
    This is where problems start to show. The freedom to explore a map rather than following a well directed path, is that the overall experience changes to something average without much tension. There's a mission in this map which locks you inside a large complex with only a single direction to go. There are mutants appearing, and it instantly feels familiar to the previous Metro games. Apart from this section however, it feels more like a standard open world FPS than a Metro game. The cultists are mostly NPC's that stand in your way, and offer no interesting challenge or backstory.

    The Bunker level (8/10):
    This level embraces the lineair adrenaline fueled tension and atmosphere of the previous games, and it instantly makes it a far more enjoyable experience. You fight through dozens of cannibals to get to your precious Anna (which is nothing more than a damsel in distress in this game), and learn what happened to the government after the bombs dropped. Very cool mission. Sadly the AI was a bit dumb.

    The Caspian Sea (5/10):
    Truth be told, it felt like a choir to get through this level. A desert area with a car, which feels like a Mad Max rip-off, has nothing remotely reminiscent to Metro games. The distances are too large, especially considering the car steers like **** The slaves are not interesting, and none of the Atmosphere from Nuclear Moscow is present here. There's one mission where you go underground while fending of spiders, which is enjoyable. But that's it. Very underwhelming level.

    Taiga (7/10):
    This mission is far less open world than the previous missions, and it makes the game a whole lot better. The path is far more directed and lineair, which brings back some atmosphere and tension. Sadly though, the people in this area are not very intriguing, nor does the story care about them. It feels like just another stop to the actual destination.

    The Dead City (10/10:
    Now this is Metro! Back is the Lineair Nuclear Winter atmosphere, the darkness, the cold, the radiation. The silence of a city that is even more radiated than Moscow brings a constant tension and immersion far better than event the previous games did. Familiar monsters like the Nosalises return, and new enemies are encountered that are interesting and frightening. Supernatural elements return in the way only Metro games can, and it makes for a level that is the best part of the game. I wish 4A games had made a game that only had levels like the Dead City.

    Apart from all this, 4A games decided to change some things in favour of a more cinematic experience. Sadly, i think this was a bad decision. Climbing on ladders, looting enemies and opening doors now requires holding a button rather than tapping a button. Animations have been added that feel unnecessary and make the game slower rather than better. The bullet currency system is gone in favour of a crafting system, which is not as fun. Crafting on the go is a welcome addition however!

    All in all you get my point. I feel like a more lineair game like the previous entries and The Dead City level would have made for an amazing game. Sadly, this game isn't it. But it is still a good game. I give this game a 7/10.
    Expand
  32. Mar 7, 2019
    6
    The graphic and story are good that's all
    Gameplay overall is garbage
    Movement/control - **** slow, unresponsive, cluncky. Stealth - inconsistently working Human enemy - I'll say is the only thing enjoyable. Monster enemy - frustrated and annoying. Its supposed to be the highlight, but nothing about it is fun or satisfying. Exploration - meh Sound - pretty good but a lot of glitch
    The graphic and story are good that's all
    Gameplay overall is garbage
    Movement/control - **** slow, unresponsive, cluncky.
    Stealth - inconsistently working
    Human enemy - I'll say is the only thing enjoyable.
    Monster enemy - frustrated and annoying. Its supposed to be the highlight, but nothing about it is fun or satisfying.
    Exploration - meh
    Sound - pretty good but a lot of glitch
    Voice acting - will you shut the **** up. It keeps on and on and on and on.
    If its a 40$ indie game I would give it 7.5-8, but 60$ aaa price game, 6 is considered kind.
    Expand
  33. Apr 5, 2019
    6
    This game looks great when you are watching it. However, once you start playing its very frustrating.
    The graphics look ok but the actual gameplay, story and voice over are really bad.
    It gets better towards the end of the game. If you manage to get that far.

    Oh also there are some jump scare which I hate but if you are into it go for it. Won't recommend though
  34. May 17, 2019
    6
    Really wanted to like this game... I've enjoyed the previous installments so figured this would be pretty solid. The game is obtuse and the world design is just boring. Half the time you are wondering around wondering where the heck you are supposed to go and then when you do enter combat it just isn't that exciting. Wish I could sell this, but alas it's on PC.
  35. Jun 13, 2019
    5
    Ігра шикарна но я хочу сказати о мінусах. 1. Мильна картинка в деяких місцях.
    2. Баги. 3. Рпг елементи(прикольно но я ожидав старий добрий метро без цих елементів) Це все гру дуже всім раджу:)
  36. Jun 29, 2019
    5
    Most of the game it un skippable Cut scenes and very tedious tasks and when there is a fun part it does not last long.
  37. Jul 9, 2019
    7
    I like a lot of things about this game
    And i hate a lot of things about it
    But it's just good.. i want it to be great
  38. Feb 16, 2019
    5
    Metro Exodus is a very average experience. It hasn't pushed into a new realm of innovation. This game feels old, mostly due to the predictable development of the story, when you think something may happen, it does every single time. Their is a massive lack of imagination with the crafting of the core game play, the way in which you interact with objects feels 15-20 years old. One ofMetro Exodus is a very average experience. It hasn't pushed into a new realm of innovation. This game feels old, mostly due to the predictable development of the story, when you think something may happen, it does every single time. Their is a massive lack of imagination with the crafting of the core game play, the way in which you interact with objects feels 15-20 years old. One of the big issues, is the mediocre A.I. This would be close to the worst A.I I have experienced in an FPS style game in 20 years. The previous two games, are a far better experience than this. For what it offers, with its lack of innovation and poor game play, give this a big miss until its on sale foe $20.

    if this is a sign of things to come in 2019, then we are going to have a very poor year of games.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Apr 8, 2019
    100
    Having moved the action away from the dark tunnels of Moscow's underground onto a train, going into the unknown and forced to make stops throughout the journey, Metro Exodus' authors created a memorable interactive adventure consisting of happiness from discovering love and grief from irreplacebale loss, hope of better future and despair from understanding the truth. On top of that one might call Exodus a distorting mirror that reveals the most horrible sins of mysterious Russian soul: heresy and servilism.
  2. Mar 29, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus opens up a world held closed by its predecessors. This time, it's up to our well known hero Artyom to explore the unexplored regions of Mother Russia, in all of its open world glory. So sit back and enjoy the unique experience, visual wonders and darkest secrets of the beloved Metro universe.
  3. Mar 21, 2019
    86
    Overall, Metro Exodus is an enjoyable shooter. Taking Metro out of the Metro is a good move for the series, but the game still provides plenty of claustrophobic locations for those who enjoyed the dark tunnel crawls of Metro games past. The ammunition system is still limited, but it feels better managed and more forgiving this time out, although I can still see it as being frustrating to some players. If you haven't played a Metro game before or were put off by the games in the past, give Metro Exodus a chance. You can catch this train running and enjoy the ride.