Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 23, 2020
    95
    Overall, MLB The Show 20 is another marvel for San Diego Studios. The tweaks they implemented and the gameplay options they have provided only stand to improve the product. They own baseball in gaming and it looks like they’re not ready to give it up anytime soon.
  2. Apr 17, 2020
    90
    MLB The Show 20 presents itself as a great package, improving on most of its gameplay mechanics, including batting and fielding experience. With plenty of game modes, great Diamond Dynasty and online experience, and plenty of new animations it is a significant upgrade of the last year’s The Show 19, and proving itself worthy of purchase, by avoiding to follow the example of copycat sports franchises like FIFA and NBA 2K.
  3. 90
    One of PlayStation's finest franchises continues to age like a fine wine improving incrementally with each passing year. San Diego Studios manages to improve an already stellar game with enough tweaks and improvements to keep the franchise from stagnating, but players of last year's outing may still have a difficult time justifying purchasing MLB The Show 20.
  4. Mar 31, 2020
    90
    Small but strong improvements in most areas of the game that come together in a beautiful package. I feel somewhat like a broken record because I’ve probably said the same thing in the last couple of years’ reviews of this franchise but MLB The Show never ceases to amaze me with how good of a simulation of the game of baseball it truly is. With no baseball in real-life, I found myself more than once sitting back and just marveling at the recreation of one of my favorite sports in video game form. If you’ve slept on the series the past couple of years, or are just looking for a deep sports simulation while you social distance, MLB The Show 20 is a great game of baseball and for that, I’m truly grateful.
  5. 90
    MLB The Show 20 is back with new modes and some substantial tweaks to create a stellar baseball experience that's sure to help pass the time until America's pastime returns in full force.
  6. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    MLB: The Show 20 makes getting to first base feel easy, getting to second a true joy, third a journey and getting the home run an experience worth reliving. It’s by far and away one of the most complete sport game packages out there and provides good reason to stay home in these crazy times.
  7. Mar 19, 2020
    90
    MLB The Show 20 is less like that random pitcher who threw a perfect game, and more like your perennial Cy Young candidate. You can count on the franchise to come out year after year with quality content and gameplay. While the actual season may not be happening soon, MLB The Show 20 is sure to keep baseball fans glued to their screens.
  8. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    MLB The Show 20 isn't a complete replacement for all those lost afternoons at the ballpark, but it's nevertheless a balm for the baseball fan's soul in these trying times. While this year's version largely rests on the excellence of last year's version, it still brings with it plenty of strong additions, including the return of online leagues. As a tip of the cap to conclude the PlayStation 4 generation, it comes highly recommended.
  9. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    MLB The Show 20 is clearly the culmination of all the hard work that went into the previous iterations, and then some. The updated and added game mechanics such as First Step and Perfect-Perfect batting add a sense of realism to a game where instincts and being quick on your feet is important. With a plethora of game modes, it’s almost overwhelming at times because you don’t know where to start. But once you begin, this game is hard to put down.
  10. Mar 15, 2020
    90
    With many of the smaller gaps filled from last year’s game, this is yet another championship-caliber season for Sony San Diego Studios. MLB The Show 20 does so much right that it’s foolish to spend too much time lamenting it’s flaws. Gameplay, visuals, improved customization and depth; it’s hard to ask for much more.
  11. 90
    Late generation sports releases are usually at the top of their game when nearing the end of the current console generation and MLB The Show 20 continues that trend with a walk off home run in the final PlayStation only entry in the series.
  12. Mar 12, 2020
    90
    MLB The Show 20 feels very balanced across all game modes, is loaded with things to do, and is well set up for the future. There is something for everyone whether you want to play offline or online, alone or with others and it leaves me wondering yet again how San Diego Studio will try to match or outdo themselves next year.
  13. Mar 20, 2020
    89
    MLB The Show 20 might not be a giant leap forward, but it's more than enough of a leap for fans to enjoy a game they're missing right now.
  14. Mar 19, 2020
    88
    MLB The Show 20 mainly nails its core gameplay, and its many modes deliver compelling experiences. It’s not the best the series could be, but it makes you hold your breath in that moment before a crucial pitch or swing of the bat – a moment I love living in.
  15. Mar 13, 2020
    87
    MLB The Show 20 is yet another success for Sony San Diego. The perfection of its mechanics, the design of the stadiums and players, and the number of modes it offers players make it, without a doubt, this year's baseball title par excellence.
  16. Mar 24, 2020
    86
    MLB The Show 20 is the perfect game for baseball lovers. We wish we could create our own stadiums, but despite the lack of this feature, the gameplay is fun and every detail is wisely crafted.
  17. Mar 13, 2020
    85
    What The Show 20 does best is deliver a rich, authentic baseball sim that players can engage with in a host of ways. The customization options for the main modes and the sheer variety of secondary modes and experiences ensures there’s something for every kind of baseball fan.
  18. Mar 17, 2020
    84
    MLB The Show 20 is a solid baseball simulation, with a good number of game modes for all the kind of baseball fans. If you are waiting for big updates on game modes or graphics you will probably need to wait until the next generation.
  19. Mar 31, 2020
    82
    All in all, MLB The Show 20 remains perhaps the deepest sports title on modern consoles. There’s so much to do, it’s the rare game that can keep a sports fan occupied for ¾ of a year, easily. It’s not a vast improvement from the prior year’s offering, but possesses enough upgrades to justify the purchase leap.
  20. Apr 15, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 marks another solid entry for the series. New additions to the fielding game are welcome and fans of the sport will find a wealth of systems and modes to enjoy. It may be a bit overwhelming for newcomers, but offers a great range of tutorials to get payers up to speed. There's a lot of game here, provided you enjoy the sport. While it wont make you a fan if you weren't already, it's still the best rendition of the sport you can enjoy from the comfort of the couch.
  21. Apr 8, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 doesn't rewrite the script, but its numerous tweaks to gameplay, modes, and options makes it the best baseball game around.
  22. Apr 8, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 brings tons of minor changes that, when combined, push the game towards greater heights than ever before.
  23. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 is the definitive version of Sony San Diego’s baseball simulation on the PS4, but long-time fans may feel that this franchise is just starting to show signs of fatigue. The gameplay refinements are welcome, and this is the biggest instalment thus far, but the shift to next-gen will be welcome as the developer seeks to revolutionise the best sports game on the market by far.
  24. Mar 27, 2020
    80
    With its in-depth customization, modes you can pour hours into, and online play with friends, MLB The Show 20 is a home run for fans.
  25. 80
    There was very little that wowed, and even less that evolved more than incrementally this season. And while this is still easily the best baseball title ever released, it did very little to raise the bar over its prior installment.
  26. Mar 23, 2020
    80
    The series remains excellent and the updates are nice, even if these updates are focused more on appeasing the hardcore fans that play and grind on a daily basis. The online experience is still suspect but is vastly improved. Even though it may not be the best value, MLB The Show 20 remains the top dog in representing its sport on a video game platform.
  27. Mar 23, 2020
    80
    MLB looks good, has lots of content and plays extremely well... which goes a long way towards making it one of the better baseball games out there. It's not much of an improvement over its predecessor, however... and that's always a shame.
  28. Mar 21, 2020
    80
    If this proves to be the final Sony-exclusive baseball simulation that we ever get, the development team deserves to be proud of what they managed to squeeze onto a 50GB Bluray disc. 8/10 banging trash cans.
  29. Mar 21, 2020
    80
    While the country is going through an exceptional health crisis, MLB fans will not see their habits upset by the arrival of this new iteration, almost similar to the previous one. The graphic rendering is a bit more realistic, the sensations still just crazy but with more content.
  30. Mar 20, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 doesn't make any large strides forward, choosing instead to focus on refining areas that needed improvement from last year. This results in a game that feels more balanced in terms of variety across an assortment of game modes, while the action on the diamond has been tightened up with rewarding consistency and added dynamism that maintains the series' lofty standards. It's the ideal foundation to build upon as the PlayStation 5 looms on the horizon, and with the baseball season suspended for the foreseeable future, MLB 20 goes some way to filling an empty space in our pursuit for escapism.
  31. Mar 20, 2020
    80
    As the future season of baseball remains in doubt, there is truly no better time for MLB The Show 20. A host of subtle refinements on the field rewards skillful play, while the new Showdown mode is both high-stakes and easy to jump into. The ability to buy stubs outright is annoying, but the streamlined progression rewards are another step in the right direction. Whether you’re a veteran or a newcomer, MLB The Show 20 is a comforting doorway into Major League Baseball.
  32. Mar 19, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 is a good follow-up to MLB The Show 19. Maybe it doesn't offer a great number of new features, but it does its job of being a good update on an annual series.
  33. 80
    Sony's sitting on an incredible base and foundation. The series could do something about offering more casual baseball fans something to enjoy on their own terms, but that applies to all AAA-blockbuster sports games, and MLB The Show has the decided advantage of being a sport that's actually enjoyable.
  34. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 keeps the franchise’s Cal-Ripken-like streak of solid annual releases intact without swinging for the fences. The on-field action is as satisfying as ever, but developer SIE San Diego mostly plays it safe with a series of modest gameplay tweaks and new features. A bigger shakeup is likely in store when the series goes multiplatform next year, but for now, MLB The Show 20 still touches all the bases.
  35. Mar 13, 2020
    80
    MLB The Show 20 isn't the biggest upgrade the series has ever seen but it's a solid one with a few good highlights and no real downsides.
  36. Mar 24, 2020
    77
    MLB The Show 20 works for new players and veterans alike because it opts to offer a bit of everything. With so many different modes to play and such a strong foundation to work from, it continues to be a reliably great simulation of the sport. Weep not, baseball fans, the digital game is still alive and well.
  37. Mar 12, 2020
    70
    Sony San Diego's MLB The Show 20 adds some long-overdue updates but fails to make greater gains to a baseball series that's beginning to feel stale.
  38. Mar 19, 2020
    67
    It’s a good enough game this year, like it was a good enough game last year, like it was a good enough game in 2018, like I’m sure it’ll be a good enough game in 2021 on the PS5. But considering that MLB The Show was once the gold-standard for sports games, simply being good enough seems like a lot of wasted potential.
  39. Apr 2, 2020
    60
    MLB The Show 20 is another home run thanks to its refined gameplay and many modes.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 115
  2. Negative: 35 out of 115
  1. OMM
    Mar 13, 2020
    9
    That's Mr. MLB THE SHOW to you son,
    I never really write reviews, but I had to this time. I'm not sure how to explain it, but this show
    That's Mr. MLB THE SHOW to you son,
    I never really write reviews, but I had to this time. I'm not sure how to explain it, but this show feels better, it plays better, it plays faster. The overhauled hitting mechanics work, for some reason (I am not sure why) the perfect perfect hitting system makes hitting more intuitive, and consistent. I've been playing the series since '09. I didn't make it to the majors as a starter until '11 (HOF difficulty from jump).
    I learned how to hit by focusing on the release point & I have taught others too, and the perfect perfect system almost feels as if it was MADE to hit that way. I no longer have to wonder it I got under it too much, or over it. Perfect perfect kills that with the 3 diamonds in the center of the PCI, right away I know where to place the PCI for the type of batter. And for once moving between RTTS and other modes does not feel like your playing a different game when hitting. I'm not sure if they are the same systems, but sure feels like it. In fact, during my early days, I wouldn't play any mode but RTTS because the hitting was so different between the two and I would take days to get back into RTTS hitting. So to keep from being sent down I would only play RTTS.
    The new throwing system is taking sometime to get use to, but I see the vision. No longer is the degree of difficulty in getting to the ball ignored, with even routine backhanders offering some difficulty with lower rated fielders. That in mind, the early RTTS grind is brutal with the new system but not cheap. Plus with the ability to import your MyCareer guy between versions of The Show (since PS3) there is really no need to grind, (here that NBA2K?). I started a new guy to see the cinematics and all.
    As for the number of HOFers offered in DD, I don't really care about that as I just grind and NEVER buy packs so I never really get many of those players. But DD has tons to do even for those that don't want to play PvP, which is nice to see.
    In short this version actually IMPROVES upon the already bullet-proof gameplay and experience of The Show, without a doubt this is the best sports title I have EVER played..... And it ain't even close brah....
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2020
    2
    This year's game has potential, but right now it just isn't there. PCI is completely inconsistent, and there is too much reward for poorThis year's game has potential, but right now it just isn't there. PCI is completely inconsistent, and there is too much reward for poor hitting. Right now you're better off hitting bloop singles off of late jammed contact than actually making solid contact. There will also be plays where I get good contact when my PCI completely misses, and okay contact when the ball is in the middle of the PCI. If hitting can be fixed, the game will be solid. But right now, it's so bad that it pushes the breaking point of unplayable. Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2020
    0
    I created an account here just to rate this game a 0.

    Gameplay: -The amount of double plays is ridiculous. Most teams IRL don't even
    I created an account here just to rate this game a 0.

    Gameplay:

    -The amount of double plays is ridiculous. Most teams IRL don't even turn one per GAME!
    -The amount of times I hit the ball hard RIGHT AT players for outs is unrealistic. I just completed a March to October game where, in two innings, I hit 5/6 at bats extremely hard, all caught immediately by defense who happened to be right where I hit the ball.
    -On breaking balls, it looks like the last 10% of every pitch has frames missing. The ball will break away from where you think it will be with no visual evidence.
    -The diving animation looks terrible and isn't very functional. Defensive players make a "hop" that's half vertical and half horizontal, rather than simply extending horizontally.
    -Pitching is way too unbalanced towards star pitchers. On harder difficulties, my difference in pitcher ERA between "star" pitchers and average pitchers is night and day.
    -Relays and sometimes just picking up the ball are EXTREMELY sluggish.

    The people that love this game so much...I just don't get it. It's such an unrealistic simulation with a realistic coat of paint. I think they must be lured in by the graphics and game modes, but what good are game modes without great gameplay to back them up?

    Finally, even those modes are full of frustration. Two examples of me swearing this game off were:

    -Trying to complete Moments and other challenges in Diamond Dynasty that lasted multiple games.
    -Stuff going completely wrong in March to October mode and not being able to sim ahead. Specifically, you have to play out every single pitch of every single at bat, both offense and defense, not matter what. I absolutely hate this. If my pitcher gets rocked for a three-run homer and I want to sim out, that should be an option. The game seems to offer tons of conveniences, but often not the ones I want (of course).

    Overall, no game in the last few years has made me hate it as much as this one. I keep making the mistake of giving it one more chance, and every time, I get frustrated with something and turn it off. And this is coming from someone who puts up with NBA 2K's crap each year. Even that game does a better job of representing it's sport, and I am fully aware of its problems.

    It sucks to be a sports gamer in 2020. Madden, FIFA, UFC, and Golf Club are all pretty bad games. NHL and NBA 2K are playable, though every game of NHL plays out the same for me. I was really hoping to love The Show after skipping last year and seeing people's positive reactions, but after playing extensively for two weeks, I think they're full of blind loyalty, or maybe they're long-time Show players who are used to it's problems and just happy with whatever improvements they've made (this would be my category for NBA 2K series).

    If someone from the game reads this, I'd love a refund. Seriously.
    Full Review »