Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 30, 2020
    95
    Patapon 2's remaster still retains some dated discordance. However, the 4k/1080p remastering of this sequel’s unmistakably cartoony beauty will strike a chord, as will its harmoniously musical gameplay. Ultimately, Patapon 2 remains one of the greatest rhythm games of all-time, if not the greatest.
  2. 90
    If you haven’t played the Patapon series prior to these remastered versions hitting the PS4, I strongly urge you to do so. They are challenging yet fun, and the music gets stuck in your brain like the best earworm you could ask for. All we need now is a timely date for Patapon 3 Remastered and for PlayStation to bring Patapon merchandise back to the PlayStation Gear shop.
  3. 90
    Having too much of a good thing is the possibly the most forgivable flaw that hit too many games, and Patapon has the pick-up-and-play vibe going for it, meaning that you can always take a break from it if it starts to become draining. The only other issue with Patapon 2 is that the rhythms will get stuck deep into your brain, and it takes ages to push them out. And then you'll load up the game again and it'll be stuck all over again. It's just that charming, bright, and catchy.
  4. 90
    I must have played through Patapon 2 five or six times now and it is still amazing. One of the most original, unique games you will play and brilliantly addictive. The soundtrack buries itself into your mind and does not want to let go. The gameplay is surprisingly deep, a truckload of fun and extremely rewarding. It's beautiful and animated amazingly. Patapon 2 is the perfect length, long enough to get sucked into but never overwhelming and never overstaying its welcome. Get out there, assemble your one-eyed army, and reach Earthend! Pata Pata Pata Pon!
  5. Jan 30, 2020
    86
    Patapon 2 was really good in its orignal form, so in 4K it looks even better. The same sticky sounds, its fun gameplay, its many secrets and mechanics with depth ... It is still a great game to claim, although it is true that the remaster neglects some aspects, such as scenes that have not been remastered.
  6. Feb 13, 2020
    81
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Feb 3, 2020
    81
    Overall, if you liked Patapon 2 back in the day, you’re going to enjoy this release on the PlayStation 4. It doesn’t do anything particularly special other than giving you the game you might have loved in 2009 on a bigger screen.
  8. Feb 18, 2020
    80
    Is it worth your time? Well it’s reasonably cheap and it can be a lot of fun, especially when you keep the rhythm going, but by the same token if you loose your rhythm and just can’t seem to get it back it can be quite frustrating. My son loves it and the Patapons can be quite cute… even if they are essentially a pretty violent tribe who go around killing nearly all they come across. Worth a play and certainly if it’s on special it might be a good little time burner to purchase.
  9. Feb 14, 2020
    80
    Patapon 2 is a fun game of its time. It still feels like a relic of the PSP days with its big chunky menus and relatively straightforward gameplay, but if anything sets itself apart as much to warrant its own remaster, it’s the charm that comes through loud and clear. I enjoyed my time with my Patapons. It’s not a game I’d play forever, as my tastes have changed over the last decade, but if you need any reason to get back in, then look no further my god friends. Pata, pata, pata, pon!
  10. Feb 12, 2020
    80
    Patapon 2 is still a very good game but the PS4 version lacks polish.
  11. Feb 7, 2020
    80
    Patapon 2 Remastered is still a charming little game that rhythm fans will certainly enjoy. There's a lot of customization options here that all center around how much replayability you can stand, and the game rewards you for perseverance.
  12. Feb 3, 2020
    80
    Patapon 2 Remastered brings its unique style to the PS4, with plenty of variety, and some wonderful music to boot. It's just a shame that the input lag is a problem.
  13. Jan 30, 2020
    80
    Patapon is a great series, the second entry is probably the most enjoyable, and having it back is always good. That said, this remasters doesn’t add much to the experience, but the game still is a blast.
  14. Jan 30, 2020
    80
    Patapon 2: Remastered brings back a PSP classic that improves throughout the first part and does so with a new face lift but without any additional playable additions in its proposal. Fun, challenging and full of secrets, it is a real experience to make you an ally of these nice beings.
  15. Feb 11, 2020
    75
    Patapon 2 is an excellent follow up to Patapon. While it’s not something I would tell someone who isn’t familiar to the franchise to start with, it’s nice to have this title not be forgotten on an abandoned platform. The game is excellent in spurts and deserves to be shown to a wider audience.
  16. Feb 10, 2020
    75
    Sometimes more of the same is not so crazy. Patapon 2 Remastered does not do much new compared to its predecessor, but continues the same nice tone and lets us drum cries and death marches out of our controller for hours.
  17. Feb 5, 2020
    75
    All in all, Patapon 2 Remastered is as bare-bones of a remaster as you can get of a fun game. It has nothing in the way of new features, and the lack of compensation for input lag means that like many older rhythm games, it can be borderline unplayable on some modern televisions. If you can get past that, you can find a lot to like in this adorable and surprisingly difficult little game. Just don't blame us if you hear "pon pon pata pon" in your sleep.
  18. Jan 31, 2020
    75
    For the first time on PlayStation 4, the celebrated member of the Patapon franchise, Patapon 2 Remastered is available to introduce a new generation of players to the earworm of a game that plagued PSP owners.
  19. Jan 30, 2020
    75
    Patapon 2 Remastered suffers from the same poor quality video as other PSP remasters, but maintains the delightfully charming gameplay. The original wasn't the most ambitious sequel and while it lacks the freshness of the first game, it makes up for that with both increased width and depth.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
  1. Feb 1, 2020
    1
    Instead of revamping the local wireless as either couch co-op or friends list parties, The dev team thought it was more appropriate to deleteInstead of revamping the local wireless as either couch co-op or friends list parties, The dev team thought it was more appropriate to delete it and call it a day.

    I have loved this series' campaign and aesthetic since the psp, and multiplayer was one of the driving forces of it. Being over a decade later means there is NO excuse for this lazy rushed PORT. If anything it is Demastered.

    You get more value from buying the 2008 version

    I Pray to IT that we get a multiplayer patch because I WANT TO LOVE THIS SO BADLY
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2020
    10
    For everone with lag issues: Just play with an headphone plugged into the Controller = Zero issues :)
  3. Feb 2, 2020
    0
    I couldn't even get past the tutorial because my controller inputs was not synced to the game and there is no way to re-calibrate it. Game isI couldn't even get past the tutorial because my controller inputs was not synced to the game and there is no way to re-calibrate it. Game is literally unplayable. Full Review »