Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 1, 2023
    90
    If you’re worried about Persona 4 Golden showing its old age, don’t, because it maintains its allure and sparkle even after being buried away on the PlayStation Vita for over a decade. Atlus has managed to make the re-release of a re-release of a game that came out in 2008 feel like a fresh new experience. Persona 4 Golden is an absolute must play for any Persona fan, with its immaculate soundtrack, colorful cast of characters, and addictive gameplay loop.
  2. Jan 23, 2023
    90
    Truly a standout JRPG experience, Persona 4 Golden is easily a must-play for any self-respecting RPG fan. Great visuals, excellent music and sound production, and one of best narratives in any RPG cement Persona 4 among the greatest experiences on PS2, PS Vita, and now the modern suite of consoles. Recycled elements from previous entries in the series may annoy some players especially when played in sequence, but while it is showing its age in some other respects, this hardly detracts from the impeccable gold standard it sets for its peers.
  3. Jan 22, 2023
    90
    I understand that Persona 4 Golden has a special place in the hearts of those who played it and want to revisit the classic, and that it's still a great choice for those who have never played it, but an addition to the story, new Personas or even a more elaborate work with graphics could've brought this still excellent RPG to a new high in 2023.
  4. Jan 17, 2023
    90
    An immaculate RPG packed with great characters and built on a near flawless gameplay loop, it's still hard to top Persona 4 Golden. Without a doubt, there are a lot of things that Persona 5 does better, but with its bright colours, uplifting soundtrack, and superb setting, there's a unique charm to Persona 4 that sets it apart from its peers. An absolute gem of a game.
  5. Jan 17, 2023
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is like that bedside book that you are so fond of, a world that you want to return to again and again to meet characters you even dream of. If you forgive the passage of time, we are facing a title that even surpasses the fifth installment, bridging the gap.
  6. Jan 17, 2023
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is a masterpiece and one of the best JRPGs ever. If you've waited for a competent version of Persona 4 Golden on PS4, your wait has been worth it, but Atlus should've done more for those playing on PS5 and PS4 Pro.
  7. Jan 17, 2023
    85
    Persona 4 Golden is just as good as the fifth game despite the years it takes. It is a dark world in which we will spend hundreds of hours fighting enemy forces on the one hand, and dealing with our daily lives on the other.
  8. 80
    A compelling murder mystery plot, a cast of likeable characters, and key refinements to the original game make sure that your stay in the rural town of Inaba is a comfortable one in this 2023 version of Persona 4 Golden.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Feb 1, 2023
    8
    Better than 3, better than 5, play shin megami tensei IV as well. But this game is very cool, makes me feel I have friends
  2. Feb 1, 2023
    10
    O jogo roda perfeitamente no Switch, parece até que foi feito para essa plataforma. Apesar do meu preferido ser o 2 Eternal Punshiment, esseO jogo roda perfeitamente no Switch, parece até que foi feito para essa plataforma. Apesar do meu preferido ser o 2 Eternal Punshiment, esse tbm é um dos Persona que mais gosto. Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Perfect its just a perfect game, Perfect its just a perfect game, Perfect its just a perfect game,