Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    Pistol Whip is a triumph of game design. Rather than trying to wedge a bunch of mechanics onto a platform that doesn’t welcome them, Pistol Whip instead focuses on what makes VR fun – color, sound, and motion. This is a game that connects players with the developers’ intentions through its simple interface, leaving the player sweaty, inspired, and triumphant. Masterpieces come in all forms – and Pistol Whip qualifies.
  2. Jul 30, 2020
    100
    Pistol Whip’s multiple difficulties and modifiers like Deadeye and Dual-wield add depth to a game that’s more addictive and satisfying than Beat Saber. The 15 scenes included at the time of this review are all in the same general musical style and a bit of variety would be nice, but that might be coming with future updates. Pistol Whip is the game that brings me back to my VR headset again and again and I expect to keep playing through every update Cloudhead has planned for it.
  3. 95
    Pistol Whip is likely to be the PlayStation VR game of the year. It’s simple concept works incredibly well and has few faults. If you’ve ever wanted to be John Wick, or any other badass gun-wielding gangster for that matter, this is the game for you. Modifiers and multiple difficulties extend the life of the game even further, although this may not be enough for some. Once free content updates and extra DLC tracks arrive, though, there’ll be plenty of content to enjoy.
  4. Jul 31, 2020
    95
    Pistol Whip is one of the best games on PSVR. The shooting is satisfying, the level design is fantastic, and the music is phenomenal, making the whole experience a heart-pounding joyride through the senses.
  5. Aug 31, 2020
    90
    Pistol Whip is one of the best experiences we’ve ever had in VR. A fusion between Time Crisis and a rhythm game, cleverly designed, fun and challenging. A must have for PSVR owners.
  6. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Pistol Whip is a transcendent experience. This brilliant rails shooter has the trappings of a rhythm game which helps to make an already sublime experience stand out that much further. With a vibrant world and a variety of tracks to test your mettle with, the game offers a solid package right out of the gate. And that’s to say nothing of the upcoming content that will further expand what Pistol Whip has to offer.
  7. Aug 26, 2020
    88
    Even though Pistol Whip has a small musical offering at the moment, it's one of the best VR experiences I have played on PSVR and in general. It's easy to pick up, great to play, and tough to put down, and ultimately, that's all it's about. It isn't rich in features yet, but with a content roadmap in place, this potentially looks like "the next big thing," although it's marginally held back by a lack of content and song variety for now.
  8. Aug 24, 2020
    84
    Pistol Whip turns our weapon into a musical instrument so we can enjoy an incredible techno OST while shooting and dodging bullets in John Wick style.
  9. Aug 14, 2020
    81
    Pistol Whip is a top-notch VR game and one that's 100% worth getting for fans of rail shooters. Its stylish visuals and clever scoring system make it an immersive and challenging experience that's hard to put down once you get into the groove.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 18, 2020
    80
    Mastery is ultimately what will keep pulling you back in, and thanks to a wealth of modifiers, you can tweak the gunplay to be as accessible or as challenging as you want. Stick on Deadeye and you’ll discover just how much you’ve been relying on the default aim assist. Truly a whip-smart workout. [Issue#180, p.80]
  11. Aug 2, 2020
    80
    There are some definite drawbacks to playing it on PlayStation VR when compared to other systems, but at the end of the day, it's still a high-quality music/rhythm game experience and one of the better VR titles available. It will make a solid addition to anyone's PlayStation VR library for sure.
  12. Aug 31, 2020
    75
    Despite the lack of content overall, Pistol Whip is still a game that will give players plenty of fun as you blast your way through hundreds of henchmen leaving you feeling like a total badass.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37
  1. Aug 27, 2020
    5
    Are you REALLY that sick of Beat Saber yet?

    Pistol whip is pretty fun, the graphics are highly stylized, mostly to allow high frame rates.
    Are you REALLY that sick of Beat Saber yet?

    Pistol whip is pretty fun, the graphics are highly stylized, mostly to allow high frame rates. It doesn't have anything "new" after the first few levels, in my case I didn't find myself going back for more than 4 or 5 plays.

    I'm putting this on every PSVR review: All PSVR titles need to be on PSNow
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 23, 2020
    0
    I don't know why the rating is good. It's not that much fun. It's a boring game.
  3. Aug 27, 2020
    3
    The first two hours I had fun, then I got bored. I cannot understand the extremely positive Reviews...