Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
Buy On
  1. 60
    Ultimately, I doubt I’ll remember Prey much after I stop playing it. There’s too much else going on in games in 2017, and Prey does not stand out amongst its peers. Its fiction is self-serious, despite being so derivative, and its systems are frustrating and constantly in conflict with each other. It feels like dozens of other games I’ve played already, but enjoyed more. Even when something interesting does happen, I still feel like my time hasn’t been respected and my brain hasn’t been stimulated as promised.
  2. May 11, 2017
    60
    Prey is a game of uneven pacing and uninteresting characters. It opens with a poignant, thought-provoking premise, but fails to follow through until the end, when it claims a revelation it doesn't quite earn. Its gameplay falters out of the gate, eventually maturing into something worthwhile, if a bit familiar. As an homage to System Shock it's competent and at times even enjoyable. However, Prey fails to distinguish itself, and next to immersive sim contemporaries such as Dishonored, it feels stagnant.
  3. May 17, 2017
    65
    Prey’s sound design and soundtrack are some of the best to come from a game this year. Unfortunately, a lot of the aspects surrounding that hamper the potential set up from the game’s impressive opening hour. The combat is a source of frustration, and the load times neuter exploration. But if you’re able to look past that, Prey can provide some thrills.
  4. May 8, 2017
    60
    Nearly everything good about Prey is pulled from a game released in the decade before it. Well, four other games to be exact...The new Prey takes the highlights of these games, but merely allows them to coexist in a single habitat, never doing anything new with the foundational building blocks it has borrowed.
  5. May 14, 2017
    70
    Prey is a fun game with its highlights rooted in beautiful yet creepy levels that contain a lot to explore, but its lack of originality sadly holds it back quite a bit. It’s a classic case of “jack of all trades, master of none,” except with a couple of flaws in some of its trades as well.
  6. 60
    A wasted opportunity to create a modern take on System Shock, with the dull storytelling and action overshadowing the otherwise effective puzzle elements.
  7. 70
    Prey is another win for Arkane Studios and Bethesda. It may not have much to do with the original or the promising cancelled sequel, but it is a fine attempt at keeping the name alive. Sadly, the difficulty can be a barrier to enjoyment and often places you in situations where you are ill equipped to survive. Some may adore the challenge, others may find themselves too frustrated to continue. Otherwise Prey is a worthy followup, even if it isn’t what could have been.
  8. May 11, 2017
    50
    The game is dour and oblivious that its destination is more interesting and vital than the journey.
  9. May 16, 2017
    50
    That’s Prey all over. It works, it’s well made, and polished, and all those things we expect “AAA” games to be. What it is not is exciting. At all...It’s an also-ran that I was quite frankly happy to see the back of once I was blessedly finished.
  10. 60
    Prey is a mixed bag. Its setting is derivative but pretty, with its emergent storytelling often making for an eerie and atmospheric good time. But shallow enemies punish the player for their curiosity early on and only become annoying bullet sponges later. That, combined with an ultimate failure of the narrative to follow through on the psychological promises of the excellent opening, make for an experience that is, above everything else, conflicted.
  11. May 10, 2017
    70
    If you're in the mood for a corridor crawl modeled after the Dishonored series' "one problem, multiple solutions" approach, Prey has plenty to offer. Its pedigree is clear, an homage to design DNA you can trace back to Looking Glass Studios 1990s "Thief" and "Shock" games. There's no shame in iteration, and Prey does nothing worse than its precursors. The only question, given how familiar most of its ideas feel in 2017, is whether homage is enough.
  12. May 8, 2017
    60
    If you can overlook its unsatisfying combat and floaty controls, Prey’s freedom and multiple endings provide a game that’s worth experiencing.
  13. 70
    Prey burrows beneath your skin and never quite leaves your waking thoughts, but it's also buggy and imbalanced, marrying a first-rate setting to uneven gameplay. Comparisons with Bioshock are inevitable, but with its peaks and troughs, Prey reminds me more of Alien: Isolation.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 10, 2017
    An ornate and clever if slightly under-cooked System Shock successor, which makes the most of a truly magnificent space station setting. [Recommended]
  2. May 5, 2017
    Despite the blood stains and ransacked rooms, I’m having a blast so far.
  3. May 6, 2017
    Turns out it's not quite the "Dishonored in space" experience we were expecting, although it does seem to borrow heavily from Bioshock and Half-Life as well as more systems-based survival games...I have a feeling it's a lot longer than we thought. [First Impressions]
  4. May 18, 2017
    I enjoyed Prey. It’s tough, even frustratingly so, at first. But as the game opens up and rewards your commitment to it, you get to play out the fantasies of a horror scenario centered on big moral questions. It’s easy to get consumed by its mysteries, and get wrapped up in the guesswork/detective work of exploring those mysteries to their ends.
  5. May 9, 2017
    Prey is messing with my head - in a good way. All the elements of a great game are there, while driving me mad with its complexity.
  6. May 8, 2017
    Prey isn’t as distinctive as Dishonored, BioShock, or several similar games. It’s hard to make anything about monsters on a space station stand out, especially when it’s such a direct homage to an earlier project. But it manages the task of feeling both massive and compact, with a clear purpose but lots of interesting detours to explore — much like Talos-1 itself.
  7. May 8, 2017
    As I play more and more—I'm about 20 hours in now—I've realized that there's a major Bioshock staple that isn't in Prey: memorable characters.
  8. May 10, 2017
    Prey doesn’t understand itself, and it obliviously gets in its own way. It’s ultimately too broad and too undefined to achieve its own grand ambitions. Instead of proudly stating its own identity, Prey feels adrift, the way I was during that one sublime moment in space. Unmoored of itself, it asks questions that are worth pondering but doesn’t have any answers. Absent of those rejoinders, it loses its own shape, getting stuck in patterns it can’t break out of, drifting further and further away from land until the credits roll.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 873 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 5, 2017
    8
    This game has nothing in common with the 2006 Prey game, but it is still pretty enjoyable. It has great graphics, nice blend of horror andThis game has nothing in common with the 2006 Prey game, but it is still pretty enjoyable. It has great graphics, nice blend of horror and action, and some good RPG elements. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2017
    10
    Game runs smooth as butter on PC. Even on mid end hardware. Rating it a 10 to average out the 0's
    My actual score would be a 9.
    Arkane
    Game runs smooth as butter on PC. Even on mid end hardware. Rating it a 10 to average out the 0's
    My actual score would be a 9.

    Arkane nails the atmosphere here. If you are looking for a creepy yet interesting environment you will enjoy prey. The game, especially on harder difficulty focuses on the survival aspects, you'll need to search every nook and cranny for items and crafting materials to progress. Enemy variety does seem a little low. But the game still manages to keep you on edge with it's great sound design. You can hear every creak and spew of steam in the ominous space station as you explore.

    The game has a progression system. You can upgrade abilities via skill points as well as upgrade weapons and other things.
    Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2017
    9
    There are a handful of illiterate users posting their reviews so I'm going to attempt to make an actual ACCURATE review based on my currentThere are a handful of illiterate users posting their reviews so I'm going to attempt to make an actual ACCURATE review based on my current progress with the game.

    This game is awesome, the enemies are creepy, the game plays with your perception of reality, the weapons are creative and fun, plus there is a small bit of stealth in the game that is completely optional. Since Dishonored and Dishonored 2 from Arkane, I've loved what they as a studio have recently been known for, and no doubt Prey can hold up to those titles.

    The game can be difficult at times (even on normal) but it's really only because you seem to lose health rather quickly. Other than that, I've seen issues from some users about input lag but it seems to pretty hit or miss for that. I'd say this is a great reboot of Prey, and well deserves your money if you are looking for a fun and creepy mind-bending game.
    Full Review »