Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
Buy On
  1. May 10, 2017
    An ornate and clever if slightly under-cooked System Shock successor, which makes the most of a truly magnificent space station setting. [Recommended]
  2. May 5, 2017
    Despite the blood stains and ransacked rooms, I’m having a blast so far.
  3. May 6, 2017
    Turns out it's not quite the "Dishonored in space" experience we were expecting, although it does seem to borrow heavily from Bioshock and Half-Life as well as more systems-based survival games...I have a feeling it's a lot longer than we thought. [First Impressions]
  4. May 18, 2017
    I enjoyed Prey. It’s tough, even frustratingly so, at first. But as the game opens up and rewards your commitment to it, you get to play out the fantasies of a horror scenario centered on big moral questions. It’s easy to get consumed by its mysteries, and get wrapped up in the guesswork/detective work of exploring those mysteries to their ends.
  5. May 9, 2017
    Prey is messing with my head - in a good way. All the elements of a great game are there, while driving me mad with its complexity.
  6. May 8, 2017
    Prey isn’t as distinctive as Dishonored, BioShock, or several similar games. It’s hard to make anything about monsters on a space station stand out, especially when it’s such a direct homage to an earlier project. But it manages the task of feeling both massive and compact, with a clear purpose but lots of interesting detours to explore — much like Talos-1 itself.
  7. May 8, 2017
    As I play more and more—I'm about 20 hours in now—I've realized that there's a major Bioshock staple that isn't in Prey: memorable characters.
  8. May 10, 2017
    Prey doesn’t understand itself, and it obliviously gets in its own way. It’s ultimately too broad and too undefined to achieve its own grand ambitions. Instead of proudly stating its own identity, Prey feels adrift, the way I was during that one sublime moment in space. Unmoored of itself, it asks questions that are worth pondering but doesn’t have any answers. Absent of those rejoinders, it loses its own shape, getting stuck in patterns it can’t break out of, drifting further and further away from land until the credits roll.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 872 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 5, 2017
    8
    This game has nothing in common with the 2006 Prey game, but it is still pretty enjoyable. It has great graphics, nice blend of horror andThis game has nothing in common with the 2006 Prey game, but it is still pretty enjoyable. It has great graphics, nice blend of horror and action, and some good RPG elements. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2017
    10
    Game runs smooth as butter on PC. Even on mid end hardware. Rating it a 10 to average out the 0's
    My actual score would be a 9.
    Arkane
    Game runs smooth as butter on PC. Even on mid end hardware. Rating it a 10 to average out the 0's
    My actual score would be a 9.

    Arkane nails the atmosphere here. If you are looking for a creepy yet interesting environment you will enjoy prey. The game, especially on harder difficulty focuses on the survival aspects, you'll need to search every nook and cranny for items and crafting materials to progress. Enemy variety does seem a little low. But the game still manages to keep you on edge with it's great sound design. You can hear every creak and spew of steam in the ominous space station as you explore.

    The game has a progression system. You can upgrade abilities via skill points as well as upgrade weapons and other things.
    Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2017
    9
    There are a handful of illiterate users posting their reviews so I'm going to attempt to make an actual ACCURATE review based on my currentThere are a handful of illiterate users posting their reviews so I'm going to attempt to make an actual ACCURATE review based on my current progress with the game.

    This game is awesome, the enemies are creepy, the game plays with your perception of reality, the weapons are creative and fun, plus there is a small bit of stealth in the game that is completely optional. Since Dishonored and Dishonored 2 from Arkane, I've loved what they as a studio have recently been known for, and no doubt Prey can hold up to those titles.

    The game can be difficult at times (even on normal) but it's really only because you seem to lose health rather quickly. Other than that, I've seen issues from some users about input lag but it seems to pretty hit or miss for that. I'd say this is a great reboot of Prey, and well deserves your money if you are looking for a fun and creepy mind-bending game.
    Full Review »