User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 210
  2. Negative: 63 out of 210
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2017
    3
    Please rename this game to "Rage Quit"! Also consider a warning "Do not throw controllers or remotes to your new 4K HDR TV".

    PC2 will appeal to a very small segment of the racing/simulator genre. PC2 takes simulation to the next level, and this is both it's strength and weakness. The game looks gorgeous and the level of car/track modelling is impressive, but this game is not only
    Please rename this game to "Rage Quit"! Also consider a warning "Do not throw controllers or remotes to your new 4K HDR TV".

    PC2 will appeal to a very small segment of the racing/simulator genre. PC2 takes simulation to the next level, and this is both it's strength and weakness. The game looks gorgeous and the level of car/track modelling is impressive, but this game is not only difficult, it's frustrating and un-rewarding.

    It's one of the few games I've returned, and not for lack of trying! I spent the better part of 3 days convincing myself to keep going, "it will get easier". Nope! I kept asking myself, "surely I don't suck this bad", and I'm damn sure the developers promised a better experience on the normal controller. Starting with karts does not make this game any easier.
    Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2019
    2
    Normally I'd bother to write a review that discusses a games features, strengths and weakness's but I'm not going to bother with this garbage fire of a racing simulator, it's so poorly optimised for a controller that it borderlines unplayable, it's graphically unimpressive, everything it attempts to do it does so poorly, I could never recommend this game to anyone. This game should be usedNormally I'd bother to write a review that discusses a games features, strengths and weakness's but I'm not going to bother with this garbage fire of a racing simulator, it's so poorly optimised for a controller that it borderlines unplayable, it's graphically unimpressive, everything it attempts to do it does so poorly, I could never recommend this game to anyone. This game should be used to interrogate inmates in Guantanamo bay, they should be forced to play an F1 race repeatedly in rainy conditions, only being allowed to stop when they've divulged all information to the military, this is slightly more humane than water boarding and will definitely get the answers they seek much faster than conventional torture. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2020
    0
    This game is unplayable. The handling is impossible. I've tried tuning the options but the car just won't keep straight.
  4. Sep 30, 2017
    5
    not great. really struggle to control it using an entry level steering wheel. ai is pretty poor. car selection is nice, needs more prototypes, and looks stunning.
  5. Nov 22, 2017
    0
    Awful multiplayer game, not finished and desperately needs patching. Wish i could get a refund, buy in the sale in 6 months time. Hopefully will have a finished game by then.
  6. Dec 2, 2017
    2
    After buying Project cars back in November 2016 I was getting amped up on the release of PCars 2. Every day I would be on their forum or website seeing the news and pics and videos. I bought it on the week it was released and I have been disappointed. The graphics give me a headache and are 50 times worse then Pcars 1. The replay is bugged. Setting up a car is a mess. I had dirt tires setAfter buying Project cars back in November 2016 I was getting amped up on the release of PCars 2. Every day I would be on their forum or website seeing the news and pics and videos. I bought it on the week it was released and I have been disappointed. The graphics give me a headache and are 50 times worse then Pcars 1. The replay is bugged. Setting up a car is a mess. I had dirt tires set on my car on the Texas road course in career mode! Dont even get me started on Online. Clearly this game should of came out 3-4 months later so they could finish the game. Its been sitting collecting dust as I await a patch to make me want to play it again. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2019
    4
    The most important thing of a racing sim is that you can drive realistically and pleasantly. I got this on sale and it's disappointing. The driving is not pleasant at all with a steeringwheel (Trust TR150RS). I tried carts, changed settings several times and it didn't get better. I also have Assetto Corsa, Gran Turismo Sport and F1 2018 and all of those work really well. Assetto is aThe most important thing of a racing sim is that you can drive realistically and pleasantly. I got this on sale and it's disappointing. The driving is not pleasant at all with a steeringwheel (Trust TR150RS). I tried carts, changed settings several times and it didn't get better. I also have Assetto Corsa, Gran Turismo Sport and F1 2018 and all of those work really well. Assetto is a better choice than PC2 if you want realism and GT Sport if you prefer arcade-sim racing. PC2 is the better choice if you want to waste your money. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2019
    4
    I bought the PS4 deluxe edition of PC2 plus the DLC. What is very disappointing with this game is the total missing support from the developer. No features improvement were made available. Even some stupid bugs (e.g. wrong country flag, ridiculous replay mode) were never fixed. The game offered good potential but the developer simply didn't provide any real effort to fix bugs and mostI bought the PS4 deluxe edition of PC2 plus the DLC. What is very disappointing with this game is the total missing support from the developer. No features improvement were made available. Even some stupid bugs (e.g. wrong country flag, ridiculous replay mode) were never fixed. The game offered good potential but the developer simply didn't provide any real effort to fix bugs and most importatnt to fix all the bugged features provided in the game. That lack of support was present also in PC1 so I will give no other trust on that developer Expand
  9. Dec 24, 2017
    2
    Overrated in my opinion. Bought it on launch-day & had it for about a month. Absolutely hated it, complete waste of $70 (Canadian). The controls & handling are just terrible. I used the Thrustmaster T80 Wheel & couldn't control the car at all! My biggest problems were; brake lock-up & spinning-out easily (because of the super-twitchy steering). I tried changing every setting I could find,Overrated in my opinion. Bought it on launch-day & had it for about a month. Absolutely hated it, complete waste of $70 (Canadian). The controls & handling are just terrible. I used the Thrustmaster T80 Wheel & couldn't control the car at all! My biggest problems were; brake lock-up & spinning-out easily (because of the super-twitchy steering). I tried changing every setting I could find, didn't make any difference. Project Cars 2 is un-playable. The graphics are good, but that's it, nothing else is good about it. Expand
  10. Oct 19, 2017
    0
    So much potential just like the last time but there's just an unforgivable amount of bugs, which is such a shame because it's such a good game. I'm just tired of having bugs happen just when I'm enjoying the game and finally seeing how good it can be.
  11. Nov 8, 2017
    1
    1 point for this game
    after >100h of gameplayed
    why? lots of disconect in steam are making me loosing the all points i gather in last weeks how can i still be under 1500 points when i got over 75% of the races in top 10, and not even going to mention the top 3 Why did we loose 40 points with a disconect and zero points with a 3 place? Why did we need to have kids ruining the
    1 point for this game
    after >100h of gameplayed
    why?
    lots of disconect in steam are making me loosing the all points i gather in last weeks
    how can i still be under 1500 points when i got
    over 75% of the races in top 10, and not even going to mention the top 3

    Why did we loose 40 points with a disconect and zero points with a 3 place?
    Why did we need to have kids ruining the lobbys with no consequences
    why did, nops i dont need too continue!

    Avoid buying the game until the fix this issues and more!
    Shame that pcars 1 went much better than this
    Expand
  12. Sep 27, 2017
    7
    Hell yeah! I'm so glad to come into this site and discover I'm certainly not alone with my feeling about this game! The game is damn awesome: sounds, graphics, cars ... but I do not have a wheel and the handling with the default controller is absolutely crazy-difficult with some cars. I really enjoy challenging handling in a racing game but this goes over the top.

    And you know what? I
    Hell yeah! I'm so glad to come into this site and discover I'm certainly not alone with my feeling about this game! The game is damn awesome: sounds, graphics, cars ... but I do not have a wheel and the handling with the default controller is absolutely crazy-difficult with some cars. I really enjoy challenging handling in a racing game but this goes over the top.

    And you know what? I know some hardcore users disagree with this but throw in the "rewind" feature that other games have and it would make a huuuuuge difference to play. Right now I'm quitting this game because it's destroying my nervous system.
    Expand
  13. Jun 5, 2020
    3
    FR : j'ai joué facilement 50 heures a ce jeu toujours par espoir d'y trouver des qualitees et il en as mais pc2 cumule des defauts de gameplay , d'ia, de downgrade graphic , de bugs solo ou en ligne qui detruisent totalement le jeu . Contrairement a un assetto corsa ou la physiqie regne , pc2 imprime un gameplay lisse avec des reactions anormales , un train avant identique sur absolumentFR : j'ai joué facilement 50 heures a ce jeu toujours par espoir d'y trouver des qualitees et il en as mais pc2 cumule des defauts de gameplay , d'ia, de downgrade graphic , de bugs solo ou en ligne qui detruisent totalement le jeu . Contrairement a un assetto corsa ou la physiqie regne , pc2 imprime un gameplay lisse avec des reactions anormales , un train avant identique sur absolument tous les vehicules , un ma'que de precisions lié au rapport suspension pneu surface desesperant etc etc. En fait il a l'aspect d'une simulation et ca fait son effet 10 ou 15 h ce qui explique la note de beaucoup de joueurs et surtout de la presse. Peut etre qu'a la manette c'est different mais au volant c'est tout sauf une simulation. D'ailleurs dans notre communauté simracer , personne n'y joue, aucun pro n'y joue et aucune grande competition ne se base sur ce jeu completement loupé et très loin du premier . Expand
  14. Oct 26, 2017
    4
    I'll keep this short, it's not a complete product. I have never played a game with so many bugs on release. No doubt eventually they will all be fixed but this is beyond a joke. I like many others reverted back to PC1 and found the love again. If you haven't already purchased then don't, wait till a few more big updates have rolled out. Be warned!!
  15. Oct 15, 2019
    0
    отстой. на геймпаде играть нереально, постоянные заносы, постоянно последний даже на легком уровне сложности. отвратительная игра.
  16. Nov 7, 2017
    6
    Of course this is a race simulator game and you can't expect a perfect handling with a gamepad but after some changes in controller sittings you can make this game at least playable (not in the rain races off course). The biggest problem of the game is BUGS, BUGS and one more time BUGS especially in a multiplayer game, some of them are so annoying that ruins any positive experience fromOf course this is a race simulator game and you can't expect a perfect handling with a gamepad but after some changes in controller sittings you can make this game at least playable (not in the rain races off course). The biggest problem of the game is BUGS, BUGS and one more time BUGS especially in a multiplayer game, some of them are so annoying that ruins any positive experience from the game . Also the game have some dramatic FPS drops almost every race .
    Right now game look like is in beta version, not even close to a complete game. Save your nerves , wait some updates.
    Expand
  17. Sep 1, 2020
    1
    DEcided to try it out since it was in promotion and id been missing a car game... WELL FK U if u only have a controller. Borderline unplayable. what sht waste never again buying from this franchise
  18. Nov 15, 2020
    2
    Not playable with the ps4 controller at all! Really frustrating. Not fun, not catchy
  19. Feb 8, 2021
    0
    Игра гондонская залупа блять , ебаные штрафы хуй пойми как работающие. Тебя блять сносит какой то долбаеб - возвращайся назад или пошел нахуй , управление гондонское , передачи гондонские . Хочешь пройти на ебаной формуле 1 которая едет как скорость звука ? Едь блять 50 км в часИгра гондонская залупа блять , ебаные штрафы хуй пойми как работающие. Тебя блять сносит какой то долбаеб - возвращайся назад или пошел нахуй , управление гондонское , передачи гондонские . Хочешь пройти на ебаной формуле 1 которая едет как скорость звука ? Едь блять 50 км в час
  20. Dec 19, 2017
    6
    A lot of tracks but outdated graphics plus aliasing, and the drive settings are so weird
    BUT if you are a sim lover you would consider buy this game for few sessions
  21. Nov 27, 2017
    6
    I played this for 3 months. What I can say is that the graphic and sound of Project Cars 2 are stunning. The huge selection of cars are great. What's more is that this game able to play offline. I am not kind of person that play multiplayer racing with players all over the world, so I wouldn't bother about the multiplayer bug or freeze. The career mode is awesome and provides lots of fun.I played this for 3 months. What I can say is that the graphic and sound of Project Cars 2 are stunning. The huge selection of cars are great. What's more is that this game able to play offline. I am not kind of person that play multiplayer racing with players all over the world, so I wouldn't bother about the multiplayer bug or freeze. The career mode is awesome and provides lots of fun. What I really dislike this game is the AI. The AI is not consistent and awful. Even I lower the difficult to 50 or even 40, I simply can't catch up the AI even I made a perfect lap or race. I often came in last second or third position. I need to lower it till 10 or 20 to be able playing it. And the controller is terrible. I know is a simulation game where realistic control is the key for this game. But I think it should provides a simple mode for those beginners who just want to race and have fun instead of spending hours and hours twitting the controller settings and car settings that I even don't know what are they. This game sure is not for beginners. If you want to have fun and race and not spending and wasting time twitting the setting, this game is not for you. Go for other game. Expand
  22. Dec 23, 2017
    5
    Love racing games i even bought the first Project cars the only downfall to part one and 2 of this series is its not very controller user friendly i still find myself googling controller settings.....NOT EVERYONE USES A STEERING WHEEN AND PEDDLES.... If you dont have the needs to search for controller settings on the internet for an hour i would not recommend this game
  23. May 3, 2020
    6
    Large selection of cars, race tracks, amazing sound and lots of weather options. But console version look very average, the graphics is kinda outdated.

    Also AI is not the best on the market so single player campaign is not worth effort.

    Game is good only for Time Trial and Multiplayer which is full of bugs so 6/10
  24. Feb 19, 2021
    0
    This game is the worst racing game I've ever played. By a margin...
    Most cars behave so badly that I don't even know how they have been able to sell such a game like this. I'm sure they didn't even try the game before releasing it.
    The kart is too loose, i've driven several karts and they don't behave so bad. It is always oversteering and you can't do one single clean lap. The ginettas
    This game is the worst racing game I've ever played. By a margin...
    Most cars behave so badly that I don't even know how they have been able to sell such a game like this. I'm sure they didn't even try the game before releasing it.
    The kart is too loose, i've driven several karts and they don't behave so bad. It is always oversteering and you can't do one single clean lap. The ginettas g40j and gt5 have the worst force feedback in the game. After a certain rotation, the wheel suddenly snaps, and you end up oversteering at every corner... Also, it isn't that much responsive and doesn't communicate as it should.
    The formula rookie is the best starter, but still falls short to expectations. As you may already guess, the rear is unstable.
    The clio cup when braking seems always like someone is using the handbrake. You brake, you turn a bit the wheel, and... OVERSTEER!
    The super trofeo is the faster version of the clio cup. Same story...
    The gt3s don't have downforce, they behave so bad and have so little grip that it's unbelivable. The tires are the worst thing in my opinion. They give more grip when really cold, because when you have them in temperature, prepare yourself to countersteer at every corner exit. Also, the soft compound lasts just 2 laps, and after that, they pretty much completetly overheated even when the track is just at 25 degrees celsius.
    The hard compound is even worse. At below 40 degrees celsius it's like driving on ice, the car spins everywhere and feels really unstable. When you get them to temperature, they provide too less grip to enjoy the tracks...
    The gtes are better, but still a lot behind iracing or rfactor 2
    Group C cars suffer the same problem, but a bit less.
    Every road car is extremely loose. The more horsepower they have, the worst they drive. Even with the pirelli p zero trofeo r in temperature you can't keep the wheel straight or do a clean corner because it slides all over the place. I've driven a couple of supercars with these tires, and the do not behave like real life. At all...
    Maybe it's a good drifting game? Nope, not even for this. I'm not an amazing drifter, but i can drift through a few corners, even in real life. In this game is impossible since the tires have so little grip, that when drifting you can't hold your line.
    Touring cars are ok. The bmw is too loose and the renault is weird in many situations, but at least they are drivable.
    The formula A is the worst formula 1 ever conceived,. I won't spend too much time on it.
    The formula renault is good, even though the sound isn't that good. At least it has downforce...
    Vintage cars lacks great ffb and in general they are wonky. The 90s dtm are truly terrible.
    In the time trial you start with super hot tires and the cars have little grip due to that. They can't get something right...
    Some cars have different compound from other of the same category, so you can't even do a equal race due to the laziness of the developers...
    The sounds in general are pretty good, but it's too little to save this "game".
    The graphics aren't even that good, there are many glitches and even when you ignore them, it is far from impressing.
    The leaderboard doesn't even work correctly, you can't filter cars and you can only select the ghost from the first 30 times. USELESS
    The campaign is just boring and unrewarding, due to the lack of story and the incredibly inconsistent AI, which don't even run with your physic. Yes, the have different physics from you, they don't oversteer or understeer, they don't care about the rain and go straight as nothing ever happened.
    The rain is very bad too. Even at 20 km/h the car (with wet tires) suffers from aquaplanning, making it undrivable.
    The default setups are usually pretty bad, to do a good laptime you have to spend HOURS to find something that works decently.
    The online aspect is lacking too. The license is stupid, if someone hits you, they decrease you safety rating too. The penalties are too strict and frustrating.
    They said the game had been developed with the help from mclaren. Well, every mclaren in the game is bad, especially the f1 and the 720s. The 650s gt3 lacks completely front downforce, it understeers like crazy.
    Most of the tracks are decent, not too bad.
    After having played this game for a while, I can't give a score higher than 0. It doesn't stand a chance when compared to iracing, rfactor 2, ACC, and even to a game from 2014, Assetto Corsa.
    This game is a robbery for what it provides, and mostly for the quality. Don't get excited for the list of cars and tracks, 70% of the cars are unrealistic and half of the tracks are useless, nobody race on them, especially online. After all, after seeing project cars 3, I'm not surprised they stopped updating this game after a year. Cashgrabbers...
    Don't even look at this game if you play on controller, it's trash.
    If you want a good simulator on consoles, buy ACC or AC, they are way better.
    Expand
  25. Oct 6, 2017
    1
    The 1 point is for the nice graphics & cars. With all the other aspects I can just repeat what others have written. I am doing racing sims for over 20 years but this is the worst, completely frustrating. Luckily there will be other racings games this autumn. I will now switch back to Forza 7 which is excellent.
  26. Jan 9, 2018
    2
    While the car handling isn't too bad and the engine sounds are good, I find the graphics on the PS4 rather appalling. This game by no means improves on its predecessor in any terms. I see no reason why the bit of additional content could not merely have been added to the original game as DLC. Quite frankly I think the graphics of especially the replays, looked better in Project Cars 1. InWhile the car handling isn't too bad and the engine sounds are good, I find the graphics on the PS4 rather appalling. This game by no means improves on its predecessor in any terms. I see no reason why the bit of additional content could not merely have been added to the original game as DLC. Quite frankly I think the graphics of especially the replays, looked better in Project Cars 1. In spite of purchasing the game at a 41% discounted price I still feel ripped off! On the PS4 platform rather buy Gran Turismo Sport. Though perhaps a bit lacking in content now, it promises free DLC with more cars, tracks and weather. Polyphony have already started by adding a career mode and a substantial amount of new cars. As for the graphics it is so far above that of Project Cars 2 there is absolutely no comparison. I'm really disappointed and cannot recommend this game. My recommendation would be to buy it only if it is more than 80% discounted if you really must have it. Expand
  27. Apr 29, 2020
    0
    This game doesn't work with my duelshock 4. I can't turn my vehicle well at all. I tried changing some of the settings and it doesn't help enough with the turning. Only some tracks that don't have a lot turns work. Do Not Buy This Game!
  28. Sep 26, 2017
    0
    I have been playing racing sims for 18 years and this has to be the worst yet. Even if the game wasn't littered with bugs, which it is, the handling is atrocious. On a game pad this game is unplayable even after hours spent in the controller settings. Don't believe Slightly Mad Studios when they say they have improved the handling from P Cars 1 because they haven't.
  29. Oct 5, 2017
    0
    Man this game HAS so much potential, but Im sorry this is the 2nd time around PCARS is bugged to hell, they made a big thing about saying it will release with less bugs than PC1 , and that may be so , but this game right now sucks.

    All the bugs take away any enjoyment for me , and trust me there are a ton of them. Avoid this game for about 6 months until they actually release patches to
    Man this game HAS so much potential, but Im sorry this is the 2nd time around PCARS is bugged to hell, they made a big thing about saying it will release with less bugs than PC1 , and that may be so , but this game right now sucks.

    All the bugs take away any enjoyment for me , and trust me there are a ton of them. Avoid this game for about 6 months until they actually release patches to put this Beta right..shocking.

    Edit: Changed my score to zero , due to the muppets on their forum, you say anything negative about the game on there , they ban you.
    Expand
  30. Sep 26, 2017
    0
    Unplayable on a controller with stick. The settings for using a controller are unbelievably awful. I've played racing games since Speedway/Spin-Out on the old Magnavox Odyssey 2 system, right up through the Gran Turismos and most of the Forzas, none have ever been this ridiculous to simply control the vehicle. Making the controls suck does not make this game "hardcore", it just makes itUnplayable on a controller with stick. The settings for using a controller are unbelievably awful. I've played racing games since Speedway/Spin-Out on the old Magnavox Odyssey 2 system, right up through the Gran Turismos and most of the Forzas, none have ever been this ridiculous to simply control the vehicle. Making the controls suck does not make this game "hardcore", it just makes it unplayable and unenjoyable. I love realistic racing sims, but you must have a way for the user to reliably control the vehicle, or all of the pretty graphics, sounds, and physics mean nothing. Also, as others have stated, the AI is laughably bad. Expand
  31. Oct 8, 2017
    3
    I've regretted buying few games as much as this one. It's just ridiculously hard and unforgiving. If you've played Dirt: Rally then you might love this game. I guess I didn't realize how ruthless the game was before buying it. Granted, I'm not the best at racing games, but even after a few hours of play I wasn't able to even advance beyond the kart class. I will say the graphics and soundI've regretted buying few games as much as this one. It's just ridiculously hard and unforgiving. If you've played Dirt: Rally then you might love this game. I guess I didn't realize how ruthless the game was before buying it. Granted, I'm not the best at racing games, but even after a few hours of play I wasn't able to even advance beyond the kart class. I will say the graphics and sound are really good, so if you love a hardcore racing game, this is for you. Expand
  32. Sep 25, 2017
    1
    Bugs, bugs, more bugs and more bugs than mega a lot of bugs-land.

    Avoid this game as it is unfinished and full of bugs. Did I say it was buggy?.... well there's lots of bugs.
    AVOID the BUGS of Buggy Pcars2 BUGGY.
  33. Nov 15, 2017
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!
    Surely the game impresses with the multitude of vehicles and tracks and also the graphics, sound and physics are great but the game is full of bugs, bugs, bugs and more bugs. This is not the worst thing in this game. The worst thing in this game is the Competitive Racing License the frustration Level is very high! To keep it simple, any other racing simulation is
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!
    Surely the game impresses with the multitude of vehicles and tracks and also the graphics, sound and physics are great but the game is full of bugs, bugs, bugs and more bugs. This is not the worst thing in this game. The worst thing in this game is the Competitive Racing License the frustration Level is very high! To keep it simple, any other racing simulation is better than Project Cars 2 at the moment
    Expand
  34. Sep 25, 2017
    1
    Project cars 2, maybe fans shouldnt create their own game after all... the AI is laughable, the graphical glitches are abismal and really off putting and the controller support is severely lacking despite suposedly being better! GT Sport is just around the corner thankfully!!
  35. Sep 11, 2019
    6
    A basic but beautiful racing game. I'd say go with a different racing game though.
  36. Sep 27, 2017
    3
    I kept persisting at this game but have found it so frustrating. I'd have to say it's one of the worst racing games to date. After the first Project Cars I'm very disappointed with this instalment.
  37. Sep 26, 2017
    5
    the game is really good visually , i has some of the best graphics on any video game until now , it has a huge variety of cars , , also it has a better overall career mode than the first game , also the design on the menus of the game and everything look much better , also the cars looks amazing also the sound effect sounds really great , only thing is bad about the game are the controls ,the game is really good visually , i has some of the best graphics on any video game until now , it has a huge variety of cars , , also it has a better overall career mode than the first game , also the design on the menus of the game and everything look much better , also the cars looks amazing also the sound effect sounds really great , only thing is bad about the game are the controls , like the first one is extremelly diffucult to control the car and it is very annoying some times , i know is a simulator so it needs to be hard so it'll looks like reality but honestly sometimes it even feel like if i was really driving those cars in the real world could be easier than driving them on project cars . i mean you begin driving carts and you can actually you can lose control on a corner driving with 20 km/h just because you press the stick a little more . this cant happen with real carts anywhere on earth Expand
  38. Sep 22, 2017
    9
    ++ handling (physics + controller and wheel "feeling") *

    I'm a player who use controller now and I'm very happy with the new physics. "The Project Cars 2 | Controller settings tutorial" on youtube helps me alot. Do you think It's too "hardcore"? Maybe try another car, and practice. Believe me, worth it. It's very enjoyable. This is a good sim, not a NFS. Maybe you need a little
    ++ handling (physics + controller and wheel "feeling") *

    I'm a player who use controller now and I'm very happy with the new physics. "The Project Cars 2 | Controller settings tutorial" on youtube helps me alot. Do you think It's too "hardcore"? Maybe try another car, and practice. Believe me, worth it. It's very enjoyable. This is a good sim, not a NFS. Maybe you need a little patience.

    I thought that the Clio is very difficult, but I chose that I don't give up. And now I'm impressed. This is the best sim racing in the decade for me. This is an unforgettable sim title (and the second - after PC1) that I love to drive with controller. This is a huge. One more time: Don't give up. It's better. It's more.

    ++ ~ 60 tracks
    + seasons
    + very nice UI
    ++ livetrack3.0
    ++ one of the best HUD I'have ever seen
    ++ really great multiplayer
    + graphics
    + music
    + engine sound

    - graphics (example: the quality of mirror)
    - AI *

    I know that the AI sometimes little stupid, but I know that it's a very complex game. 60 tracks x 180 cars x 4 seasons x day and night x weather. A lot of content. And that's the price. So I'm happy with that.
    Expand
  39. Dec 8, 2017
    10
    This review is based on the game after updating to version 3.01 on PS4 Pro. I play this 50% with a DS4 controller and 50% on a Thrustmaster T300RS wheel plus pedals and h- pattern gear shifter. I also use a bluetooth keyboard for mapping all the extra functions to and Android telemetry apps which are all now also supported on console.

    From a simulation point of view it's simply the
    This review is based on the game after updating to version 3.01 on PS4 Pro. I play this 50% with a DS4 controller and 50% on a Thrustmaster T300RS wheel plus pedals and h- pattern gear shifter. I also use a bluetooth keyboard for mapping all the extra functions to and Android telemetry apps which are all now also supported on console.

    From a simulation point of view it's simply the best there is. There are a few cars which need the physics correcting here or there but it's genuinely the best driving or racing simulator or driving game I've played on console or PC ever. I think it is as close to the real thing as
    anything out there whether it's the excellent sims Assetto Corsa, iRacing, Real Racing Experience, Automodelista, R-Factor and the good but less advanced physics of Forza/Gran Turismo Sport. The career is now much more playable at lower levels since the last update and the new default tunes on all cars make for much easier handling on most of them (wait for your tyres to warm up though). Even on release I found default ds4 handling to be excellent although some cars needed fine tuning. The new tunes now make most cars handle well on controller. There are at least 2 default tunes for each car. The game defaults to automatically load a "stable" tune for DS4 players and a "loose" one for wheel users. This works well.

    I love the highly customisable single player race weekends, private testing, time trials, community events, online has seen an improvement over Project Cars 1 including a safety rating system to try and ensure drivers can pick the level of race they choose to race against from a safety and performance perspective.

    The photomode is not as good as Gran Turismo Sport's brilliant new mode but it still does a great job. I've managed to get some superb shots out of the mode that really show off the great lighting and weather models. The PS4 does have a few AA issues which SMS have said they will improve upon in upcoming patches (definite improvements PS4 Pro in 3.01). This also applies to AI on some tracks or some of the huge variety of weather conditions that the game includes. They seem to be improving things there in the latest update.

    The new online championship is great. Unfortunately at the time of writing I could only choose from a list of one hundred friends to send championship invites. Unfortunately I have hundreds of friends as I'm a league organiser. The ps4 supports 2000 friends. That should be fixed shortly.

    It's as close as any game has ever got to simulating the handling and feel of real life cars. The fact all of that is there to play and drive at the start is a good thing. I'm not interested in digital car collecting. I know what I want to drive (everything) and am glad I can choose any of it right from the start.
    Expand
  40. Sep 22, 2017
    10
    it is most beautiful graphic ever i seen, career mode is deeper and more fun.. alot cars are amazing.. great sound. livetrack 3.0 is incredible. 4 different seasons. i recommender this to anyone who is fan of racing games
  41. Oct 26, 2017
    8
    the original project cars1 release had much potential but fell flat on it's face, plagued with bugs that made the game unplayable. I was kicked out of their forum for telling them exactly how I felt about the game and the bias trolling moderators. they hide complaint treads and only wanted good things to be posted about that game; it was a horrible purchase and was deserving of somethe original project cars1 release had much potential but fell flat on it's face, plagued with bugs that made the game unplayable. I was kicked out of their forum for telling them exactly how I felt about the game and the bias trolling moderators. they hide complaint treads and only wanted good things to be posted about that game; it was a horrible purchase and was deserving of some positive criticism.

    All that criticism must have paid off and the developement became stronger because project cars 2 is the bomb. Project cars 2 is everything project cars1 wish it was with everything from improved AI, improved driving physics, Ds4 controller friendly, advanced weather options and comprehensive menu options and so much more. if you are a racing fan on a gaming console as me, who enjoys a more simulated racing experience then project cars2 is for you. My purchase of project cars 2 was because I enjoy custom races in realistic driving cars with dynamic time and weather. project cars 2 is a spectacular game.

    Important update: previously giving this game a 10, I have to retract my review because the more I play the longer the screen freezes now to the point of frustration.

    Update again: bug fixes seems to stop the screen freezing. review score changed again
    Expand
  42. Sep 27, 2017
    10
    With so many negative reviews, I felt I should write something positive. Project CARS 2 (PC2) is DEFINITELY a step up from its predecessor and is definitely a step in the right direction for sim racers on consoles. The amount of content is crazy, tons of tracks, tons of cars, weather options, etc. Much more dynamic than Project CARS (PC1). PC2 features dynamic, 3D puddles similar to whatWith so many negative reviews, I felt I should write something positive. Project CARS 2 (PC2) is DEFINITELY a step up from its predecessor and is definitely a step in the right direction for sim racers on consoles. The amount of content is crazy, tons of tracks, tons of cars, weather options, etc. Much more dynamic than Project CARS (PC1). PC2 features dynamic, 3D puddles similar to what was seen in Forza 6. This adds a wild card element to every race.

    The graphics have also been improved and while not running at native 4K, you do get a nice 1440p 60fps experience for the most part (if you using a PS4 Pro). Sound is also really well done. From the cackling of exhaust to the squeal of tires being punished on a tight turn, everything sounds crisp and clean.

    The controls for controllers (DS4) are definitely not user friendly straight out of the box (not like Forza or Gran Turismo). Just like PC1, your going to spend a little time tweaking the controls to find the perfect fit for your play style. Once you get them dialed in, everything clicks. You'll be pulling clean laps in no time. The tire model and overall physics are pretty spot on.

    I've included my settings below. Use these as a base and tweak as needed until they feel right to you:

    Steering Deadzone: 0
    Steering Sensitivity: 50
    Throttle Deadzone: 0
    Throttle Sensitivity: 10
    Brake Deadzone: 0
    Brake Sensitivity: 10
    Clutch Deadzone: 10
    Clutch Sensitivity: 45
    Speed Sensitivity: 95
    Damper Saturation: 50
    Controller Damping: 80
    Controller Vibration: 100
    Minimum Shift Time: 0

    This game gets better each time I play! Give it a shot, if you love sim racing, you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  43. Oct 1, 2017
    10
    I am back at the ten. Despite some issues in the beginning where especially the street cars were undriveable, long load times because everything is online - now everything works. Exhilarating drivefeel, realistic made in every of the 180 different cars - as they are with a lot of finetuning optiions, 60 tracks - all the weather conditions imaginable - all 4 seasons a- and now amazingI am back at the ten. Despite some issues in the beginning where especially the street cars were undriveable, long load times because everything is online - now everything works. Exhilarating drivefeel, realistic made in every of the 180 different cars - as they are with a lot of finetuning optiions, 60 tracks - all the weather conditions imaginable - all 4 seasons a- and now amazing graphrics. I am thrilled. Racing as it should bwe - and then a lot more. PS4 pro and Thrustmaster 300 racing wheel Expand
  44. Sep 26, 2017
    8
    I'm in the minority I guess but I actually really like the handling on gamepad. I can correct from oversteer, unroll the wheel properly coming out of a turn, and brake and throttle with comfort. I've always liked the project cars career, and in project cars 2 it's been fun so far. Unfortunately the AI still leaves a lot to be desired, and I've typically been faced with poor connections inI'm in the minority I guess but I actually really like the handling on gamepad. I can correct from oversteer, unroll the wheel properly coming out of a turn, and brake and throttle with comfort. I've always liked the project cars career, and in project cars 2 it's been fun so far. Unfortunately the AI still leaves a lot to be desired, and I've typically been faced with poor connections in multiplayer settings (despite having fast internet).

    I think it could'vve been a perfect game that is unfortunately hindered by some frame rate issues, inconsistent AI and at the moment spotty multiplayer connections. I still thoroughly enjoy it though, hopefully it gets better with time.
    Expand
  45. Nov 3, 2017
    9
    Graphics: 9.2 Sound: 9.1 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 9.0

    Great racing game. Its polished and has great improvements over the predecessor. Time and weather dynamics are awesome. Difficulty is very adjustable to all drivers.
  46. Jan 18, 2018
    10
    Es hoy día el mejor simulador de carreras, tras algunos parches solucionaron diversos problemas y el título con volante es una gozada lo que llega a transmitir, ni caso a esas notas, es un videojuego sobresaliente.
  47. Dec 7, 2017
    10
    Beautiful game, fun to play, many improvements since the first one. It is the best racing game for PS4 so far. There is no comparison with Gran Turismo for example. Buy a steering wheel and have fun!
  48. Jul 19, 2019
    8
    Even more than with the first part I needed my time to find the flow and set the right difficulty and aides. And though it still has it's flaws (those damn Clio's!), those magic moments were you get 'in the zone' and keep improving yourself keep showing themselves more. It can be a tough game to pick up but one that in my opinion is worth it's effort.
  49. Oct 23, 2017
    8
    I'm writing this after struggling with the game for a week. I almost returned it several times, but I'm glad I didn't. All has been said about the fantastic graphics and stuff, but you must be patient because it's one of the most unforgiving driving games around - at least if you play with the PS4 dualshock controller and without any breaking or steering assistance. Use the race line andI'm writing this after struggling with the game for a week. I almost returned it several times, but I'm glad I didn't. All has been said about the fantastic graphics and stuff, but you must be patient because it's one of the most unforgiving driving games around - at least if you play with the PS4 dualshock controller and without any breaking or steering assistance. Use the race line and put tire wear to low - once you get the game physics - it's going to blow your mind! Worth it every $$. Expand
  50. Oct 21, 2017
    10
    Too many people trying to save the world from Project CARS. The 83 from critic reviews is fair and accurate, so I gave it 10 to balance out the whingers: 0/10? really? I have it on its natural home on PC and also on PS4, where there is nothing to touch it. If you are after the most realistic and immersive professional motorsport simulator you've got it here. It can be played casually, butToo many people trying to save the world from Project CARS. The 83 from critic reviews is fair and accurate, so I gave it 10 to balance out the whingers: 0/10? really? I have it on its natural home on PC and also on PS4, where there is nothing to touch it. If you are after the most realistic and immersive professional motorsport simulator you've got it here. It can be played casually, but you will enjoy it much more if you can put in the time to learn the cars and tracks.
    Treat the AI like humans with a mother and you'll be fine, bash them out of the way like bots and it will end in tears.
    Every car feels different and there is so much depth and variety you could play it for a year and not exhaust all the possible permutations. SMS are patching bugs and improving it all the time.
    If petrol runs through your veins you'll love it, but beware, it's not a casual arcade type experience.
    Expand
  51. Feb 5, 2018
    10
    Played it on Thrustmaster t300rs and on DS4 . Great challenging game only for those who love play a real sim.If you don"t like it go on GT Sport simcade.
  52. Jun 4, 2018
    10
    PC2 is the "one and only" real racing simulator for PS4. I'ts simply the best racing game you can get.
  53. Mar 17, 2019
    8
    As a primarily offline gamer everything I wanted but didn’t get in GTSport can be found in Project Cars 2. Dynamic all-season weather, dynamic time of day, cars I can enjoy without having to grind credits for, an engaging career mode, flexible control and FOV options, advanced car tuning, multi-class racing, a plethora of tracks, fully customizable events with practice and qualifyingAs a primarily offline gamer everything I wanted but didn’t get in GTSport can be found in Project Cars 2. Dynamic all-season weather, dynamic time of day, cars I can enjoy without having to grind credits for, an engaging career mode, flexible control and FOV options, advanced car tuning, multi-class racing, a plethora of tracks, fully customizable events with practice and qualifying sessions, a REAL Rallycross mode and some excellent DLC. Replays and photo mode are adequate, but I’d rather race than take pictures of custom paint jobs. Confirmed Project Cars convert. Expand
  54. Feb 23, 2019
    9
    Featuring the best selection of circuits of any racing sim on the PS4, as well as a fantastic selection of racing cars, including open wheelers such F1 cars (here named Formula A), Indycars and a fantasy category called Formula X, Project Cars 2 is a great alternative to Codemaster’s F1 games, enabling to experience F1 racing on other tracks than the ones on the official F1 calendar. TheFeaturing the best selection of circuits of any racing sim on the PS4, as well as a fantastic selection of racing cars, including open wheelers such F1 cars (here named Formula A), Indycars and a fantasy category called Formula X, Project Cars 2 is a great alternative to Codemaster’s F1 games, enabling to experience F1 racing on other tracks than the ones on the official F1 calendar. The only real shame is the lack of an offline custom championship and split screen. Expand
  55. Mar 29, 2019
    8
    It is actually a very fun game. Beautiful cars, clever opponents even in single player. What really bums me out though is the fact they were not able to bring in complete VR. I know that this is not the fault of the developer but simply a processor limit of the PS4. Still: this game's PC version is much better due to this omission and the PS4 game lacks VR. Trackmania Turbo (PS4) has it,It is actually a very fun game. Beautiful cars, clever opponents even in single player. What really bums me out though is the fact they were not able to bring in complete VR. I know that this is not the fault of the developer but simply a processor limit of the PS4. Still: this game's PC version is much better due to this omission and the PS4 game lacks VR. Trackmania Turbo (PS4) has it, why can't Project Cars2 put in some basic tracks, maybe only timetrial and get a piece of full VR in? Disappointing. Expand
  56. Aug 30, 2020
    8
    it's nearly perfect for gamer who wanna race a endurance race. but there are also negative fact on this game... you cant control any car with a pad in this game. its impossible to keep the car on track. there are game, who make it much better, Gran Turismo for example.. but all the other facts, grafic, simulation, damage model all of this is quit perfect. i like the look of the grafic,it's nearly perfect for gamer who wanna race a endurance race. but there are also negative fact on this game... you cant control any car with a pad in this game. its impossible to keep the car on track. there are game, who make it much better, Gran Turismo for example.. but all the other facts, grafic, simulation, damage model all of this is quit perfect. i like the look of the grafic, its nearly realistic and not a i don't like a photoshop look of gran turismo. Expand
  57. Oct 12, 2020
    5
    They say it's playable with a controller, it is not, and other cars DO NOT REACT TO TRACK CONDITIONS, that whole cool experimental mode where you can make the weather change multiple times during a race, from some rain to monsoon to blizzard, IS ABSOLUTELY RUINED BY THIS!
  58. Dec 15, 2021
    3
    Worst racing game to play with controller i ever saw ! Manage to make OK settings but the game destroys all the fun with endless raining races that makes the car feel like a toy sliding on soap !
    Now i will just play F1 + Rally Games and wait for Gran Turismo 7 , there is no good GT alternative for controller players on PS4 !
  59. May 1, 2022
    9
    The game is almost perfect, the graphics are absolutely amazing. The big amount of cars and tracks are going to keep you busy for a long long time, the career mode is amazing and well designed, but outside driving there isn't anything that makes you really think you are getting somewhere.
    The best way to play this game is with a steering wheel as this game is a pure racing simulation.
    The game is almost perfect, the graphics are absolutely amazing. The big amount of cars and tracks are going to keep you busy for a long long time, the career mode is amazing and well designed, but outside driving there isn't anything that makes you really think you are getting somewhere.
    The best way to play this game is with a steering wheel as this game is a pure racing simulation. Every track can be driven at any time of the day with snow, rain, heavy rain, fog, etc... The only problem with this game is that some cars are not easy to control without the right setup and you will probably need to spend many hours finding the best setup for each track, and also the fact that this is not a racing game meant for playing on a controller. ( what I want to say is that it is not easy to adjust the controller as perfect as in GT Sport, Dirt, Grid )
    Expand
  60. Aug 4, 2022
    4
    A lot worse than the first one. Poor gameplay, graphics with bad frame rate and menu.
  61. Mar 18, 2022
    10
    No MTX, all the tracks and cars are avaliable right out of the box and you can play offline!

    What more do you want from a game?
  62. Mar 20, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is a very nice game better of gran turismo but i played this game i like the cars and graphic's its my favorite game and the forza. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 22, 2017
    80
    With incredible breadth and detail, Project Cars 2 can be absolutely wonderful. Bit it feels unfinished, and so similar to the original game, you really don't need both. [Dec 2017, p.89]
  2. games(TM)
    Nov 3, 2017
    90
    The best console racer of this generation. [Issue#193, p.82]
  3. Games Master UK
    Nov 2, 2017
    70
    An uncompromising and varied simulation racer. The thrilling action is let down by glitches and unruly AI. [Nov 2017, p.62]