Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Mar 1, 2021
    85
    Pumpkin Jack isn’t a game that revolutionizes 3D platformers, nor does it particularly add anything new to the formula; but the level of charm, humor, and ambiance it offers is just too good to pass up. It’s easily able to make it onto a “Top Halloween Games You Must Play” list if there is one out there, even if it’s not necessarily going to resonate any other time of the year. Combat is the game’s only disappointing downside, but it was hard not to have a ghastly smile on my face playing through it.
  2. Feb 25, 2021
    85
    From start to finish Pumpkin Jack is a joy to play thanks to its magnificent soundtrack, impressive writing and gorgeous visuals that complement the solid gameplay.
  3. 80
    Despite a dearth of original ideas, Pumpkin Jack is a highly accomplished paean to the classic 3D platformers of yesteryear from a solo developer. It's packed with variety, beautifully designed and highly playable so highly recommended for fans of the genre.
  4. Feb 23, 2021
    80
    Pumpkin Jack is a fun, quirky 3D platformer that will both entertain and challenge you over the course of its 6-8 hour campaign. Though its platforming and camera controls can sometimes be a tad clunky, the experience is engaging enough for that to not be a problem, and you'll be far more concerned about the monsters trying to take you down. If you liked MediEvil or similar games, you'll love Pumpkin Jack.
  5. Feb 23, 2021
    80
    If you miss PS2 era platformers then Pumpkin Jack has you covered. With spooky levels, collectables and nonsense voices, it's a retro treat.
  6. Feb 25, 2021
    75
    Pumpkin Jack succeeds in capturing the essence of older action-platformers while adding its own new innovations in a way that keeps the overall experience fresh. With excellent cartoon visual style and a well-put-together soundtrack, my biggest gripe with the game is that it is not a few hours longer.
  7. 70
    Pumpkin Jack is a well done throwback to 3D platformers of yesteryear. Unfortunately it also has some of their bad habits such as on-rails minecart sections and a final boss you'll hate more than our burning disdain for the music of Simply Red.
  8. Dec 7, 2020
    70
    Pumpkin Jack packs a lot of charm in this breezy adventure. It has flaws for sure, but players who have nostalgia for the specific kind of platformer that it’s paying homage to might find it to be worth their time.
  9. Oct 23, 2020
    70
    Pumpkin Jack has rough edges to it, but it still delivers a fun experience in spite of them. It’s very much a game that is greater than the sum of its parts. It has a wide array of gameplay styles to enjoy, with most well implemented. The action-platforming content is great, while the slower-paced tightrope-style sections are iffy due to some collision issues. Thankfully, the exploding puzzle sections help make up for this and the overall tone keeps things light-hearted and fun even with a dark, gothic look to the world and its inhabitants. It looks good and sounds even better and is a perfect pickup for anyone wanting a new 3D platformer who can accept less-than-perfect mechanics.
  10. Feb 23, 2021
    60
    Pumpkin Jack is an unspectacular 3D action platformer, but considering it’s largely the work of just one man, it’s quite an achievement. There’s a nice variety of gameplay on offer, some solid visuals, and an enjoyable soundtrack. And even though some gameplay elements outstay their welcome, they at least offer a reprieve from the annoying combat. If you can grit your teeth as you spam the attack button time and time again, there’s some enjoyment to be had here, especially if you’re a fan of the genre.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 2, 2021
    8
    Когда я обнаруживаю, что игра была написана, разработана и запрограммирована только одним человеком, я обычно настолько впечатлен этимКогда я обнаруживаю, что игра была написана, разработана и запрограммирована только одним человеком, я обычно настолько впечатлен этим подвигом технического мастерства и страстного упорства, что это наполняет меня внутренним теплом.

    Nicolas Meyssonnier начал разработку Pumpkin Jack в 2017 году, и плоды его трудов наконец-то доступны для пробы на PS4, а пресс-релиз раскрывает два его ключевых влияния — PS1 classic Medievil и PS2 3D platformer Jak and Daxter. Так что же, его любовное письмо классическим ретро-платформерам приводит к тому, что он добирается до четвертой базы с геймерами, или это просто Хэллоуин-шенди в жуткой спальне?
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2020
    9
    Pumpkin Jack
    The jack of all trades
    Im just gonna start by saying go play this game, stop watching this review and just go buy it.. im that
    Pumpkin Jack
    The jack of all trades
    Im just gonna start by saying go play this game, stop watching this review and just go buy it.. im that confident that you will absolutely love pumpkin jack.
    Pumkin jack is a 3d platformer pretty similar to the likes of medivel, but I actually like pumpkin jack much more as this feels like medivel meets uncharted to an extent.. sadly not necessarily in the story as this is the weakest part of pumpkin jack… a story of good and evil except youre on the evil side this time.. you’ve been hired by the devil to stop a wizard from saving all of humanity from the monster running around terrorizing them… sadly no voice acting or what id consider real cutscenes.. which isn’t necesrily a big deal, but I would’ve loved to hear the wise cracks my crow companion was making as id play rather than try to stop and read whoich is near impossible in more than handful or situations.. but this is pumkin jacks biggest sore thumb, the rest of this 5 hour journey is an absolute blast, linear 3d platforming style with secret bird skulls for you to collect and unlock other literal skins for jack, for example you can be a lumber jack, or samurai jack, bashing monsters with what starts as a shovel, but as you beat the games bosses youll unlock more weapons and each of these weapons getting progressively powerful and more fun to use, and this is what I feel makes pumpkin jack so special, it doesn’t allow thing to get stale and it doe so with fun, not over complicating progression, the game progressively gets harder while you get closer and close to god like power, but it always remains fun with great checkpoints, satisfying combat, an little set pieces here and there such as a mining kart roller coaster or riding a ghost horse.. mini games where youll be matching the rhythm of the mushrooms, or matching tomb stones, these are an appreciated break from the main game, however these are also where any frustration can set in.. I died a little over 30 times throughout me 5 hour journey, and id say that probably over 20 of thise deaths came at the hand of not tilting the right direction on the carts, getting smacking with too many boxes as I feel through a portal… and these didn’t feel like fun quick time frustrations, these moments felt cheap and annoying, I dreading the moments I had to jump and dodge on a cart.. mostly be casue these are decently lengthy sections with no checkpoints… but after they were done it was back to the fun.. Pumpkin Jack is such a pleasant surprise and is officially one of my favorite Halloween games. So full of character charm and whit, wonderful music, great cast of characters, I want a sequel like right now.
    I give Pumpkin Jack
    an 8.5/10
    Full Review »