Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 28, 2015
    70
    No Tiger, no party? Not really, since Rory Mcllroy is still a good golf game and the best one on the market. Unfortunately, it's also a big waste of potential, since it's a very traditional product that stays true to its roots.
  2. Aug 12, 2015
    70
    It's a nice and solid game but lacks many features. Clearly not the "next generation" of golf games.
  3. Jul 28, 2015
    70
    We can’t say that EA Sports Rory McIlroy is a bad game because it fulfills its objectives and is a very good golf videogame. Unfortunately it feels short in its content and veteran fans of the series may be disappointed by that.
  4. Jul 21, 2015
    70
    Despite the welcoming gameplay and often outstanding graphical representation of the courses though, enthusiasts and series stalwarts may soon feel that while progress has been made in some areas, this may not be the experience they expected from the first PGA Tour of a new console generation.
  5. Jul 17, 2015
    70
    Both hardcore and casual golf fans will find a fun playing golf game, but players looking for a lot of modes and options won’t find it here.
  6. Jul 15, 2015
    70
    Rory McIlroy PGA Tour isn't a bad game, it's just one that doesn't positively make the case for longtime fans of the series or the new systems. With the gameplay nudged ahead only slightly, the graphics not particularly new-gen, and a reduced feature set, the mind easily wanders to what we've lost rather than finding comfort in what's there.
  7. It delivers a cleaner, breezier simulated golf experience that runs more quickly and looks lovely – especially during those morning rounds – without losing the series’ robust core mechanics...However, the overhaul has come at the cost of significantly reduced content and some missing features.
  8. Jul 28, 2015
    66
    Rory McIlroy PGA Tour is EA's first current gen golf game. It is all weighed down because of technical issues, and repetitive gameplay mechanics, although it has a good arcade mode.
  9. Jul 14, 2015
    64
    The entire package feels flat and featureless. Far fewer pros, courses, and modes, a Career Mode that is ridiculously stripped down, and a general lack of intricacy might leave the die-hard golfer feeling unsatisfied. Still, it’s absolutely awesome that you can fully customize your control scheme, and I hope this feature will remain intact next year.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 5, 2015
    60
    Sometimes mechanics aren't enough. [Sept 2015, p.95]
  11. Aug 11, 2015
    60
    Much like its new cover star, Rory McIlroy PGA Tour is a ultimately a much more dull and less flamboyantly showy effort than the previous Tiger Woods affairs.
  12. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aug 11, 2015
    60
    Don't let the fresh new franchise face and the Frostbite screens fool you. Rory McIlroy's has applied some serious back-spin to this once features-rich series. Budget buy this duff. [October 2015, p71]
  13. Aug 4, 2015
    60
    A new face and name certainly brings a sense of freshness to Rory McIlroy PGA Tour, but the novelty isn’t enough to make up for the lack of content. While there’s a decent game of golf here, it won’t be occupying the top of the leaderboard any time soon.
  14. Jul 31, 2015
    60
    Rory McIlroy PGA Tour plays well, but it's also intermittently ugly, and there's isn't nearly enough content here for the asking price.
  15. 60
    I shouldn't allow the presentation to bug me, but for Rory McIlroy, it does. Coupled with the limited range of play modes and a relatively shallow range of courses, and I was left with the impression that this game was certainly not EA Sport's focus this year.
  16. 60
    The end result is a game that teases you with potential, then leaves you wanting.
  17. Jul 21, 2015
    60
    It’s good fun, though feels more like a distraction, a shiny thing waved in front of our noses to stop us noticing the proper golf sim is so bare.
  18. Jul 20, 2015
    60
    Rory McIlroy PGA Tour is far from a double-bogey catastrophe of a golfing game, and has all the fundamentals to challenge for honours. With a little extra love and lots of additional content, it could potentially go beyond par and soar like an eagle.
  19. Jul 14, 2015
    60
    It’s disappointing that, for licensing reasons, the Augusta National course is missing so you don’t get a chance to play at the Masters. Indeed, there are far fewer courses than the 2013 version of the game (with 12 real-life options against the 20 in Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2014), and the roster of players has been culled too, with no LPGA stars at all.
  20. Jul 14, 2015
    60
    I came away feeling like it was a launch title. It’s missing the robust features and course set that video game golf enthusiasts have come to know. It has a lot of the mechanics down well enough but the game doesn’t have enough content to warrant the price tag.
  21. Jul 14, 2015
    58
    It’s a competent enough game of golf that I think it’s worth fooling around with for exhibition and career modes, but from a content perspective it really pales in comparison to previous offerings.
  22. Jul 14, 2015
    55
    Concessions are often made when sports games straddle the gap between console generations old and new, but considering the two year wait for a game that is only being released on current gen hardware (and PC), the rampant slash and burn of its feature set is particularly galling.
  23. Play UK
    Aug 27, 2015
    50
    The core game mechanics and systems are as solid as ever for the most part, but the game engine is wobbly and the sheer lack of content is just impossible to ignore. [Issue#260, p.70]
  24. Jul 29, 2015
    50
    It's not often that you can say a previous iteration in a sports franchise is significantly better than the newest and prettiest, but for EA Sports Rory McIlroy PGA Tour that is very much the case.
  25. Jul 20, 2015
    50
    On that front, Rory McIlroy PGA Tour likely has a well-formed plan for DLC that includes more courses and perhaps more golfers, but this base game might not be enough to convince fans to pay full price at the start.
  26. Jul 15, 2015
    50
    Overall, while there have been some improvements to the series, and the load times mean that you can get through rounds much quicker, the shocking lack of content across the board means that Rory McIlroy's PGA Tour is a disappointment.
  27. Jul 15, 2015
    50
    The gameplay basics are fine, but this is the absolute bare bones of what a golf game should be – with less than half the amount of content of the last game in the series.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 90
  2. Negative: 55 out of 90
  1. Jul 15, 2015
    2
    Utterly disappointing single player career mode.

    Too few courses! Too few golfers! EA: Please, PLEASE update this game ASAP with the
    Utterly disappointing single player career mode.

    Too few courses!

    Too few golfers!

    EA: Please, PLEASE update this game ASAP with the old style of Career Mode. Bring back the game face feature so I can customize my player to my specs.

    The gameplay itself is different, but that's to be expected with everything considered. Solid enough IMO.

    Please learn from what made this game GREAT in the past. It suited those seeking both single player career mode and multiplayer.

    If this version had 75% of the career mode that pga 14 had... This review would be an 8 EASY with room for improvement
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 14, 2015
    6
    I'm in hopes that EA will see this post. While this year's game is visualy stunning, there are some serious issues. What happened to all theI'm in hopes that EA will see this post. While this year's game is visualy stunning, there are some serious issues. What happened to all the features and courses from previous games? Where are the Country Clubs and create/schedule online tournaments? Let me choose weather/course conditions?Where is the career mode of the past? Allowed me to assign attributes to my golfer instead of being done automatically? See the calendar of events and allow me to see upcoming events? Why when I play with my created golfer online, I don't gain experience? Speaking of create a golfer, no Game face feature and only cookie cutter random faces? Wait.... Sorry I just sank a 90 yard wedge shot from the fairway bunker to win the Green Jacket... Let me save this replay and post it for all my friends to see.... Oh no replay.... There is no satisfaction/reward to me playing as my created golfer. That's OK, I'll just play as Jack Nicholas, Phil Mickelson, or Tiger... Oh wait....... Ohhhh maybe Dustin Johnson..... Never mind. Come on EA. There was 2 years to get this right, and it feels like a launch release. You may be your own worst enemy after setting the bar so high with PGA 14. I would have rather paid $60 for PGA 14 "remastered". While Rory McIroy is a good game, it could have been so much better! Full Review »
  3. Jul 23, 2015
    2
    This is not a whole game. This is an insult.
    These are the things I thought of while playing this game:
    1. NO ONE involved in this game
    This is not a whole game. This is an insult.
    These are the things I thought of while playing this game:
    1. NO ONE involved in this game played the previous EA PGA games.
    2. The physics are great.
    3. This is NOT the scale a next-gen game (commentary is repetitive, few courses, a laughable character creator.)
    4. NO ONE beta tested this game and gave feedback...
    5. This feels like a demo.
    6. EA, you had 2 YEARS to make this game... You're a billion dollar company.. "EA sports. It's in the game.." .... no, it's up your nose.
    7. Rory, I don't know who you are, (I don't follow professional golf) but you will now always be "that guy that put his name on a terrible demo".
    8. Night golf is an iPhone game.
    9. I'm dusting off my XBOX360 to play Tiger '13: Masters Edition.
    10. I'M DUSTING OFF MY XBOX360 to play TIGER WOODS 2013: Masters Edition...... (maybe I'll buy a PS2 to play Tiger 2010.....)
    Full Review »