User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3278 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    I was definitely sure it would be a great game. From Software never fails. I took a few hours to play and that's what I expected. I am in heaven ! Everything is amazing.
    Great atmosphere, graphics and story. You can fell the soul of previous games. I was really missing this world a lot. Finally got it.
    Thank you FromSoftware once again ! You're the best in the world
  2. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Im amazed how much different this game is compared to other Fromsoftware games but it still has that nice and satisfying essence of souls game in it. Just buy and enjoy this masterpiece.
  3. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    This game is a masterpiece...graphics are ok but gameplay wise this is a great experience... The whole posture mechanic set the difficulty bar over the top. A must have.
  4. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Game of the year!!
    A perfect accompaniment to the SoulsBorne series, with plenty of unique ideas of its own and some of the best combat of the generation.
  5. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Another masterpiece from From Software. Epic gameplay and new revolution from dark souls.

    Ingore the casual players rating this masterpiece whit 0-6....
  6. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Top notch From Software release! Easily entitled for Game of the Year 2019! Sekiro is Rich it's Exciting and it's New. You can feel the soulsborne in the backbone, but everything else is stripped away and made new. Especially new movement, environmental exploration and freedom is so much fun to do and in combat it really works and gives you choices! Combat is fluid, challenging and itTop notch From Software release! Easily entitled for Game of the Year 2019! Sekiro is Rich it's Exciting and it's New. You can feel the soulsborne in the backbone, but everything else is stripped away and made new. Especially new movement, environmental exploration and freedom is so much fun to do and in combat it really works and gives you choices! Combat is fluid, challenging and it forces you to learn all the tricks of trade and implement your new skills in various different ways. Difficulty of the game feels similar to all soulsborne games, it's hard and sometimes feels impossible, but after trying and learning your enemies you will overcome and it's rewarding as always! Anyone looking for good action game and especially if you love soulsborne games Sekiro is your choice! 10/10 Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Where have I been? I was sad they had no plans for another Dark Souls, but this is pretty much another spiritual sequel that look pretty cool
    The way i see it. This game can go far and the way you play... ok 
  8. Dec 2, 2019
    10
    200hrs+ in, and I can say Sekiro is From at it's finest. It's awesome how one studio can keep a formula for so long, bringing actual innovations on each new game. The game's is super tight, and the combat is SO SATISFYING. Bosses are few compared to other Souls entries, but really unique. The world is just plain beautiful, and I don't even need to say anything about the soundtrack because200hrs+ in, and I can say Sekiro is From at it's finest. It's awesome how one studio can keep a formula for so long, bringing actual innovations on each new game. The game's is super tight, and the combat is SO SATISFYING. Bosses are few compared to other Souls entries, but really unique. The world is just plain beautiful, and I don't even need to say anything about the soundtrack because FromSoftware.

    Sekiro and Bloodborne are the reason I vouch for any new IP from these guys. Keep 'em comin'.
    Expand
  9. Oct 20, 2020
    10
    This game almost made me kill myself. But once you overcome the hardest of **** namely Genichiro, Guardian Ape and Isshin the Sword Saint, you will feel so much accomplishment, that it will be worth it. One of the best games i've ever played
  10. Aug 8, 2020
    10
    The most intuitive gameplay ever created. Once you learn the mechanics, it has the most natural and visceral flow. The art and aesthetics are beautiful in HDR. The samurai aesthetic is just icing on the cake. I am so glad to see FromSoftware continue to push the envelope with such engaging and innovative design. Bravo.
  11. Aug 22, 2020
    10
    Прекрасная игра.... как и все игры от Миядзаки. Особенно на фоне всеокружающего шлака от EA и ей подобных.
  12. Oct 27, 2020
    10
    One of the best games i ever played, FromSoftware is one of the few Studios left over that really want to make games for the people that are pure quality. Sekiro has one of the best Atmospheres of all games i ever played, it is easily the best Samurai Game, better then Ghost of Tsushima, Sekiro is also a very very hard game, but it makes the whole thing interesting and rewarding. You justOne of the best games i ever played, FromSoftware is one of the few Studios left over that really want to make games for the people that are pure quality. Sekiro has one of the best Atmospheres of all games i ever played, it is easily the best Samurai Game, better then Ghost of Tsushima, Sekiro is also a very very hard game, but it makes the whole thing interesting and rewarding. You just have to stick to it and learn to master the Katana. Beginners should open guides while playing it. FromSoftware has genius game designers. Expand
  13. Aug 3, 2020
    10
    Favourite fromsoft game after playing them all, anyone complaining about the difficulty didn’t put enough time and effort into it.
  14. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although the game is really hard, I enjoyed it every step of the way. Although I do wish they added dlc. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2020
    10
    Masterpiece game, it has all the good things that FromSoft games had; the amazing level design, amazing cryptic lore, amazing gameplay and characters. Above all, the combat in Sekiro is the best i have ever seen and is the best in any Souls game.
  16. Aug 20, 2020
    10
    omg this game is fantastic
    Great combat system
    Awesome bosses
    Good story
    Nice graphics
    I love ishin ashina
  17. Jul 6, 2020
    10
    Sekiro... this is just an absolute masterpiece.
    The game is hard, but when you learn from the enemies and find how to defeat them it feels so good
    11/10 for sure
  18. Jul 28, 2020
    10
    Absolutely loved it. I'm currently at my 4th playtrough. This game is a literal adrenaline pump, with epic bossfights and challanging gameplay. I like how From Software finally dropped gear system, so people, who don't like grinding can fully enjoy a soulsborne game. Graphics are okay, animations and sounds, artistic style and visual effects are awesome, and not too many bosses areAbsolutely loved it. I'm currently at my 4th playtrough. This game is a literal adrenaline pump, with epic bossfights and challanging gameplay. I like how From Software finally dropped gear system, so people, who don't like grinding can fully enjoy a soulsborne game. Graphics are okay, animations and sounds, artistic style and visual effects are awesome, and not too many bosses are frustrating to play against. I found myself rather hating the mini bosses than the main bosses.

    Only downside for me is the camera, which tends to unlock during fight. Even with this, Sekiro is one of my favourite games of all time.
    Expand
  19. Jul 22, 2020
    10
    Sekiro: SDT, é um game onde a habilidade do player é testada e evolui a cada chefe que se enfrenta.
    A história não chega a ser inovadora, porém é muito bem feita e fácil de se entender.
    Bugs são raros e nenhum prejudica a experiência.
    O problema do jogo é não possuir um conteúdo adicional, pois seria muito bem vindo. Se um dia houver uma continuação, eu com certeza compraria.
  20. Jul 23, 2020
    10
    Great game, can show to the player the feeling of improvement and reward.
    Story is good, graphics are good and great mechanics (at first is a little hard and looks like it doesn't make sense, but with time you can see that makes sense and are unique). Bosses are challeging and every one is diferent.
    Also great to have a "open world" to explore, not having just one path.
  21. Jul 26, 2020
    10
    Inovador,divertido,con buenas mecánicas historia relativamente interesante tiene buena banda sonora y muy buenos jefes
  22. Jul 28, 2020
    10
    This game has the best combat in any game. Even after finishing the game and unlocking all trophies, it felt good repeating the game just so to re-live the epic duel, once again with ishin, father owl, lady butterfly and other bosses. And the story is filled with interesting lore that makes you want for more of this game. And as usual, fromsoftware provides with their traiditionalThis game has the best combat in any game. Even after finishing the game and unlocking all trophies, it felt good repeating the game just so to re-live the epic duel, once again with ishin, father owl, lady butterfly and other bosses. And the story is filled with interesting lore that makes you want for more of this game. And as usual, fromsoftware provides with their traiditional minimalistic yet amazing level design through interconnected world which does not fall far from previous souls titles. Expand
  23. Jul 31, 2020
    10
    As a fan of both From Software games and medieval Japan, I was insanely excited for Sekiro. Then I wanted to break my copy in half because I didnt get it. It was insanely difficult and I couldnt wrap my head around its combat mechanics. Then I somehow stumbled all the way up to a certain boss, got pummeled a dozen times and then..it clicked. I blocked, side stepped and jumped over hisAs a fan of both From Software games and medieval Japan, I was insanely excited for Sekiro. Then I wanted to break my copy in half because I didnt get it. It was insanely difficult and I couldnt wrap my head around its combat mechanics. Then I somehow stumbled all the way up to a certain boss, got pummeled a dozen times and then..it clicked. I blocked, side stepped and jumped over his attacks and delivered punishment in a brutal but beautiful dance of death. I have now completed Sekiro 4 times and it cemented itself as one of my favorite games ever. I'm glad I didnt break that disc after all. Sekiro is From Software's most divisive game yet, but also its most focused. It delivers on everything it sets out to do. It innovates while remaining loyal to its roots and thats hard to achieve. Its also the most cohesive game from japanese developer in terms of its story. Hundreds of wiki pages are this time not required to understand the plot. Most RPG elements are thrown out of the window in favor of fast paced action and skill. I know everyone expected Dark Souls clone, but this aint that. I, for one, would love for From Software to continue innovate and deliver excitement and challenge in different packages instead of falling back to same old formula. Expand
  24. Aug 1, 2020
    10
    Una obra maestra que se convirtió en uno de mis juegos favoritos, la historia es perfecta con la posibilidad de adaptarse a ti con cada final. Es un juego donde la dificultad te hace disfrutarlo aún más y te recompensa con la satisfacción de haberlo logrado.

    Simplemente asombroso!!!
  25. Aug 13, 2020
    10
    Лучшая игра в которую я играл на playstation, а так-же лучшая игра от From Software. Очевидный Must-play и Game of the year. "Hesitation means losing"
  26. Aug 24, 2020
    10
    Это просто лучшая игра для любителей aнaльныx утех
  27. Sep 1, 2020
    10
    El juego se siente natural en el combate, es duro cuando no prácticas y no eliges bien las habilidades para un enfrentamiento, terminas siendo víctima, como en toda la saga Souls de tus errores al control, y de la elección de herramientas y ataques.
    Visualmente es eun joya, mezcla perfecta de la fantasía y realidad, buenos paisajes.
    En rendimiento si podría pedir ser más el juego a 60FPS
    El juego se siente natural en el combate, es duro cuando no prácticas y no eliges bien las habilidades para un enfrentamiento, terminas siendo víctima, como en toda la saga Souls de tus errores al control, y de la elección de herramientas y ataques.
    Visualmente es eun joya, mezcla perfecta de la fantasía y realidad, buenos paisajes.
    En rendimiento si podría pedir ser más el juego a 60FPS en consolas sería de lujo.
    Expand
  28. Sep 19, 2020
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Incredibly rewarding and completely different feel on NG+
  29. Sep 27, 2020
    10
    My first fromsoft game and it was amazing even though punishing as hell in the begining but once u master the combat its pretty awesome
  30. Sep 29, 2020
    10
    Das beste Spiel dieser Konsolengeneration.
    Wunderschöne und gut durchdachte Spielewelt.
    Bei dem Schwierigkeitsgrad fällt mir eigentlich nur "Hart aber Unfair" ein. Das Kämpfen mit dem "Kusabimaru" fühlt sich einfach unglaublich gut an und jeder beseigte Boss macht lust auf noch mehr . Fazit: Lass dich auf das Spiel ein und es ist jeden Cent wert, kein Game zum gelegentlichen
    Das beste Spiel dieser Konsolengeneration.
    Wunderschöne und gut durchdachte Spielewelt.
    Bei dem Schwierigkeitsgrad fällt mir eigentlich nur
    "Hart aber Unfair" ein.
    Das Kämpfen mit dem "Kusabimaru" fühlt sich
    einfach unglaublich gut an und jeder beseigte Boss
    macht lust auf noch mehr .
    Fazit: Lass dich auf das Spiel ein und es ist jeden
    Cent wert, kein Game zum gelegentlichen zocken.
    Good Luck :)
    Expand
  31. Oct 2, 2020
    10
    Un juegazo en todo el sentido. Con zonas memorables y jefazos épicos. Comparado con los títulos de fromsoftware es un 9/10. Pero comparado con los otros títulos triple A es un 10/10. Cabe destacar que es un juego que requiere paciencia y tiempo. Si no estás dispuesto a dedicarle un buen tiempo lo mejor será que no lo compres, pero si si lo estás prepárate para uno de los mejores juegos deUn juegazo en todo el sentido. Con zonas memorables y jefazos épicos. Comparado con los títulos de fromsoftware es un 9/10. Pero comparado con los otros títulos triple A es un 10/10. Cabe destacar que es un juego que requiere paciencia y tiempo. Si no estás dispuesto a dedicarle un buen tiempo lo mejor será que no lo compres, pero si si lo estás prepárate para uno de los mejores juegos de la última generación. Expand
  32. Oct 12, 2020
    9
    Plot/Lore - 8
    Dialogues / characters - 8
    Visuals / graphics - 8
    Optimization - 7
    Game mechanics - 10
    Combat system - 10
  33. Oct 14, 2020
    9
    Is FromSoftware, no more words are needed. Funny gameplay, good difficulty, great atmosphere... The story is brilliant and the bosses are amazing.
    Thank so much for this game FromSoftware. You must play.
  34. Oct 14, 2020
    9
    Amazing game. Sharpest and cleanest combat o habe encountered. Takes some time getting used to and its well worth it
  35. Oct 16, 2020
    9
    Truly an amazing experience that challenges you from the very beginning to the very end. One complaint that I have is the guardian ape part 2 fight with this bride but other than that it is a wonderful game.
  36. Sep 14, 2019
    9
    Los nuevo de From Software llega con un tono diferente pero familiar.

    Se abandona la personalización de personajes para ofrecernos una historia más desarrollada con nombres y apellidos. La primera toma de contacto es asequible, pero poco a poco todo se complica por la exigencia de entender el combate y como funciona este. Bloqueo, deflect, ataque imbloqueable, estocada, mekiri,
    Los nuevo de From Software llega con un tono diferente pero familiar.

    Se abandona la personalización de personajes para ofrecernos una historia más desarrollada con nombres y apellidos.

    La primera toma de contacto es asequible, pero poco a poco todo se complica por la exigencia de entender el combate y como funciona este. Bloqueo, deflect, ataque imbloqueable, estocada, mekiri, barrido, agarre,..
    Entender todo esto de primeras es abrumador, pero cuanto mas juegues mas entenderas y más disfrutaras el combate. El cual es muy satisfactorio y mucho más directo que en los Souls.

    Los escenarios pueden pecar de falta de originalidad al encontrase todos en una misma región, y el ligero folclore que se añade tampoco llega a crear una gran diferencia.

    Posiblemente sea el juego más exigente del estudio. Aunque no creo que sea necesariamente el mejor.
    Expand
  37. Apr 26, 2019
    9
    This is first and foremost a From Software title. What it is not is a Soul Borne game. This is the mistake that most people are making going in to this game. This game is a credit to how good the developers at From Software really are. They have made genre that has set a standard in the gaming industry that most hardcore gamer's have come to respect. Sekiro is proof that the developersThis is first and foremost a From Software title. What it is not is a Soul Borne game. This is the mistake that most people are making going in to this game. This game is a credit to how good the developers at From Software really are. They have made genre that has set a standard in the gaming industry that most hardcore gamer's have come to respect. Sekiro is proof that the developers don't have to keep making the same kind of game to make a good game. Sekiro has the difficulty of a Souls game and a few other of its traits but for the most part it is it's own thing. It sets out to be a trying test of your skills and patience Samurai game and it does it 100% ! Sekiro is set in dark war torn Japan that is very realistic with a touch of fantasy thrown in. In that it is still a very beautiful fully realized world. It aims to test your skills at every turn, which it does very well. This is the kind of game when you take out a mob or kill a mini boss you feel as if you have just conquered something great. If you have patience and the want to be pushed to your limit Sekiro is for you. When you come out on the other side you can actually feel proud because you have accomplished something that so many will give up on. Prepare to not have your hand held! Expand
  38. VTL
    Sep 24, 2019
    9
    This is From Software !!!! No soy objetivo en este juego, es from software, todo se ha de comprar... lo siento jejeje.
    PD: Es un gran juego objetivamente, no dificil, exigente en mecanicas.
  39. Jun 13, 2019
    9
    This game is awesome. You really have to learn how to approach a battle and it feels amazing when you finally defeat the bosses, your heart rate skyrocket. I recommend it if you are willing to spend hours learning and dying but after some time mastering the moves and facing strong enemies without any fear.
  40. Jul 21, 2020
    9
    Actual Score: 9.5/10

    In my book, this is From Software’s most accomplished game yet. The added stealth mechanics and verticality to the level design give another twist to the Souls formula, and sword fights are hands down the best I’ve ever seen in a game to date. Also, the story is more explicit than in other From’s games and the boss fights and world design are sensational. It may be
    Actual Score: 9.5/10

    In my book, this is From Software’s most accomplished game yet. The added stealth mechanics and verticality to the level design give another twist to the Souls formula, and sword fights are hands down the best I’ve ever seen in a game to date. Also, the story is more explicit than in other From’s games and the boss fights and world design are sensational. It may be too difficult for newcomers and even for veterans of the Soulsborne franchise. Mastering the combat is a continuous proccess, but the level of satisfaction you feel is unmatched. Simply brilliant
    Expand
  41. XV_
    Apr 18, 2019
    9
    Is hard to give a review to Sekiro because it has a lot of background behind and is difficult to not think about Souls or Bloodborne, but in the end, as bloodborne did in its own way, Sekiro is its own thing and is really good.

    Everything feels familiar but it plays and tells its story very different than its cousins, the combat is great and makes you feel like the previous games lack
    Is hard to give a review to Sekiro because it has a lot of background behind and is difficult to not think about Souls or Bloodborne, but in the end, as bloodborne did in its own way, Sekiro is its own thing and is really good.

    Everything feels familiar but it plays and tells its story very different than its cousins, the combat is great and makes you feel like the previous games lack in that department but for me the story and its characters never grew to the heights of other FromSoftware games, although I was very reluctant to feel sympathy for its main protagonist, in the end I was happy to be at his side.

    The game gives you different difficulty settings in a very cryptic way as always, I played the harder mode and there's also a stealth mode which is the "easier" but slower mode, once you understand that you will prefer to dash through enemies and go berserk, because the stealth mode is kind of awkward and tedious.

    As far as the presentation, the graphics are good but not great, and aside from a few ones which are beautiful the boss fights aren't as remarkable as they could be, the music didn't work that good for me because maybe I'm very ignorant of Japanese music but I really couldn't tell apart that a lot of tunes, which is a shame because the main composers of the previous games are here.

    Even though is not that remarkable as the other FromSoftware games, is very good and better than a lot of other AAA games from another companies, I strongly recommend that if you're a FromSoftware fan check it out, and also if you are up to some challenge, is hard but not impossible and even you're almost alone in this game never forget to praise the sun.
    Expand
  42. Jul 29, 2019
    9
    Really liked the game, played it twice, at first i was struggling and almost put the game down but i continued playing and it was a lot of fun, this game really needs you to git gud, my biggest advice in playing this game is don't give up
  43. Aug 4, 2019
    9
    92

    Hikâyenin düzgün anlatılmaması haricinde bol boss savaşı, vuruş hissiyatı, keşif, boss savaslarından sonra yaşadığımız tatmin hissiyati, oynanış çeşitliliği gibi ögeler Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice'ı harika bir oyun yapıyor.
  44. Jul 22, 2020
    10
    este juego PARA MI. es una obra maestra. por eso miyazaki gano el goty con este juego,este juego tiene muchas de las mejores batallas con jefes de todos los juego de from software, dificultad, set de movimientos, complejo y gran gameplay, adictivo, todas las herramientas shinobi sirven para cualquier situacion. es realmente increible.
  45. Sep 4, 2019
    9
    Top de FromSoftware, gráficos y jugabilidad excelentes, un poco por debajo la banda sonora, pero un juegazo.
  46. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    It was a great andventure ans I like gameplay and mechanichs a lot. One of a very few games that dont treat players like they are retardos
  47. Jun 27, 2020
    10
    Игра просто бомба))) но очень сложная но я серовно получил кайф и платину))))
  48. Jul 25, 2020
    8
    After Bloodborne, it was a no brainer for me to buy this game. I expected it to be difficult like Bloodborne but unfortunately, I am so rusty and I found this game to be a little bit too difficult. I'm not good enough to finish the game and it will be a while until I'm ready to start again and really focus on getting the fighting mechanic on point. So many games to play so I have to keepAfter Bloodborne, it was a no brainer for me to buy this game. I expected it to be difficult like Bloodborne but unfortunately, I am so rusty and I found this game to be a little bit too difficult. I'm not good enough to finish the game and it will be a while until I'm ready to start again and really focus on getting the fighting mechanic on point. So many games to play so I have to keep it on the back burner. For its inaccessibility due to difficulty, I can only give it 8/10 for now. Expand
  49. Jul 22, 2020
    10
    Sekiro: Shadows die twice is by far the best game Fromsoftware ever released. In terms of combat, this game introduces a new level of how combat in video games should be. the combat is fair and satisfying and challenging at the same time. the game is beautiful but not the best, but certainly the best from developers, Fromsoftware. I have to say the forth ending was the saddest and the mostSekiro: Shadows die twice is by far the best game Fromsoftware ever released. In terms of combat, this game introduces a new level of how combat in video games should be. the combat is fair and satisfying and challenging at the same time. the game is beautiful but not the best, but certainly the best from developers, Fromsoftware. I have to say the forth ending was the saddest and the most chilling ending i have ever gotten in any video games. the game is worth platinuming for sure. Expand
  50. Oct 2, 2019
    9
    Sekiro is one in my opinion the best game of 2019. The story is a bit hard to relate to if you're not familiar with Japanese culture and history but the game's combat is where it truly shines! It's fun, challenging and incredibly satisfying. There are many different opponents and creatures to fight and they all have their own fighting styles but you don't have to learn boss patterns andSekiro is one in my opinion the best game of 2019. The story is a bit hard to relate to if you're not familiar with Japanese culture and history but the game's combat is where it truly shines! It's fun, challenging and incredibly satisfying. There are many different opponents and creatures to fight and they all have their own fighting styles but you don't have to learn boss patterns and move sets like in previous From software games. If you are generally good and persistent at the game you will win without having to remember anything, yet every encounter feels unique and different. If you like challenges and sheer fun this is the game for you! Expand
  51. Aug 22, 2019
    9
    All in all not my favorite FromSoft game but it´s definetly worth playing. Plays much different than the Souls-Series but in terms of difficulty it might be even harder.
  52. Apr 23, 2019
    9
    Another amazing FromSoft game. Difficult but tons of hidden lore and tidbits. Great swordplay and action as well.
  53. May 2, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This wonderfully difficult game is one that I enjoyed immensely. I've been a fan of Souls games and thought I would take off like a beast, and I was wrong. The combat of Dark Souls and Bloodborne are not how this works. Sekiro became a challenge and one that I love. I came, I saw, I got slammed into Hades by an albino King Kong. I chopped his head off and... he got up and screamed me into oblivion. Over and over until I finally got the skills built up and knowledge of the match-up down. Victory felt victorious!

    The fantasy shinobi atmosphere is a nice change and the FromSoft world-building without words is in full force again (show, don't tell). If the industry could use a shot of anything right now it's how to do more of this.

    My only criticism is also unfortunately necessary for Sekiro to work. This is a tale, so character building and customization is pretty light, and I've always liked those options in previous FromSoft titles. There's no point in doing a run with another build without builds.

    After being burnt on a recent pre-order from another company (MK11), I considered never pre-ordering a game again. I may make an exception for FromSoft.
    Expand
  54. May 7, 2019
    9
    I have finished all Fromsoftware RPG´s since Demons Souls, and Sekiro, regardless of not being a "real rpg", but a hack and slash game with litle RPG elements, maintains the quality level of previous games, with many and many dark souls elements, like the "bonfire" checkpoints and extremely hard and rewarding boss fights. It´s definetly an addictive game and will not disappoint theI have finished all Fromsoftware RPG´s since Demons Souls, and Sekiro, regardless of not being a "real rpg", but a hack and slash game with litle RPG elements, maintains the quality level of previous games, with many and many dark souls elements, like the "bonfire" checkpoints and extremely hard and rewarding boss fights. It´s definetly an addictive game and will not disappoint the Fromsoftware fans. Expand
  55. Aug 10, 2020
    9
    Absolutely stunning gameplay, the combat system is the best one I've played. In the rest of areas, being a great game, falls under most FROM's titles, but the combat system itself is enough of a reason to give this a 9/10.
  56. Nov 20, 2019
    9
    Although it feels impossible time to time, the satisfaction of delivering that last deathblow is amazing! There are some missing point which i cannot fully tell, but overall it’s a great experience!
    Note: It better be played in Japanese!!
  57. Sep 28, 2019
    9
    This game is a masterpiece.

    Let's talk about progression. Some people like to grind levels before tackling a boss. Some people like tackling a boss with as few levels as possible. This doesn't exist in Sekiro. There is no underleveled or overleveled. Each boss is a challenge that must be defeated by skill alone. And maybe that's what people find frustrating - to lose means you weren't
    This game is a masterpiece.

    Let's talk about progression. Some people like to grind levels before tackling a boss. Some people like tackling a boss with as few levels as possible. This doesn't exist in Sekiro. There is no underleveled or overleveled. Each boss is a challenge that must be defeated by skill alone. And maybe that's what people find frustrating - to lose means you weren't good enough. The progression in Sekiro isn't in the form of levels, but your own physical skill. Your own strength, and not your character's strength, is what brings you victory. And to me, this brings me greater satisfaction than any other game I've played.

    There's a a major misconception about combat. This game isn't about having god-like reflexes. Every enemy gives you ample time to react. It's about learning to read your opponent. Each attack has an appropriate counter. You see the opponent's tell, and you respond accordingly, requiring unforgiving but precise timing. More than pure reaction time, it's about identifying the opponent's next move so you can counter it. Know the enemy and know yourself.

    However its virtues, the game isn't without flaws. The miniboss reskins are repetitive, and there aren't a great many number of bosses. Getting each of the 4 endings becomes a chore rather than an enjoyable experience. Once you've platted the game, there's little reason to continue playing unless you're attempting a charmless and/or demon bell run. After the first playthrough, breezing through each boss shows you just how much you've improved, but each subsequent playthrough loses the thrill of beating each boss for the first time.

    Yet despite its flaws, I've never had a more profound dopamine rush playing a single player game. I'm torn between 9 and 10. This game is probably the best game I've ever played, and yet even if it is, can a game with such glaring flaws be a 10? Does an imperfect 10 exist?
    Expand
  58. Nov 16, 2020
    10
    Una obra maestra como las que nos tiene acostumbrado from software . Sekiro fue una inovación de from software que le coloca a mi parecer como el segundo de la empresa ( Solo por debajo de dark souls ) . El gameplay de sekiro es maravilloso , sistema de combate simple pero desafiante , la mecánica del gancho es utilizada en los combates de una manera muy interesante . Cada combate enUna obra maestra como las que nos tiene acostumbrado from software . Sekiro fue una inovación de from software que le coloca a mi parecer como el segundo de la empresa ( Solo por debajo de dark souls ) . El gameplay de sekiro es maravilloso , sistema de combate simple pero desafiante , la mecánica del gancho es utilizada en los combates de una manera muy interesante . Cada combate en sekiro se puede hacer de muchísimas formas diferentes gracias al sigilo y a la verticalidad de los escenarios que nos permite enfrentar el juego de mil formas diferentes . El sigilo de Sekiro es un assasins creed bien hecho . Los enemigos son muy fuertes y puedes enfrentarte a ellos de cara ( no muy recomendado para primerizos ) o con sigilo asesinandolos de 1 golpe . El diseño de niveles esta magnificamente logrado , poseen verticalidad y en algunos casos estos cambian . En cuanto a los jefes son variados y muy bien diseñados , aparte de que son muy difíciles y para vencerlos puedes usar la mecánica del gancho o las habilidades de la prótesis . buen trabajo miyazaki :,) Expand
  59. Nov 18, 2019
    9
    Juegazo aunque algunos enemigos que eran jefes se repiten :v pero es lo de menos aunque si hubiera preferido que se pudiese crear tu personaje
  60. Nov 21, 2019
    9
    It takes a while. At first i loved it, then i hated, then i fell in love with it. It has a really steep learning curve, but if you abide by its rules and put the time and effort to understand its mechanics, and learn how to utilise its deep combat system fully then you'll be rewarded with the unique game experience that is Sekiro.
  61. Jun 20, 2020
    10
    Filled my longing for the game "Tenchu". I loved the mechanics, a very good change from From Software!!!
  62. Dec 1, 2019
    9
    The best game from "from soft". The only problem is that the game is a little confusing in some parts and you don't know what should you do, staying a little lost.
  63. Nov 12, 2020
    10
    this game is more addictive than any From Software game . It's very difficult and takes some time to master but once you do it's a lot of fun. The only thing I don't like about Darkbornkiro games is it's very hard to play other video games without falling asleep. I seriously need a week or two before I can even try to play a game from another company.
  64. Aug 9, 2020
    9
    FromSoft sempre trazendo jogos maravilhosos e irritantes com suas dificuldades, ainda acredito em nos fornecerem acesso a escolhas de dificuldades dentro do jogo. Entretanto, jogo com uma arte, sonoplastia e narrativa fora do comum, me impressionou em todos os aspectos, mas era de se esperar, afinal o jogo é da FromSoft, criadora de Demon's Souls, Dark Souls e Bloodborne, só poderia sairFromSoft sempre trazendo jogos maravilhosos e irritantes com suas dificuldades, ainda acredito em nos fornecerem acesso a escolhas de dificuldades dentro do jogo. Entretanto, jogo com uma arte, sonoplastia e narrativa fora do comum, me impressionou em todos os aspectos, mas era de se esperar, afinal o jogo é da FromSoft, criadora de Demon's Souls, Dark Souls e Bloodborne, só poderia sair coisa boa mesmo. Expand
  65. Aug 17, 2020
    9
    Positive aspects
    +Gameplay
    +World Design
    +Boss Fight

    Negative asionsspects
    -Mini boss fights repeat too much
    -Storytelling not good

    Neutral
    It's game not for everyone
  66. Jul 20, 2020
    10
    Best souls game ever. Combat is perfect, although there is a steep learning curve, the deflection timing is a lot more forgiving that bloodborne or dark souls and the world is beautiful.
    Hope there will be a sequel.
  67. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    Esse é o melhor combate dentre todos os jogos que conheço, quem está chingando esse jogo ou veio proucurando um rpg, que não é o caso desse jogo ou ficou preso no primeiro chefe. O combate parece simples pois só tem dois botões, mas é perfeito, os chefes são muito bons, principalmente o último, e o combate é complexo, não é preciso usar todos os botões para ser complexo e esse jogo fazEsse é o melhor combate dentre todos os jogos que conheço, quem está chingando esse jogo ou veio proucurando um rpg, que não é o caso desse jogo ou ficou preso no primeiro chefe. O combate parece simples pois só tem dois botões, mas é perfeito, os chefes são muito bons, principalmente o último, e o combate é complexo, não é preciso usar todos os botões para ser complexo e esse jogo faz isso muito bem, você tem que regular bem entre o ataque e o parry além de saber a hora de desbiar e a hora de aparar, não dá pra explicar muoto bem o motivo do combate ser tão bom, mas talvez seja por ser você que controla o personagem, sem momentos que ele faz tudo sozinho e também não é só esqu Expand
  68. Aug 13, 2020
    9
    Good combat yyeyeueueyueyehsusisjsjjsjshshsysyshhshsh hambúrguer inteiro de filosofia
  69. Sep 4, 2020
    8
    This was my first "Souls" game but I got it because it seemed really fun a year after it's release and it was cool! I liked how it wasn't strictly a "reduce the boss' health to zero" type game because of the posture system that bit only rewarded you for skill but also offered up a new branch of gameplay if you didn't like chipping away at health nonstop. I'd definitely recommend this forThis was my first "Souls" game but I got it because it seemed really fun a year after it's release and it was cool! I liked how it wasn't strictly a "reduce the boss' health to zero" type game because of the posture system that bit only rewarded you for skill but also offered up a new branch of gameplay if you didn't like chipping away at health nonstop. I'd definitely recommend this for third person action adventure lovers. Expand
  70. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    Nothing else in gaming compares to the feeling of finally learning and overcoming a boss you've been struggling with for days on end. One of my all time favourites.
  71. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    There is not much to say about at least one of the best if not the best combat system of all time. in my opinion its better than the souls ones
  72. Sep 16, 2020
    8
    천주인 척 했는데 알고보니 아니더라고... 란 느낌. 클리어하긴 했지만, 패링을 강요받는 보스전이 굉장히 스트레스였다. 제작자의 에고가 지나치게 강요되었단 느낌. 대신 스토리와 캐릭터는 후기 프롬 게임 중에서는 가장 괜찮았다. 싱글 모드만 존재하는 것도 아쉬운 점. 항상 소울 시리즈를 같이 플레이하는 방향치인 친구와 PVP&코옵을 하고 싶었는데 말이지.천주인 척 했는데 알고보니 아니더라고... 란 느낌. 클리어하긴 했지만, 패링을 강요받는 보스전이 굉장히 스트레스였다. 제작자의 에고가 지나치게 강요되었단 느낌. 대신 스토리와 캐릭터는 후기 프롬 게임 중에서는 가장 괜찮았다. 싱글 모드만 존재하는 것도 아쉬운 점. 항상 소울 시리즈를 같이 플레이하는 방향치인 친구와 PVP&코옵을 하고 싶었는데 말이지.
  73. Jul 24, 2020
    8
    f*cking sick fight system.
    Has not many weapons and builds like souls games. but Its more hard then other souls games.
    must play for souls fan.
  74. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    Sekiro is a masterpiece! Period.
    The combat system of Sekiro is one of a kind and is truly the best combat system that I have ever played. Each boss is uniquely designed with their combat style, appearance, arena etc. Beating the Guardian Ape Boss, Blazing bull mini boss, Genichiro Ashina were highlights of the game for me. I'm done with this game, but, I'll definitely miss a game like this.
  75. Jul 20, 2020
    10
    90 hours and i get all achievements so, this game up to top 1 in my rank list. beacause is perfect
    does not need more or less.
  76. Jul 3, 2020
    10
    Amazing game. Super hard at first, but the feeling of the combat clicking is so satisfying. No other game for me has been as fun as this, once the combat clicks. Once its clicked, the difficulty drops off of a cliff, the learning curve is just large.
    Ive platinumed it, which I've never done before. Honestly could be my favourite game of all time in terms of the gameplay. So fast, opposite
    Amazing game. Super hard at first, but the feeling of the combat clicking is so satisfying. No other game for me has been as fun as this, once the combat clicks. Once its clicked, the difficulty drops off of a cliff, the learning curve is just large.
    Ive platinumed it, which I've never done before. Honestly could be my favourite game of all time in terms of the gameplay. So fast, opposite of a button masher, hitbox is so clean. Ugh, just the best game.
    Also the story is pretty nice for a Fromsoft game. I enjoyed this game a lot more the Bloodbourne, and its made me a life long Fromsoft fan. Brilliant game
    Expand
  77. Aug 10, 2020
    9
    Beautiful game and very challenging, one of the best games I've played this generation,
  78. Jul 3, 2020
    10
    a Great Game. Finally Fromsoftware got the Game of the Year Award.
    The Game is not too hard ,but also not too easy. Perfectly balanced. The graphics are nice the combat system is very innovative.
    Overall just a very good game. i didnt like some of the areas though. thats the most common mistake video game developer make. the dont design it in a way that it seems believable for the npcs
    a Great Game. Finally Fromsoftware got the Game of the Year Award.
    The Game is not too hard ,but also not too easy. Perfectly balanced. The graphics are nice the combat system is very innovative.
    Overall just a very good game.
    i didnt like some of the areas though.
    thats the most common mistake video game developer make. the dont design it in a way that it seems believable for the npcs to live there.

    so i would actually give this game a 9/10 ,because i dont like giving 10 out of ten cuz nothing is perfect. but i want the user score to get higher so i give 10 points.
    Expand
  79. Aug 13, 2020
    10
    I have never been so addicted to and platinum'ed a game so fast in my entire life. This doesn't stray to far from the typical Soulsborne framework, but then deviates from it so far that it definitely stands on its own among FromSoftware's growing pantheon of classics. Initially I was so taken aback by the deviation that I didn't even get to the first boss. I just put it away and playedI have never been so addicted to and platinum'ed a game so fast in my entire life. This doesn't stray to far from the typical Soulsborne framework, but then deviates from it so far that it definitely stands on its own among FromSoftware's growing pantheon of classics. Initially I was so taken aback by the deviation that I didn't even get to the first boss. I just put it away and played something else, disappointed that I wasted my money on such an overhyped product, after my journey from Demon Souls all the way back in the PS3 era up to finishing Dark Souls 3 and Bloodborne, I felt the itch for a new game from this company was not scratched. I was so disappointed. But I came back to this 3 months later, forced myself through learning the grappling mechanics, the parry move and the posture meter, the sneaking and deathblows, and when all the components clicked together, I was HOOKED. I devoured this game. Didn't play anything else for weeks. Every waking moment was spent thinking on how best to approach a new area, a new enemy, how to get through them with perfect parrys and no damage.The bosses, the environments, the music. If you can get through the initial hurdle of readjusting from a heavily armored knight, to a moderately armored hunter to finally a nimble shinobi, you owe it to yourself to play this gem. This is a worthy addition to FromSoftware's catalogue. Expand
  80. Aug 6, 2020
    9
    Fantastic From Software game. The improved controls allowing for pixel perfect blocking and parrying, brings new meaning to the term 'Git Gud'. The speed and pace it adds to combat makes every encounter potentially deadly, and a great feel to swordplay which should be implemented in all future swordplay games. The graphics help bring the Japanese setting to life, while the animations ofFantastic From Software game. The improved controls allowing for pixel perfect blocking and parrying, brings new meaning to the term 'Git Gud'. The speed and pace it adds to combat makes every encounter potentially deadly, and a great feel to swordplay which should be implemented in all future swordplay games. The graphics help bring the Japanese setting to life, while the animations of the enemies make for some of the greatest boss fights of all time. Expand
  81. Aug 14, 2020
    8
    Very good but not excellent.
    I like the Dark soul's Japan Lore, designs and ambientation.
    Maybe too difficult to be enjoyed by everyone, new moveset and combat is so fun, but dying so much until you perfect your style to the maximum its not for all gamers.
    Anyway i recommend it, only one step below Bloodborne and Dark souls
  82. Jul 23, 2020
    10
    Ótima Gameplay, história também muito boa, e o protagonista é muito enigmático.
  83. Jul 24, 2020
    9
    Graphisme : 17/20 Beau sans être une claque graphique avec une très bonne direction artistique.
    Gameplay : 18/20 Le gameplay est très souple et le système de combat est super bien pensé difficile au début mais jouissif une fois acquis.
    Durée de vie : 16/20 Bonne durée de vie et Rejouabilité intéressante mais End-Game léger. Bande son : 17/20 Bonne bande son. Scénario :
    Graphisme : 17/20 Beau sans être une claque graphique avec une très bonne direction artistique.
    Gameplay : 18/20 Le gameplay est très souple et le système de combat est super bien pensé difficile au début mais jouissif une fois acquis.
    Durée de vie : 16/20 Bonne durée de vie et Rejouabilité intéressante mais End-Game léger.
    Bande son : 17/20 Bonne bande son.
    Scénario : 14/20 Scénario intéressent si on veut bien suivre les dialogue dissimilé un peu partout mais reste assez flou si on ne ce donne pas la peine de tous lire et fouillez.
    MA NOTE : 18/20
    Expand
  84. Aug 5, 2020
    10
    Masterpiece at gameplay level. This is one of the few REAL games on modern consoles. Not a great story, without good graphics or animations. However, if you loved DS series this is the game for you. Excellent boss fights and really hard to beat(like old school games).
  85. Jul 25, 2020
    10
    Beautifully crafted From Software formula. Elevated the Dark Souls like genre with new combat a mind-blowing soundtrack and just visually stunning world in Ashina.
  86. Jul 25, 2020
    8
    В игре лучшие битвы с боссами, которые когда либо были. Сложность на месте. И хотя по началу я не взлюбил эту игру, сейчас я с радостью вспоминаю каждую минуту проведённую в ней.
  87. Jul 26, 2020
    10
    A lot of people dislike Sekiro due to its difficulty but to me at least thats just the fun of the game learning the moves and creating a counter attack for them (most bosses have weaknesses to exploit) and thats the only real point of criticism the game, story and everything are so good
  88. Aug 3, 2020
    10
    Favorite game of all time tbh all the boss the cbot the flow if you feel it puts you in a state of flow like boxing or mma fight.
  89. Jul 29, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sekiro is another fromsoftware game that never fails to disappoint in the absolute savage difficult the game imposes. Most bosses in the game serve excellent challenges which test your skill as a player and in some cases teach you new skills and techniques. For example Gyobou Masataka Oniwa, being the first main boss in the game, helps teach the player the importance of blocking and parrying. Unless the player adapts to this style of playing they will obviously die over and over and for me, a dark souls veteran, it became a challenge to not constantly dodge roll away from attacks but once I had mastered the block and parry mechanic the game became so much more enjoyable. However not every boss is as perfect as that for example the first corrupted monk can easily be killed by abusing firecracker and fistfuls of ash but overall the bosses are solid and always provide a good challenge. In conclusion the game is absolutely solid but it has its issues with easily cheeseable bosses and broken items which make the game a cakewalk Expand
  90. Aug 19, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. buenisimo y los que creen que es injusto son unos bebes https://youtu.be/g3iHuqMwOrg Expand
  91. Aug 5, 2020
    9
    It was my first game fromsofware
    I enjoyed it a lot even when I probably died more than a 800 times. There were so places where the difficulty was unfair as they just added more enemies to a boss battle, but the rest was fair. That is if you hone your skill
    I beta all the bosses
    And I am proud to say I beat the game
  92. Aug 12, 2020
    10
    a true masterpiece. The combat is very unique and the world is so interesting and detailed. truly beautiful.
  93. Sep 11, 2020
    9
    The most incredible and challenging gameplay I've experienced in some time. Probably the first game that feels like real epic swordfighting. Very hard game. If Bloodborne is a 7 for difficulty, than Sekiro is an 8. The game is so fast-paced, you can die in a seconds with a few wrong moves. Interesting Eastern world setting. It reminded me a lot of the Blade of the Immortal manga, butThe most incredible and challenging gameplay I've experienced in some time. Probably the first game that feels like real epic swordfighting. Very hard game. If Bloodborne is a 7 for difficulty, than Sekiro is an 8. The game is so fast-paced, you can die in a seconds with a few wrong moves. Interesting Eastern world setting. It reminded me a lot of the Blade of the Immortal manga, but with a strong supernatural theme. The game can be quite frustrating. This is the first FromSoft game that made me actually question if I actually could defeat certain bosses. When this game is at it's best though, and the perfect parries are ringing and blades are flying about, there is nothing like it. It reminds me of the intro for Ninja Gaiden 1 on the NES. Imagine that short and perfect intro as a ballet of sword-fighting, and you have the best of Sekiro. Expand
  94. Aug 17, 2020
    9
    Awesome game.
    SEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKIRO!!!! AUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!
  95. Aug 19, 2020
    9
    Sekiro is a beautiful yet extremely challenging game that may be a little too much to some people. A game that can turn out fantastic if you're willing to put in the time and effort to take the challenge and finish the increasingly difficult game.
  96. Aug 21, 2020
    10
    no lloren mancos, uno de los mejores videojuegos de esta generación, y un avance super notorio de las mecánicas de los soulslike. y quien lea esto y no comparta mi opinion, "aprende a agarrar el control, manco"
  97. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    Sem duvida alguma uma obra de arte, um jogo que te desafia o tempo todo, te dando uma motivação para querer praticar, melhorar e tentar de novo.
    uma verdadeira lição de narrativa e jogabilidade para a industria de jogos atuai, um sistema de aparar completamente novo, que te dá satisfação visual de ver em pratica, algo que chega a beirar o cinematográfico em seus combates.
    Sekiro: Shadows
    Sem duvida alguma uma obra de arte, um jogo que te desafia o tempo todo, te dando uma motivação para querer praticar, melhorar e tentar de novo.
    uma verdadeira lição de narrativa e jogabilidade para a industria de jogos atuai, um sistema de aparar completamente novo, que te dá satisfação visual de ver em pratica, algo que chega a beirar o cinematográfico em seus combates.
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice é um dos poucos jogos em que tive vontade de fazer 100% de tudo o que tem a oferecer, o jogo conta com seu audio original em japones, e a atuação e relação dos personagens é incrivelmente detalhada, retratando um Japão em período de guerra, onde as pessoas quase não possuem mais emoções ou esperanças, e você sendo o Lobo de um braço só, precisa fazer o que lhe foi confiado a fazer, proteger seu mestre a todo custo, seguindo sua honra como um shinobi e se guiando por sangue com um poder desconhecido.
    Parabéns From Software.
    Expand
  98. Sep 15, 2020
    10
    Tout simplement sekiro est parmis les 5 meilleures jeux que j'ai jouer durant toute ma vie Merci from software merci myazaki
  99. Oct 22, 2020
    9
    Juego estilo Japonés demasiado bueno, que cuenta con una excelente jugabilidad, una buena IA, varios sets de movimiento muy variados, jefes memorables y una banda sonora estilo Japonés bastante buena. Lo único malo que tuve es que no sé porqué no lo disfruté tanto como Dark Souls III.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 1 out of 76
  1. May 15, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an enjoyable, yet deeply challenging game. It's not really a Dark Souls with samurais game, but whether or not you enjoyed the difficulty level of the battles in Dark Souls will be a good benchmark in gauging how much you'll like Sekiro. If you're persistent, up for a challenge, and don't become frustrated easily, then Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an easy game to recommend.
  2. Apr 28, 2019
    100
    Though Sekiro feels impossibly hard at times, the level of euphoria you experience when delivering a death blow to a tricky boss or when you finally clear a castle grounds of all enemies is almost unparalleled.
  3. Apr 27, 2019
    78
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice succeeds in its incredibly visceral combat and stealth all while being set in an engaging game world. However, its linear character growth options and repetitive combat begin to dull the experience after you get over the initial hump.