User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1859 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2019
    10
    To put simply, this game is a masterpiece! From it's look to it's feel it is down right polished! It can be difficult but it's more like a puzzle, memorizing the enemy patterns and knowing how to get past certain attacks. To those who say the game is to difficult and needs and easy mode, if a quadriplegic man can beat it, so can you!
  2. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    From software did it again. Sekiro is a game which ask you to play by its rule, but reward you with the satisfaction when you beat it at its own game.

    Cant thank enough from software to keep on making games that are actually games and not going to point A to B and then killing bunch of same enemies for the entirety of the gameplay. Looking at you red dead 2.
    From software is the best
  3. Apr 23, 2019
    10
    Phenomenal experience! I've seen some articles complaining about difficulty but I truly think that Sekiro is one of From Software's most generous games. You have SO MANY options in combat, you can choose to fight your enemy's up close and personal, mastering the art of the parry, you can employ hit and run tactics or you can take a more cautious approach, using your shinobi tools andPhenomenal experience! I've seen some articles complaining about difficulty but I truly think that Sekiro is one of From Software's most generous games. You have SO MANY options in combat, you can choose to fight your enemy's up close and personal, mastering the art of the parry, you can employ hit and run tactics or you can take a more cautious approach, using your shinobi tools and attack skills to whittle down their health bars, tools and attack skills you can even SWITCH DURING COMBAT! Yes, you can pause during boss fights in this game. The boss keeps blocking your spear? Switch up to the firecrackers. Can't seem to block their attacks? Maybe try the umbrella shield. Can't get that doge timing right? Not a problem, you have unlimited stamina in this game, you can literally run circles around pretty much every enemy.

    Sekiro is not too difficult, and worrying about how hard it is should definitely not be a reason not to buy. If you can't beat a boss or get past a certain area, trying something different, and keep trying until you are successful. Like Dark Souls and Bloodborne, overcoming seemingly insurmountable challenges is what this game is about, and finally beating it is one of the best feelings in gaming.
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2019
    10
    This game is actually very hard at the beginning. However, when I find the way to beat the enemies and get the learning curve, it becomes a game so satisfying.
  5. May 3, 2019
    10
    The game has a good chunk of what you would expect from a Souls game: High but extremely fair difficulty, amazing animation and movesets from enemies, a LOT to be discovered around the main story (evironment storytelling is back) and bosses that will always test what you have learned so far.

    I like to compare SEKIRO to real life, you will fail a lot at something, but each time you fail
    The game has a good chunk of what you would expect from a Souls game: High but extremely fair difficulty, amazing animation and movesets from enemies, a LOT to be discovered around the main story (evironment storytelling is back) and bosses that will always test what you have learned so far.

    I like to compare SEKIRO to real life, you will fail a lot at something, but each time you fail you will get a little step closer to overcoming your obstacles, until you finally do and you just feel really proud of what you just did.

    The only bad thing in SEKIRO is that it does not have the variety the other Souls games have (you can't change your clothing and main weapon), but as FROM SOFTWARE stated, this is NOT a Souls game.
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2019
    9
    Another amazing FromSoft game. Difficult but tons of hidden lore and tidbits. Great swordplay and action as well.
  7. May 16, 2019
    10
    Me encantó este juego, el gameplay es exigente y divertido que te tiene pegado a la pantalla, sin descuidar un segundo por qué mueres, no se podría esperar menos de un juego de From Software
  8. Apr 25, 2019
    8
    A great game and it was good experience for me, hope the DLC can be released asap!
  9. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    Un juego excelente! dificultad variada con cada enemigo, desde los mas débiles hasta los jefes, unos gráficos impecables, una historia que se entiende a la perfección (no como los otros juegos de FromSoftware que había que investigar el lore y hacerse uno su propia historia) una total reinvención de la jugabilidad y lo mejor de todo; su tamaño es de menos de 15gb.
  10. May 3, 2019
    10
    Absolutely incredible game. From Software has outdone themselves yet again. You will die a lot but you simply cannot stop playing because of how fun it is
    10/10 must buy
  11. May 20, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great game with a great story and incredible soundtrack background Without a doubt one of the best games of this year Expand
  12. May 2, 2019
    9
    Lo mejor que ha conseguido From Software con Sekiro es diferenciarse enormemente de sus otros productos. Tienen cosas muy parecidas y se nota que es su juego, pero es tan diferente de Dark Soul y Bloodborne. Ha conseguido un estilo propio y unas mecánicas muy precisas y que sienten como si fueras un verdadero shinobi. Tiene unas "mecanicas sencillas" (usa la katana para atacar, defiéndete,Lo mejor que ha conseguido From Software con Sekiro es diferenciarse enormemente de sus otros productos. Tienen cosas muy parecidas y se nota que es su juego, pero es tan diferente de Dark Soul y Bloodborne. Ha conseguido un estilo propio y unas mecánicas muy precisas y que sienten como si fueras un verdadero shinobi. Tiene unas "mecanicas sencillas" (usa la katana para atacar, defiéndete, rompe la defensa del objetivo...), pero que necesitas de mucha práctica y de morir mucho para poder dominarlo a la perfección (y no tanto porque llega un jefe que crees que controlas pero te mata). Puede llegar a ser frustrante a veces cuando no consigues derrotar a ciertos jefes pero la satisfacción al empezar a entender sus movimientos y ver que lo estás consiguiendo creo que merece mucho la pena. Un juego que merece la pena. Expand
  13. May 2, 2019
    4
    Honestamente no entiendo tanta nota de 10, ni de lejos es perfecto...repetitivo,con un sistema de combate que consiste en morir hasta memorizar los patrones de ataque de un boss tras otro, lo que alarga artficialmente la duración de un juego que si no fuera por eso sería corto.
    En cuanto a la dificultad en realidad yo diria que su dificultad es no perder la paciencia con Bosses que te
    Honestamente no entiendo tanta nota de 10, ni de lejos es perfecto...repetitivo,con un sistema de combate que consiste en morir hasta memorizar los patrones de ataque de un boss tras otro, lo que alarga artficialmente la duración de un juego que si no fuera por eso sería corto.
    En cuanto a la dificultad en realidad yo diria que su dificultad es no perder la paciencia con Bosses que te matan de un golpe, hitboxes imposibles y tracking descarado lo que convierte el combate en bloquear secuencias de golpes que memorizas a base de repetir y golpear cuando termina .Fin
    Los gráficos no son nada del otro mundo y la historia tampoco destaca.
    Si, es Fromsoftware y si,tiene su dificultad pero ni de lejos es un 10
    Expand
  14. May 3, 2019
    10
    Otra obra maestra por parte de From Software, jugablemente increíble es una delicia, gráficamente precioso al igual que en cuanto a sonido, incluso la historia esta a gran altura, un juego ademas largo, con un montón de jefes o mini jefes opcionales, varios finales alternativos, muchas cosas ocultas con un mapa enorme por explorar, la gente que lo vota negativo es simplemente por laOtra obra maestra por parte de From Software, jugablemente increíble es una delicia, gráficamente precioso al igual que en cuanto a sonido, incluso la historia esta a gran altura, un juego ademas largo, con un montón de jefes o mini jefes opcionales, varios finales alternativos, muchas cosas ocultas con un mapa enorme por explorar, la gente que lo vota negativo es simplemente por la exagerada dificultad, es cierto que es de los juegos mas difíciles que he jugado, por no decir el mas dificil la verdad, pero justamente esa es la gracia de este titulo, es lo que buscaban para diferenciarse, no es como para votarlo negativo por eso, practicamente todos los juegos del mercado son un paseo, asi que la gente que se queja de la dificultad simplemente que busquen otra cosa, pero que no voten negativo a tal obra maestra, con tanto trabajo detrás, el único pero que le puedo poner respecto a los DS, es que es un juego que tienes que estar siempre al 100%, no hay momento de descanso, incluso con los enemigos mas básicos, no te vale solo aporrear el botón de ataque, pero vamos que eso no quita la obra de arte que es, gracias de nuevo FS. Expand
  15. May 2, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This wonderfully difficult game is one that I enjoyed immensely. I've been a fan of Souls games and thought I would take off like a beast, and I was wrong. The combat of Dark Souls and Bloodborne are not how this works. Sekiro became a challenge and one that I love. I came, I saw, I got slammed into Hades by an albino King Kong. I chopped his head off and... he got up and screamed me into oblivion. Over and over until I finally got the skills built up and knowledge of the match-up down. Victory felt victorious!

    The fantasy shinobi atmosphere is a nice change and the FromSoft world-building without words is in full force again (show, don't tell). If the industry could use a shot of anything right now it's how to do more of this.

    My only criticism is also unfortunately necessary for Sekiro to work. This is a tale, so character building and customization is pretty light, and I've always liked those options in previous FromSoft titles. There's no point in doing a run with another build without builds.

    After being burnt on a recent pre-order from another company (MK11), I considered never pre-ordering a game again. I may make an exception for FromSoft.
    Expand
  16. May 2, 2019
    9
    Jogo muito bom, mantendo a dificuldade e boss fights de costume, e muitos cenários para exploração, como qualquer Dark Souls ou até mesmo Bloodborne. O que peca é a história, que como de costume, não é o foco nesse estilo de jogo da From Software, mas mesmo assim é super divertido (pra quem é fâ desse gênero de jogo, e está ciente da dificuldade). Uma coisa que senti falta, foi aJogo muito bom, mantendo a dificuldade e boss fights de costume, e muitos cenários para exploração, como qualquer Dark Souls ou até mesmo Bloodborne. O que peca é a história, que como de costume, não é o foco nesse estilo de jogo da From Software, mas mesmo assim é super divertido (pra quem é fâ desse gênero de jogo, e está ciente da dificuldade). Uma coisa que senti falta, foi a envolvência das quests secundárias no game, achei meio fraco comparado ao Dark Souls e BloodBorne.

    Game design: 10/10
    Level design: 10/10
    Dificuldade: 9/10
    Gráficos: 10/10
    História: 8/10
    Personagens: 9/10
    Boss Fights: 10/10
    Expand
  17. May 7, 2019
    10
    Ich verstehe nicht wie man als Bloodborne oder Dark Souls Fan dieses Spiel nicht leiden kann. Es ist auf seine eigene Art und Weise absolut ebenbürtig. Ich für meinen Teil habe dieses Feeling beim Zocken welches ich nur bei From Software Games bekomme, deshalb 10/10!!!
  18. May 3, 2019
    10
    really good game the grafix are att point! i dont get why people say it looks like ps2 graphics i mean have you ever played or seen a ps2 game i dont think a ps2 can run this game it will just crash people these days i swear anyway this game is really good the combat the bosses everything is great from software dont litsen to people this game is awesome keep it up!. also the game isreally good game the grafix are att point! i dont get why people say it looks like ps2 graphics i mean have you ever played or seen a ps2 game i dont think a ps2 can run this game it will just crash people these days i swear anyway this game is really good the combat the bosses everything is great from software dont litsen to people this game is awesome keep it up!. also the game is difficult but what do you expect from the people who made dark souls i mean hell it has prepare to die edition. im gonna tell you why these games are difficult the hidetaka miyazaki the idea of the souls series said that he wants to make players feel like they accomplished something big you know that hard boss that you keep dying to and then the satisfaction of finally beating the boss is so good it feels like you took herione. thats why these games are hard they are supposed to be hard thats why these games are so good Expand
  19. May 7, 2019
    9
    I have finished all Fromsoftware RPG´s since Demons Souls, and Sekiro, regardless of not being a "real rpg", but a hack and slash game with litle RPG elements, maintains the quality level of previous games, with many and many dark souls elements, like the "bonfire" checkpoints and extremely hard and rewarding boss fights. It´s definetly an addictive game and will not disappoint theI have finished all Fromsoftware RPG´s since Demons Souls, and Sekiro, regardless of not being a "real rpg", but a hack and slash game with litle RPG elements, maintains the quality level of previous games, with many and many dark souls elements, like the "bonfire" checkpoints and extremely hard and rewarding boss fights. It´s definetly an addictive game and will not disappoint the Fromsoftware fans. Expand
  20. May 8, 2019
    10
    Also meiner Meinung nach das beste Spiel der FromSoftware Reihe.

    Kann ich nur empfehlen!
  21. May 11, 2019
    8
    After playing all the From Software previous Demon Souls, Dark Souls, and Bloodborne games I was expecting something quite special with this, and I wasn't disappointed! Sekiro is quite a different beast from its predecessors, so if you go in and play the game fresh you will be in for one fantastic adventure. It can be quite an unforgiving game at times, even when it gives you a chance toAfter playing all the From Software previous Demon Souls, Dark Souls, and Bloodborne games I was expecting something quite special with this, and I wasn't disappointed! Sekiro is quite a different beast from its predecessors, so if you go in and play the game fresh you will be in for one fantastic adventure. It can be quite an unforgiving game at times, even when it gives you a chance to die twice, but the excitement and relief after beating another mini boss or a main boss is quite something. But I feel at times you do come to quite a hard wall with some bosses and only the most patient and persistent gamers will get through it. Expand
  22. May 9, 2019
    3
    A very disappointing game. The game started very good but the further I progressed the game just became a kill boss after other boss game. They could have created just a arena and fight 53 bosses in a row and you would hardly know the difference. I seems that they have rushed through the game development and just threw in some bosses (and several times the bosses are exactly the same). IA very disappointing game. The game started very good but the further I progressed the game just became a kill boss after other boss game. They could have created just a arena and fight 53 bosses in a row and you would hardly know the difference. I seems that they have rushed through the game development and just threw in some bosses (and several times the bosses are exactly the same). I hope their next game will be from the same quality as Bloodborne again. Expand
  23. May 10, 2019
    10
    I would give this game a 9 but i just can't. It is so rare to see a game this polished and playable today. Tried alot of them. ARK, PUBG, HUNT, TARKOV. Those were all Early-A games and the hype has been on that trail along time. It was just refreshing.

    Game might be hard, but everything is when you don't know how to handle things. It's still more forgiving to a new player than a Dark
    I would give this game a 9 but i just can't. It is so rare to see a game this polished and playable today. Tried alot of them. ARK, PUBG, HUNT, TARKOV. Those were all Early-A games and the hype has been on that trail along time. It was just refreshing.

    Game might be hard, but everything is when you don't know how to handle things. It's still more forgiving to a new player than a Dark Souls game because Sekiro does not require as much setups. It requires you to undertand the mechanics and truly test you.

    Everything below a 7 in a rating on this game is clearly wrong. Expecting things to be something there not is a sin of your own mind. Rating a game is about you not comparing the title to others or your skill with what you managed in other situations.

    I will claim that the phasing in this game is so good it puts alot of games to shame.
    And like most things in life, if you just "Stay a while and listen" most things becomes obvious.
    The game even got a Tutorial were you can practice your mechanics with ease.

    My last words will be "Git Gud". People who can't stand knowing they have to become better sometimes to reach certain satisfactions will never accept that their not good enough either. You can't be good enough with everything in life, check out Tetris.
    So yeah...Git gud.
    Expand
  24. May 16, 2019
    9
    It is a very good game. Very challenging and entertaining. Their mini bosses reach levels of demand even higher than some bosses. Very good game. 100% recommended
  25. May 14, 2019
    10
    Ok , so, ... if you dont like hard and challenging games, please just stop reading.

    If you like hard and challenging games, keep going !
    If you like from software, keep going !
    If you like feudal japan, then 立ち止まるな !

    Truly a masterpiece !
    ( 本当に傑作!)
  26. May 15, 2019
    7
    As someone that is not a Souls-Borne veteran (but wants to try them eventually).. I came into this game knowing it would be difficult and defeating - but OH MAN.. I've played plenty of games that left me scratching my head and admitting defeat but this game was different.. At a certain point its just not that much fun to replay the same boss that many times and the payoff when you finallyAs someone that is not a Souls-Borne veteran (but wants to try them eventually).. I came into this game knowing it would be difficult and defeating - but OH MAN.. I've played plenty of games that left me scratching my head and admitting defeat but this game was different.. At a certain point its just not that much fun to replay the same boss that many times and the payoff when you finally do is short-lived since there are 4 more in the next area.
    Overall, I had fun.. the story is interesting, the environments are cool, and the game play is rewarding for people that spend the time to learn it.. but I'm never going to look back at this game and say.. "Ya, i'm going to replay this game because I enjoyed screaming at the top of my lungs every few minutes while waking up my son in the middle of the night.. "
    Good game for hardcore gamers that like the challenge but probably not for people with high blood pressure that just want to be a damn ninja.
    Expand
  27. May 15, 2019
    10
    If you pay attention there are soo many details. The challenge is very satisfying to experienced gamers. From software should not change a thing. Currently I'm stuck but breaking that barrier is the point. Learn, grow and be the story
  28. May 20, 2019
    10
    Going into Sekiro I wasn't expecting the best I think it down to Activison being involved with the project that and I was alittle salty that it wasn't Bloodborne 2.
    But good lord I was so wrong about this game. Sekiro is a masterclass in both visual storytelling and satisfying melee combat with a progression system that whilst not as expansive as the Soulsborne games is still expansive
    Going into Sekiro I wasn't expecting the best I think it down to Activison being involved with the project that and I was alittle salty that it wasn't Bloodborne 2.
    But good lord I was so wrong about this game. Sekiro is a masterclass in both visual storytelling and satisfying melee combat with a progression system that whilst not as expansive as the Soulsborne games is still expansive resulting in different skill combinations (At least in the first playthrough).
    But why should you play Sekiro ? simple, it provides a rush of thrills unlike any game From Software have created thanks to the reworked combat that is almost like a rhythm game as timing the parries is key and knowing when to attack is important also.
    Sekiro also contains a large variety of bosses with their own unique movesets and hazards to avoid and every victory I had was always satisfying giving me a feeling I hadn't felt since finishing the Soulsborne games for the first time moments like Making a God Tier build in Demon's Souls, Defeating Ornstein and Smough for the first time on 0 Estus, Getting the DLC crowns in Dark Souls II, The moment everything gets Tilted in Bloodborne, And the first time fighting Soul Of Cinder as a fan of the series. Moments like this will stay with me and Sekiro has plenty of moments like that if not topping those experiences at times.
    Sekiro is not without it's faults though a good example being how overpowered the "Shinobi Firecrackers" are as I believe most if not all bosses have a flinch effect when the player uses these. Tools like the Sabimaru or the Folded Umbrella feel borderline underpowered with very limited uses in fact I only used the Purple Folded Umbrella on NG+ to make short work of the Shichimen Warrior boss who's projectiles can be easily countered with this tool.
    Also some bosses are straight up bad like The Divine Dragon and The Mist Noble who are basically just obstacles in the way of the player similar to something like Allant in Demon's Souls or The Congregation in Dark Souls II.
    Ultimately though Sekiro is a masterpiece of immesurable scale and should be something in your game library before the end of this generation and I hope we can get some expansion to the lore of Ashina and the characters that inhabit it although a Bloodborne 2 would be nice before that.
    Expand
  29. May 24, 2019
    7
    Однообразные мобы. Незапоминающиеся боссы.. Отсутствие вещей и оружие.Дибильный протез,вернее задумка интересная, но по большому счёту кроме крюка, практической пользы мало. Как любителю соулс серии игра не зашла.
  30. May 25, 2019
    10
    Listen... I am late to the whole to the whole Dark Souls thing and Im sorry I have no Dark Souls pedigree. I always avoided them due to their 'punishing' difficulty. Then I started with Bloodborne which slowly became one of my favorite games of all time. So I was excited about Sekiro. Um yeah.... its tough, unforgivably tough, more so than any game I've ever played. But I stuck with itListen... I am late to the whole to the whole Dark Souls thing and Im sorry I have no Dark Souls pedigree. I always avoided them due to their 'punishing' difficulty. Then I started with Bloodborne which slowly became one of my favorite games of all time. So I was excited about Sekiro. Um yeah.... its tough, unforgivably tough, more so than any game I've ever played. But I stuck with it remembering that Bloodborne started out like that for me (not to the same degree but in principle). I also assumed that the bosses in the first memory were chronologically the first bosses I were to encounter. So the Drunkard beat me down a dozen times but then I was able to finally defeat him. Virtually seconds away a heart attack I exhaled and continued. OH but what I didn't know i that the real stage boss was right around the corner. Madam Butterfly stomped my ass dozens of times. I tried again and again and again and FINALLY a final deathblow. It was possibly the most fist pumping jump up and down video game moment of my life. I almost passed out. Then I realized that wasn't supposed to be the first bosses. So yeah. Good story. But experiences like that are so rare in games and Ive had them in spades playing this game. Expand
  31. May 28, 2019
    3
    I can't believe this was made by the same people that made dark souls and bloodborne.

    DS + Bloodborne: customizeable gear, useable consumeables, different builds, different armor, different weapons, decently rich and cool story. Sekiro: No customizable armor, no customizable weapon, no costume changes for the entire game, cool environment, boring story, no builds, worthless
    I can't believe this was made by the same people that made dark souls and bloodborne.

    DS + Bloodborne: customizeable gear, useable consumeables, different builds, different armor, different weapons, decently rich and cool story.

    Sekiro: No customizable armor, no customizable weapon, no costume changes for the entire game, cool environment, boring story, no builds, worthless prosthetics that deal almost no damage and you get maybe 10-20 of them (aka almost none per life).

    Sekiro is a boring block/parry fest. You don't really even need to move because the enemies lock on so well (and never miss) you just stand there and either: A) jump over perilous attack, requires no movement B) roll into jabs to block jabs, requires little movement. C) Parry everything else by mashing L1. SUPER boring game once I realized this.

    Most bosses can insta-kill you and take barley any damage making the game quite boring and frustrating. Healing is terrible and the consumables are not worth using compared to bloodborne or dark souls.

    I killed every single boss by doing the two following boring things, the list you saw above: Parry/jump/block and strike OR run around enemies in circles waiting for openings to chip away at health.

    Very boring game. Please never do this again fromsoft.

    Replays: (times I started a new game or new game plus)
    Dark souls 3: 50
    Bloodborne: 50+
    Sekiro: 0...

    Can you tell which one was fun and repayable?
    Expand
  32. May 29, 2019
    9
    Sekiro :shadows die twice is one of the best gaming experiences I have had till date,it easily reaches my top 5 of most satisfying games.
    The combat is fluid responsive and hectic,you truly feel like a shinobi fighting against everything else to save your master at all costs,the game brings out the best from 'from softwares' level design,the world feels interconnected and cohesive,with
    Sekiro :shadows die twice is one of the best gaming experiences I have had till date,it easily reaches my top 5 of most satisfying games.
    The combat is fluid responsive and hectic,you truly feel like a shinobi fighting against everything else to save your master at all costs,the game brings out the best from 'from softwares' level design,the world feels interconnected and cohesive,with each deathblow you get to feel the mechanics of the game tightening itself around you if that makes sense,the game latches itself on to you and the feeling of satisfaction that comes from beating a 'from software' game is still there and it plays a good part in giving you the ultimate shinobi experience.
    Expand
  33. Jun 1, 2019
    10
    One of the best games I ever played, and for sure best game of From. Game mechanics are perfectly fit for me and I realy enjoy playing this game. The Mixture of difficult, rewarding system and stealth mechanics are my favorite in games, so this game couldnt've gone wrong. Although it has one disadvantage, its shorter than previous from games. I know its probably because this game was farOne of the best games I ever played, and for sure best game of From. Game mechanics are perfectly fit for me and I realy enjoy playing this game. The Mixture of difficult, rewarding system and stealth mechanics are my favorite in games, so this game couldnt've gone wrong. Although it has one disadvantage, its shorter than previous from games. I know its probably because this game was far too difficult for most of players, but for me it was just perfect. Expand
  34. Jun 15, 2019
    9
    It’s a very good game but is it a very difficult it’s a challeng for hardcore gamer
  35. Jun 18, 2019
    8
    Sekiro Shadows Die Twice is a great game, but it is not a Dark Souls or a Bloodborne, for some people this can be something good and for others, it can be something bad. I had some mixed feelings at times, but most of it was enjoyable. My main issue with this game is the exploration. It IS cool to use the grappling hook and to jump, but once you reach high and/or hidden areas there isSekiro Shadows Die Twice is a great game, but it is not a Dark Souls or a Bloodborne, for some people this can be something good and for others, it can be something bad. I had some mixed feelings at times, but most of it was enjoyable. My main issue with this game is the exploration. It IS cool to use the grappling hook and to jump, but once you reach high and/or hidden areas there is nothing really good there. At 90% of the time all you will find exploring the map is consumable items, the other 10% of the time you will find another Shinobi Prosthetic, even that is not that great. The only prosthetics that I had really used on my gameplay were the Firecraker, the Umbrella and the Axe, I didn't found a good reason to use the other ones most than a few times or just to test them. At the end of the day, Sekiro is a good game, but I can say to you that I am really happy that Elden Ring is going to be a full Soulsborne game and not a Sekiro like game. Expand
  36. Mar 30, 2019
    6
    Say goodbye to armor, primary weapons, varied and complex builds, emotes and any other roleplaying elements, coop, and pvp. This is not a soulsborne game and fans of the soulsborne franchises should not be misled into believing that the gameplay is similar. Virtually every system has been overhauled, for better or worse.
    In some ways this title is more friendly to new players than
    Say goodbye to armor, primary weapons, varied and complex builds, emotes and any other roleplaying elements, coop, and pvp. This is not a soulsborne game and fans of the soulsborne franchises should not be misled into believing that the gameplay is similar. Virtually every system has been overhauled, for better or worse.
    In some ways this title is more friendly to new players than previous ones because you'll never have to look at wall of stats that you'd have to dig around online to make sense of and you won't have the training scars from playing earlier titles. But in another way, it's much more hostile to new players because the difficulty scaling is unprecedented even for a From Software game.
    Grinding is mostly ineffectual as the only reward you get for grinding is Sen (the primary currency, which can be used to purchase consumables and in some cases prosthetic attachments) and Skill Points, which are used to purchase new acrobatic abilities for your character (only one of which can be slotted at a time). You cannot increase your HP pool or Posture by grinding and you cannot summon friendly NPCs to assist you in boss fights, meaning that when you get stuck on a boss your only option is to continue slamming your head against that wall until you win or quit the game.
    Many returning FromSoft fans that are hostile to new players, casuals, and the notion of accessibility in game design will see these changes as improvements, however I generally see them as a step backwards. I don't think it's good game design for the basic narrative elements to be inaccessible to many players (even some who are willing to spend countless hours trying to 'git gud').
    My single biggest complaint with the game is the reductive nature of the new combat system. Many players seem to feel that the combat system is more complex than ever, but I disagree and I will enumerate my reasons why: Poise has been all but removed from the game, weapon arts have been replaced by acrobatic skills, stamina management was replaced by posture, spirit emblems effectively replaced FP, the prosthetic replaced spell attunement, and the jump mechanic replaced the kick. The vast array of sorceries, miracles, and pyromancies (96 total in dark souls 3) have been replaced by 11 prosthetic attachments. In Dark Souls or Bloodborne there are a wide variety of different play styles and approaches that are equally viable for completing the PVE content. You can be a strong dude with heavy armor, a giant, slow weapon, and tons of poise that just knocks bosses on their asses and manages damage trades. You can use spellcasting as your primary strategy for virtually every boss in the game. You can use a dex character with high mobility and fast weapons that inflict status effects like bleed on enemies. They all do the job, and this fantastic variety makes for excellent replay value (even for the players that aren't interested in challenge runs).
    That's just not the case in Sekiro. You have one weapon, one basic play style, and bosses only have one or sometimes two different basic strategies that are viable to beat them. To make things worse, many of the acrobatic skills that can be acquired that are supposed to make the player feel like they're making progress and getting deeper gameplay are completely nullified by certain bosses. For example, unblockable thrust weapon attacks and some kicks can be countered with a skill called the mikiri counter and unblockable sweep attacks can be jumped over, followed by a swift kick to the face that deals a lot of posture damage. Certain bosses, like Genichiro Ashina (a required boss for story progression), for example, can completely nullify these abilities and punish the player for trying to take advantage of them. This removes depth from the combat and this tactic the developers use to increase the difficulty of the game is equally artificial as tactics like making a boss' attacks deal so much damage they're all one-shot kills or tripling the HP pool of the boss to make it harder.
    It certainly feels like the central principal of this game's design was to make it extremely difficult without regard for making the gameplay feel fair, varied, or balanced.
    These drawbacks are such an intrusive impediment to enjoying the game that they overshadow many pleasant qualities in the game. I like that they tried to challenge returning hardcore players by removing I-frames from dodges. I like the new grappling mechanic and how this frees up the artists who designed the maps to add an entirely new dimension to the areas you play in. The visuals and voice acting are superb, and there appears to be just as much effort put into developing the lore of this game universe as previous titles. There are tons of different boss fights to be had in this game with 15 bosses and 29 Mini-bosses, although some of them are effectively just re-skins. I love FromSoft and their games, but I think this one was simply a step in the wrong direction. 6/10
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 1 out of 76
  1. May 15, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an enjoyable, yet deeply challenging game. It's not really a Dark Souls with samurais game, but whether or not you enjoyed the difficulty level of the battles in Dark Souls will be a good benchmark in gauging how much you'll like Sekiro. If you're persistent, up for a challenge, and don't become frustrated easily, then Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an easy game to recommend.
  2. Apr 28, 2019
    100
    Though Sekiro feels impossibly hard at times, the level of euphoria you experience when delivering a death blow to a tricky boss or when you finally clear a castle grounds of all enemies is almost unparalleled.
  3. Apr 27, 2019
    78
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice succeeds in its incredibly visceral combat and stealth all while being set in an engaging game world. However, its linear character growth options and repetitive combat begin to dull the experience after you get over the initial hump.