User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 158
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2017
    10
    This game is one of the most beautiful story-wise games and one of the most beautifully animated I've ever played. I hope everyone in the world gets a chance to play this masterpiece. GOTY every year 110/8 IGN would bang again
  2. Mar 17, 2016
    9
    Boobies boobies boobies bouncing everywhere! This game is actually really fun. Its got a healthy amount of fan service for those looking, and a great amount of content to justify the price. The plot is... well lackluster, but the beat em up stripping mechanic, and with alot of different characters, this adds a bunch of fun for an evening of hack and slash boobie action
  3. Apr 2, 2017
    8
    Senran Kagura: Estival Versus is a new entry in a series well known for its boobies, perversity and raunchy humor. Most people want to bash it for objectifying women and so on, but I'd say to every gamer just ignore the feminist/SJW comments or reviews, and play this fun game for what it is. Rest assured that there is no vulgar nudity in the game, there is no porn, and everything isSenran Kagura: Estival Versus is a new entry in a series well known for its boobies, perversity and raunchy humor. Most people want to bash it for objectifying women and so on, but I'd say to every gamer just ignore the feminist/SJW comments or reviews, and play this fun game for what it is. Rest assured that there is no vulgar nudity in the game, there is no porn, and everything is censored.

    Senran Kagura games are small-scale Dynasty Warriors clones, but gameplay is even simpler. Your objective is to beat 100s of enemies in enclosed arenas. You 'll be amazed at how you can launch 5 or 10 enemies in the air and keep bashing them together with airborne combos. Boss fights are just about stripping female shinobis of their clothes. You start fights wearing a normal outfit with a limited moveset. Then you can trigger an epic transformation video and have your girl either change into a shinobi outfit to gain new moves, or voluntarily strip your clothes completely (panties are still on :P) to buff your attack at the expense of defense. The combat system consists of simple combos and some special moves which deal more damage. You can unlock more combos as you level up each girl. Every girl has a different fighting style, which is a plus. There are 2 new abilities introduced in this game. First there is the addition of special finishers, a comical take on Mortal Kombat's fatalities. Then there is wall-run, which can be used to either attack enemies or reach higher places.

    Admittedly boobies are the selling point of the series. There is even a dressing room to admire the girls in their underwears and customize their outfits. But all the 25 girls included have their own personalities and interesting back stories which can be explored in side missions. The main story is presented mostly in digital novel style, with a few animated videos every now and then. You will have fun witnessing the interactions of these girls.

    Graphics are great, anime-style, and run at 60 fps on PS4. Minor slowdowns may occur only when 100+ enemies are on screen and special effects happen. The soundtrack is nice. The japanese voice over is present, and the actors are quite expressive.

    My only real criticism of the game is the shameless recycling of stages and arenas from the previous game, Shinovi Versus. Maybe 70% of the game's stages are recycled, with little to no improvement. It's lazy and unacceptable. Furthermore there are invisible walls which prevent you from freely exploring the stages. It's just stupid that there may be an invisible barrier blocking you from going forward, but 99% you can reach that same point by sidetracking and jumping from roof to roof.

    Senran Kagura: Estival Versus is the perfect kind of game to play in between bigger, heavier games like the usual GTAs, Battlefields, Call of Duties, Assassin's Creeds or The Witchers. It's a nice change of pace, and a good game full of content. Just be sure to play the game whenever your sister/girlfriend/wife/parents aren't around, or embarassment may occur.
    Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    Wanna know how a normal girl feels about Senran Kagura? Well...

    When you think about it there isn't really all that much that's dirty about this series. You have oversized boobs, insane jiggle physics, and clothing destruction. When you single those out you could be talking about Dead or Alive 5 for all anyone knows. As a female (who isn't bothered by fanservice) I really like this
    Wanna know how a normal girl feels about Senran Kagura? Well...

    When you think about it there isn't really all that much that's dirty about this series. You have oversized boobs, insane jiggle physics, and clothing destruction. When you single those out you could be talking about Dead or Alive 5 for all anyone knows. As a female (who isn't bothered by fanservice) I really like this series. Not just the gameplay either, which I will say feels good when you get into it and eventually even gets addictive, I love that the vast majority of characters are strong females. They're not all your typical damsel in distress type that you get in a fair share of games. They all have different personalities too. Some are cliched, that's inevitable, but there are some pretty unique ones in the group.

    While the story has it's moments of fanservice and pervyness it's not really anything anyone should be offended by. It's usually so out there that it's more funny then offensive. Then there are those moments where it gets dark or sad and those are why you end up enjoying the story. Like all stories it's not going to mesh with everyone-- some will like it more than others. People like to throw around the "sex sells" argument but there is no sex in this game-- heck, there's not even any nudity. I've lived in America my whole life and I can assure you there are far more offensive and sexual things in USA's TV, movies, music, and literature than anything that's been featured in Senran Kagura.

    The thing is, Senran Kagura is as sexualized as you make it. You can turn off clothing destruction and put them in full clothing or you can have them run around in bikinis, you can even buy less or more revealing outfits if you so choose to.

    People just need to try it out before they disregard it for the initial impression it gives off. It looks like fanservice, and it is most of the time, but there is a soul deep down behind all that. And to anyone wanting to try it for more than it's fanservice I say go for it. I went for it and now I love this series for everything that it is, not just what it tries to sell itself on. It's a game that knows what it is but it goes beyond that to be so much more-- it's a fanservice game that plays like a full and well thought-out game. I'm not putting it on a pedestal and saying it's genre defining but it definitely doesn't deserve all the ignorant hate it gets from people. It's a humble little brawler, nothing more and nothing less.

    People misinterpret it, Senran Kagura isn't being pervy about breasts, it's celebrating breasts.
    Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2016
    7
    Its super Ninja time everybody hope on board for a barrel of hank in slash fun, although this boat has its flaws its still a party boat so lets get into it.

    Story: (NO SPOILERS) The story through and through is very entertaining but its nothing too serious and doesnt have the deepest of plots all the girls get sucked into a hole and now have to fight each other to get out, but its still
    Its super Ninja time everybody hope on board for a barrel of hank in slash fun, although this boat has its flaws its still a party boat so lets get into it.

    Story: (NO SPOILERS) The story through and through is very entertaining but its nothing too serious and doesnt have the deepest of plots all the girls get sucked into a hole and now have to fight each other to get out, but its still has alot of funny moments alot of sad moments and alot of silly moments I didn't expect to like it as much as I did but I sure got alot of laughs out of it.

    Gameplay: The gameplay is one of my favorite parts of the game each character has their own unique move set, fighting style and weapon, each girl has 3 special moves you can do by do damage to mobs or other ninja and then theirs shinobi mode where the girl transforms her clothes and powers up to deal more damage while also having a higher defense. You can run up walls fly through the air all kinds of crazy stuff and I like how if you defeat an enemy near a certain object marked with a ! sign it will trigger a special finisher and i think thats some good detail there and straight up funny.

    Performance/Bugs/Graphics: This is the downside of the whole game, the game has an online component where up to 10 players can fight each other in various modes and as of right now at least for me the servers are horrible its a gamble getting online because I get kicked out so often due to disconnections the only mode I can play is survival mode and only with 1 other player because i might get booted if its 3 players its almost certain that ill get booted , Also the AI can be very stupid sometimes with Ai partners and enemy's running into walls for no reason its not the biggest problem but i thought i would point it out. on technical stuff the game runs at 1080p 60 fps but the framerate can get choppy at times on certain stages and doing super moves with alot of baddies around you, I haven't seen any bugs but the game crashes alot to the point where its just ridiculous. On graphics i think they are very cute and well done they did a wonderful job with the stages and I think the chibi art style for the Ninjas are really cute I wouldn't change anything about them.

    Content: Theres too much of it so ill just try to tell you the basics, theres story mode which is one hell of a long fun road special missions so freaking many then character specific missions and there are about 5 per character and theirs about 32 yea let that sink in, Theres a dressing room where you can customize every Ninja with the various accessories that you have unlocked, With all of this right out of the box its well worth the 60 dollar price tag and gets an A+ from me in the content department.

    Japanese Bias: Now if you are new to the series odds are the first thing you will notice are the boobs big ones tiny ones all that jazz now if your really uncomfortable with the fanservice then this game isn't for you and i respect that but dont go on to bash the game just because it has fanservice the SJW movement has delt alot of damage to the gameing industry so far so that devs from overseas are now refusing to sell their games in the West due to fear of backlash alot of Western devs are having to censor their games for the very same reason freedom of creativity is being hurt badly and it needs to end, So if you really dont like a product simply dont buy it and move own dont scream and yell Patriarchy.

    Personal Thoughts/Verdict: The game Is very fun and enjoyable and if its your first time in series like me you'll be pleasantly surprised But The horrible online play holds it back and the common crashes might give you alot of frustration My verdict is a 7 out of 10 hopefully they patch out all this stuff so i can enjoy the game even more but ill still play it and love every moment see ya in the ninja wars!

    PS: Shout out to the Senran Kagura Community on PS4 I love you guys.
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2016
    10
    Wonderful game. Very fun gameplay. beautiful girls. A lot of sexy scenes. Only dislike this game are the feminists and the Social Justice Warriors (SJW)
  7. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    This is a fantastic game with a lot of contents. The graphics are beauty and colorful, the music is perfect. The character-roster is huge and the story is long and funny. This is an excellent musou-game!
  8. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    Must buy for anyone that likes anime. The special edition comes with many goodies including a great art book. The story is very laid back and fun. Combat is very good although it has much more ending lag on attacks than the previous senran kagura game. Fairly easy platinum trophy.
  9. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    I played the previous game and I intend to buy when I get the cash but I've watched enough gameplay to say it looks even more fun with all the extra charicters a shame some of the DLC couldn't come west tho I hear those were overpowered too
  10. May 26, 2016
    10
    An amazing game that gets a lot of media hate because our mainstream "professional critics" are more worried about promoting their SJW agenda then actually reviewing gameplay.

    If you like the musou genre, this is a game you should not miss - very good combat, all stages are just the right size to make you defeat a huge number of enemies and also ending before it ever gets boring.
    An amazing game that gets a lot of media hate because our mainstream "professional critics" are more worried about promoting their SJW agenda then actually reviewing gameplay.

    If you like the musou genre, this is a game you should not miss - very good combat, all stages are just the right size to make you defeat a huge number of enemies and also ending before it ever gets boring.
    There's a lot of unlockable clothing, finishing scenes (a perv-funny version of Mortal Kombat's fatalities).

    Yes, the game has a lot of big boobs and sexy girls, but do not mistake it for those games that have nothing more. Senran Kagura (all the series) has amazing gameplay, great combat, lots of content, a funny story, fully developed characters.

    The "sexy" parts are meant more as comedic than actually arousing so don't worry, you will not become a pervert looser misogynistic serial rapist by playing this.
    Expand
  11. Mar 23, 2016
    2
    Senran Kagura has always been a bad series, I mean, we all know the reason we got into it firstly, but it just gets boring after so many games that only have this one interesting thing. Poor storyline, poor gameplay, and very repetitive compared to previous SK. Definetely not worth it, the game is very average.
  12. Jun 9, 2016
    8
    Pros:
    Fun beat em up with entertaining game play and mildly amusing humor.
    The game play kept me playing through completion. Fanservice: The Game is not a terrible thing to have exist. Cons: Narration could be a lot better. Gets kind of boring at first and the plot is mostly filler, even if funny at times. Humor gets a bit too childish at times. Transformations get old quick too.
    Pros:
    Fun beat em up with entertaining game play and mildly amusing humor.
    The game play kept me playing through completion.
    Fanservice: The Game is not a terrible thing to have exist.

    Cons:
    Narration could be a lot better. Gets kind of boring at first and the plot is mostly filler, even if funny at times.
    Humor gets a bit too childish at times. Transformations get old quick too.
    Some characters could be much better developed.

    Overall:
    If you like Dynasty Warriors-esque games you should have no trouble with this one, as long as you aren't bothered by gratuitous nudity and have a sense of humor about you. I had to argue with myself whether it deserved a 7 or an 8. Went with 8 because I think the game deserves a positive review, even if it is nothing truly amazing.
    Expand
  13. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    The PS4 edition is definitely the ideal way to play Estival Versus (unless you prefer portability). In my opinion, this is so far the best game in the series, and the PS4 version provides a smooth 60 FPS and cute girls in HD. If you are not familiar with the series, but want to try it out, I suggest you start with Burst and Shinovi Versus (if you have the corresponding consoles), to fillThe PS4 edition is definitely the ideal way to play Estival Versus (unless you prefer portability). In my opinion, this is so far the best game in the series, and the PS4 version provides a smooth 60 FPS and cute girls in HD. If you are not familiar with the series, but want to try it out, I suggest you start with Burst and Shinovi Versus (if you have the corresponding consoles), to fill in plot points... and also because they are fun as well. Estival Versus has the most extensive roster of characters so far in the series, and the battle is more polished and fun than ever before. Expand
  14. Apr 21, 2016
    10
    Great value for the money i've played 45+ hours and am far from done, The fanservice isn't for everyone but it's handled in a more comedic way rather than anything uncomfortable and the humor is among the best i've seen in any game there's some really funny stuff in here (It's not all inuendo don't worry). The gameplay itself is hack and slash with some crazy high combo potential andGreat value for the money i've played 45+ hours and am far from done, The fanservice isn't for everyone but it's handled in a more comedic way rather than anything uncomfortable and the humor is among the best i've seen in any game there's some really funny stuff in here (It's not all inuendo don't worry). The gameplay itself is hack and slash with some crazy high combo potential and special moves that further differentiate the 30+ character roster. Expand
  15. May 13, 2016
    9
    I know certain self loathing elements of the gaming "press" have tried to cast a pallor of shame over these titles, don't buy into their BS, this is an excellent game with stacks of content. Most importantly this is a game first, and a very good one at that, and a tiddy simulator second, and it demonstrates a level of self awareness seldom seen in it's detractors. .

    The combo system may
    I know certain self loathing elements of the gaming "press" have tried to cast a pallor of shame over these titles, don't buy into their BS, this is an excellent game with stacks of content. Most importantly this is a game first, and a very good one at that, and a tiddy simulator second, and it demonstrates a level of self awareness seldom seen in it's detractors. .

    The combo system may be simplistic compared to something like bayonetta or DMC but between the 20+ distinct fighters, and the extreme mobility and ability to lock opponents into punishing nigh-on-endless combos mean there is plenty of depth. The story is as endearing and genuinely tear jerking as it is silly, and touches on some profound moral dilemmas. Additionally all the extra content adds a degree of character development seldom seen in titles with such a broad ensemble cast.

    Also, big anime tiddies and
    Expand
  16. Oct 3, 2018
    8
    Wow. breasts and ass. Lot of it. Ass could be better, and breasts could be more realistic, but those issues are minor compared to the sheer amount of breasts and ass, which is what my rating for this game is based on (no, not on the story this time).

    Out of all of the fanservice-type games out there, this is by far the best I've played. The closest recent match is Onechanbara Z2 Chaos,
    Wow. breasts and ass. Lot of it. Ass could be better, and breasts could be more realistic, but those issues are minor compared to the sheer amount of breasts and ass, which is what my rating for this game is based on (no, not on the story this time).

    Out of all of the fanservice-type games out there, this is by far the best I've played. The closest recent match is Onechanbara Z2 Chaos, and I got much much more enjoyment out of Senran Kagura than Onechanbara.

    Positives:
    - constant breasts and ass
    - generous amounts of costumes and underwear
    - character poser with some highly questionable poses
    - Japanese voice acting
    - various collectables/unlockables
    - silly perverted anime girl story and character interactions, which are done very well (compared to others in this genre)
    - overall quality and polish is excellent when compared to other Japanese games in this genre (though still lower than AAA games).

    Possible negatives:
    - you might not dig the art style. If you don't, you might as well pass on this game.
    - if you expect more than breasts and ass flying about, you might be disappointed. There's no ground-breaking story or combat (which is button-mashing for the most part).
    - It's fairly easy to unlock everything just by completing all of the missions. After you do that, you might not find a reason to keep playing
    - underwear variety and quality could be better. There's really only 6 styles with a large number of color/pattern variations.

    It's a keeper and I'm surprised it was released in the U.S. I normally have to import stuff like this...
    Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    Estival Versus is a great addition to the series and a welcome member to the PS4 library. The PS4 version sports of course better visuals and frame rate so far less choppy frame drops. Overall the game has a solid combat system that is simple enough for most to get into and has enough depth to take a few hours to master. If you like muso games and over the top fan service, this one is forEstival Versus is a great addition to the series and a welcome member to the PS4 library. The PS4 version sports of course better visuals and frame rate so far less choppy frame drops. Overall the game has a solid combat system that is simple enough for most to get into and has enough depth to take a few hours to master. If you like muso games and over the top fan service, this one is for you. It succeeds at what it intends to be in every way I feel. The game isn't without some flaws but they're minor.

    Pros
    -Great combat system
    -Huge character roster, literally... it's huge!
    -Character Stories, these I feel let you get to know all the personalities quite well
    -Humor - The jokes get pretty raunchy but they're not often re-used.
    -Fan service?! T&A galore, you won't go more than a few minutes at most without it.
    -Online play is a blast, far more so than I expected!

    Cons
    -Camera angles, they can be absolutely AWFUL at times.
    -Stunlocking. It gets old, the one 'out' often doesn't work.
    -Too easy Once you've gotten the combat down you can pretty much 2 shot every boss fight.

    Over all, happy with my purchase. Almost 100% on the trophies which means it's a game with lasting appeal for me to spend the time. I'm highly anticipating the PC release of Shinovi Versus, as Estival was my first game in the series.
    Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2016
    6
    Alright, i'm not a picky person. I know most japanese games made for a niche audience are always treated harshly by "professional" critics, but i'll be honest. This sequel is, at best, a trainwreck. The previous installment for the Senran Kagura games on the PS Vita (Shinovi Versus) is a phenomenal game (i'd say it's at least a strong 9.5/10. i don't give "perfect 10s"). i'd even go as farAlright, i'm not a picky person. I know most japanese games made for a niche audience are always treated harshly by "professional" critics, but i'll be honest. This sequel is, at best, a trainwreck. The previous installment for the Senran Kagura games on the PS Vita (Shinovi Versus) is a phenomenal game (i'd say it's at least a strong 9.5/10. i don't give "perfect 10s"). i'd even go as far as saying it's my favorite vita game. But this sequel, which i was very hyped for, was truly....disappointing. I'm not saying it's a BAD game, not at all, but it doesn't live up to its predecessor, not even close. The mechanics were made far too clunky and the controls felt really airy and hollow, especially compared to the previous game. The story is even less interesting this time around (the chief plot altogether really isn't all that great, but each separate character's backstory is what's REALLY interesting) but I just wasn't pulled in this time, and it's almost like they're using fanservice as the plot itself. I'm no SJW. I love fanservice as much as the next guy, but honestly? This series is making me sick of it. I want to savor and appreciate my fanservice, not have it shoved in my face every 5 seconds. But aside from the copiously annoying amounts of fanservice and the clunky downgraded feel of the controls, it's still worth picking up if you're a fan of the series. The dressing room is honestly the best part of the game, in my honest opinion. And i also like the fact that I can use my personal favorite character (Ryouna) from the get-go, and that they didn't bother to dub the voices (let's just be real, weeaboos DON'T like English dubs, so why not just cut the middle man out and just keep it on the original Japanese voices?) And as a bonus, if you're a trophy hunter, well. This game is an easy platinum, much like the previous SK. Also, the graphics are great and colorful, and not just a boring palette of browns and grays (coughcough every western AAA game released past 2006 cough).

    tl;dr
    pros: dressing room only gets better and better, still love the cast, great art direction/graphics/colors.
    cons: gameplay downgraded to a clunky mess, too much fanservice makes me sick of it (this coming from someone who loves fanservice), bad overall plot
    Expand
  19. May 18, 2016
    7
    El juego no pretende en ningún momento ni ser serio ni un juego del año. Va con su grupo de fans en mente (que los tiene) y solo pretende ser un juego divertido y que no hay que tomarse en serio, y en ese aspecto, cumple sobradamente. Idóneo para echarse unas risas y dar mil y un espadazos mientras desnudáis a unas ninjas muy peculiares, y que me han hecho interesarme en esta saga a modoEl juego no pretende en ningún momento ni ser serio ni un juego del año. Va con su grupo de fans en mente (que los tiene) y solo pretende ser un juego divertido y que no hay que tomarse en serio, y en ese aspecto, cumple sobradamente. Idóneo para echarse unas risas y dar mil y un espadazos mientras desnudáis a unas ninjas muy peculiares, y que me han hecho interesarme en esta saga a modo de placer culpable. Expand
  20. May 12, 2016
    6
    This was my first outing into this series, so I can only judge it based on what it is.

    One thing this game does not shy away from the fan service. But it knows that and doesn't try to hide it or find some lame excuse to cover that fact. It is what it is and proud of: Boobs, butts, fighting and enough innuendo to make Freud blush. So credit to it for being open and honest and not bowing
    This was my first outing into this series, so I can only judge it based on what it is.

    One thing this game does not shy away from the fan service. But it knows that and doesn't try to hide it or find some lame excuse to cover that fact. It is what it is and proud of: Boobs, butts, fighting and enough innuendo to make Freud blush. So credit to it for being open and honest and not bowing before the SJW Matriarchy.

    Yet it does make me wonder why they bothered with the censorship. The game is clearly aimed at mature audience. I think anyone playing this knows what nipples look like. Seems almost childish. But this is a minor gripe as the idea behind it is charming.

    One point that is great are the characters, they are all charming and well developed. Even with so many characters, they all feel flushed out and are highly likable. Problem is that any anime fan can see that almost all of them are character types we've seen before, none are truly original. But another minor gripe as the same can be said for most Anime these days.

    Animation is okay, levels are pretty but not really up to PS4 standards. VITA maybe. Really curious as to why they didn't put more effort into the "cut scenes." Really sub par and the visual novel style really doesn't belong on a console. A shame, if they had made all the cut scenes fully animated, I think it would have done better. Voice acting is decent, just a shame there is no English dub.

    Plot, errrrr .... not really, a bare bones story that really serves no purpose. Little to no substance in that regard. There was definitely potential if they had gone more into it. Deeper personal story arcs would have been nice.

    Fighting mechanics are fun and each girl handles differently so there is a good deal of variety and combat rarely feels repetitive. So gameplaywise, the game is allot of fun.

    Overall:
    Senran Kagura: Estival Versus is a fun game that celebrates fan service with great combat an d interesting and diverse characters, yet lacks any real depth and story to make it anything more than a guilty pleasure. Still, it's fun and worth a go.

    Side Note:
    Don't bother with any of the DLC, aside from the new game modes. The DLC characters are fun, but not really relevant to the story.
    Expand
  21. Apr 20, 2018
    6
    Big Boobs and cute anime girls with a quite boring and simple combat and stages...
    Thats all basically.
  22. Dec 3, 2017
    6
    Right off, I've NEVER seen nor heard of the series or the manga until I played this game! With that said, Senran Kagura is a SHAMELESS version of Dynasty Warriors. (Which isn't even challenging!) The first thing comes to mind to every person that plays this; regardless of what gender you are...tig ol' biddies/boobs. By and far, it's the true selling point. Hell, the game take the mangaRight off, I've NEVER seen nor heard of the series or the manga until I played this game! With that said, Senran Kagura is a SHAMELESS version of Dynasty Warriors. (Which isn't even challenging!) The first thing comes to mind to every person that plays this; regardless of what gender you are...tig ol' biddies/boobs. By and far, it's the true selling point. Hell, the game take the manga term Ecchi and expands it to exponential proportions.

    SK:EV isn't even suddle about, in fact it embrasses that by making the characters either obviously perverted, phony or oblivious to the fact that they are being objectified.

    The only things that save the game is the available content and story mode, which isn't Hemingway by a light year.

    If you are looking for a title just to have so you can stare at digital TnA, this is it, but even that will you rolling your eyes and letting this one go. For Americans that don't get access to DOAX3, here is your alternative.
    Expand
  23. Aug 28, 2018
    7
    A short but unbelievably fun summer vacation, If i can word out Senran Kagura Estival Versus in one sentence i will use that.

    Having played Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus prior to this, i was pleasently surprised on how much better the game got. The combat is smooth and fun, good characters development in the story, as well as the striking 3D visuals. Couple that with the big rosters the
    A short but unbelievably fun summer vacation, If i can word out Senran Kagura Estival Versus in one sentence i will use that.

    Having played Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus prior to this, i was pleasently surprised on how much better the game got. The combat is smooth and fun, good characters development in the story, as well as the striking 3D visuals. Couple that with the big rosters the game has, each characters are also so differing and unique to each other, from a gameplay perspective and character themselves.

    With that being said, i would like to voice out the things that i find quite dissapointing in the game. First of all, There is no free battle mode where you can freely choose a character in a terrain you want to test them out. Whilst there is a dojo mode, in which you have to have a ps+ subscription to access, it will potentially cause a problem to some consumers. Secondly, Online mode requires more balance for it to be fun, because in my experiences of trying the mode out, it feels like some character are just better suited than others in an online experience. And lastly, i feel like the linear sandbox type of a gameplay it has leave more to be desired, because it is getting old school.

    I don't want to end this review in a bad note, because i really do enjoy the game. It was a pleasent experience for me, so let's get back to the things i'm quite fond of in the game. Firstly, i wanna talk about the OST, honest to god the OST in this game is some of the best in game soundtrack i've ever heard. The OST matches the individual characters and terrain it is positioned into, as well as giving the vivid and hype note that keeps the game super fast paced. Dressing mode is also a very nice addition to the game, it super fun to take photos and show them up to your friends. The mission themselves are timed perfectly, so you won't be bored by the VN like story telling.

    Overlooking the Boobies, Thighs, or them so called "plot", Senran kagura is actually a really good hack and slash sandbox game. And i do recommend it to anyone who's looking for a good brawler.
    Expand
  24. Nov 28, 2018
    8
    Really enjoying this game. I was late to grab this game after I lost it on my Vita, but it has been fun. Playing around with the combat is fun, and seeing how character personalities mix with their fighting style had good fun. The game wears its fan service openly, despite criticisms from pearl clutchers, and has stood with its actual customers. As much as I love the gameplay, it can beReally enjoying this game. I was late to grab this game after I lost it on my Vita, but it has been fun. Playing around with the combat is fun, and seeing how character personalities mix with their fighting style had good fun. The game wears its fan service openly, despite criticisms from pearl clutchers, and has stood with its actual customers. As much as I love the gameplay, it can be improved to offer some more complexity, but it's still good where it is. Expand
  25. Aug 11, 2019
    10
    This game is a lot of fun! The game has a great arcade style hack-n-slash feel to it, there are many characters to play as, and a story that is downright hilarious at some parts, and heartfelt in others. The game has a fair bit of things you can use in combat the game does not teach you, such as canceling certain moves in a combo with a block (this can lead to potentially limitless loopedThis game is a lot of fun! The game has a great arcade style hack-n-slash feel to it, there are many characters to play as, and a story that is downright hilarious at some parts, and heartfelt in others. The game has a fair bit of things you can use in combat the game does not teach you, such as canceling certain moves in a combo with a block (this can lead to potentially limitless looped combos as long as there is someone to hit). The art is excellent and the overall feel of the game is marvelous. There are many different modes, both online and single player, and you have a fairly large character customization system that really lets you make the characters your own. The special edition also comes with an art book, some collectible cards and a soundtrack. A must have for those who love arcade-y beat-em-ups or hack-n-slash style games. Expand
  26. Apr 29, 2020
    8
    The gameplay is pretty fun and this game is full of fanservice. Do you want a lot of fanservice? This game is for you
  27. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    When I first played this game I never thought I am going to like it as much as I do now.

    There are a lot of things that has been made flawlessly despite the game never aiming for a very broad audience. Every single character has a different entrance, running, victory and even idle animations, on top of that every character uses a different fighting style with unique skills. Whoever was
    When I first played this game I never thought I am going to like it as much as I do now.

    There are a lot of things that has been made flawlessly despite the game never aiming for a very broad audience. Every single character has a different entrance, running, victory and even idle animations, on top of that every character uses a different fighting style with unique skills. Whoever was working on the camera movement should get a raise because some tripple A games could learn a trick or two from this guy. The combat in this game is simple and very pleasant.

    The story in this game is divided into a few arcs which gather a week of the millennium festival adventures, and all characters have their own 5 episode stories as well, plus the “dual hearts” episodes and a few episodes for each of the ninja schools where you play every character of that particular group. The story is ridiculous and funny, however it is clearly what the creators meant for it to be.

    The art style in Senran Kagura is typical for the japanese manga like games which combines a slightly more simplistic design with good quality textures, and even when I play it now it still looks good for a game that came out a few years ago.

    In conclusion, Senran Kagura is an amazing game to come back to, especially after a long day at work when you’re in a mood for a simple game to relax and have fun.
    Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. May 4, 2016
    80
    Senran Kagura: Estival Versus is both extremely cheesy and loads of fun.
  2. Apr 6, 2016
    30
    A portable version of this game seems unnecessary, and overall the game is not worth even a moment’s time even from the most dedicated a hack-and-slash player.
  3. Apr 3, 2016
    50
    If it’s boobs you’re after, Senran Kagura: Estival Versus will provide more than your fair share, but if you’re wanting actual gameplay, it doesn’t deliver anything you won’t find better done elsewhere.