User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 50
  2. Negative: 8 out of 50
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2022
    10
    Phenomenal Game, I enjoyed every part of it, From the story telling to the artwork. Signalis is a very touching game with its story of Promise and Love with the touch of vague and non linear story telling makes for one of the best solo game experiences I’ve ever had. Props to both developers for delivering one of the best games in the Survival Horror genre.
  2. Nov 4, 2022
    1
    a port so bad it bricked my console
    a port so bad it bricked my console
    a port so bad it bricked my console
  3. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    Jogo excelente, um dos melhores Survivor horror que joguei. O único problema é que não tem legenda para português do Brazil.
  4. Dec 15, 2022
    6
    I love the look of this game, the sound, and the narrative; and was really looking forward to its release. Managing an inventory by traipsing back across the map to a storage box (because of how little you can carry) just isn't much fun, though. I thought the combat was very basic and I found it really easy to get lost too! Obviously they were trying to replicate Resident Evil, butI love the look of this game, the sound, and the narrative; and was really looking forward to its release. Managing an inventory by traipsing back across the map to a storage box (because of how little you can carry) just isn't much fun, though. I thought the combat was very basic and I found it really easy to get lost too! Obviously they were trying to replicate Resident Evil, but gameplay has moved on a bit since then. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2022
    10
    This game is an unique piece of art. The story is amazing and I can’t remember the last time I’ve been enjoying something so much. It made think, it made me cry, and feel a lot. Goty for me.
  6. Dec 19, 2022
    9
    Wow idk what to even say. I'm so impressed this was made by pretty much 2 people. Stylish visuals, amazing worldbuilding, clever puzzles, ominous music and anxiety inducing atmosphere. And absolutely beautiful ending (got "memory" on first playthrough).
  7. Nov 28, 2022
    10
    Phenomenal game! Made by only 2 people! This is absolutely amazing and a must play for any classic survival horror fan. Like Tormented Souls and Alisa, this indie title is a lot better than for example Resident Evil Village. Can't wait to play more games from you guys, hope you keep developing this style. Much love from Portugal
  8. Dec 25, 2022
    8
    Recommend for any 90s survival horror fan.

    Definitely hits the nail on the head replicating a PSX era Silent Hill/RE video game. Also some similarities with Metal Gear Solid. The puzzles created are intuitive and fresh, although at the same time very typical. Combat is a little janky, but is to be expected with the genre. I really enjoy when a game doesn’t hold you hand, tell you
    Recommend for any 90s survival horror fan.

    Definitely hits the nail on the head replicating a PSX era Silent Hill/RE video game. Also some similarities with Metal Gear Solid.

    The puzzles created are intuitive and fresh, although at the same time very typical. Combat is a little janky, but is to be expected with the genre.

    I really enjoy when a game doesn’t hold you hand, tell you what to do, where to go and make courtesy auto saves every minute so this goes down well in my book. There is a sense of pressure knowing that if you make a mistake it will bear a cost.

    Price point is fair at £15 for the game complexity and length.

    My only gripe is trying to enter rooms seems to be troublesome when being chased. Almost as if when in danger, the action button to open a door doesn’t register several times causing the player to take damage! I am not sure if this is ‘coded’ this way to create suspense, sheer coincidence, or due to frantic panic, but it is deeply annoying!

    I would love to see what the team could do with a bigger budget and larger scale game.
    Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2022
    10
    Truly, I am so happy to feel the same feeling back in the day playing silent hill or resident evil. Old school with a great proposition. Must play
  10. Dec 11, 2022
    10
    The best survival horror game of the generation. Beautiful classic presentation with amazing cutscene and story direction throughout. Any fan of classic Resident Evil (Remake in particular) or Silent Hill will undoubtedly enjoy their time with Signalis.
  11. Dec 5, 2022
    9
    Inspired by classic Survival Horror titles, Signalis is an engaging and unnerving adventure from start to finish. All of the hallmarks of Survival Horror are here; limited inventory, puzzles, backtracking, and strategic combat. The gameplay is solid, with puzzles that are just the right level of difficulty (your mileage may vary), and engaging combat. I do find some later game areas to beInspired by classic Survival Horror titles, Signalis is an engaging and unnerving adventure from start to finish. All of the hallmarks of Survival Horror are here; limited inventory, puzzles, backtracking, and strategic combat. The gameplay is solid, with puzzles that are just the right level of difficulty (your mileage may vary), and engaging combat. I do find some later game areas to be annoying to navigate without a map, and the aiming mechanic can be finicky at times, but overall it's enjoyable throughout my 11 hour playthrough. Sound design is well done, with a great soundtrack and an unnerving ambient soundscape. There is no voice acting in this game, so be prepared to read. I found the story enjoyable, although it is vague and filled with mystery. There are tons of notes left behind to fill in the world and I found the lore to be very interesting and I would love to learn even more about the world you inhabit. The game is absolutely worth every cent; if you're a fan of classics like REmake, Silent Hill, etc. go get this game. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 1, 2022
    90
    For several years rose-engine channeled their creative prowess to create it's own take on Resident Evil and Silent Hill. The results are weird, purposely uneven, while at the same time beautiful and ambiguous. Basically it's everything and more you could have hoped for by listening to this radio frequency.
  2. PLAY
    Nov 30, 2022
    70
    A homage to 1990s survival horror that recognises where improvement is needed, Signalis has its own issues, but it emerges as a mostly gripping adventure. [Issue#21, p.92]
  3. Nov 23, 2022
    90
    Signalis is a pleasant surprise explicitly inspired by the best-known survivor horrors of the 1990s. The title adopts typical 32-bit mechanics and aesthetics to build a sci-fi horror that manages to establish an immersive and thought-provoking identity.