Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    100
    Even with high expectations going in The Talos Principle still blew me away. Through excellent puzzle design and a thought provoking narrative this easily stands among some of my favorites games this year.
  2. 100
    The Talos Principle: Deluxe Edition is unlike anything else out there. The expertly crafted puzzles will give any gamer a mental workout, while the humanity-questioning storyline is the type of philosophical tale that has been sorely lacking in the current gaming landscape.
  3. Oct 9, 2015
    96
    The plot elevates the already terrific puzzle elements to even greater heights and, overall, it serves as an exemplar of the ever blurring line between digital entertainment and true art.
  4. Oct 22, 2015
    95
    The Talos Principle is an essential game that every video game lover needs to add to their collection. Intrusive puzzles, a mysterious story and some philosophical questions about consciousness and being a human.
  5. Oct 8, 2015
    95
    While some graphical issues keep the PS4 version from matching its PC counterpart, The Talos Principle remains one of the most interesting, intelligent, and inspiring video games ever made. Absolutely essential gaming.
  6. Oct 6, 2015
    95
    The Talos Principle on PS4 lives up to the hype of its PC cousin. It's a genre masterpiece that anyone with the slightest interest in puzzles or philosophy should pick up as a matter of priority.
  7. Nov 11, 2015
    90
    If you're in the market for a fulfilling, well-paced puzzler on the PS4, look no further than this one.
  8. Oct 22, 2015
    90
    This game offers a huge and memorable experience including one hundred challenging puzzles and discussions with computer terminals that have a taste for philosophy. This game will make you think about your own free will, which makes it a bit pitiful that the duration of The Talos Principle is so short.
  9. Oct 19, 2015
    90
    It adds some new interesting details, but maybe not enough if you have already played the game. Still, it's a great puzzle game fans of the genre shouldn't miss.
  10. Oct 12, 2015
    90
    The Talos Principle is a beautiful puzzle game that requires the player to ask himself some questions about life, while solving hard and structured puzzles.
  11. Oct 9, 2015
    90
    The Talos Principle: Deluxe Edition doesn't offer any new content to entice people who played the PC version, but I highly recommend it to everyone who hasn't.
  12. Oct 9, 2015
    90
    Action junkies will probably come away underwhelmed but if you are looking for a change of pace in your game playing regime this thoughtful, Carl Sagan Cosmos-like experience is a wonderful candidate to consider.
  13. Oct 9, 2015
    90
    While the sweetest fruits will be saved for those with an appreciation of philosophy and history, the elation of solving a puzzle that you spent an evening trying to crack is a reward that anyone can enjoy.
  14. Oct 7, 2015
    90
    If you love and miss the Portal series, it's time to celebrate: The Talos Principle has all the first-person puzzles you've been craving, wrapped in an extremely thoughtful package. Don't be surprised if you feel legitimately smarter after reaching the end of its 100-plus puzzles.
  15. Oct 7, 2015
    90
    A unique puzzle game with great visuals, ditto with sound design and brilliantly thought-out levels. The frame drops get annoying at times, but fortunately this never breaks the experience.
  16. Oct 7, 2015
    90
    There are a few performance issues here on console but that aside Talos Principal is an excellent puzzle based game that keeps players engaged and perplexed, a winning combination all around in my book.
  17. Oct 7, 2015
    90
    The Talos Principle is a meaningful exercise. Sure, I worked out my brain with some good old fashioned puzzle solving. But the real workout began when I started sweating questions of why-am-I-here existence, of what constitutes consciousness—and whether the end is really the end, or if it's really the beginning, or if it's somewhere along the way.
  18. 90
    One of the most intellectually stimulating experiences on PS4, with imaginative puzzles, fantastic atmosphere and a brilliant expansion that builds tremendously on the core game.
  19. Oct 6, 2015
    90
    The Talos Principle: Deluxe Edition is a fantastic package of two great first-person puzzlers.
  20. CD-Action
    Oct 17, 2015
    85
    Road to Gehenna is extremely hard from the very beginning and therefore was meant for those who already have The Talos Principle down to a science. [10/2015, p.56]
  21. Oct 6, 2015
    85
    The Talos Principle surprised me in almost every way, and it's one of the best puzzle games in recent years.
  22. Oct 19, 2015
    84
    Few philosophers have told their theories as well as this game. The Talos Principle is a challenge to your mind but also it’s a challenge to your thinking. In PS4 it has some framerate issues or popping, but it gets to be as magical as the original title a year ago.
  23. Nov 2, 2015
    83
    The Talos Principle has made an effective jump from PC to PlayStation 4, thanks to the addition of expansion levels and a presentation that really makes use of the hardware at hand. While it's not quite a perfect transition, it remains a very applicable one, as the level design and snowballing level design continue to keep their momentum. Even if you're not entirely a fan of first-person games, Talos is worth a look, if only for the story alone.
  24. Dec 11, 2015
    80
    The Talos Principle is one of those rare masterpieces of indie writing that play with your mind and your beliefs to such extent that you are no longer the same after you finish it.
  25. Oct 30, 2015
    80
    While the story may definitely not be for everyone, the gameplay alone makes this worth a look.
  26. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 16, 2015
    80
    The trail is quite compelling; well-written enough to hook-drag most gamers to the end. The pay off? It’s definitely worth all the brain abuse. [December 2015, p79]
  27. Oct 16, 2015
    80
    The Talos Principle is an awesome surprise, and not just for puzzle games fans.
  28. With its relaxing atmosphere, pretty environments and interesting theological dilemma, The Talos Principle is PS4's best puzzler to date.
  29. Oct 13, 2015
    80
    It’s one of the more surprising, thoughtful games to come out this year, and while there are several half-baked puzzles, it’s still a clever and memorable experience.
  30. 80
    The Talos Principle may be one of the best puzzle games of the year. Sure, it starts out pretty slowly, the first dozen or so of the game’s 120+ puzzles are laughably easy, and the controls may be a little awkward, but these are minor flaws in the bigger scheme of things. There’s an entertaining and thoughtful story about not just humanity, but what it means to be alive.
  31. Oct 7, 2015
    80
    The Talos Principle is a fun puzzle game that also makes some strong philosophical points. The puzzles can sometimes be frustrating and the heavy amount of text to read in the files can bog down the pace, but it’s still a memorable adventure that players will undoubtedly want to discuss and dissect with their friends.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 216
  1. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Unfortunately, everything is a spoiler, so I'm going to skip the awesome story, music and atmosphereOne of the best games I've ever played. Unfortunately, everything is a spoiler, so I'm going to skip the awesome story, music and atmosphere and will concentrate on the technical state of the game on the PS4. I've played both PC and PS4 version of the game for more than 100 hours. The good news is - the PS4 version is on par with details and resolution with the PC version, it also has a decent amount of AA and not the most terrible FOV as well. The bad news - the PS4's framerate needs improvement badly.
    I hope this get addressed. Other than that - I have no issues whatsoever.
    In summary, I'd like to say something which is more likely directed towards the developers instead of the game, but since I consider it very important in this day and age, I'd like to point it out. The game and the expansion are now sold for less than $50. Very good price for the content IMO. And lastly, the game was NOT available for preorder which is a huge point earned in my eyes by Croteam. It revived that long forgotten sense than not everything is about the money.
    Keep up the great work!
    Strongly recommended!
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2015
    10
    This is a game of the Mind and the Spirit.
    Even though I'm indisposed by its strongly transhuman agenda of reducing consciousness to a
    This is a game of the Mind and the Spirit.
    Even though I'm indisposed by its strongly transhuman agenda of reducing consciousness to a machine, it is the richest game I have ever played in terms of philosophical and mind-expanding insights. If you've graduated in the social sciences or any branch of philosophy, you will LOVE this game.

    The sense of Mystery and Discovery is there. It's been a while since a game really registered on an emotional level ; this one will keep you thinking on it far after you've shut the console. A reflexion on humanity, consciousness, meaning, existence - with FANTASTIC graphics set in old civilizations.

    BUY IT!
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a long while.

    It is difficult to comment on this game without spoiling some parts of it, but rest
    One of the best games I have played in a long while.

    It is difficult to comment on this game without spoiling some parts of it, but rest assured, your money would be well spent on this first person puzzle.

    The story is great. Puzzles are great and progressively more difficult. Controls work like a charm.

    Just play it...
    Full Review »