Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Oct 28, 2020
    100
    Ubisoft Toronto's 'Play as Anyone' system results in the publisher's most unique open-world game in years. Just don't take it too seriously.
  2. Oct 28, 2020
    87
    Watch Dogs: Legion is the best chapter in the saga and the first that feels really faithful to the series’ original concept. The revolutionary spirit behind the original idea wasn’t completely fulfilled in previous games, but this time we can really play as anyone as the city is actually an urban open world, an actual theme park that respects players’ freedom. That sums up in 30 hours of fun and represents the pinnacle of Ubisoft’s world building efforts.
  3. Oct 28, 2020
    85
    Watch Dogs: Legion is the most ambitious and innovative installment in the franchise. You can play as anyone and finish your job in any way. The open-world of future London is so beautiful and so well-crafted that I always can find something interesting to do.
  4. Oct 28, 2020
    85
    We get more game variety and freedom than ever in this franchise, London looks insanely good and the themes of the game are more relevant in 2020 than ever.
  5. Oct 28, 2020
    85
    Watch Dogs Legion is a very good game with which you don’t get bored! The ability to recruit an infinite number of characters with different abilities is enjoyable and the universe and neat, whether it is the story or the characters. This episode, without being a revolution, separates itself from the two previous ones and offers a fun experience that we do not want to let go. A single desire: to play to recruit activists, to hack a thousand systems and to liberate London.
  6. Oct 28, 2020
    83
    Watch Dogs: Legion is the proof that a franchise can be redirected in a better direction if its studio makes the right decisions. This third installment of the Ubisoft hacker saga has managed to further highlight the virtues of its predecessors and get rid of those elements that negatively interfere with its design. Watch Dogs: Legion gives rise to an open world whose representation of London will get you captivated by its setting and by a gameplay tighter than ever in the franchise.
  7. Nov 12, 2020
    80
    Watch Dogs: Legion is undoubtedly the best of the series, the one that is closest to bringing the experience promised by that trailer of the first game. Hacks are useful and the lack of a fixed character ends up making DedSec the true protagonist and, since we recruit, control and manage the operators, in the end we end up feeling part of the resistance.
  8. Oct 28, 2020
    80
    With Watch Dogs: Legion, the series finally found it's niche: The gameplay clicks, the "Legion" concept works brilliantly with the main theme of Watch Dogs, and while it has it's issues (mainly in some repetitive missions and a slow start to the story), this is the best Watch Dogs game to date.
  9. Oct 28, 2020
    80
    Watch Dogs: Legion elevates the formula allowing to control every character in the game, a unique and complex game mechanic with many possibilities... That doesn't go well with the narrative. But still, it's a fantastic action, stealth and hacking open world game.
  10. Oct 28, 2020
    80
    Overall, we have a fantastic new open world title to enjoy here. One that is very English, packed full of wild and interesting characters, each with their own story to tell. It’s a huge step forward in that regard and one that should be celebrated as it shows a way forward for video game development. And while many elements in gameplay and story may feel familiar, they work really well and the amount of things to do, see and experience are truly amazing.
  11. Oct 28, 2020
    80
    Some scars from the previous opus - physics engine and dated collisions, AI enemies still very strange - come here to temper our enthusiasm somewhat and show all the imperfections of Legion, but it has enough qualities to convince fans of the license to dive back into it again.
  12. Oct 28, 2020
    80
    The best Watch Dogs game yet. While it’s dragged down by long load times and some repetition, Legion is a hugely enjoyable game that offers players a level of freedom that is rarely seen in this genre.
  13. Oct 28, 2020
    79
    As far as gameplay is concerned, Watch Dogs: Legion is not reinventing hacking, but as usual offers a lot of solutions for all sorts of problems. But as soon as I leave the role of the secret hacker and conjure up the action of Watch Dogs: Legion, a little too little happens to me for such play styles to be really entertaining. So the fun of Watch Dogs: Legion depends entirely on how you play Watch Dogs: Legion.
  14. Oct 28, 2020
    76
    Watch Dogs Legion fails to fully express the potential of its concept of base, yielding to the lure of an open world model that, at the end of the generation, loudly requires more incisive modernization interventions.
  15. Jan 4, 2021
    75
    Watch Dogs: Legion is far from perfect. It tries to tell a story about resisting oppression via the power of the people, but the concept of making any character in the world a viable choice means that the experience ends up being too broad and vague. I was able to spice things up by bringing my own roleplay to characters and used items that weren’t necessary, but this was my way of compensating for the ways in which Watch Dogs: Legion falls short of what I want from a triple-A adventure.
  16. Oct 29, 2020
    75
    I had really low expectations and Watch Dogs: Legion turned out to be a pleasant surprise. It's a decent action game with some cool ideas and mechanics that yield several dozens of hours of fun, provided you like wandering around virtual cities doing the same thing over and over again.
  17. Oct 28, 2020
    75
    Watch Dogs: Legion a true Ubisoft experience, with all its good and bad sides. The open world has a good feel to it, but the fact that you can play any random character has definitely taken a toll on the game's soul which feels a bit shallow now.
  18. Nov 5, 2020
    70
    The latest Watch Dogs does seem ripe for criticism, but at its core is a solid, fun title that is yet to leave the disk tray. Cruising through the London suburbs is a thoroughly enjoyable experience with a lot of replay-ability, if only to use the games camera mode to snap a selfie with a landmark. Some of the missions are also creatively designed and structured in a way that will live long in the memory and be the talking points with any friends on the fence about purchasing. The biggest downfall of Watch Dogs: Legion is the promise of something more. With no real incentive for recruitment outside characters given in missions, it remains very much a title for the generation. With a little more thought put into the mechanics and gameplay, focusing on how they could really have been revolutionised, this could have been an experience as future-proof as the world portrayed within it.
  19. 70
    Despite a few issues throughout and bland playable characters, the recruitment system and campaign manage to offer just enough for Watch Dogs: Legion to be worth hacking into.
  20. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    On the one hand Watch Dogs: Legion is a revolutionary game with ambitious open world and thousands upon thousands of characters, probably created by some kind of neural network. The gameplay is fine, and if you love original Watch Dogs, you will feel right at home with this new title. But on the other hand Legion clearly lacks a strong narrative lead.
  21. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Watch Dogs Legion is a pleasant game with some interesting ideas. The fact you can play so many characters feels great and offers a lot of opportunities. Too bad it is not very solid technically and that some mechanics are too similar to those of previous episodes.
  22. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Watch Dogs Legion promises a futuristic London, where you can play as everybody. Unfortunately, it has a lot of flaws that should be perfected in an already delayed game.
  23. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Legion royally shakes up Watch Dogs' open-world template with a Play as Anyone mechanic that just about outweighs any headaches left by its rough edges.
  24. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    The game introduces the recruitment system, which is an interesting addition as it brings more diversity to the gameplay. At the same time, the missions involved are repetitive and Ubisoft uses a bit of the same blueprint in terms of gameplay structure. So, apart from new hack features and the recruitment system, do not expect any particular innovations. A solid game, but it is not the ultimate autumn title either.
  25. Nov 2, 2020
    65
    Watch Dogs Legion has a great starting point with a legion of randomly generated characters, but the monotonous mission structure makes switching between characters rarely feel crucial. As a result, the other shortcomings - such as the very dead London - stand out more. That's painful, because somewhere in Legion hides a daring open-world game that now mainly sticks to well-known clichés.
  26. Nov 11, 2020
    60
    Watch Dogs: Legion is more of the same, albeit with more technical problems. Even the most diehard of Watch Dogs fans should wait for a patch or two before jumping in.
  27. Nov 8, 2020
    60
    For all its themes of rule-breaking anarchy, Watch Dogs: Legion toes the line as a formulaic, though ambitious, open-world adventure. While it boasts one of the most visually exciting and stunningly authentic locales in the genre's history, Watch Dogs: Legion's gameplay is mechanical, over-familiar, and repetitive, struggling to capture the exciting promise of a fist-pumping, system-smashing revolution.
  28. Oct 29, 2020
    60
    Watch Dogs: Legion offers light-hearted and not-too-challenging entertainment, all portrayed in a surprisingly compelling replica of London. But after a few hours of repetitive missions that lead us through the game without any major sense of development, we can not help but get a little bored quite early in the campaign.
  29. Oct 28, 2020
    60
    A disappointingly tame vision of a near future dystopia, that represents a perfectly competent use of the Ubisoft formula but falters in its attempts to add anything new to it.
  30. 60
    While Watch Dogs: Legion does the basics well and has a refreshing change of scenery, it moves backwards from Watch Dogs 2 in terms of characters and storytelling. It’s still quite enjoyable to get up to tech-based naughtiness in London despite that, but the underlying open-world template Ubisoft keeps using ends up feeling overexposed here.
  31. Nov 6, 2020
    57
    Despite showing off all the ingredients of a good Cyberpunk thriller in terms of content, storytelling and mechanics it is as satisfying as a blue screen.
  32. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    50
    What you’re left with is a game that delivers a greatlooking futuristic London, and not much of anything else. It suffered a hefty delay, and the series transitioned from Ubisoft Montreal to Ubisoft Toronto. Something has been lost here, and we can’t help but feel that the commitment to making any character playable is the core issue. That’s been made possible, but just because Ubisoft could, that didn’t mean the developer should have. [Issue#182, p.147]
  33. Oct 30, 2020
    50
    Considering the potential Watch Dogs Legion was packing prior to launch, the final release can only be chalked up as an anticlimax. Its "play as anyone" concept doesn't lend itself well to the sort of experience Ubisoft has crafted with seriously lacklustre character options and a narrative that went down the drain as a result. While longtime fans may find its recycled gameplay loop just enough of a reason to keep playing, those enamoured with the possibility of playing as anyone and everyone will wish they never bothered. Watch Dogs Legion is the dullest of the lot.
  34. Oct 28, 2020
    50
    Where the action comes alive is in the leaving behind of bodies altogether. Most missions involve breaking and entering, and the thrill lies in the absence of any breaking.
  35. Oct 28, 2020
    50
    Watch Dogs Legion is unfortunately a boring, middling game without much creativity to speak of.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 1, 2020
    I hope we see a sequel. A bolder direction like this deserves recognition versus the many carbon copies of other games, even in Ubisoft's own roster of franchises. With a bit more bite, a follow-up could be – as we say in London – the dog’s bollocks.
  2. Oct 29, 2020
    A saving grace for Watch Dogs' London is that you can walk up to and talk to anyone you see, recruit them, and play as them. It's a concept that breaths life into the game, and makes you connect deeper with the story, knowing that peoples' actions can directly affect someone who you could play as and embody. The "legion" part of Watch Dogs: Legion works.
  3. Oct 28, 2020
    Legion was built according to the ever-ballooning scale of AAA games, and it suffers for it. The people who made it could never get the resources they needed to be pursue this ambitious experiment without also making it a blockbuster, 30+ hour long game. It could never wear its politics on its very fashionable sleeves, without also being tailored for style over substance. The frustrating truth is that given the context of its development and the case of its goals, Watch Dogs: Legion might be the very best it could be. But as even DedSec would tell us, revolutions don’t happen from the inside out.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 733 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 4, 2020
    10
    First off all its low key John wicked moves all swift, Sad that stormzy is not virtually inside.Recruiting is really good where you have toFirst off all its low key John wicked moves all swift, Sad that stormzy is not virtually inside.Recruiting is really good where you have to decide what's best for missions/side and they start to feel personal.mask hunting is pretty fun.The annoying thing is that damaged spider bot part Damn I swear it was over hundred tries, mix and match of clothing is creative But honestly I had a blast! Can't wait for future dlc add ons. Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2020
    10
    So glad to see Ubisoft finally back on track. This game feels like actual game unlike ghost recon breakpoint. Assassin's Creed Valhalla seemsSo glad to see Ubisoft finally back on track. This game feels like actual game unlike ghost recon breakpoint. Assassin's Creed Valhalla seems already amazing. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2020
    10
    Well, I don't know why there are so many negative comments for this game, but this will be my review for this game on PS4, the 3rd part ofWell, I don't know why there are so many negative comments for this game, but this will be my review for this game on PS4, the 3rd part of this series.

    Watch Dogs (1) was really painful, but only in the way that almost any activity was completely the same.
    My rating for this game is about 7/10 because I played it on PC, but didn't complete it.

    Watch Dogs 2 is an incredible game I played twice completely. The first walkthrough was on "Easy" and I played it normally without completing all activities, but had many problems with unlocking the abilities because I made the wrong choices. The second walkthrough was different; I played on "Realistic" and completed every quest and thought very carefully about the order I want to unlock all the abilities. I even played all activities on all difficulties and the online PvP activities; I reached Platinum (maximum rank) in every single category except the one where I have to be in a team, 2P vs 2P, within two weeks easily because I already had the experience of the whole game twice. I bought everything I could from all clothing and car dealership stores.
    This is a game which has only one main protagonist with all hacking and other abilities united in that one character. In the beginning you had almost nothing, in the end you were very powerful.
    My rating for this game is 10/10 because I completed it twice with a break of one year.

    Watch Dogs Legion (WDL) is like Ubisoft already told months ago a game which has several main protagonists. Each character you're playing is a main one.
    In Watch Dogs 2 (WD2) you had nothing in the beginning, so you had to get all hacking abilities. In WDL you already have some hacking abilities in the beginning, the car hacks for example, as I can see at the moment; I don't know if you are that powerful at the end of this game again like you were in WD2, but the atmosphere is much more cloudier, the situation describes what can happen in Europe in the future with our current technology, so this game is much more realistic than WD2 ever was. The current world situation shows many guidelines and problems which are identical to some in the game, so the release at this time is perfect!
    Such games are not only for entertainment, but also in some way what can happen or what is already possible with our current technology. Games are sometimes reflecting our current situation in life, so it's no wonder that current political situations are described in this game.

    The handling of driving is the same as in WD2, I think, so nothing complicated. In my opinion the game has already suceeded WD2, for example in comparison to the skills you can have. So the rating for this game is at least the same, I think better, 12/10.
    The walking area of London is about 3-4 times. You don't have any room for activities like sailing, drone racing or others, but why has it to be there? This is ctOS 3.0 and it's London, not San Francisco, so it's the future of WD2 in another city, so it's the evolution. Otherwise Ubisoft could call the game "Watch Dogs 2.1".
    But I found out something really incredible which doesn't exist in WD2:
    You can hack and fly a transportation drone while sitting on it!

    All bugs I found until now are minor ones and can be solved. The only thing which annoys me is that you can buy items with real money. In WD2 you have to get everything by yourself in the game.
    I'm still at the very beginning of the game, I played the prologue, did the very first mission, unlocked almost all abilities and recruited many agents. I also discovered about 60% of the whole city.

    I'm playing on difficulty Hard with "Dying without Revive". This game is much more difficult because you have to plan your activities even more carefully than in WD2 if you don't want your character dying. WD2 was way too easy in this case even on "Realistic", but I never did on that difficulty level.

    There are many repetitive dialogues or doings, but I can't blame Ubisoft for this because I never played a game without any repetitive game parts. There are always such parts in a game, best examples are the Far Cry or Borderlands series; get an order, do something, get back, and then the next.

    The graphics and sound are better compared to WD2, but it seems that the details of clothing for example are worse than in WD2. Since the atmosphere is oppressive and shadowy, the soundtrack has to be the same.
    Full Review »