Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Aug 26, 2019
    100
    All in all, Wreckfest is absolutely worth checking out on consoles. Having not played it on PC I can’t 100% say how it compares to that version of the game, but as far as console racing games go, Wreckfest certainly feels like one of the best this gen. The various modes, the unique demolition derby events, and awesome destruction modeling on display really make for an entertaining, no-nonsense type of racing game. I’d highly suggest checking it out, you won’t be disappointed.
  2. Dec 5, 2019
    90
    A perfect continuation of what Bugbear has done previously with the Flatout series. They may no longer hold the license to that IP, but they definitely still have the spirit of it. This is a perfect blend of customisation and carnage, with something for everyone. I can’t recommend it enough, and it deserves to be just as popular as the games that came before it.
  3. Aug 29, 2019
    90
    Wreckfest is a surprising triumph in blending the best that sim and arcade racers have to offer in an explosive and visually gratifying package. A few visual issues and overly aggressive AI do little to spoil one of the best driving games of 2019.
  4. Aug 28, 2019
    90
    Wreckfest combines the exact right elements to create something amazing. It's big, ridiculous, loud, and chaotic. It's full of features to dig into, too, like a photo mode, a garage, a market of cars, and the ability to paint vehicles. Most importantly, you can drive a sofa, complete with coffee table, into the side of a school bus. Wreckfest is an absolute blast.
  5. 90
    Turn off your mind, relax and ram someone off the road. A definitive festival of wrecking which nails the damage modelling and weighty feel of the cars perfectly, Wreckfest is a must for anyone with even the smallest fondest for racing and wrecking.
  6. Aug 23, 2019
    90
    Wreckfest is the long-overdue return of serious, high-quality destruction racing and, in that admittedly slim niche, it’s the king of the crop. It lacks a little spark off the track but out in the thick of it it’s some of the most frantic fun you can have on four wheels. I play plenty of serious racers, but sometimes it’s nice to toss the rulebook into the back seat and get out in the mud and trade some paint.
  7. Sep 2, 2019
    87
    Wreckfest has some raw edges and is not top graphically, but the fun that can be experienced there is unprecedented.
  8. Sep 17, 2019
    86
    It's a fun derby racer game that lives up to its FlatOut roots and more. It has a somewhat bare-bones presentation that is rife with bugs and long loading screens, but when it works, it's a remarkable experience from start to finish. If you love this kind of racer, the console version of Wreckfest will hold up its end of the deal and deliver frantic mayhem racing at its best.
  9. Oct 8, 2019
    85
    Wreckfest brings a lot of fun to the table and is also a great vent for piled-up aggression from bad day at school or work. If you liked games like Destruction Derby and Flatout, you will love this. Be warned, there are still some bugs in the game, but it looks like the team is actively working on fixing them.
  10. Sep 15, 2019
    85
    A really nice, fun and accurate game that mixes racing and destruction simulator, just like the old FlatOut did years before. Still, there is some improvements to make on the AI and Online side.
  11. Aug 26, 2019
    82
    Wreckfest is a game that needed to reach PlayStation 4, because it shows that racing, destruction and good physics are very necessary elements in this game type. We could say that it is a casual title, but also challenging and perfect to give a bit of variety to a somewhat worn genre.
  12. Sep 11, 2019
    80
    Chaos, destruction and physics. Wreckfest is a carefree racer, but also a challenging one. Inspired by the Destruction Derby and FlatOut formula, but adding its own essence and a good progression system.
  13. Sep 4, 2019
    80
    Wreckfest on consoles remains a steady source of destructive racing fun.
  14. Sep 3, 2019
    80
    Overall, the game offers a great experience that even though I got tired of after a few hours, I came back to multiple times. The game modes give a solid bit of excitement, but the real fun to me came from the online experience and special vehicles you can use to cause real destruction. I would give the game an overall 4 out of 5. I give it this based on its overall gameplay falling a little short in variety to me, but keep in mind that leaves plenty of room for them to eventually improve on the game.
  15. Sep 2, 2019
    80
    An absurd load of fun, that's Wreckfest in a nutshell. This insane racing game uses extremely enjoyable tracks to keep you playing for a long time, though you'll have to be able to stand the long loading times.
  16. Sep 2, 2019
    80
    The wait was undoubtedly well rewarded, given the results fielded by Wreckfest. A fun arcade racing game, enhanced by a damage system with few equals on consoles and a wide variety of cars, races and tracks. We would have expected some new entries compared to the PC version in circulation for over a year, above all to avoid the risk, in the long run, of a certain repetition in the mechanics of the Career.
  17. Aug 30, 2019
    80
    Even though the game does not feature arcade-like elements such as the boosts and power-ups which made franchises like Burnout so much fun, the ridiculously detailed destructible vehicles and environments are more than enough to make this a worthy successor to games like Demolition Derby and developer Bugbear Entertainment’s own FlatOut series, and is surely a worthy time-waster for racing fans before Need for Speed Heat comes out.
  18. 80
    Wreckfest does a good job of mixing racing and damage dealing but doesn't quite live up to the FlatOut heritage and that's mainly because of it favouring realism over fun at times. However, the racing action is very good and the demolition derby events are as good as any of the Demolition Derby games of the past.
  19. Sep 23, 2019
    79
    The console version of Wreckfest is as good as the PC one, but we were expecting extra cars and tracks after a whole year on the market. This is nonetheless a worthy successor to the Destruction Derby and FlatOut franchises.
  20. Aug 30, 2019
    75
    Wreckfest may feature some lackluster racing, but its dynamic vehicle deformation is so dazzling that it almost doesn't matter. Barreling across tracks that gradually fill with automotive debris, or jumping into a demo derby to wreak some havoc yourself, serve to fulfill a destruction-fueled niche that knows no equal on consoles.
  21. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 25, 2019
    70
    s. There’s certainly room to experiment and tinker. Yet for all the fun you’ll have in Wreckfest’s sandpit circuits the constant technical hurdles hold it back. [Issue#167, p.92]
  22. Aug 23, 2019
    70
    If you’re looking to bring destruction and pandemonium to motorsports, Wreckfest will suit your needs to a tee. The experience is let down by technical grievances far too often, but what’s left after the fact is more than worth your time.
  23. 65
    Wreckfest just doesn’t live up to the promise of its name. The destruction is technically impressive, but oddly distancing. It awes with flying debris, but rarely exhilarates.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 188
  1. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    For an alternative to Burnout this is it. And one thing to remember always restart to make a better go of it. Slightly long load times my onlyFor an alternative to Burnout this is it. And one thing to remember always restart to make a better go of it. Slightly long load times my only negative. But other than that an over the top, outrageous, stupidly brilliant driving game, at times completely insane but so playable and enjoyable at the same time. Some of the fun I’ve had so far is awesome. I can be on the last lap in first place and somehow still end up in the middle of it all and not win. But again restart is your best friend! Always restart if your struggling. But a MUST own. Not a massive fan of lawn mowers and the three wheeler but hey I’ll get there. Enjoy driving mayhem. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    Brings me back to the testdrive eve of destruction days.. Wreckfest is super fun and well worth $40
  3. Aug 28, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Beautiful game! I had been waiting for 5+ years at this point for this game to release on consoles and it hasn’t disappointed me in any way. This game is seriously everything I could’ve asked for and more (minus a few unrealistic expectations).

    Graphics: Good! Nicely detailed car models and fair environments.

    Music: Hands down has to be the best soundtrack Bugbear has put in any one of their games! Good mix of some bouncy metal/core, and more lighthearted fun tracks.

    Gameplay: Impeccable. The translation from PC to console was done beautifully! The gameplay is so freaking addictive and I couldn’t possibly get enough of it. I’m honestly not even mad when I get wiped out in the last turn of a race ‘cause that just means I get to go again! The tracks are a lot of fun, and it was definitely cool to see some FlatOut throwbacks/inspired tracks in there too! There’s not a single track that I don’t like. The handling can be a little funky at first but all you need to do is adjust some of the advanced steering settings to your liking and you’ll be good to go! It still does take some getting used to though as the driving isn’t exactly as tight as you’d hope, but what can you expect from a demo derby game! GAMEPLAY AND FUN WAS NOT SACRIFICED FOR THE SAKE OF REALISM WITH THE DAMAGE MODELING - remember that. Oh, and seeing your driver get flattened out and deformed with the car is probably one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen in a game. Customization: Great! Was admittedly a little worried in this department simply because of the nature of the game, but I was not disappointed! You can customize and add armor to pretty much every part of the car, with a few cars being excluded from customization options; but once you see what those are it makes sense. You can definitely make some badass combos. Physics: B. E. A. U. T. I. F. U. L. The cars deform so incredibly, and with the realistic damage setting turned on, that’s dialed up to 11! It’s a really nice detail too to see the world fall apart around you as well. Certain walls or barriers will crumble into bits when you hit them, mounds of tires will explode when you make contact, signs break in spectacular fashion; pretty much, if you can see if and if it looks breakable, it is! All without a noticed dropped frame on PS4 Pro.

    Performance: Amazing! With all the incredible stuff going on on screen at once (especially this game’s impeccable particle effects), I haven’t noticed a single performance dip, which is more surprising to me than just about everything. No matter how much carnage you’ve got on screen at once, the game can handle it, and it handles it VERY well. Load times can be a little extensive at times, but when you take into consideration what this game engine can do and the things that can happen in a single race, it’s nothing more than a measly annoyance (if you’re not used to the PC version that is). And also, when you’ve loaded into a race, everything is instantaneous from there one. Starts, restarts, doesn’t matter; just like the FlatOut games, no matter how late you are in the race, or what kind, or how much carnage you strew about the track, you’re ready to go immediately after the initial loading screens. UI: Admittedly, this is one of my very VERY few gripes with this game, the UI at times does not feel very intuitive. There are some hang ups and you can immediately tell that the menus are running at 30 fps or below. There are quite a few UI glitches in the game right now, such as certain liveries not working properly, getting doubles of the same customization part in the menus, or the pause menu not working too great at times. But it’s nothing that can’t get ironed out in later patches. Glitches/Bugs (PlayStation 4): Yes. There are some glitches, most of which are UI bugs from what I can tell. Sometimes when you load in to the pre-race screen, your wheels will be clipping into the ground. On the farm plow demo derby, there were some issues with the lighting breaking. Sometimes you won’t do any damage or near enough to somebody even after hitting them really hard and clearly seeing their vehicle get smashed up. That’s just breaking the surface; but again, these are fixable issues that are too be expected from fresh releases. Consensus: Seriously one of the most fun games I have ever played and it’s definitely up there in my top 10 favorite games of all time already. The glitches and other issues don’t even come close to taking away from the gameplay experience with this game, not a lot of games can be in that position. This game has a lot of time to grow, and hopefully Bugbear will get the funding and support they need from THQ Nordic with how well this game is being received. Pretty much all the negative reviews are from people who bought this game for all the wrong reasons, do not heed their words.

    I could go on and on all day about this game! But sadly, I’m limited to 5,000 characters :p
    Full Review »