Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 31, 2023
    100
    As the first Resident Evil remake, Dead Space is extremely faithful to its original material, limiting its changes to mechanical and visual updates and lore expansion. To be honest, sometimes the game looks way too conservative in its alterations decisions and, being exclusive for the current console generation, also falls short on some technical aspects. That said, the final result is respectful to the legacy of one of the best survival horror games ever made. It doesn’t feel like a rerun, but achieves to offer a refreshingly scary experience, as if it were the first time.
  2. Jan 27, 2023
    100
    Dead Space is one of the true legends of the survival horror genre, and EA Motive’s new remake does the original game full justice while also introducing a variety of fantastic new additions and reworkings. Other than some slight disappointment in its visuals on a technical (but certainly not artistic or atmospheric) level, this is a remake that finds a near-perfect balance between retaining the heart and soul of its predecessor and reanimating its body in some unexpected (but positive) ways.
  3. Jan 26, 2023
    100
    It’s atmospheric, scary and adrenaline-inducing space fun.
  4. Jan 26, 2023
    100
    Taken as a whole, though, Motive Studio’s Dead Space remake is an unmitigated success that builds upon its predecessor’s story in small yet meaningful ways. It both looks and sounds phenomenal, and the Necromorphs at the heart of the horror-action still remain one of the medium’s most bone-chilling adversaries ever. It’s been a long time coming, but Dead Space is finally back… to make us whole again.
  5. Jan 26, 2023
    100
    Dead Space Remake is more than just a remake, it's a whole new game. Motive has done a titanic job to give a second life to one of the masterpieces of the survival horror genre. Not only its graphics are a real slap in the face and its sound design is absolutely fantastic, but he few gameplay adjustments and the work on the level design offer a real added value. Even those who know the original game by heart will be surprised. An incredible dive into horror and a real "new gen" slap in the face. Now we only want one thing, the sequel, and quickly!
  6. Jan 26, 2023
    100
    Dead Space is one of the best survival horror games ever made. It takes a masterpiece of the genre and allows its biggest strengths to shine brighter than they ever have, while also improving upon it in meaningful ways with smart changes and additions.
  7. Jan 26, 2023
    100
    Dead Space doesn’t just place you into the role of Isaac Clarke, it forces you into his head, too. You’re constantly questioning if the apparitions he is seeing are real, and his physical reaction to the unbelievable events aboard the space ship only fuel yours further. You are completely at the whim of the USG Ishimura, and it never lets you forget that. Ultimately, Dead Space is a game that a lot of horror developers can learn from when it comes to creating suspense and a feeling of dread in its players. And as far as remakes go, Dead Space has me thoroughly pining over a decade-old series. That’s a success, if you ask me.
  8. Jan 26, 2023
    100
    Dead Space is a brilliant and terrifying horror experience made better with this release. Everything you remember loving about the original is still here, with added quality and updates that improve it for a new generation. While playing, I could feel my muscles tense, and my hands clam up, desperately trying to use a healing item I didn't have as I nervously rounded a corner. This will likely be something I share with all who play, no matter their past with the series. But, even without the nostalgia, I can't recommend a better survival horror gaming experience than this.
  9. Jan 26, 2023
    97
    Dead Space is an unmitigated classic, one of the best survival horror games ever, and this remake is on a par with the Resident Evil 2 remake. Not only the graphics, but also the gameplay mechanics, story and overall presentation are quite improved, in a subtle and sometimes rigorous way. Everything that was already brilliant (and that is a lot) has been left intact.
  10. Jan 26, 2023
    96
    Motive Studio has knocked it out of the park. This remake of Dead Space is far superior to the original classic. Great additions, impressive graphics, outstanding audio and more make this game a must-have.
  11. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    Dead Space Remake is a game that we needed. EA and Motive, in the same way as Capcom with their Resident Evil remakes, have marked a path. And that path will place this title on the podium of the best of 2023, without a doubt.
  12. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    Dead Space is an exemplary perfect remake. It improves the visuals, polishes the gameplay and adds new content. Our expectations were not only met - they were exceeded. This game is just so much more than anyone wished.
  13. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    The remake of Dead Space follows the track of the original game, obviously (and considerably) improving it from a technical point of view and adding or modifying some gameplay elements. The result is a sci-fi horror adventure that will please series veterans and thrill-seeking newcomers alike.
  15. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    Dead Space is a quality remake. It brings another dimension to the 2008 game by bringing in clever new ideas that produce an even more oppressive experience and controlled, more modern, more fluid gameplay. We also appreciate the new dialogues and the fact that we hear Isaac speak because it makes the story more believable, even more immersive. And then how beautiful! A real vision of horror as we like it.
  16. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    Dead Space marks the triumphant return of a franchise that didn't deserve the end it had years ago. Revamped visuals, improved level design, interesting new features, perfect use of sound and lighting techniques, along with the same sense of space horror as before - all of this delivers one of the best survival horror ever.
  17. Jan 26, 2023
    95
    Dead Space is a remake that manages to surpass the original entry. Its story feels complex, and the gameplay mechanics are more robust than in the first game. It should serve as an example for any upcoming remake that wants to pay homage to the original work while making changes to enhance its impact with audiences old and new.
  18. Jan 26, 2023
    92
    It ain’t easy to bring a fresh take to a masterpiece, but EA Motive did a great job with Dead Space Remake. Even though it’s not quite there visually, the game feels great to play and the storytelling has improved a lot. There are plenty of reasons to go on another trip on the USG Ishimura.
  19. Jan 26, 2023
    91
    It doesn't matter if you played the previous game or not. This is an experience you need to try. One of the best games in the horror genre.
  20. Feb 2, 2023
    90
    It's extremely difficult to not gush about Dead Space Remake because it does everything right. As much as I love Resident Evil 2's remake, it's fundamentally a very different game from the original. Dead Space Remake is a loyal and loving remake that captures everything that was good about the original, while fixing almost everything that was bad. It's easily the gold standard for how to remake a beloved game, and it's easily as good as Capcom's efforts. If you were a fan of the original, Dead Space Remake is a must-play, and if you're interested in experiencing it for the first time, the remake is the best option.
  21. Feb 2, 2023
    90
    Dead Space is an accomplished remake that not only brings new life to a classic, but hopefully paves the path for more entries in the series in the future. While much of the game will be familiar to those who have played the original, the meaningful updates and additions go a long way to keep the experience feeling fresh, modern and unpredictable. So, whether you’re already a Dead Space fan or new to the series, this is well worth your time and money – as long as you have the nerves for it. For some, it’s even likely to be an early game of the year contender.
  22. Feb 1, 2023
    90
    Dead Space has died once. But nothing stays dead on USG Ishimura. Some things will always come back, and scarier than ever.
  23. Jan 31, 2023
    90
    This new version of Dead Space is the gold standard for what a remake can be. Remaining faithful to the original game while also creating meaningful additions to exploration and character interactions. It’s perfect for either new players or those who have trekked through the Ishimura countless times. After being dormant for nearly a decade, Dead Space has finally returned, and it’s better than ever.
  24. Jan 31, 2023
    90
    Is this remake something that absolutely had to happen? It most certainly is since this is now the best way for first-time players to experience Dead Space and another reason to play this fantastic game again for old school fans.
  25. Jan 30, 2023
    90
    Despite the fact that this is a remake I think there are enough new things in it to justify the purchase, and if you have never played Dead Space then boy oh boy you are in for a treat! I cannot wait to see if they remake the others in the series, though it might be argued that there really is no need, they did look magnificent when they came out and to be honest I was really impressed playing them as recently as I have.
  26. Jan 30, 2023
    90
    As a returning fan that played the original countless times, Dead Space in 2023 is just about as perfect of a remake as we could ask for. It runs with the old saying “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” formula, but the developers at Motive Studio add some subtle improvements and quality-of-life updates to justify the existence of this remake. Even when I know what’s coming, I can’t help but be drawn into the atmospheric tension that had me adore the horror classic of 2008. Dead Space is a prime example of how a remake should be done and unfortunately for you, your neighbours will hear you scream.
  27. Jan 30, 2023
    90
    The Dead Space remake brings to life everything we loved about the original game. You will still be absorbed by the atmosphere and the fight against the Necromorphs. Now also with some improvements and new content.
  28. Jan 27, 2023
    90
    Dead Space Remake is the new benchmark for what a successful remake should be. Motive Studio has shown that the right formula is one that treats the original content with courtesy, adding only the strictly necessary elements to adapt the experience to the current technology. Once again, Dead Space takes the crown of the sci-fi horror genre, with a gameplay experience that is absolutely fascinating and gripping across the board. The care and respect invested in this remake is evident at all times, making it it a strong candidate for the GOTY title.
  29. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space remains one of the best survival horror games ever, and the 15 years that have passed are hardly felt at all in terms of structure, gameplay, combat-system and setting. If all remakes were like this...
  30. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    The Dead Space remake is exactly what a remake should be. Quality-of-life improvements help the game flow better and meet modern standards, while the updated graphics bring the terror to life in vivid detail, providing a grotesque beauty to the nearly non-stop carnage. Despite the years which have passed since the game’s initial release in 2008, Isaac’s trek through the USG Ishimura remains as enthralling and terrifying as ever.
  31. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space remake is one of the best remakes we ever had the pleasure to play. A new benchmark in lighting and sound design, the game is packed with lots of tweaks and enhancements that enrich and refresh the experience. The first essential of 2023.
  32. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    EA Motive showed that they can do the kind of work we are used to from studios like Bluepoint. We are talking about a phenomenal remake that retouches the necessary parts to make a classic game come back taking advantage of the good things that have been improved over the years.
  33. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    The Dead Space remake delivers a truly exceptional horror game where Isaac Clarke is finally fully involved in his own adventure. This is a story-rich, gory, and more engaging experience than the original, and one you won’t want to miss.
  34. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    For likely many others and I, the only hopes for this Dead Space remake were to be able to play through the game once more (hopefully with a jump scare or two) in a way that didn't feel ancient and clunky. The Dead Space remake far outstrips those minimal expectations, and though it may be premature a cliché to say it's raised the bar for remakes, it's certainly established a dominant foothold in 2023 and in the upcoming string of horror remakes fans have to look forward to. It's again not perfect, but it strives to be better than the original, and that's something other remakes should look to copy.
  35. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dark hallways, screams in the distance, and blood splatters on the wall may not seem inviting, but Dead Space Remake manages to create an alluring adventure throughout your playthrough, even if you played it already 15 years ago.
  36. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    The writing, expanded character roles, and performances never feel like they are trying too hard to make their characters feel more believable and less generic. Ultimately, all prospective players need to know is this: Motive Studios has succeeded in making the Dead Space Remake the definitive way to enjoy the first chapter of Isaac Clarke's journey.
  37. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    The Dead Space remake improves on the 2008 original in every category, offering quality-of-life improvements, new story content, side quests, and dramatically upgraded graphics. It's Dead Space, but better, and many fans will be happy to see this classic survival horror experience get the modern makeover it deserves.
  38. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Today, as and more than then, Dead Space is an unmissable appointment for fans of the genre of reference and not only for those who loved the 2008 classic. Through careful interventions in every area of the experience, from the plot to the characters, up to specific playful elements and the pleasure of exploration, the guys from EA Motive have given us the best version of this cornerstone of videogame horror, further embellishing it with an audiovisual frame not without some uncertainty but of great value, which makes it even more disturbing the theater of horrors of USG Ishimura.
  39. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Again, it feels like we're well-served for horror game remakes at the moment, but Motive Studio's Dead Space is a horror remake done right. It really is a sublime mix of fresh and familiar, and it's freaking terrifying in its loud and quieter moments. Its reworked visuals and stunning dynamic lighting totally transform certain areas, while the remake's new dismemberment animations mean hacking off enemy limbs with the Plasma Cutter, uncovering bone and muscle tissue as you do, is now gorier than ever. I know this first hand, because I was too scared to run.
  40. 90
    The Dead Space remake is the definitive version of the game. The original has aged relatively well, but it’s not available on current-gen consoles, and the PC version is finicky on newer hardware and versions of Windows. Some changes in the remake work better than others, but the important thing is that, like the original, it’s survival horror at its best and a worthy successor to the beloved series.
  41. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Rather than reinvent the wheel, Motive made Dead Space look nicer, play better, and preserved the core of the experience. Its new flourishes add to that enjoyment instead of subtracting. This remake respects and polishes up my memories of Isaac’s first encounter with the necromorphs without making me miss the original version. It also acts as the perfect entry point for newcomers since it feels on par with today’s titles. I hope this exceptional revision signals to EA that Dead Space has plenty of gas in the tank and becomes a harbinger for more horrifying stories in this universe.
  42. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space Remake maintains and improves on everything that already made great the original game from 2008, thus bringing back one of the best survival-horror games in the last 20 years. The remake is masterful not only due to the improvements on the visual side, but also because it introduces new gameplay mechanics. AlL in all, it's a noticeable overall upgrade.
  43. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space kicks off 2023’s AAA horror lineup with a seamless, masterful execution of action and frights.
  44. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space feels like a new game with all the added improvements like great graphics, gameplay and last but not least great sound. Whether or not you enjoyed the original game, entering the halls of the USG Ishimura will give you enough terror to make you think it's worth it.
  45. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space is a fantastic remake, taking what was great about the original and adding plenty of smart and impressive features.
  46. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Motive Studio has done the unthinkable with Dead Space. It has turned this iconic, incredibly memorable survival horror game from fifteen years ago into an even more immersive and engaging experience. This isn’t just a simple graphical upgrade, but an overhaul on a significant portion of the mechanics and storytelling, crafting a better and more gratifying universe to dive into.
  47. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    The Dead Space remake proves that a timeless game built on a solid foundation can feel as fresh in 2023 as it felt in 2008.
  48. 90
    With this remake, Motive has managed to treat the original Dead Space with the utmost respect whilst rebuilding it to be perfect for today. Almost every improvement serves to enhance the reputation of a horror classic. Dead Space should be the blueprint for creating a truly exceptional remake.
  49. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space 2023 is a familiar, yet fresh return to the classic, visually and mechanically polishing the things that made the 2008 game amazing while reworking a number of key points to make it one of the most impressive and exciting modern horror experiences I have ever played.
  50. Jan 26, 2023
    90
    Dead Space is a remarkable achievement in design on all fronts. A loving and intelligent remake that reminds players of what has been lost in AAA games and what can be found again if you just know where to look.
  51. Jan 26, 2023
    87
    Dead Space is a cult classic that is considered one of the greatest horror games in the medium. Some may argue that the game didn’t require a remake, however, Motive Studios are faithful in its approach and improves on the original. Although the visual update makes each step a disquieting nightmare, the enhancements made to the combat and narrative are what make the real difference. While the game carefully follows the path laid by the original, the number of refinements makes this the definitive version.
  52. Jan 26, 2023
    86
    Technically impressive remake of a modern horror classic: This Dead Space feels brutally good, sounds strong and gets on your last nerve.
  53. Jan 26, 2023
    85
    It feels great to just dive back into the USG Ishimura, though. Dead Space as a concept still holds up, and the reworking EA Motive has provided highlights its best features while shoring up old pitfalls. Sci-fi survival horror fans should get what they want out of this: the return of a classic, with gorgeous graphics and some new twists, but the same old boot-stomping good time.
  54. Jan 26, 2023
    85
    It feels excellent to be back in the world of Dead Space. Advancements in technology have allowed for further immersion into what remains one of the most engaging and terrifying horror video game worlds. The visual enhancements don’t stop there, also translating to clever planning of scares and moments of tension as you wander the Ishimura Station halls. It’s in some of this revisiting of those beloved halls that you’ll notice some dated gameplay design points not quite ironed over. However, it’s hardly a blip in the radar when you consider the other mountain of quality of life improvements to make this Isaac Clarke’s bloodiest and most delightful foray yet, with new tidbits to uncover and stellar survival horror to engage in. Dead Space has some life in it yet.
  55. Jan 26, 2023
    85
    Whether you're indoctrinated or a neophyte, there's a place for you in this blood vessel that looks like a ghost train, because yes, Dead Space is scarier than ever.
  56. Jan 26, 2023
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  57. Feb 1, 2023
    80
    Where modern blockbusters are often weighed down by bloated worlds or predatory business models, Dead Space cuts right to the quick.
  58. Jan 30, 2023
    80
    Dead Space Remake is one of the best remakes we've ever received. The technological, audio, and graphical improvements all do wonders for the level of immersion that this game relies on, and the quality and polish is so welcome when considering some of the other 'finished' games that we've seen as of late.
  59. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    For those who already love the franchise and are simply hoping for a spruced-up version of the original game, then the Dead Space remake is an easy recommendation, so long as you’re okay with paying the $70 price (or waiting for a sale)...However, for those who have no pre-existing affection for Isaac and his dismemberment skills, more convincing is likely required. Happily, even with my modern expectations, the Dead Space remake still delivers a fantastic narrative, a wonderfully presented setting, and compelling gameplay that satisfies from the first terrifying moment until the horrific last.
  60. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    Motive delivers the best possible version of Dead Space. The USG Ishimura is terrifying, and the way the Forstbite Engine is playing with light and shadows will give you nightmares for weeks. Beyond the technical aspects, improvements to the gameplay are sparse and the experience is about the same as it was 15 years ago. That’s not necessarily a bad thing.
  61. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    Dead Space is a triumphant remake that draws strength from familiarity instead of allowing its archaic origins to become a vice. This is now the definitive version of Isaac Clarke’s first chapter, one that doesn’t aim to reinvent his character, but to outfit him with a more relatable and nuanced arc that will likely set the stage for other games to come. Improved performance, a greater incentive to explore, and a crux of combat and scares combine to turn what was once a horror classic into a modern gem. Shame it’s a bit too easy, though.
  62. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    With this Dead Space, the developer welcomes not only faithful players but fresh-faced recruits and stunningly enough, neither of them know what they’re in for. They will love the ride though. Scream if you want to go faster, and all that.
  63. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    Dead Space has been brought back in the most faithful manner possible. With the fantastic base experience still very much intact, EA Motive has expanded on it with new content, expanded areas, and more mechanics to help deliver on the vision the game's original creators had 15 years ago. Compared to more modern titles — and other remakes from a similar period — Dead Space disappoints with visuals that fail to justify why it's a current-gen only release. However, it's still a great game to play in 2023, and new quests and mechanics provide more than enough reason to go back to a survival horror classic.
  64. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    It’s a solid remake that brings back the memorable experience but also enhances and modernizes it through a surprising multitude of subtle changes, giving Isaac’s tale a chance to delight new generations of players. The team at EA Motive clearly understood why Visceral’s survival horror was great and while they rebuilt it from scratch, they managed to retain the most precious ingredient – the tense, overwhelming atmosphere, now even more palpable thanks to stunning lighting and great 3D sound. However, while I did not mind backtracking and repetitiveness 15 years ago, they did bother me now, especially since new optional activities force you to run around the ship even more.
  65. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    For anyone who’s yet to play one of gaming’s horror greats, the new take on Dead Space is a fairly definitive version of the experience. Its limb-carving combat and claustrophobic atmosphere still outclass its peers 15 years later, and that fact is only emphasized with some smart adjustments. If you’ve played the 2008 version to death, though, nothing here is likely to deepen your relationship with it. It’s a remake for remake’s sake.
  66. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    Despite some shortcomings, the remake of Dead Space is the best thing a fan of the series could've asked for, but it's also a great experience for a wider group of horror and sci-fi enthusiasts. Isaac's adventures are still exceptional, with excellent atmosphere, story, and enjoyable gameplay - and all of this is even more intense than before.
  67. Jan 26, 2023
    80
    The new Dead Space is a mostly-successful revival of a survival horror landmark, offering atmospheric new visuals and a series of precision updates to combat, level layouts, and the game’s scary bits that ought to surprise and excite veteran engineers. That said, there was room for Motive Studio to push ever further, as some game elements still feel a bit dated. Dead Space should satisfy long-suffering fans of the franchise, but compared to the latest, greatest AAA horror competition, it’s no longer a cut above.
  68. 80
    2023's Dead Space remake masterfully treads the line between doing too little and too much to revitalize a game that has aged so well. Many of the mechanical changes will go largely unnoticed by the average player, but they do wonders to bring this classic back in line with its contemporaries.
  69. Jan 26, 2023
    70
    An excellent remake of a not-quite-classic survival horror, that nevertheless makes a convincing argument for the continuation of the series.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 26, 2023
    While a fine piece of craft and a sumptuous reworking of the setting, EA Motive's Dead Space remake sheds a little of the 2008 game's enchantment.
  2. Jan 31, 2023
    15 years later, we have more compelling protagonists to choose from, and even more interesting space zombies, like those in Dead Space creator Glen Schofield’s The Callisto Protocol, which is also mired by repetitive bosses, but at least looks and sounds incredible. The Dead Space remake accomplishes what it set out to do, it makes an old game compatible for modern consoles. But that’s all it does. 2008’s lightning stays in its bottle.
  3. Jan 26, 2023
    The work that Motive has done in bringing Dead Space back to life is exciting not just for the ability to play an idealized version of a classic game on new platforms, but also in the promising groundwork it lays for the franchise’s potential future. [Polygon Recommended]
  4. Jan 26, 2023
    This is a very good—in fact, we’d argue, the best—version of something that was already a very good video game. (One that, in a nice change of pace from the typical remake trend, has not been remastered into the ground already.) If you played Dead Space 15 years ago and loved it, you’ve got a beautiful, improved version of it to come home to. And if you never played it, you’ve got a genuinely great experience ahead of you, a winning blend of horror and action that at no point feels needlessly beholden to its own past.
  5. Jan 26, 2023
    Dead Space remains a relic from an age of self-contained prestige shooters that almost certainly isn’t coming back; I’m not even sure Motive’s approach would work for remaking the series’ other games. But none of that diminishes the sheer ridiculous pleasure of ripping up a zombie with a sawblade and stomping it for loot.
  6. Jan 31, 2023
    Dead Space kicked ass in 2008, and this version kicks ass in 2023. It’s spooky, and it feels good to tear apart ugly dudes. What else is there to say? I hope the same team gets a chance to apply this same treatment for Dead Space 2, though perhaps with the confidence to put more of their own bloody stamp on it. And if that’s a problem, screw it—just let them make their own Dead Space, pull some elements from the sequels, and chart a new path.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 431
  1. Jan 29, 2023
    10
    Some of us did not wonder if Dead Space would be forgotten and we would not be lucky to see it again with a decent conclusion despite DeadSome of us did not wonder if Dead Space would be forgotten and we would not be lucky to see it again with a decent conclusion despite Dead Space 3, which strayed far from the main premise and everything went to waste. Now we do not have that long-awaited conclusion, instead we have a "REMAKE" that is undoubtedly an extraordinary renewal as we saw with Capcom's Resident 2; I personally didn't think that the original title could be improved, and to the surprise of all players this time MOTIVE studio managed to improve something that we thought was almost perfect from the beginning. The additions not only range from the obvious graphic improvement, to this we must add an increase in information and context in the lore of events and the history of the main and secondary characters, even our protagonist will not be a mute character as in the original, Now he has a voice that allows him to interact with the other characters, adding a lot of information about Isaac's character, we can even see Isaac's face from the beginning and we will notice a change in his face and a resemblance to actor Adam Sandler (FOR THIS ONE REASON I DON'T GIVE IT A HIGHER RATING). During the journey in the story we will be given secondary objectives that we can complete as we unlock access to the different sections of the Ishimura. The weapons are the same as in the original title but there was certainly some major balancing and changes to the secondary shots making them more useful (as in the case of the pulse cannon which is now quite useful). The trophies are mostly the same as the ones we saw on PS3. In a matter of enemies, the necromorphs are more aggressive and resistant, the mechanics of dismembering them is now much more "realistic" since while we do damage to them we can see if we pay attention to how the meat is cut until leaving the bones uncovered for the final "cut". The lighting, textures and the redesign of some parts of the Ishimura greatly improved the immersion resulting in a terrifying game and you should not miss it. In my opinion, this is a light of hope for fans of the saga that invites us to dream that future installments (if there are any) will be improved by removing everything that the players did not like and we can see a conclusion to the story epic way. Let's just pray that EA doesn't implement the microtransactions and co-op that didn't work and screwed up. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2023
    8
    A remake done right. Everything about this remake is very well designed and everything was crafted from the ground up. They definitely keptA remake done right. Everything about this remake is very well designed and everything was crafted from the ground up. They definitely kept the spirit of the original game fully present in this remake. I appreciate how they managed to pull over all gameplay mechanics from the original game while subtly improving with some of the modern day finesse. All in all, its a very true remake to the original game. This is for better and for worse, while the game is a ton of fun, it is such an honest remake to which it really does feel like you're playing an Xbox 360 game in regard to the gameplay. Doesn't make it bad, but the jump scares and set pieces are incredibly predictable this many years later.

    The graphics are excellent, but I have to say that Callisto Protocol set a very high bar for the graphics just a few months prior, despite being a worse game overall. After being treated to the visuals of Callisto Protocol, I can't help but feel a little disappointed with the graphics in the Dead Space remake. They're not bad by any means, but it goes to show you that they didn't do their best. The sound design is greatly improved with the ambient noises and the voice acting. I also really appreciate how they made Isaac have a voice from the very beginning, which adds a little more depth to the character and ultimately the setting itself.

    Overall, its a great game for fans of the original and for newcomers. Doesn't do anything particularly well in today's age, but it is an enjoyable experience.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2023
    9
    As a gamer who never played the original, I wasn’t sure what to expect. However, Dead Space Remake is a beautifully crafted Survival HorrorAs a gamer who never played the original, I wasn’t sure what to expect. However, Dead Space Remake is a beautifully crafted Survival Horror game. From the atmosphere to the creature designs, it keeps u on ur toes it's entire runtime.

    The weapons are fun to use and combat is nice and smooth. The Story is simple yet effective. All of these little elements come together to make an Early game of the year contender.
    Full Review »