Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jan 3, 2022
    100
    Not only does Endwalker offer a satisfying conclusion to one chapter of Final Fantasy XIV, but it creates an amazing foundation for the MMO’s future. Endwalker will ensure that Final Fantasy XIV’s recent meteoric rise won’t come crashing back down to earth any time soon. Final Fantasy XIV’s prospects are over the moon.
  2. Dec 12, 2021
    100
    There's plenty of laughter and tears along the way, and Endwalker manages to send off the Zodiark and Hydaelyn saga on an incredibly high note. Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker is a real crowdpleaser, and it should also leave everyone hopeful for what the future has in store for the MMORPG, even if this expansion is going to be incredibly difficult to top.
  3. Jan 4, 2022
    95
    In Endwalker, Final Fantasy XIV does the impossible: bringing a complex narrative arc, woven over the last decade, to a nigh-perfect conclusion. The latest expansion is a masterpiece that justifies the game’s current popularity and the best new story released in the franchise in recent memory, and it sets an excellent foundation for the MMORPG’s next years.
  4. 95
    As a long time fan it fills me with so much joy to see this story come together so well. Along with the new jobs, amazing new zones, and some much appreciated gameplay tweaks, this is potentially the best expansion we've seen for Final Fantasy XIV yet.
  5. Jan 3, 2022
    90
    Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn and all that has come after is one of the greatest success stories in the history of gaming, so much so that said success has become one of its greatest challenges. Though there is still much more to come from Final Fantasy XIV in the future, Endwalker is a magnificent cap on everything leading up to it and a fitting end to the story of Hydaelyn and Zodiark. The passion of the Final Fantasy XIV team and its desire to do the best that it can for the fanbase is clear, and it deserves every one of the plaudits that has come its way.
  6. Dec 24, 2021
    90
    Once you're past the horrendously long queues to actually get into the game, Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker was an almost flawless experience. This conclusion to a decade-long tale is told with a visual, musical and narrative artistry that isn’t often seen in any medium. Endwalker doesn’t quite reach the heights of earlier parts of the series, but it sure as hell ends the current arc with a bang and everyone involved with this game should feel damn proud of themselves.
  7. Dec 21, 2021
    90
    With its amazing main story and the immense amount of casual and hardcore activities, Final Fantasy XIV Online: Endwalker is consecrated as an exceptional and probably the best traditional MMORPG experience of the contemporary gaming market.
  8. Dec 20, 2021
    90
    Endwalker is an outstanding expansion with a gripping narrative and fun boss encounters.
  9. Dec 15, 2021
    90
    With Endwalker, Final Fantasy XIV definitely proves that it deserves its place in the pantheon of the best episodes of the saga. It's simple, this new expansion brilliantly succeeds in concluding the narrative arc of Hydaelyn and Zordiarche thanks to strong moments sublimated by dungeons and epic challenges. Despite a rhythm that knows a few lengths, the adventure provides many satisfactory answers and benefits from visually successful environments as well as a high-end soundtrack that allow us to forget the dated technique inherent in this kind of game. extension which therefore does not include any major new features, but rather additions such as new jobs and many more than welcome adjustments. Now, we can't wait: to find out what Naoki Yoshida and his teams are preparing for the next patches and the future of Final Fantasy XIV.
  10. Dec 10, 2021
    90
    Endwalker rounds out a decade of swirling story developments and character arcs with a triumphant finale, ensuring Final Fantasy 14's legacy as one of the best MMOs ever made.
  11. Dec 8, 2021
    90
    Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker is worth playing through in full if you’re into the story. I still hope that one day — I’m talking a decade-plus from now — Square Enix preserves this tale by any means necessary, even with a single-player rework. It’s timeless, and exceeds the quality of many other mainline games in the series. Whether you stick around for the theme park rides afterward is entirely up to you. The rides I’m going on still have some life left in them.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 11, 2021
    I'm especially fond of all the quality of life changes, including a less annoying rotation for my Samurai's AOE abilities and the inclusion of minimaps for city aethernet networks. I still need to finish the story, and I haven't had a chance to try out the new Reaper and Sage combat jobs yet aside from grouping with people who play them in dungeons. But for now, I'm happy to see that Endwalker's heavy emphasis on spinning a good yarn hasn't come at the expense of making dungeons and trials too easy. [Review in Progress]
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 392 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 392
  1. Dec 8, 2021
    10
    The best expansion in a mmo with shadowbringers, I can not lower points for people who can not login is something that is solved with theThe best expansion in a mmo with shadowbringers, I can not lower points for people who can not login is something that is solved with the passing of days :) Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2021
    0
    The new jobs are fantastic.

    The story has major pacing issues and from a story perspective does not land very well. As a 1.0 player this is
    The new jobs are fantastic.

    The story has major pacing issues and from a story perspective does not land very well. As a 1.0 player this is probably from a story standpoint the most disappointing expansion of the lot. And it hurts to say because I love FFXIV but sorry this story just...isn't good.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 10, 2021
    10
    This may be very well the greatest story of modern fiction ever told. A culmination of works building on the scale of JRR Tolkien’s oeuvre.This may be very well the greatest story of modern fiction ever told. A culmination of works building on the scale of JRR Tolkien’s oeuvre. Combined with a lovable ensemble of characters spanning 8 years, along with the strongest main cast of any RPG I’ve played, a soundtrack that brings me to tears, and a whole lot of love from an entire team. I can’t imagine a more perfect final entry to this saga if I tried. Full Review »