Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 21, 2021
    70
    Lost in Random offers a vivid world and unique bunch of characters, but some of the cities sadly feels pretty samey with not enough personality and variety.
  2. Sep 13, 2021
    70
    Lost in Random is a beautiful Burton-esque fantasy that comes close to evoking the same levels of craft and character as its obvious inspirations. It doesn’t quite sustain the wonder from start to finish, but it remains an easy recommendation.
  3. Sep 13, 2021
    70
    If you’re willing to overlook the bloated combat, you’ll find a lot to love in this macabre adventure about the bond between sisters.
  4. Sep 10, 2021
    70
    I think that if you translated Lost in Random's dark narrative and engagingly strange visual style into a stop-motion animated style film, it would be a powerful exploration of a harrowing and at times poignant journey through an upside down world ruled by disorder. There's a lot of that in the game, too, but it's made less effective by tepid mechanics and tedious, unrewarding combat. The story and setting are absolutely worth experiencing, but there's probably a chance you'll be as disappointed by the gameplay as you are enchanted by the tale.
  5. Sep 10, 2021
    70
    A Burton-esque adventure ruled by fate and dice that, despite an intriguing story and fascinating gothic visuals, misses the gameplay point with some boring design choices.
  6. Sep 13, 2021
    68
    Lost in Random has very good ideas and a development that combines its gothic atmosphere with a combat system inspired by the best role-playing games. But, when you repeat the same process continuously, the sensations are more bitter.
  7. Oct 1, 2021
    60
    Lost in Random mostly benefits from its "Tim Burtonesque" visuals and quirky design, but unfortunately the whole experience is dragged down by a tiring card-based battle system, with cards that are bland.
  8. Sep 10, 2021
    60
    The game’s inventive and jokey writing goes a long way toward mitigating the frustrating linearity that takes over the campaign.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 24, 2021
    When I finished Lost in Random, I wanted to talk about it. I wanted to not just praise it, but really dig into the world and its combat system. It’s that kind of game that makes you wish you had a few people around you who also played it and who want to spend a few hours just going on and on about it. Sure, I wish there were bigger decks in the game, but that’s less a complaint and more an admittance that I just wanted more of Lost in Random.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Sep 12, 2021
    10
    I love the vibe of this game, it feels like I'm playing a Tim Burton movie. Also, people complaining about localization ... this game is anI love the vibe of this game, it feels like I'm playing a Tim Burton movie. Also, people complaining about localization ... this game is an indie game made by a smaller studio from Sweden with 25 employees. Don't be such crybabies. You can't play every game in existence, so suck it up. There are so many japan-only games I haven't played and I don't go around review bombing them. Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2021
    8
    Outstanding game.
    + unique and interesting Tim Burton styled world
    + very unique and fun gameplay. I really enjoyed all board games. Battle
    Outstanding game.
    + unique and interesting Tim Burton styled world
    + very unique and fun gameplay. I really enjoyed all board games. Battle system is just fun and challenging at times, but definitely not for kids
    + awesome soundtrack
    + Story and characters are just great. I really felt involved into the story and wanted to save Odd, help to stop a war in 3rd world etc.

    - Only 2nd and 3rd world were nicely done. Others felt really bland
    - NPC design is reused too much. Same fish, bubaduba, long armslegs, rat guy everywhere
    - not enough colors here and there so exploring feels boring at times
    - how come Royam boss is harder than final boss? In fact he's the hardest challenge in the game. Like really?
    - sometimes it's really boring to listen to all optional dialogues, they don't give any interesting intel. Should've got rid of some
    - puzzles are too easy
    - no chapter selection. Guys I wanted to platinum your game, but after credits you don't have access to card shop, etc. At least give me check point before final bosses
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2021
    9
    The game is incredible and one of my most waited games this year, gameplay extremely fun,lore and characters big and small superThe game is incredible and one of my most waited games this year, gameplay extremely fun,lore and characters big and small super interesting,for me the only problems in it is the lack of replayability after you finish like been able to go back to visit any of the places we already went and the lack of costumesation for even, beyond that the game is perfect Full Review »