NBA 2K21 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With extensive improvements upon its best-in-class graphics and gameplay, competitive and community online features, and deep, varied game modes, NBA 2K21 offers one-of-a-kind immersion into all facets of NBA basketball and culture - where Everything is Game.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
NBA 2K21 Next Gen vs. Current Gen Gameplay Comparison
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 24, 2020
    90
    If you’re a casual NBA player who hasn’t played the game in some time, this version is a no brainer to enjoy on your new console. There’s also enough here to warrant the purchase for yearly players even if they didn’t purchase the upgrade options with the last-generation version. NBA 2K21 on next-gen is a much better version of what was released two months ago.
  2. Dec 10, 2020
    88
    NBA 2K21 on PS5 is a significant and stunning next-gen upgrade: this is the best title that fans deserve, and an absolutely great and genuine multiplayer experience.
  3. Nov 25, 2020
    85
    NBA 2K21 on PS5 offers a big improvement to gameplay, and whilst the inclusion of The W is great, The City needs more time to grow. Gameplay is superb when not in The City, and the combination of MyLeague and MyGM is a welcome change to a flagging mode.
  4. Dec 3, 2020
    80
    NBA 2K21 on the court is a true showcase of the next generation of consoles, a leap of quality with the best sports gameplay ever in a game. But, off the court, it demonstrates everything that's been wrong with NBA 2K for the past years: a pay-to-win experience riddled with microtransactions that drowns what otherwise could be an excellent game.
  5. Dec 9, 2020
    78
    Visually impressive basketball sim that is simply breathtaking on the court. In terms of game moeds you feel the old gen remains – as you do in the still annoying micro transactions.
  6. Nov 13, 2020
    75
    Ultimately, this next-gen NBA 2K21 is what September's NBA 2K21 should have been.
  7. Nov 16, 2020
    70
    NBA 2K21 for Xbox Series X and PlayStation 5 is more than just a gorgeous graphical upgrade and it includes some fixes that've plagued the series for years. On the downside, it introduces some new problems and still includes ugly microtransactions.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 104
  2. Negative: 83 out of 104
  1. Nov 15, 2020
    10
    Amazing game pure realistic and looks like real Next gen game, the arenas looks great , fans are more real and players OMG
  2. Dec 9, 2021
    7
    This game does not deserve as much hate as it gets. Sure the micro transactions are stupid and awful and online is arse but its a fun gameThis game does not deserve as much hate as it gets. Sure the micro transactions are stupid and awful and online is arse but its a fun game with deep modes filled with creativity for players. It’s not a 10/10 but its a solid and fun game. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2020
    2
    When ever I try to shoot the ball in the city I lag and it’s not my internet it’s the trash servers and it takes so much money to upgrade urWhen ever I try to shoot the ball in the city I lag and it’s not my internet it’s the trash servers and it takes so much money to upgrade ur player and mycarrer dosent give out anything and I don’t buy vc so idk how u get vc Expand
  4. May 13, 2021
    1
    I'll give it rating of 1 because I always had a issue with 2k since 15. Another reason for my low rating is because the developer refuses toI'll give it rating of 1 because I always had a issue with 2k since 15. Another reason for my low rating is because the developer refuses to change anything about the game. Now to start what I hate the most is how this game literally cheats you at the start. First I don't like how the game constantly calls fouls on me and hardly calls fouls on the other team. The game cheats in your face like how can every player ace any shot being 101% smothered, how can the opponent strip all my rebounds, why are they able to steal the ball without a reach call, why is it when I use a good player they play like **** but the cause plays them like they're unstoppable. Players like LeBron James, Ben Simmons, Shaq, Anthony Davis etc are broken. Any center is able to green a 3 pt at any time Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2020
    0
    Horrible game terrible builder is broke PF RUN THE GAME IS TERRIBLE SHOOTING IS AWFUL EVERYONE CSN DO W.e they want no skill gap horrible gameHorrible game terrible builder is broke PF RUN THE GAME IS TERRIBLE SHOOTING IS AWFUL EVERYONE CSN DO W.e they want no skill gap horrible game don’t buy Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is just so incredibly bad. MyTeam is the definition of pay-to-win. On top of that this is the least realistic 2K to date. There is a Ben Simmons card with a 99 3 pointer. There’s a Giannis card with a 99 free throw. This game is so unrealistic that mid range shots don’t even exist when you play online. Anything inside the 3 point line is a bad shot. MyCareer is terrible with a horrible story line. You cannot get drafted first overall for whatever reason. You can score 100 points with 30 rebounds and the best you can do is get drafted second. Oh… and the person who gets drafted first goes to the same team as you and plays the same position as you! Because every GM thinks it’s a great idea to draft the exact same position with the first two picks in the draft. Also… has a single team EVER had the first and second pick in the draft in NBA history? The game is just terrible. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2021
    0
    Worst NBA 2K I’ve ever played, right beside NBA 2K20. The physics are gone and no longer realistic. NBA 2K dropped off after NBA 2K18. ItWorst NBA 2K I’ve ever played, right beside NBA 2K20. The physics are gone and no longer realistic. NBA 2K dropped off after NBA 2K18. It started dropping off with NBA 2K17 but it’s gotten significantly worse since then. I still go back and play NBA 2K11 and NBA 2K14 and those are amazing. Still the 2 greatest basketball games of all time. RIP realistic and non greedy basketball games. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews