Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 127 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 127
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Aug 4, 2021
    20
    There was a kind of magic in the early Ratchet & Clank games, and then a competence in the later lesser games. The frenetic onscreen chaos of wacky cartoon monsters, smashed crates, imaginative gunplay, and a swarm of bouncing coins was a true joy as we all discovered it twenty years ago. These days, it’s all on offer in a hundred different games. But without the magic or at least the competence, it’s just a flurry of sloppy colors and shapes, a whirlwind of ineffectual nostalgia, absent any innovation, creativity, confidence, or finesse. It took many years, but now that it’s being used to prop up a piece of hardware, Ratchet & Clank finally feels like the soulless corporate property it’s become.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 8, 2021
    Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart has become "that" first game that presents the values of the new generation better than any other. [Recommended]
  2. Jun 8, 2021
    Rift Apart is a welcome and well-polished return to the Ratchet & Clank formula that has served Insomniac well for nearly two decades now. As long as you go in expecting that—and not yearning for some thrilling gameplay revolution driven by new hardware and technology—you’ll come out feeling satisfied.
  3. Jun 8, 2021
    Rift Apart’s greatest weakness is that it never truly utilises the brilliance of its dimension-shifting rift mechanics. You see a glimpse of the full potential at the start of the game, but then it sort of… disappears a little. You hop from planet to planet having a lot of fun, but there isn’t the shifting world design that you might expect to continue from its fabulously inventive introduction. This is still a big, beautiful, bombastic adventure with action, humour and heart aplenty, not to mention impeccable looks and craft that take full advantage of PS5. It is a game you should definitively play, but for all its flash and colour Rift Apart does – just occasionally – settle for the one dimension. Thankfully, it’s one you want to visit.
  4. Jun 8, 2021
    This is it though, the character and the absurdity and the charm that Insomniac is all about, that the team kick-started with Ratchet and Clank in 2002 and continue to master with such faultless confidence in Rift Apart. It's just pure craft, pure fun, pure video games - all the brilliant, bizarre ideas this studio has just thrown at the wall and all of them sticking. The only thing it lacks - apart from maybe a tiny bit of restraint - is pretence. There's no self-seriousness, no po-faced melodrama, no insecurity about the form. A game that's happy to be a game, in a familiar, cuddly shape. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  5. Jun 8, 2021
    Rift Apart is, beyond doubt, a fabulous game. It took me 18 hours to reach the credits, because I hunted down every scrap of Raritarium, looked for every secret I could find, and just bathed in its visually astonishing art. I had the best time doing it. Yet, the further I got, the more it nagged at me just how little this series has advanced in 19 years. If having the dimensional conceit and the extraordinary tech wasn’t enough to inspire something new, then what will? If there’s another Ratchet & Clank to come, it’s going to have to make some significant changes, because this might be the last time it can be repeated through its charisma alone.
  6. Jun 8, 2021
    Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart works on multiple levels. It’s an extremely impressive piece of software, designed to show off what Sony’s latest console can do. But more importantly, it’s a great entry in a nearly two-decade-old franchise, offering fans more wacky weapons, clever writing, and fresh biomes to explore. Rift Apart is an easy recommendation for any player lucky enough to get their hands on a PS5, for fans who can’t get enough of Insomniac’s heroic Lombax and his charming robot friend, and for players who want to meet a brave, new Lombax and go on an adventure with her, too.
  7. Jun 8, 2021
    Despite its ostensibly far-flung setting, Ratchet And Clank: Rift Apart is going to feel very familiar to anyone who’s spent much time with this franchise over the last two decades of its existence. That’s a bit of a bummer, in so far as there are a lot of Ratchet And Clank games out there that you can draw parallels to here, and very little that’s going to feel genuinely fresh or new. But that familiarity also extends to being familiar with the core, unshakeable competence of these solid platforming adventures that are designed for pretty much anyone to have a good time with. As a dimension-hopping adventure, Rift Apart might leave something to be desired. But as a reunion with one of gaming’s most energetically silly franchises, after so many years away, there are worse things you could wish for than the same old Ratchet And Clank.
  8. Jun 8, 2021
    For the most part, Rift Apart doesn’t stray far from what has made Ratchet & Clank so enduring. The formula remains the same: silly characters, great graphics, and lots of interesting guns to play with. But virtually every element is better than it’s ever been, from the touching-if-goofy story to the frantic action set pieces. And through this Rift Apart becomes a showcase for why someone might go through all the trouble to secure a PS5. It shows how more detailed worlds and faster load times can elevate a tried-and-true formula — and it might even make you care about Lombax lore in the process.
  9. Jun 8, 2021
    I finished Rift Apart a few days ago, but my saved game says I've played 98% of Rift Apart, with a few collectibles left to be swept up. You can bet your ass I'm gonna get that last 2%.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 12, 2021
    10
    Without a shadow of doubt, this is now my favorite Ratchet and Clank game. Easily a 10/10 masterpiece created by Insomniac games.
  2. Jun 12, 2021
    0
    This game is too short. The developers are charging $70 for what is basically a PS5 tech demo that lasts under 6 hours. That is extremelyThis game is too short. The developers are charging $70 for what is basically a PS5 tech demo that lasts under 6 hours. That is extremely expensive. The last Ratchet & Clank game had a $40 price tag. The greedy developers had the audacity to charge $30 more for this game and they didn't even bother to make the campaign much longer.

    The gameplay is so boring and repetitive. There is hardly any enemy variety. The missions are lazily designed and boring. The physics are beyond horrible. The running animations are cringeworthy. The characters are cringeworthy as well. The story is garbage. The AI in this game is incredibly stupid. When I kill an enemy, I can make the protagonists magically go through their bodies. That just goes to show how lazy the developers were when making this game. The soundtrack is generic trash. Boss fights are awful.

    There is no multiplayer. So once you beat the story, this game will go back to the shelf and collect dust. Charging $70 for a 6 hour game with no replay value is a cashgrab. The developers heavily advertised the power of the console's SSD with those portal level rings which is nothing more than a gimmick that gets old fast. How about they spend time actually improving the gameplay, instead of coming up with gimmicks. I recommend you pick this game up until it's like $5 or wait until it is free on PS Plus.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2021
    10
    After leaving the EBT box and buying a Playstation. I couldn't be happier. Ratchet contiues that trend. Great graphics, gameplay,After leaving the EBT box and buying a Playstation. I couldn't be happier. Ratchet contiues that trend. Great graphics, gameplay, replayability. 11/10 for me. Full Review »