Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. PLAY
    Jul 28, 2021
    70
    This psychically gifted title has a killer look and telekinetically wielded right hook. Unfortunately, it fails to read our mind and outstays its welcome. [Issue#4, p.75]
  2. Edge Magazine
    Jul 16, 2021
    70
    Scarlet Nexus' overstuffed story might be fixated on the human brain - and when you skittle a line of Others with a train, you'll be glad of that - but in these moments it recalls where its heart is, too. [Issue#361, p.114]
  3. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Even though the plot devolves into a trope-filled sludge pool by the end, I don’t feel like Scarlet Nexus was a waste of time. Yes, the excitement of combat begins to taper off towards the end of Scarlet Nexus’s twenty-odd-hour runtime--and the areas in the final stretch of the game feel overly long--but I had a good deal of fun mixing up my SAS abilities, crushing enemies in my Brain Field, and watching my team have a video game tournament at our base to settle an argument over living space boundaries. It might not be a new pinnacle of action-game storytelling, but Scarlet Nexus is still plenty of fun in the right places.
  4. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Scarlet Nexus is an enjoyable, polished action RPG, but despite its interesting concepts and setting, it all feels a bit stunted. An intriguing plot is hampered by sloppy storytelling, and the combat system is good fun, but it loses its edge long before the credits roll. If you can play past the game's flaws, there's a lot to like about the brain punk world of Scarlet Nexus — just don't expect it to rewire your own grey matter.
  5. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Scarlet Nexus lives and dies by its combat, which is a good thing, because the combat is great. It's fast, frantic, consistently enjoyable, grows progressively more complex, and feels surprisingly strategic on a very fundamental level. But in most other ways, the game fails to live up to its potential, most notably in how it fails to do justice to a good setting and solid world-building with uninteresting characters, a mindless narrative, and deeply flawed storytelling.
  6. Jun 23, 2021
    70
    If you’re after an anime-infused action romp in a similar vein to Akira or Sword Art Online, Scarlet Nexus is almost certainly worth a punt. However, there are a few caveats. Combat is excellent yet not without its flaws, while the story being told and characters you encounter don’t have nearly enough depth to feel emotionally resonant. The potential for something brilliant is here, but much like Code Vein before it, this is a game that seems determined to stop itself from achieving something truly special.
  7. Jun 23, 2021
    70
    Scarlet Nexus is an easy game to enjoy and a hard one to hate. It’s so unabashedly earnest about everything it set out to do that even with my issues I couldn’t help but reflect fondly back on my time playing. Most of what it tries to accomplish is done so adequately or successfully, which means a majority of what I had to discuss were parts that broke me out of the vibes presented to me. The combat is free form and incredibly creative, the visuals might be some of the finest to ever come from Bandai Namco, and the story is dense yet largely satisfying. There is fantastic framework in place now for a sequel, and I hope it sells enough so this team can continue to flesh out their vision.
  8. Jun 23, 2021
    70
    Similarly to Code Vein, Scarlet Nexus offers a compelling universe, a smart gameplay and a fascinating art direction, but is limited by asset recycling when it comes to enemies and locations, a confusing plot and little side content. Bandai Namco is off to a good start with new IP, but needs to improve under these production areas.
  9. Jun 23, 2021
    70
    Offering a lengthy adventure that you’ll need to play through twice if you want the full picture, Scarlet Nexus is entertaining enough. Due to numerous issues with its gameplay, however, it’s a game that’s carried by its story. It’s a shame really, because the world created here is genuinely interesting and unique; I’d certainly like to see more Scarlet Nexus games in the future, and will definitely check out the anime when it arrives on Netflix. But there were times throughout my adventure where the combat was irritating rather than fun, and traipsing through an environment just felt like a chore rather than an exciting foray into the unknown.
  10. Jun 23, 2021
    70
    A brilliant battle system is let down somewhat by the largely underwhelming side stories and meandering companions of Scarlet Nexus.
  11. Jun 23, 2021
    60
    If you like the sound of a deep RPG with extensive combat mechanics, Scarlet Nexus shouldn’t disappoint. If you are expecting something more akin to Devil May Cry, you might find the extensive storytelling gets in the way of the gameplay a little too much. With that said, you can still enjoy it if you’re not an anime connoisseur. There’s plenty of fun to be had for all players because it’s great once it gets going – but I fear it might lose people in its opening few hours.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 23, 2021
    Scarlet Nexus has surprised me. Not everything is perfect, but what I was most interested in it more than delivers. [Recommended]
  2. Jun 23, 2021
    Though I thought I knew what it was all about, Scarlet Nexus has consistently surprised me at every turn. Even though I played the demo—which showcased some of the various powers you could activate in combat—I did not expect combat to be as deep and varied as it is. No spoilers, but I’ve even found myself caught completely off-guard by plot twists at points. If the game keeps up the surprises, I’d be confident defending it as one of the greats. If it doesn’t, well, it’s been fun. [Impressions]
  3. Jun 23, 2021
    Scarlet Nexus has a colorful cast of characters and an impressive variety of gameplay mechanics, but for me, the unexpected cherry on top was its story. The chapters are very well-paced, and none of them overstays its welcome. 2021 is seeing quite a lot of JRPGs, with many of them being continuations of existing franchises or just remasters. But after having played through both of Scarlet Nexus’ storylines, I believe it has the potential to be a surprise hit this year for fans of the genre. Don’t let this brand-new futuristic brainpunk adventure slip past you.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 225
  1. Jun 26, 2021
    10
    Good plot, good characters, pretty good soundtrack and great combat. Level design is meh thought. If you like anime games, I'm sure you gonna love it!
  2. Jun 27, 2021
    7
    Very mediocre game. Basically the only gameplay is running through linear levels killing groups of enemies with "cut-scenes" in between. YouVery mediocre game. Basically the only gameplay is running through linear levels killing groups of enemies with "cut-scenes" in between. You also re-visit each location multiple times which is really tedious. The so called "side quests" are the worst of their kind as well, involving killing some enemies in some specific way to get some items as a reward. I'm not a big fan of the cut-scene design either, with them being just static images. It feels a bit cheap.

    The combat system also has deep flaws. The main one being the worst targeting system to date. It doesn't actually target the enemy but just locks the camera in the enemy direction, the character doesn't attack in the correct direction so you will still miss your attacks which is insanely frustrating. Throwing objects is also extremely glitchy as half of the time they get stuck in the environment and end up not being thrown, especially in tight areas like the hospital.

    Comparing this game to similar games like Astral Chain, this game falls really short. It's an okay game, but not more than that.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2021
    9
    One of the best Stories and Combat in Anime games!. The Comic book style of storytelling is hit or miss and kinda takes getting used toOne of the best Stories and Combat in Anime games!. The Comic book style of storytelling is hit or miss and kinda takes getting used to however the Cinematics that do happen is very well done and The writing and the twists and turns of the story is Excellently done! The combat Is absolutely brilliant and very well polished and has alot of thought put into it, also i love the Cast of characters! Biggest criticism is the level design is very meh most the time... Some absolutely beautiful areas but most are Okish or meh. Totally worth picking this up these devs deserve it tbh game is like 50 hours worth of story if ya play both stories (which has alot of differences to warrent the diff playthroughs. So this game is definitely a 9/10 for me. Hope More Anime games of this quality comes out! Full Review »