Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 95
    Sonic Origins is a fantastic celebration of 30 years of SEGA's spiky blue mascot, offering four of the best platformers money can buy and chucking in a bunch of great extras that long-time fans can appreciate. Regardless of where the Blue Blur head next, Sonic Origins is a reminder of just how damn good these timeless classics are.
  2. Jun 21, 2022
    95
    Sonic Origins is a definitive anniversary title that delivers everything I want from a series’ remaster. While a few more customization options and restored songs would’ve put it over the top, technical updates polish these four emeralds for a new generation.
  3. Jun 30, 2022
    90
    Sonic Origins brings great versions of legendary games from the Mega Drive era, Sonic 1, Sonic 2 Sonic 3 & Knuckles and even Sonic CDs are finally playable on the big screens again, with a lot of additional content and quality of life changes that old-school fans will appreciate. A couple of minor issues will eventually be patched but the only thing we can’t forgive is what they did with Sonic 3's music.
  4. Jun 28, 2022
    90
    Sonic Origins is the Sonic anthology that Sonic the Hedgehog fans, including myself, have been waiting for years to play. Being able to play the classic Sonic titles in their original glory AND in an updated fashion thanks to Anniversary Mode should make newer players’ journeys less perilous than the journeys we had on our Sega Genesis in the 90s. Sonic is more forgiving than ever. You’ll be hit with all the nostalgia from Sonic 1, 2, 3, and CD, although some of the content has been changed. I only wish that this content was taken one step further: More playable content and animations, please!
  5. Jun 23, 2022
    90
    These games look great and play better than they ever have in HD. But what else do you get? As far as extras, not a ton. You do get a small museum mode, a boss rush, and some bonus missions. But compared to, say, the 3D explorable world with its multiple media museums from Sonic Jam, it’s a bit bare. But, hey, I’m not really here for bonuses. I’m here for those four games. And a few oddities aside, these are fantastic remasters. Even if you’re a Sonic fan who already owns these games in other compilations, Origins is worth it.
  6. Jun 21, 2022
    90
    Sonic Origins takes us back to that time where it had strong competition from Nintendo's Mario Bros. This time we have four games adapted for this gen and the ability to play it with Sonic, Tails and Knuckles. This is the best way to enjoy these classics.
  7. Jun 21, 2022
    90
    Each Sonic game presented here in Sonic Origins has something that makes it stand out from the rest. But they all share a certain magic that means we return to them, time and time again, year after year; that's why this collection exists, after all. And it's thanks to this collection that yet more players, young and old, are going to be able to enjoy these classics. Hardcore Sonic fans will rue the music changes in Sonic 3, for sure, but everything else new or tweaked here is for the better. Sonic's 3D offerings over the years have been sketchy at best, but as long as we can still enjoy his origins, we'll love him regardless.
  8. Jun 29, 2022
    85
    While it’s not quite what I had hoped for, Sonic Origins is one of the best ways to play Sonic the Hedgehog, Sonic CD, Sonic 2, and Sonic 3 & Knuckles. The sprite art looks fantastic in widescreen and extras like animated cutscenes bookending each game are a delight.
  9. Jun 29, 2022
    85
    While I have my qualms with the way the graphical presentation is handled during gameplay, I have to commend Sonic Origins for delivering on its promise. It’s a great collection, and one that got me passionate about the series again — immediately after playing, I downloaded Sonic Mania, Sonic Colors, and Sonic Forces to keep riding this high. With any luck, Sega continues the trend with other classics.
  10. Jun 23, 2022
    85
    Sonic Origins is a must-have collection for fans old and new of the lightning-fast SEGA icon. The collection is designed to pay homage to and celebrate the beloved blue hedgehog, as well as to readjust the visual presentation without sacrificing the exquisitely vintage taste of the classic. The work of revising the original format in 16: 9 is nothing short of commendable, while the content offer - which offers different and intriguing replayability solutions - seemed abundant and adequate to the list price. The only blemish on the operation in our opinion is the decision to package some additional content in the form of paid DLC. A very questionable distribution choice which, however, given the cost at which it is proposed, we feel we can partly justify.
  11. Jun 21, 2022
    85
    Sonic Origins does justice to Sonic's legacy, telling his story through its distinctive game mechanics and new animations that refresh the iconic formula. The games feel the way you remember them, with perhaps more precise controls. The different game modes in Sonic Origins will allow you to get out of the routine and give yourself a moment of fun and nostalgia.
  12. Jun 21, 2022
    85
    While the music changes and audio mishaps are disappointing, the Sonic Origins package is terrific overall. Having the best versions of the classic Sonic saga in one bundle is supremely satisfying, and Anniversary Mode’s enhancements make the experience of playing through them more enjoyable than ever before. Even in a gaming landscape where most of these games are already available to download on every platform, Sonic Origins is a worthwhile package.
  13. Jun 22, 2022
    84
    As a compilation, it's not as complete as we would have loved, but what you get here is a pretty solid update to classic games. Good control, vibrant graphics and some interesting extras keep our interest.
  14. Jun 27, 2022
    83
    Sonic Collection is not only a (guess what?) collection of the first games featuring the blue hedgehog and friends cleverly remastered and with an improved gameplay, but it’s also a long platformer – if we consider the Story mode which will take us by hand through all four chapters – which I would recommend also to those who are unfamiliar with the franchise and are simply looking for a fun and fast paced game with colorful graphics and an awesome level design where there’s always something new to discover. Highly recommended both for Sonic lovers and newcomers.
  15. Jun 21, 2022
    83
    It’s hard not to feel the rush of nostalgia as Sonic and friends race through the Green Hill Zone – and I mean that in a good way. If you can ignore everything that came after these games – some good, lots of bad – and just focus on what’s here, it’s not hard to understand how these games became so iconic, and why Sega has spent so many years chasing after these same highs. The four games in Sonic Origins are clearly some of the best platformers the early ‘90s have to offer, and there are just enough tweaks and additions that even if you’ve given up on the series ever reaching these highs again, there’s still ample reason to revisit them one more time.
  16. 80
    Sonic Origins keeps the focus on the hedgehog's early core entries, polishing them up to a fine sheen and creating an addictive ecosystem around them that breathes new life into each title. There are a few missteps and grubby mechanics to forgive, but otherwise this is well worth diving into for old-school Sonic fans.
  17. Jun 24, 2022
    80
    Despite being let down by egregious DLC and some lacking options, Sonic Origins stands tall as a collection of four absolute classics. Feeling like they haven’t aged a day, each game has its own flair and ideas, but they all still work together to form something magical, as each game’s design makes speeding through every level incredibly enjoyable. Curious new players owe it to themselves to try Origins, but series veterans won’t find nearly as much on offer.
  18. Jun 24, 2022
    80
    Sonic Origins goes all-out in paying tribute to the iconic franchise's early years.
  19. Jun 23, 2022
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  20. Jun 21, 2022
    80
    The four games contained in Sonic Origins are excellent. More than 30 years later, they've aged quite well, and Sonic Origins is the best possible way to revisit them, or play them for the very first time. Playing all four games, I was taken aback by how Sonic Team was able to make each game feel distinctive. However, after all the reissues some of these games seen, long-time Sonic fans will have to decide if the collection's extras and changes are worth the price of admission. Of course, now that Sonic Origins has been released, I sincerely hope that Sega offers similar packages for other Sonic games. If the company ever decides to give the Sonic Advance games a similar treatment, I'll be first in line.
  21. Jun 21, 2022
    80
    Sonic Origins is a collection of classic Sonic games at their best. Extras such as missions, animated cut-scenes and Sonic 3 & Knuckles "remastered" in 16:9 also appeal mainly to those who already know the original games. However, the price is very high for what the package offers and is far from being a definitive collection.
  22. Jun 21, 2022
    80
    Sonic Origins isn't a comprehensive collection of Sonic games, as some of the 16-bit entries are missing. It also isn't the definitive version of these games, especially since the music for Sonic the Hedgehog 3 seems to be the sticking point for re-releases. What you have are four games that add a good deal of quality-of-life changes without changing anything else that made the Sonic games classics in the first place. If you can get over the initial asking price and confusion over the versions and are a fan of the older Sonic games, this one is worth a spin.
  23. Jun 21, 2022
    80
    Sonic Origins is not only an excellent trip down memory lane for fans of the series, it’s also the perfect entry point for those looking to play them for the very first time. The games are all as beautiful as ever and control like a dream. There are also a plethora of bonus goodies that celebrate the iconic artwork and music of the platforming series. While it’s easy to get caught up in arguments about the current direction of the Sonic IP, Sonic Origins is a refreshing reminder that the original games are among the best 2D platformers ever made.
  24. Jun 27, 2022
    78
    The 16:9 format in anniversary mode provides a much better overview when playing, the performance is great, unlimited lives in anniversary mode prevent frustration for newcomers and the numerous extras such as the 60 challenge missions, the new intro and outro cutscenes, the mirror mode that can be unlocked and the museum mode fit in well. Sadly Tails' AI isn’t very reliable, a few features known from fan-remakes are missing (like a save-state function) and the two DLC packages leave a stale aftertaste. What remains is a not error-free, but nevertheless entertaining collection of Sonic hits.
  25. Jun 21, 2022
    75
    An exciting journey through time, Sonic Origins gets it right by including four of the most important games of the Sonic series in one collection for the new generation of consoles. Nostalgia will hit you and it's gonna be a lot of fun for those who love the most famous hedgehog in the world.
  26. Jun 29, 2022
    70
    Sonic Origins does an excellent job with its presentation, bonus content, and modernizations of classic games. On the other hand, I wish more games were included even if they didn't get the royal treatment that the 4 titles here did.
  27. Jun 24, 2022
    70
    A competent but flawed compilation of the four best Sonic the Hedgehog games, which adds a half-hearted modern twist to the classic games.
  28. Jun 21, 2022
    70
    Sega is straight-up hooked on compilations. Their old catalogue has come out on everything from the PS2 to the Mini Genesis. You almost certainly own half the games in this collection several times over. On the other hand, Sonic 3 and Sonic CD are two terrific games that deserve your attention. Plus, Sega has done an admirable job in filling this collection with bonus content. And we can't overlook the accessibility win that is Anniversary Mode. While there are a lot of old Sonic games that deserve this treatment more, Sonic Origins has earned a place of sorts. If you're looking for a glittery shrine to Sonic's 2D era, this collection has got you covered.
  29. Jun 21, 2022
    70
    Sonic Origins presents four of the hedgehog's best games with style, and it's a joy to revisit these iconic platformers. Presentational flourishes like the animated cutscenes, as well as a host of extra modes like Boss Rush and Missions, give fans and newcomers alike plenty to see and do, and the Museum is full of interesting artwork you might not have seen before. Some stingy DLC practices let the side down, and of course, the games themselves have some 30-year-old weaknesses, but this is by-and-large a wonderful spin down memory lane.
  30. Jun 23, 2022
    65
    Sonic Origins does well by Sega’s classics, but only to a point. While the action feels true to the 16-bit originals, an abbreviated list of games, lack of features and archival goodies, and frustrating crashes keep this collection a step short of greatness. Hardcore Sonic fans looking to relive some of the hedgehog’s best games in widescreen HD ought to have fun, but others may wish Sega had reached harder for that shiny gold ring.
  31. Jun 21, 2022
    65
    There are a few situations where you should still jump on Sonic Origins.
  32. Jun 29, 2022
    60
    Sonic Origins is a bit of a disappointment. As a massive Sonic fan, it kills me to say it but it’s true. Sure, the games collected here are undeniably great titles in their own right. But they are no better than the originals which can be found for little or no cost elsewhere already. Sonic 3 and Knuckles is considerably worse both in gameplay as well as its new soundtrack and most of the unlockable content in the Museum can be found easily via other means. For gamers that have never played Sonic and are averse to obtaining these titles on other platforms, you likely will not be as disappointed as I was, but I think SEGA and Sonic Team could have gone a little further and given these titles the proper Sonic Mania treatment. In fact, if you are new to Sonic go for the Mania instead.
  33. Jun 28, 2022
    60
    Sonic is the hero of my childhood! I grew up with 2D platformers and my Mega Drive with games is now well protected in a glass cabinet in the living room. Accordingly, I approached Sonic Origins with hope. Sega would have had the chance to interest younger players and offer old fans a little added value. But they missed it cleanly. For new players, 40 euros for four old games will be too much. At the same time, the collection offers almost nothing new for fans. Sure, the scans of the old manuals and developer sketches are nice, but they are nothing more than some fluff on top. The versions of the games work good on PS 5 and still play fantastically, but they are only warmed up and nothing here is original from the Mega Drive. This is simply unworthy of these classics of gaming history.
  34. Jun 21, 2022
    60
    As much as there are some modifications that might make the game more appealing to newer players, Sonic Origins is undoubtedly something designed for long-time fans, especially those who just want to have access to the classic games on the current platforms, without much concern for changes. If you, like me, can't even remember a time in your life when Sonic didn't exist, the collection can be a nice, if somewhat a simple, gift. For the rest of us, it might not seem interesting at all.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 21, 2022
    Sonic Origins' issues may have been excusable at a lower price point. But this little content at $40, plus a gouging-by-DLC headache, moves our call from "maybe" to "nope."
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49
  1. Jun 24, 2022
    10
    This is a great collection re release of 4 great games. The new features/additions of boss rush, mission modes, anniversary mode and theThis is a great collection re release of 4 great games. The new features/additions of boss rush, mission modes, anniversary mode and the additional playable characters and museum all make it worth buying in my opinion even though I already own the original 4 games on their original consoles. My one and only disappointment is the reduced screen size if you want to play the classic versions but it's not even a big deal and just takes a bit of getting used to. A 100% superior re release of old Sonic games over Sonic Colors Ultimate, for sure. Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2022
    2
    Lo que han hecho con esta recopilación es una falta de respeto a los jugadores que llevan apoyando esta saga desde hace años.
  3. Jun 26, 2022
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Lo del sonido no tiene nombre , es tal la comprensión de sonido del juego que con los auriculares parece MP3 super comprimido , nada que ver con Sonic mania o el original Sonic CD o megadrive cuando te ponías los cascos , una vergüenza lo bajo y comprimido que se oye .El juego no luce mal pero se notan las prisas , espero un parche para el sonido lo tengo también en swchit y pasa lo mismo , es vergonzoso lo del sonido. Full Review »