Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 100
    Tetris Effect: Connected is as essential as it ever was and its PSVR2 debut adds yet more polish and immersive features to what was already the best Tetris game money can buy. I would award Tetris Effect: Connected more than ten out of ten I could, but I can't, so here we are. Buy it.
  2. Feb 22, 2023
    100
    Tetris Effect: Connected is an essential game on whatever platform it is and its arrival on PlayStation 5 is no exception. In fact, if we are lucky enough to have PlayStation VR2 to enjoy its virtual reality proposal with all the advantages that this device brings, we will have access to what we believe to be the best and definitive version of this masterpiece. An unparalleled audiovisual and playable experience that, moreover, can now boast of being more complete than ever thanks to the inclusion of new modes and variants in all its incarnations. Without a doubt, the perfect Tetris.
  3. Feb 21, 2023
    100
    Among the very best PSVR2 games the platform has to offer.
  4. Mar 6, 2023
    90
    In summary, Tetris Effect: Connected is the easiest game to recommend, with just a couple of exceptions; In its purest form, it is Tetris, first and foremost, and from an aesthetic standpoint, it is a beautiful showcase of what VR games can achieve, almost perfectly now thanks to the improved performance and power of the PSVR2. But for those who have already played the previous version ad nauseum and/or don’t own a PSVR2 (much less a PS5, as the console can still be tricky to find), it may not be worth the upgrade price, even if it is relatively cheap. Those two caveats aside, this is a must-have game that will impress even the most hesitant of folks over the unique experience of VR gaming.
  5. Mar 2, 2023
    90
    A nifty new feature utilises PSVR2's eye-tracking; close your eyes for about a second, and when you open them again, you'll enter the game's Zone state. You can still just press a button to enable it, but it's pretty cool you can use a simple gesture like this for gameplay purposes. Aside from that, this is the same great spin on Tetris we all know and love. Fantastic music is paired with vibrant, sumptuous visuals, and together they take this nearly 40-year-old game to a new level, whether you play it in PSVR2 or on your telly.
  6. Feb 22, 2023
    90
    As we said in our original review of Tetris Effect: Connected, this is perhaps the best that Tetris will ever be. And in VR, that couldn’t be more true. On paper, “Tetris in VR” doesn’t sound all that great, and if you’ve never played Tetris Effect before, it’s a hard sell. But spend just five minutes inside this incredible experience, and you’ll never look back.
  7. Feb 21, 2023
    90
    It’s crazy to say that Tetris, a game from 1984, feels brand new, but with Tetris Effect: Connected and a dash of virtual reality, it really does. The new single players offer a handful of new modes beyond simply trying to set a high score, and the multiplayer provides an ever-expanding set of new ways to play. It’s a worthy addition to the PSVR2 launch lineup.
  8. Feb 28, 2023
    82
    Tetris Effect: Connected PSVR2 is a culmination of everything since the original released in 2018 and the fact that it looks so awesome thanks to PlayStation VR2 means that it's by far the best way to experience it yet. Oh, and the new modes are cool, too.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Mar 11, 2023
    2
    I don’t like the extra payment I need to make as an owner to get the upgrade. It is still the same game. To offer an usual update as a wholeI don’t like the extra payment I need to make as an owner to get the upgrade. It is still the same game. To offer an usual update as a whole new version isn’t wort any rating more than 2. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2023
    2
    fun game but later comes repetitive and then i got bored. The music is nice but idk its tetris. I mean casual game and repetitive.
  3. Mar 22, 2023
    8
    Can’t go wrong with Tetris, super fun and satisfying
    Kinda cringe music but it’s good music