Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 111 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 111
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 21, 2022
    100
    While the price point might detract some gamers, The Last of Us Part 1 needs to be checked out. If you already played the original game a bunch of times, there's still a lot of value present. Players that haven't experienced one of the best games of all time should buy the definitive way to play this masterpiece.
  2. Sep 2, 2022
    100
    Almost 10 years after its initial release The Last of Us remains a masterpiece, a game so important and unique that has no match. And it got even better with its new "coat of paint".
  3. The Last of Us never needed fixing. Everything from combat to crafting has aged remarkably well. Still, it never hurts to polish perfection. And this beautifully enhanced edition works hard to ensure Naughty Dog’s masterpiece will remain my favourite video game for some time to come.
  4. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    No matter from which point of view, The Last Of Us Part 1 can be called a masterpiece. Naughty Dog has reconstructed a generation of classics with new technology, making this old game great again.
  5. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    In many cases, it’s hard to step back to a older game from a previous generation when you are spoiled with the latest release such as The Last of Us Part II. To be able to go back to the original The Last of Us with a very close visual retelling to the top notch sequel is nothing short of magnificent.
  6. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    While it’s certainly disappointing to see The Last Of Us return without its iconic multiplayer, Factions, players are so incredibly fortunate to get to re-experience a game that is widely considered one of the all-time greats, remade from top to bottom, and given the tender love, and care that it deserves. Every pore is as it should be, every texture perfected, and every moment, something to savour. Many will look at The Last Of Us Part I and consider it an unnecessary investment from Sony, the original still looks great – but Naughty Dog have pulled off the impossible in making the definitive video game of the last decade, somehow, even better, and in doing so they’ve also opened it up to millions of new players, of a variety of needs and levels of experience. It turns out that you can improve upon perfection.
  7. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The work here should be used as a showcase for how to redevelop legacy products for a new generation. I would have liked to have seen it priced slightly lower, as I fear some gamers may be put off paying full-whack for a nine-year-old storyline. That said, if you really want to see what the PS5 is capable of when pushed, this is your game. And if you’re new to this series, this must be your next purchase.
  8. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us Part 1 is the definitive version of Naughty Dog's masterpiece of the PS3 era. Although it does not include the new gameplay mechanics from Part 2, like dodging or crawling, the game still feels modern and the story is still one of the best in video game history. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and because of the new facial animations Part 1 is even more emotional than the original. Thanks to the Features of the Dualsense controller and 3D Audio is is also more immersive. The Last of Us has always been a special experience and now it is one for the new generation as well.
  9. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    If this wasn’t a remake, I firmly believe it would be right at the top of Game of the Year articles as we assess things over a bit of Christmas Pudding. The PS5 has had some brilliant games already, no doubt, but as a fan of The Last of Us, Part 1 is my new favourite exclusive on the console. If you dislike Naughty Dog games, nothing here is going to change your views, but existing Doggers (yes, I’m using it) will lap this up and appreciate the work that’s gone into it.
  10. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    If we were to judge Part I only as a remake which isn't bringing anything gameplay or story-wise, the score would be 70. But at the end of the day, the Naughty Dog masterpiece is getting its best version yet so it couldn't be anything else than a perfect 10.
  11. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    Naughty Dog delivers again with its timeless masterclass narrative experience, this time rebuilt from the ground up following contemporary gaming standards. With modern graphics and unparalleled performance, The Last of Us Part I is the definitive way to enjoy the multilayered and complex story of Joel and Ellie. It remains a genre-bending action survival game that challenges the status-quo by weaving together multiple elements. An expanded array of accessibility options, gameplay modifiers, and extra modes allows this remake to be experienced by anyone from any background and that’s not an easy feat.
  12. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us Part 1 is the definitive version of one of our medium’s defining works. Nine years ago Naughty Dog crafted a masterpiece. Now, they have updated it for a slightly more modern sensibilities, putting Part 1 in line with The Last of Us Part 2. The wealth of accessibility options remove numerous barriers of entry for players so that an even wider audience can appreciate this story of loss and triumph. The emotional gut punches sting even harder with overhauled visuals, bringing these tragic characters closer than ever to their astounding real-life performances. The Last of Us Part 1 is the timeless game we have all loved for years, now shining in an even brighter light.
  13. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    No matter where you stand in the debate, The Last of Us Part 1 is a real punch in the gut. With an outstanding technical performance, a remarkable overhaul of an outdated gameplay, a sublimated atmosphere, even more poignant cinematics and more realistic environments, the remake is more striking and visceral than ever. Naughty Dog offers a familiar and yet fresh look at this cult game. A full-fledged next-gen game, unchanged in its content but transcended by its form, which deserves to be rediscovered sooner or later.
  14. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us Part 1 is a remarkable remake that proves its worth very quickly. It is carefully faithful to the original script but passionately keen to improve the experience where it can, by honing in on the emotional resonance of its most effective scenes while elevating the thrilling brutality of its combat. This is one of gaming’s most incredible stories made definitive. Even the greatest sceptic of its legacy may not be able to resist its charming characters, airtight mechanics and thematic nuance. The Last of Us Part 1 is a beautiful, accessible entry point for newcomers and a victory lap for fans. Don’t miss it.
  15. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us Part I is a technological marvel, making Naughty Dog's classic story of survival better than it has ever been before. The visuals are sublime as is the audio, and all of the other changes make this well worth playing all over again.
  16. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    Unforgettable characters, sky-high stakes, nail-biting action, and impeccable pacing make The Last of Us Part I a superlative gaming experience in every possible sense.
  17. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    Although it doesn't bring as many new features as one might expect from a remake, The Last of Us Part I is an absolute and sublime spectacle from start to finish. It retains all the best qualities that made it aN absolute success in its original release and it improves on the technical details that add value to this visceral and impactful journey.
  18. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us Part 1 is a truly stunning remake that significantly heightens the immersion of one of the best games ever made with denser environments, more realistic gameplay, and beautiful remastered visuals.
  19. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    Taken as a whole, The Last of Us Part 1 is a very human tale that feels just as vital as ever. And with this faithful remake, here's hoping that a new generation of gamers will get to experience one of the best games ever created. Period.
  20. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    $70 is a steep mountain to climb. But, if you want to play the very best version of one of the greatest games that has ever been made, then The Last Of Us Part 1 is a triumph.
  21. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us is an amazing game with a powerful story and visceral and unforgettable characters. All this is sublimated with this remake which offers stunning visuals but also more modern and more accessible gameplay, not to mention the Audio and DulaSense functions which make everything even more immersive. A monumental masterpiece, and even more so today.
  22. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    Sure, this might be the third time that Naughty Dog has released The Last of Us, but it’s also the most fully realized version. The enhanced visuals and animation bring Joel and Ellie’s story to life in a way that was previously unimaginable, and the gameplay still holds up, despite not totally catching up to Part II. Whether or not you want to pay to play the same story for a third time is up to you, but that won’t change the fact that it’s better than it’s ever been.
  23. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    The Last of Us Part 1 doesn’t create any lasting memories about the experiences that weren’t already there from the beginning. For that reason, my thoughts about the game’s existence as a product remain dubious. But as a creative work in and of itself, The Last of Us is still exceptional, and I’m happy to have had reason to experience it again, in a new context and an updated format.
  24. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    With this remake, Naughty Dog has made one of the best games of all time even better. While you may look at screenshots or snippets of video footage and think that it looks and plays just like you remember it, go back to an older version and you'll realise just how much work has been done here. Yes, The Last of Us Remastered still holds up well, and you can stick with it if you like, but for newcomers and ardent fans The Last of Us Part I is a treat that's worth every penny. It would be one thing if this emotional rollercoaster was just as captivating now as it was nine years ago. But in fact, it's even more so. And that's an impressive achievement.
  25. Sep 1, 2022
    96
    The Last of Us Part 1 is an outstanding remake on the PlayStation 5 that is not only beautiful to play but filled with emotion.
  26. Aug 31, 2022
    96
    The Last of Us - Part 1 is a complete overhaul of a masterpiece, simply the best that Naughty Dog could do with the original game
  27. Aug 31, 2022
    95
    The Last of Us Part I is not an extremely extensive remake like Resident Evil 2 or 3, but also certainly not a mockery in the vein of XIII or Warcraft III: Reforged. With a lot of love and dedication, the game has been aligned with the graphics and, to a lesser extent, the gameplay of The Last of Us Part II, making the two games a perfect match. Ideal if you haven't played both yet, and otherwise only worth buying for the biggest fans and rich tattoos.
  28. Aug 31, 2022
    95
    I'm sorry - I'm not joining the whole "70 USD" debate and instead focusing on the remake itself which is still the same game from 2013, but probably the best way you can play it. The new graphics and animations are simply superb and the game does provide some incentive to play it again, which is always welcomed. In short, The Last of Us Part I is simply a great game - though if you had enough of The Last of Us, it's really not a must-buy title.
  29. Aug 31, 2022
    95
    Remake or remaster? Since its announcement last June, the name for the redesign of The Last of Part 1 has been debated among players and even internally between Sony Interactive Entertainment and Naughty Dog. At Jeuxactu, we defend the fact that it is indeed a remake, certainly not as complete as some titles can be that are reworked 20/30 years later, but there are enough visual changes to use the correct term. Too bad that Sony Interactive Entertainment (finally Jim Ryan especially) makes players pay a high price. Because hey, 80€, it's just abused.
  30. Aug 31, 2022
    95
    I am still not sure how to feel about Remakes, especially about a Remake, which we already had a Remaster of. But I know The Last of Us is a masterpiece; whether it's a Remake or a Remaster. There are only a handful of games that could make me feel this entertained and emotional (and occasionally fill my eyes with tears) at the same time. This is one of them.
  31. Aug 31, 2022
    92
    The remake of The Last of Us: Part I on PlayStation 5 brings Naughty Dog's beloved classic to the same level of technical quality as its sequel and other flagship titles of this new generation Sony, making the two experiences much more homogeneous between them, with an eye towards the improvement of AI and many options for accessibility. If you have so far missed the opportunity to immerse yourself in this apocalyptic world with Joel and Ellie, this is certainly the best time to make up for it. As long as you are willing to spend.
  32. Aug 31, 2022
    92
    The Last of Us is still a masterpiece, and the PS5 remake looks truly "next gen". There are some gameplay improvements and new game modes, but it is not enough to buy the game for the third time if we already played the original and the PS4 remaster.
  33. Aug 31, 2022
    92
    The Last of Us is still a great survival-action game with a captivating story, intense action and two of the best main characters you've ever seen. The new version looks mostly amazing and quiet deserves being considered as a PS5 native. But because it remains the same game experience at its core, first and foremost The Last of Us: Part 1 is interesting for people who did not play the original before or who are hardcore fans of the series.
  34. Aug 31, 2022
    91
    The Last of Us Part 1 is an excellent remake of a PS3 milestone that doesn't quite go the final mile in a few spots.
  35. Sep 18, 2022
    90
    Retelling a bittersweet story, the remake of the 1st part of The Last of Us feels like a full budget AAA product, and can nail you to your chair for hours with its stunning new visuals and brutal gameplay.
  36. 90
    Nearly a decade later, The Last Of Us remains the absolute gold standard for storytelling in video games. While some may question the need for an outright remake, this is an absolutely essential experience for newcomers and one that more than warrants a look from returning players.
  37. Sep 1, 2022
    90
    This is the best game for players who want to feel the impression of the original once again with improved graphics. It delivers the nostalgic impression we have all experienced beyond time with outstanding narratives and enhanced facial expressions of the characters. However, the fully priced game despite the same story in 9 years can make you think twice before buying it.
  38. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    This remake reveals the secret of Naughty Dog's latest success, the way it has perfected its gameplay model, without ever neglecting the cinematic element. The story remains central to the experience in The Last of Us Part 1, but taking everything it learned from the second part, the studio gives us a true masterclass in set pieces of action and emotionality. We go through scene after scene totally immersed in Joel and Ellie and their quest, as if to "live a movie" that we no longer remember, even though we know how it will end.
  39. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    Even though it doesn’t provide the gameplay overhaul that some gamers were no doubt anticipating, The Last of Us Part 1 is still the best way to enjoy one of the most intelligent and well designed games of recent memory. The updated visuals helps to breathe new life into the story, and the world it presents has never felt more immersive. And that’s before considering the plethora of accessibility features on hand, enabling swathes of gamers to play the game for the first time and see what all the fuss is about.
  40. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The remake brings huge changes in terms of graphics, the gameplay has remained the same in many ways. Some imperfections could definitely be improved, but it is still a great game that still has a hard time finding a competitor. You will definitely enjoy this experience. And it doesn't matter if you're a veteran or if it's your first time with The Last of Us.
  41. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    I love Joel and Ellie's story, but it was so intensive that I didn't need to go through it again. However, I envy those who will get to know this game now for the very first time. The Last of Us: Part I is a terrific "remaster of a remaster" that guarantees an even better and more immersive experience.
  42. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    Joel's redemption is bittersweet, and come the end credits, you may wonder what it was all for. I know I did the first time around, but with the benefit of time on my back, I've come to appreciate the nuanced storytelling that much more, and for me, that's where The Last of Us: Part 1 finds its worth; it's the best possible version of Naughty Dog's best ever game.
  43. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us may not have needed a remake, but there's no denying the sheer quality of it. Its visuals, from the environment to the character models, look like they're plucked directly from a movie. The new lighting and shadows make for a more realistic experience, without completely changing the atmosphere. Its gameplay, especially the shooting, still needs some fine-tuning, but every improvement just serves to make a near-perfect game even better.
  44. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    That leads to The Last of Us Part I being both the best version of the game and also extremely difficult to recommend unless money is not a concern. The Last of Us has aged well enough that you don't lose a ton playing the Remastered version, unlike the similar remake Demon's Souls, which took a cult PS3 game that many people had never played and gave it a modern updated release. If you're willing to wait for a price drop or sale, Part I becomes far more appealing because it is a wonderful improvement to an already impressive game. Aside from cost, there's no reason to go back to the older versions, and The Last of Us remains one of the best games in the Sony library.
  45. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The price is really abusive, at least in Mexico. Nobody should pay 1,799 MXN for a video game. The best thing you can do is look for the best deal in the not too distant future, because there is no point in paying those prices when the console will also soon go up in price.
  46. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I is a great remake. It's not a job like Final Fantasy VII Remake or Resident Evil 2, and that's fine. It is a different experience. For everyone who loved the original game, returning to this adventure, especially with the sequel in mind, is a very worthwhile feeling, while everyone who plans to experience Joel and Ellie's journey for the first time through this version, you will have in your hands the definitive version of the best Naughty Dog game.
  47. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    A very faithful remake of a masterpiece that, with virtually no significant changes, makes it more spectacular and enjoyable than ever.
  48. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I is a game that adapts its excellence to the current generation and goes way further than any simple remastered game. Regardless of its age, it is still a masterful game with the excellent combination of its history, gameplay and, above all, the improvements with the DualSense. It's a good way to start the saga if you haven't played any of the previous games.
  49. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us: Part I updates the original adventure of Joel and Ellie in audiovisual and playable terms, beyond what many of us expected when its development was announced. Enhancing its emotional side and improving the gameplay. In addition, it comes with some other juicy extra for anyone who likes to delve into the development of the work. So this version becomes, in its own right, the best way to enjoy The Last of Us and Left Behind.
  50. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    In some instances, a remake can feel like a brand new game, but that isn’t entirely the case here. The Last of Us Part 1 is no doubt a better-looking game and the DualSense functionality adds some nice immersive touches to the gameplay, but it doesn’t feel fundamentally different. There’s an exceptional game on display but it was exceptional back in 2013 and 2014 for the remaster. As a result, interest in the game is going to be all over the place. Some will see it as a cash-grab, others will be happy it exists for the new fans that will come from the HBO series, and specific fans will appreciate yet another opportunity to journey with Joel and Ellie in an experience that is one of PlayStation’s best.
  51. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part 1 doesn’t take many risks and ends up being an excellent but ultimately conservative remake.
  52. 90
    If you can fling yourself over the price hurdle, The Last of Us Part 1 is absolutely the best version of the single-player game. The environments look superb, the characters are rendered perfectly, and the gameplay remains super satisfying. What’s more, the game has been opened up to a wider audience with a comprehensive suite of accessibility settings, and veteran players can sweat it out in the Permadeath and Speedrun modes. The price tag is cheeky, undoubtedly, but if anyone can pull off this wallet heist, it’s Naughty Dog with The Last of Us.
  53. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    A gorgeous and well-honed remake of one of the biggest boppers in the PlayStation pantheon, The Last of Us Part I is the best way to play – or replay – Naughty Dog’s esteemed survival classic. The striking improvements it makes to its completely rebuilt world are complemented by the subtle refinements of its characters’ performances, and while it isn’t retrofitted with every one of the sequel’s best changes, the upgrades to movement and AI make a welcome difference in an already outstanding game. It’s harder to argue it was an entirely crucial remake, though, considering 2014’s The Last of Us Remastered still stands head and shoulders above nearly all of its story-driven, action-adventure peers to this day.
  54. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I is a beautiful thing to behold, honouring your recollection by surpassing it.
  55. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    When the credits rolled on both The Last of Us Part I and Left Behind , I was left with a burning desire to jump straight into Part II - which tells me that Part I succeeded in exactly what it set out to do. I became completely reinvested in the franchise. Fans will find no better way to experience this story, and first-time players are likely to discover a new all-time favourite.
  56. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    Sitting somewhere between remake and remaster, the asking price is steep, but The Last of Us Part 1 is a beautiful version of one of PlayStation’s best ever games.
  57. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I represents the logical quality improvement of the original game, bringing it up to the same caliber as its sequel without making too many radical changes and completely removing the multiplayer. But, if you haven't yet experienced the world of The Last of Us, this release is a great time to do so.
  58. Revisiting it now really is like watching an old favorite movie again. Its earnestness ensures a timelessness to the story that too many other games miss when they try to seize a moment in time. The written dialogue still shines, and the performances still sing.
  59. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part 1 goes far beyond the sterile debate about the price and the real nature of this remake. The work done by Naughty Dog is majestic and involves every single aspect of the game: from the combat to the artificial intelligence, passing through the enemies and every single menu and interface on the screen. And as if this were not enough, the new technical aspect is stunning, reaching peaks, especially for what concerns the faces and the facial animations, which still today we do not find in other videogame productions.
  60. 90
    There's no denying that The Last of Us Part I might be a tough sell to folks who expected a reworked content offering in line with the overhauled audiovisual presentation and other technical advances. For those with accessibility needs, the lucky few who have yet to experience The Last of Us at all or even just the number of players who want to immerse themselves in the ultimate form of Naughty Dog's opus, The Last of Us Part I makes a more than compelling case for its existence and stands shoulder to shoulder with the best games on PS5.
  61. 90
    The Last of Us Part I is, for all intents and purposes, the same The Last of Us that you know. It doesn’t take liberties to completely reshape the experience and nor should it. It does, however, smartly enhance the original’s combat through A.I. advancements, and drags the original’s production values over the line to create a product that can stand unified with its more polished sequel. The Last Of Us: Part I is without doubt the most definitive version of The Last of Us on the market.
  62. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    For players who adore the series and want to experience Joel and Ellie’s adventure remade for PS5, or for those who were unable to play the original due to a lack of accessibility options, The Last of Us Part 1 is a must-play game. However, for those who already own the remaster, the price tag may be too much to swallow.
  63. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    An impressively gorgeous remake of a bonafide masterpiece. Just don't expect that hefty price tag to bring much more than cosmetic feeling changes to this emotional narrative.
  64. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    Worthy of being hailed as a potential Game of the Generation when it was first released, The Last of Us Part I is fully remade for a new generation of PlayStation consoles. With some of Naughty Dog's best graphical tech to date, this is one you'll have to see to believe.
  65. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    While the original will always have its place in the hearts of many players, The Last of Us Part I is the definitive way to experience the beginning of Joel and Ellie’s journey, even if the price is a little steep.
  66. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    Naughty Dog have created a masterpiece of a remake in The Last of Us Part 1. All of the emotion and action has been brought to the PS5 in stunning fashion.
  67. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I finds a way to make an already incredible game even better. It may not be the most needed remake in the landscape of gaming, and I can't fault anyone for not wanting to pay full price for the experience, but it's undeniable just how much work has gone into this release. Phenomenal graphics, superb sound design, immersive DuelSense controller features, beneficial gameplay tweaks, and the best suite of accessibility features found in gaming. The Last of Us Part I is a must-play title for anyone still yet to experience Joel and Ellie's story.
  68. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The best thing I can say about The Last of Us Part 1 is that it meets Naughty Dog's previous claim: this is absolutely the definitive edition of the game. Not only do the improved graphics, lighting, and animations make for a better throughline experience, but they also add more emotional resonance to Joel and Ellie's story than ever before. In the brief history of the PS5, The Last of Us Part 1 is one of the most visually impressive games that I've played so far and it makes me that much more excited to see what Naughty Dog does with its next wholly new project for the platform.
  69. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I shows that Naughty Dog’s gritty action game is still an enduring classic that hasn’t aged a day. Though that’s largely because Sony won’t allow it to, as evidenced by a mostly superfluous remake that doesn’t meaningfully improve on the game’s perfectly modern (and much cheaper) 2014 remaster. However, the project does once again push the industry forward in an important way: by raising the bar for accessibility in gaming’s past, present, and future.
  70. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    Did we really need it? Nope. Is it too expensive? Yes, it is. But who cares, it's a game of eternal beauty, and after this graphic overhaul it still wins against the majority of "new" triple A games on the market. Hands down.
  71. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part 1 is a game that doesn’t feel like it needs to exist, but I’m glad it does. Even though that outdated 2013 design still bleeds through, the visual upgrades, combat tweaks and accessibility improvements makes it feel like a brand new title. In time, this will become the de facto definitive edition of the game that will be enjoyed for generations to come.
  72. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part 1 proves to be a visual and technical treat on the PS5, but still plays just like the original.
  73. Aug 31, 2022
    90
    The Last of Us Part I masterfully recaptures what made the original release so special, and thanks to the improved flow of both visuals and gameplay, the journey is better than ever.
  74. Sep 5, 2022
    85
    If it’s been some time since you played the original or if you never played it at all, The Last of Us Part 1 is totally worth its price considering it’s the best way to experience its wonder. Otherwise it just reads like a bestselling book with an updated cover.
  75. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    An unnecesary remake, perhaps, but a pleasurable one and a good way to discover a masterpiece.
  76. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    A ten for one of the best games in history. An eight and a half scoring only what this game is supposed to be as a remake of The Last of Us released 10 years ago. If it is your first approach to the saga, getting to this game directly on PS5 should be a unique experience. If you arrive from PS3 without having played the remastering you will notice a good jump. But if you come from PS4 and, especially from PS4 Pro, the change is not going to be so exaggerated.
  77. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    The Last of Us Part 1 is an almost exact copy of the original, but according to today's technical standards. Some will see it as a lazy remake with virtually no adjustments, others will be happy that Naughty Dog stays true to the source material. We can argue endlessly about whether the remake is necessary, but at least we don't have to argue about which version of this modern classic is better.
  78. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    What matters, in my opinion, is knowing that Part 1 is the best version of a game out of the parameters, yesterday as today. I am willing to swear it.
  79. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    An interesting formal adaptation of an adventure that, nine years later, still has a lot to say.
  80. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    The Last of Us Part I is faithful to the original masterpiece, preserving the emotions of Naughty Dog’s groundbreaking tale while removing some limitations of aging technology that held it back. The story is still as powerful now as it ever was, and the stealth action combat remains tense and meaningful. The visuals are undeniably breathtaking, but contribute to a different vibe that isn’t always better. The world will surely debate which version of The Last of Us is superior in the years to come, but really, there’s no right or wrong answer.
  81. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    As you might expect, with The Last of Us Part 1, PlayStation and Naughty Dog have worked to faithfully recreate the basic adventure with all that that entails. On the one hand, the graphics are breathtakingly beautiful and realistic, while on the other, the levels and the gameplay are reminiscent of the 2010s. But in the end, all that's retained is the wonderful epic with Ellie and Joël, even though we already know their story. Even after ten years, The Last of Us's script and plot haven't aged a bit. It's still as strong, poignant, catchy. A steamroller such that we forget the anachronistic stylistic effects and the few flaws. More than ever, it's time to (re)discover this post-apo masterpiece.
  82. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    The Last of Us is back with the original game that received some audiovisual overhaul, but nothing really new for the players that already played it earlier. The story is still good, puzzles are still annoying, and there are even some new bugs.
  83. Aug 31, 2022
    85
    The Last Of Us is as brutal, challenging, and enjoyable as it always has been. With hugely improved visuals, small but meaningful gameplay changes, and a great range of accessibility options, this Part 1 Remake is without a doubt the definitive version for both newcomers and longtime fans.
  84. Last of Us Part I has managed to modernize the game that was released 9 years ago in terms of gameplay and visuals. Although there is a price problem for those who have just played the Remastered version, I can say that it is an adventure that should not be missed by those who have never played it.
  85. Aug 31, 2022
    84
    The Last Of Us Part I looks stunning. It's amazing to see how beautiful the game is on the PS5, how well it uses the console's new features and, of course, the groundbreaking accessibility options. But don't get your hopes up on improved gameplay or level design. It feels like the same game that you played almost ten years ago.
  86. Aug 31, 2022
    83
    Playing The Last of Us Part I made me acquire a newfound appreciation for its sequel because even though it's a great game with incredible characters, it actually feels overwhelmingly dated compared to Part II. You have to love those graphics, though; holy heck!
  87. Sep 27, 2022
    80
    The main changes to The Last of Us Part 1 are in the character’s facial expressions and accessibility options, while the rest can be summed up as “extra features”. Compared with the original game, some scenes have actually decreased in quality and I came across bugs as well, which makes it a remake that comes with both advantages and disadvantages. While a conservative remake indeed, in the end the appeal of the original shines through.
  88. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    Whether or not it truly needs to exist, the fact remains: The Last of Us Part I does exist, and it happens to be the best version of an already pretty good game. The additional accessibility options alone justify it for that section of players. Meanwhile, those who are interested in experiencing its story when it looks its best, whether as a first-timer or a veteran revisiting an old favorite, should strongly consider playing it. For everyone else, the other versions are available for less.
  89. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us Part I is a great game. We can't deny all the technical work behind it because it is excellent, but at the same time, the gameplay experience is similar to the one of 2013. There are a lot of aspects that I wish were better and there are a lot of others that, having played part two, I can't get out of my head.
  90. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    As a game, The Last of Us: Part 1 still deserves a high score after all these years, but I give that score hesitantly, as I am acutely aware that previous releases offer more content and that this release was not created for those who have already played through and enjoyed the game in the past, but rather to welcome in new players or for those who wish to harness the full power of their PS5. While this is the most technically impressive version of The Last of Us that we will likely ever get, it is anchored down by its previous releases, while simultaneously missing important components those versions had, namely the superb multiplayer. Despite some interesting bonus features, new cosmetic items, vastly improved AI, and a few quality-of-life changes, there may not be enough here to justify the purchase for anybody except newcomers. That said, the impressively robust suite of accessibility options is a welcome addition worthy of praise and will hopefully provide an opportunity for a new generation of fans to experience this story.
  91. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    A completely pointless remake of one of the best games of the last decade, except with only half the content and at double the price.
  92. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us is (and always was) a masterpiece and Part I is unquestionably the best version of it yet, but that may not be enough for anyone hoping for a complete reinvention of the formula from the ground up...Part I adds just enough to warrant its remake for the latest hardware, which elevates it to the same level of The Last of Us Part II in smart design choices, flexibility and technical prowess even if it’s still the third time we’ve made this journey before...If Naughty Dog’s original PS3 version was the critically acclaimed theatrical release, then Part I is the Criterion 4K remaster complete with commentary and behind-the-scenes footage.
  93. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us Part 1 is the definitive way to experience the original story and Left Behind. However, it’s hard to recommend it over the PS4 remaster. I appreciate all the work that went into enhancing the visual and audio fidelity and gameplay. However, it’s just not $50 worth of improvement, and the lack of new content means you’re not missing out too much if you decide to go cheaper.
  94. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us is irrefutably one of the best games of the PS3 era but it's beginning to feel of its time – and beneath its gorgeous next-gen glow-up, Part 1 is still, essentially, the same game. Which wouldn't be a problem at all were it not for that troublesome next-gen asking price.
  95. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us Part 1 is, perhaps more than anything, a gorgeous visual love letter to its biggest fans, not to mention a welcoming set of open arms for the inevitable stream of new ones who will arrive to the game via the upcoming Last of Us TV Show from HBO next year. Judged in isolation, that's far from a bad thing. But in the context of an industry where remakes are continuing to push the boundaries of the art of restoration, Part 1 struggles to escape the shadow of feeling like a bit of a missed opportunity.
  96. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    More beautiful than ever, the adventure offered by the remake of The Last of Us Part 1 fully exploits the PS5's capabilities. But the lack of fresh content or significant innovations gives the unpleasant impression of paying a high price for a graphic patch. We therefore recommend it above all to the hardcore fans of the original, as well as to players who are new to the license and who absolutely want the best possible experience.
  97. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    With The Last of Us Part I, Naughty Dog opted to create the ‘definitive’ experience by staying as faithful as possible while incorporating some elements of The Last of Us Part II. The result is an impressive-looking facelift that exceeds the visuals of Part II, but doesn’t offer much new beyond graphics.
  98. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    Naughty Dog is by no means a one trick pony. With ‘The Last of Us’ and ‘Uncharted’, it is responsible for two of the best game series of recent years. It is also far from being the only developer to spread the same game at full price over three console generations. Consider, for example, Rockstar, which also wants to market ‘Grand Theft Auto V’ to as many gamers as it can in the same way. For a game of this exceptionally high level, that's not even a bad thing, although we'd rather see their focus shift to ‘GTA VI’ or, who knows, ‘The Last of Us: Part III’.
  99. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    Without reference to the original, it’s not always easy to appreciate The Last of Us: Part I’s impressive improvements. This is a much better game than the original, though, with stronger art direction, smoother gameplay, and much more emotional cinematics. Naughty Dog has done justice to the original by improving on it in almost every regard, but it remains the game you remember from 2013. At a more competitive price point, it’d be essential – as it is, it’s a pricey upgrade on a bona fide classic.
  100. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    This remake is the definitive version of The Last of Us: prettier, better to play, technical features in a state-of-the-art, new extras, and it's completely true to the original. Apparently, Sony's plans are to try to reach a new audience that will seek out the game because of the TV series that premieres next year. But the $70 price tag of this re-release prevents me from recommending it to everyone.
  101. 80
    The Last of Us Part I is far from a wholly necessary experience, but it's a well-crafted and polished one from start to finish.
  102. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us Part 1 is a hard game to review. On one hand it is still an amazing achievement all these years later. The story is fantastic, and the characters are some of the best. I love the original game and this remake doesn’t change that. Still for $70 it is a lot to ask for a game that hasn’t exactly been out of the conversation since it released. The removal of multiplayer is also questionable, but I guess it makes sense as players could still play that in the PS4 remaster. There is a lot to appreciate here, and truly this is one of the best-looking games ever created.
  103. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    The Last of Us Part I is the best way to experience the wonderful story initially told in 2013. However, the original game, and especially its remaster, stood the test of time really well, so it’s difficult to justify remaking it so soon without substantial improvements to the gameplay and selling it at this price.
  104. Aug 31, 2022
    80
    All of The Last of Us Part I's improvements taken by themselves may seem minor, but together they make one of the most memorable games of the PS3 era even better. In some ways, the two parts of The Last of Us are now better aligned, making transitioning between them much smoother. However, in other ways, the years of progress in game design and development are all too apparent. But while some of the level design may not have aged all that well, the vivid cast of characters and remarkable story are more poignant than ever.
  105. Sep 1, 2022
    75
    The Last of Us Part 1 is a questionable remake of the beloved PS3 game. While the improvements are there, they come in small forms. For new players, this is the way to go, but fans of the original should probably wait for a price cut because the small improvements definitely do not justify the price.
  106. Sep 19, 2022
    70
    Nothing’s wrong with paying a high price to gild the lily — but nothing’s wrong with not wanting to do so, either. I think The Last of Us Part 1 will make a great addition to the casual TLOU fan’s library when it inevitably goes on sale and maybe the PC players when it launches on that platform as well.
  107. Aug 31, 2022
    70
    The Last of Us Part 1 remakes the beloved 2013 PS3 game in stunning detail, but it's difficult to recommend at full price with so few changes.
  108. Aug 31, 2022
    70
    The 2013 release of The Last of Us was highly influential. The brilliantly-written-and- performed story is as good as ever in The Last of Us Part 1, and the introduction of dozens of new accessibility features should be celebrated and emulated. The visual quality is staggering, bringing the emotional highs and lows of The Last of Us to the fore more than ever. Unfortunately, the gameplay that was passable in 2013 isn't good by today's standards. Calling a game that hasn't improved on a fundamental level a "remake" is a stretch. TLoU Part 1 is for super fans of the series or those who missed the first two versions, especially for accessibility reasons. For everyone else, it's hard to recommend spending the 15 or so hours it takes to play through The Last of Us yet again.
  109. Sep 2, 2022
    65
    The Last of Us Part 1 is a PS3 game that looks like a PS5 one that’s also been jacked up to Sony’s premium, $125 AUD current-gen console title price point. That’s unacceptable.
  110. Aug 31, 2022
    60
    The Last of Us Part 1 is still one of the best games of the last decade and an absolute must-play for newcomers. For anyone making the unforgettable journey with Joel and Ellie for the very first time, this is a five-star experience. Despite that, due to a lack of incentives – aside from the graphical glow-up – as well as a steep price of entry, it's hard to justify a second (or even third) purchase for returning players.
  111. 60
    With a hefty price tag and less content than its more than acceptable PS4 counterpart, The Last of Us Part 1 is an entirely unnecessary remake with gorgeous graphics that only make its dated gameplay stick out even more.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 31, 2022
    The Last of Us Part I may not be the most necessary remake in history, which seeks a new audience for the new generation and also future viewers of the HBO series; but also aims to remain for posterity, giving a greater aesthetic cohesion between Part I and Part II. [Recommended]
  2. Aug 31, 2022
    If you have the bandwidth to play this emotionally brutal adventure one more time, or if it's new to you, TLOU Pt 1 is the best version yet. If you need more than upgraded combat to put you over the top, wait for a sale.
  3. Aug 31, 2022
    Is all of this worth £70? That’s entirely up to you to decide. With the original game approaching a decade old, and that HBO adaptation arriving some time in 2023, it’s no surprise that Part I has been revived for modern audiences. Much to our own surprise, what playing this remake taught us was that we’re totally fine with the idea of it. This is the sort of treatment the best games demand, and the closest to timeless that they’ll ever come. The Last of Us deserves nothing less.
  4. Aug 31, 2022
    While Last of Us still has some of the same issues the original debuted with in 2013, the PS5 version (and likely the upcoming PC port, based on Sony's past efforts) is the best way to play it to date. [Review in Progress]
  5. Aug 31, 2022
    If you’ve never played the original Last of Us, I would argue this is the version worth playing. The upgrades over the original are quite numerous. From the upgraded visuals and impeccable work done on lighting and shadows, to the expansion of accessibility options and even new ones over The Last of Us Part 2, and finally a multitude of subtle gameplay improvements that make the whole experience all the more enjoyable, this is a fully upgraded package. I won’t say every “improvement” is actually an improvement or even necessary, but the sheer amount of polish added to this version of the game likely ensures I will never go back to The Last of Us Remastered over Part 1, given the choice. [Impressions]
  6. Aug 31, 2022
    There's nothing to complain about in this gorgeous, accessible remake of a gaming classic—except the mercenary nature of its very existence.
  7. Aug 31, 2022
    If you didn’t like TLOU in the first place, this remake won’t change your mind. It’s still gruesome and dark, a mix of a heart-rending post-apocalyptic story and a sometimes awkward video game. The core is the same as always. What this remake does, though, is smooth the transition between the two games in the franchise. Think of it like sanding away (most of) the game’s rough edges. That will likely be important to those who played Part II before the original or the hypothetical brand-new audience that will be introduced to The Last of Us through HBO’s live-action adaptation next year or the standalone multiplayer experience that’s also coming. The Last of Us is now a franchise — and within that framework, a remake so soon actually makes a lot of sense.
  8. Aug 31, 2022
    Regardless of how one feels about charging $70 for an update to a game from 2013, The Last of Us remains an utterly compelling ride.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Milking since 2013
    Milking remaster of a remaster for a $70 even multiplayer not included as the ps4 version had. This so greedy.
  2. Sep 3, 2022
    1
    One of the best games ever, but still cash grab. We get the third one the same. The price is sick. Jimbo has to go.
  3. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    It's pretty, but that's about it. It's overpriced. The multiplayer is completely taken away from it . I can actually imagine naughty dogIt's pretty, but that's about it. It's overpriced. The multiplayer is completely taken away from it . I can actually imagine naughty dog selling the multiplayer back to us at full price. Which is ridiculous because you're already spending 70 so why would you want to turn around and pay more money for a feature that should have been in there in the first place. Definitely not worth the price. I will just continue to play the remastered, because I find this version extremely unnecessary. Full Review »