Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Jul 10, 2017
    73
    While Tokyo Xanadu has some enjoyable elements, it suffers from its monotonous dungeons and predictable story structure. I look back fondly on some of the characters, and Nihon Falcom still has wonderful skill at constructing a believable and welcoming world. In the end, though, Tokyo Xanadu's flaws hold it back from standing out and being memorable.
  2. Aug 2, 2017
    72
    Tokyo Xanadu is a good example of a developer pulling together the best parts of beloved franchises but not quite following through completely. I'd wager that Falcom pulled back a bit on the Persona-inspired mechanics to avoid a 100-hour saga that already struggles with a paper-thin story. As a result, we're left with a thoroughly enjoyable and engaging battle system wrapped in an uninspired package with little originality. To put it plainly, Tokyo Xanadu is a painfully average experience that still manages to be worth your time.
  3. Jun 30, 2017
    70
    This original release is still a bit of a disappointment and leaves a mixed impression. If you are looking for a solid JRPG for Vita, this is a fully complete game, but for those wanting the absolute entire package, I would recommend waiting for the definitive version.
  4. Jun 30, 2017
    70
    Despite a repetitive structure and some boring dungeons, Toyko Xanadu‘s action-based combat was effective in keeping my interest. The characters are also generally quite likeable, with their relationships and quirky personalities coming off as genuinely enjoyable.
  5. Jun 29, 2017
    70
    Tokyo Xanadu is a decent action RPG with a nice combat system but stereotyped characters and situations.
  6. 70
    A lot feels right with Tokyo Xanadu, with gorgeous handheld graphics and a concept with a lot of potential, but the complete product chooses overall accessibility for depth of concept. Combat, narrative, and development do their job just enough to keep things working, but the hiccups and shortcomings keep holding the game back from the niche sleeper hit it could be.
  7. Jun 29, 2017
    70
    If someone is going to borrow, there is no shame in borrowing from the best. While it’s a bit slower to start, the characters do become fleshed out and interesting.
  8. Jun 29, 2017
    65
    The combat here is good, really good, and for some, that may be all they need. For you, that may be enough to convince you to plop down your $40 for this game. For me, the fun in Tokyo Xanadu is buried beneath so much unskippable, unpauseable, and unmemorable story I can’t in good conscience give it my full support.
  9. Aug 23, 2017
    60
    Tokyo Xanadu is a surprisingly generic Persona wannabe from a developer that I know can do far, far better.
  10. Jul 12, 2017
    60
    Tokyo Xanadu has a few quirks here and there, but I still had a fun time battling Greeds and bonding with my in-game friends. Despite the obvious flaws in its plot, Tokyo Xanadu more than makes up for it with its fast-paced action and combat system. If you want to dust off your Vita and play a new action RPG, I would recommend picking up the game.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Jul 2, 2017
    10
    Hands down the best game I've played on vita this year ! If you're a fan of trails in the sky /cold steel do yourself a favor and give thisHands down the best game I've played on vita this year ! If you're a fan of trails in the sky /cold steel do yourself a favor and give this one a try ! Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2017
    10
    Personally I always been a Falcom lover, if you love any other games by Falcom you most likely will surely love this, at first I feared thatPersonally I always been a Falcom lover, if you love any other games by Falcom you most likely will surely love this, at first I feared that their will be a lot of FPS drops for the vita but it wasn't too bad, loading time was pretty quick and game ran pretty well overall. Personally for me this is the best vita game of 2017 so far. Translation feels a bit off at some few places, it could had used more work over all. I really had fun overall with this game. The game story jumps you straight in into what the game is about , events folds one after another giving you lots of time to be able enjoy the progress of the story, altho how events happens felt really obvious because it's quite repetitive, but it'd didn't kill ant of mt enjoyment of the game. Falcom should make another game like this. Note that this game can be finish really quickly if you choice to ignore a lot of what the game provide for us such as in the Nier stuff, character information(such as talking to all characters daily), recipes, side quests etc. Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2017
    8
    It's not THE best game that Nihon Falcom made, but it's definitely a good one. Do not compare this game with Persona, it's not really thatIt's not THE best game that Nihon Falcom made, but it's definitely a good one. Do not compare this game with Persona, it's not really that caliber. But this one is good too. Solid story, nice characters, enjoyable combat and relaxing atmosphere. If you have a Vita, give it a try. If you are a fan of Trails in The Sky and Trails of Cold Steel, then what the hell are you doing here? Go and buy it already. And then buy eX+ edition when it come out. Nihon Falcom may be not the best developer out there, but their games have this great feeling and atmosphere of nice adventure. The only thing that they need, is better engine. Full Review »