User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 527 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 527
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Birth By Sleep has a reputation among the fanbase for being the game that "saved the series." While I find the idea that Kingdom Hearts would go away any time soon a bit silly, it is true that by all gameplay standards that Birth By Sleep is the best entry in the series. It addresses a ton of issues with the prior entries in the series and innovates at the same time. Also, it has the mostBirth By Sleep has a reputation among the fanbase for being the game that "saved the series." While I find the idea that Kingdom Hearts would go away any time soon a bit silly, it is true that by all gameplay standards that Birth By Sleep is the best entry in the series. It addresses a ton of issues with the prior entries in the series and innovates at the same time. Also, it has the most replay value out of any game in the series, and is the first to have multiplayer. If you have a PSP, you should have this game. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    A worthy game in the series after a the misstep that was 358/2 days. The new characters introduced are all great, with the exception of Terra's wooden voice acting. The story is very cool and is tied around all three characters. The three characters playthroughs all have the meet up at the beginning, middle and end which isn't a problem but each character tackles the levels in the sameA worthy game in the series after a the misstep that was 358/2 days. The new characters introduced are all great, with the exception of Terra's wooden voice acting. The story is very cool and is tied around all three characters. The three characters playthroughs all have the meet up at the beginning, middle and end which isn't a problem but each character tackles the levels in the same order which makes the game feel a bit repetitive. The combat is ripped straight from KH 2 which makes it awesome and although the camera isn't the best it's certainly not as bad as KH 1 or 358/2 days. The game also introduces new locations finally but also keeps some of the ones that have been here since the original like the Hercules world which is a little tiring. The plot does further add to the already confusing mess but is definitely still enjoyable. Overall a fantastic Kingdom hearts game and one of my favorite psp games. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Though playing as all 3 characters is basically just playing through the same game 3 times, its fun. The characters themselves are each unique and fun to play as. However, I felt that Aqua was a challenge to play as due to her constant magic use. The story is good and the game looks great. The multiplayer additions seem pretty good except for the Kart racing game. Still, Birth by Sleep isThough playing as all 3 characters is basically just playing through the same game 3 times, its fun. The characters themselves are each unique and fun to play as. However, I felt that Aqua was a challenge to play as due to her constant magic use. The story is good and the game looks great. The multiplayer additions seem pretty good except for the Kart racing game. Still, Birth by Sleep is one of the best PSP games. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    "Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep" is a very fun and interesting game. The only problem is the levels get harder and harder. But other than that I just love Kingdom Hearts! :D
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Really awesome graphics, twisted plot (but we're used to that) and soundtrack. Being a psp title, it's the installment that resembles the most the first two games in terms of gameplay, and that is a good thing. Great choice of attacks and abilities and the opportunity to play 3 different characters and 3 different stories. I particularly hate the rumble racing minigame, but that's just me.
  6. Sep 24, 2017
    9
    Clearly i can say that Kingdom hearts birth by sleep is the best game saga of kingdom hearts in every sense They are the best game mechanics of the saga are very visible that the developers have given all the effort and the music is the best to make yoko shimomura is the best game ever repeats the songs are always different and the artistic sense is beautiful is a good RPG but it is notClearly i can say that Kingdom hearts birth by sleep is the best game saga of kingdom hearts in every sense They are the best game mechanics of the saga are very visible that the developers have given all the effort and the music is the best to make yoko shimomura is the best game ever repeats the songs are always different and the artistic sense is beautiful is a good RPG but it is not for everyone but there is no perfect game so I give it score 9.0 Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2019
    8
    A wonderful job for the PSP standarts, fun and re playable. It adds so much depth to the kingdom Hearts lore... A shame that in future games it all went down.
  8. Oct 11, 2020
    9
    Awesome plot. Gameplay was good. I don't know what else I can say 'bout this...
  9. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Square Enix does a great job with this Kingdom Hearts title. Birth By Sleep has improved its battle system and did a great job to create something new. Soundtrack - - The music is excellent as usual with the talents of Yoko Shimomura reprising her role. Graphics - - For a PSP title you can't really complain about the graphics as it does look great for a portable title. Gameplay - -Square Enix does a great job with this Kingdom Hearts title. Birth By Sleep has improved its battle system and did a great job to create something new. Soundtrack - - The music is excellent as usual with the talents of Yoko Shimomura reprising her role. Graphics - - For a PSP title you can't really complain about the graphics as it does look great for a portable title. Gameplay - - Gameplay is fun and exciting with probably the best battle scheme in the series, along with a few fun mini-games and multi-player options.
    Story - - An interesting past about characters from before the events of the first game and how it all started makes you want to more about what is happening as you progress (Unless you have read spoilers)

    Overall this game is one of the best PSP titles and one of the more Interesting KH titles.
    If you haven't played the series before this is probably a great start as it is a prequel to the original.
    If you're a Kingdom Hearts fan then you will definitely love this one.
    Expand
  10. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Kingdom Hearts BBS is an amazing game, and shows just what a psp is capable of, however, i do not understand how people claim it to be the "best in the series."
    While it has a great storyline, and an amazingly easy to use but fun battle system, the small number of worlds and loss of many of the best KH characters causes BBS falls short of the PS2 Kingdom Hearts installments. A definite
    Kingdom Hearts BBS is an amazing game, and shows just what a psp is capable of, however, i do not understand how people claim it to be the "best in the series."
    While it has a great storyline, and an amazingly easy to use but fun battle system, the small number of worlds and loss of many of the best KH characters causes BBS falls short of the PS2 Kingdom Hearts installments. A definite must have but definitely not the best in the series.
    Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This game is pronominal. it brings gamers the answers and more of an understanding of the kingdom hearts story things missed in games before it was cleared up and it came together perfectly with perfect explanations.
    I personally enjoyed the attacks and being able to fuse them together to create an even stronger attack
    This game is amazing and I can't wait for the next one.
  12. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    Definitely the best game in the entire series, and possibly one of the best ganes for the PSP EVER! The graphics are amazing for a PSP game, and the game has one of the best stories ever told in the entire franchise! Definitely a game you shouldn't pass on.
  13. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    I love all the Kingdom Hearts games, but this game is my personal favorite. Awesome gameplay, engaging plot, and amazing graphics for a PSP game. Can't wait to see what happens next in this beautiful saga!
  14. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    another successful role playing game for the psp. The graphics is just right and so is the gameplay. I played one kingdom hearts game prior to this one. If you never played kingdom hearts before play this one. This is the beginning of everything. In played the one for ds and i have to say this one is much better. One of psp best game. Kingdom hearts birth by sleep has an awesome story. Ianother successful role playing game for the psp. The graphics is just right and so is the gameplay. I played one kingdom hearts game prior to this one. If you never played kingdom hearts before play this one. This is the beginning of everything. In played the one for ds and i have to say this one is much better. One of psp best game. Kingdom hearts birth by sleep has an awesome story. I think this is a must have for your psp console. Expand
  15. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Very good game! Answered many questions, and has me pumped for the next chapter in the series, Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance.
  16. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. I personally love kingdom hearts,even the **** ones like re:coded,yea i actually enjoyed that game. In this game you play as three characters Ventus,Terra,and Aqua. Three kids who long to be keyblade masters. You could compare these characters to Sora,Riku,and Kairi but the truth is they have absoulutley nothing in common. I go to say that ventus has moreThis game is amazing. I personally love kingdom hearts,even the **** ones like re:coded,yea i actually enjoyed that game. In this game you play as three characters Ventus,Terra,and Aqua. Three kids who long to be keyblade masters. You could compare these characters to Sora,Riku,and Kairi but the truth is they have absoulutley nothing in common. I go to say that ventus has more simmilarities to Roxas because of how much they look alike. In this game you choose whose eyes you want to see the through,and to actually beat the game u have to do all three,which isnt a problem because each story line is different its like your playing three different kingdom hearts titles in one. I played as Ventus first because he looks more like a roxas or sora. The combat is a bit different now you can equip what magic you want to use and do it in real time. If you pull off enough one of one kind of spell you go into this sort of command style like if you cast a few fire spells you'll go into fire storm which lets you pull off a sweet ass finisher. Over all this game is very good with tons to do and hours upon hours of fun. Buy it Expand
  17. dz9
    Jul 23, 2011
    7
    The Good: The game has improved its gameplay, has great graphics for a psp game, decent enough voice acting, and a passable story. The bad: The only bad thing I would be able to think of is the fact that the board game side quest is awful. No one really truly enjoyed the gummy ship sequences---they're gone...GOOD BYE!! However, the gummy ship sequences were good enough to endure, andThe Good: The game has improved its gameplay, has great graphics for a psp game, decent enough voice acting, and a passable story. The bad: The only bad thing I would be able to think of is the fact that the board game side quest is awful. No one really truly enjoyed the gummy ship sequences---they're gone...GOOD BYE!! However, the gummy ship sequences were good enough to endure, and the game never punished you for not going out of your way to complete them 100%. However, on "Birth by Sleep," The board game side quests are WORSE than the gummy ship but it would still be passable enough if the game never really forced you to play it. However, most of the important items in the game are only obtainable through this horrid side quests. You still don't have to truly play it, but if you're a gamer who must obtain everything in the game to get 100% completion, this will be more than an annoyance for you. The story, however not as compelling as the main series, it is still interesting enough to keep you playing. The game does its job in giving fans their fix of KH, while hyping everyone up for KH3... This game is a definite recommendation for RPG fans and KH fans that have a PSP.. Expand
  18. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    Easily the best game in the series - so far.
    The battle system is great, the graphics are fantastic for the PSP, and it rarely has any slowdown.
    If you install data onto a memory card, load times are not a problem. This game is just amazing in general. If you're looking for something to keep you occupied for a while or are already familiar with the Kingdom Hearts franchise then stop
    Easily the best game in the series - so far.
    The battle system is great, the graphics are fantastic for the PSP, and it rarely has any slowdown.
    If you install data onto a memory card, load times are not a problem.
    This game is just amazing in general.
    If you're looking for something to keep you occupied for a while or are already familiar with the Kingdom Hearts franchise then stop reading this and go and buy it.
    Now.
    Expand
  19. Dec 5, 2016
    1
    Classic Kingdom Hearts Fanboyism this game is nowhere near good the characters

    Aqua: She's good except her voice acting at times. Ventus: Had some growth but fell flat in the end Terra: I don't know where to begin he's like Anakin Skywalker They all had no growth nor interest to me whatsoever Gameplay: Broken,Unfair and just Difficulty Spikes all over the place The Thunder and
    Classic Kingdom Hearts Fanboyism this game is nowhere near good the characters

    Aqua: She's good except her voice acting at times.
    Ventus: Had some growth but fell flat in the end
    Terra: I don't know where to begin he's like Anakin Skywalker
    They all had no growth nor interest to me whatsoever

    Gameplay: Broken,Unfair and just Difficulty Spikes all over the place
    The Thunder and Fire Surges even Cures are the most powerful commands + with attack and magic haste you'd be GODLIKE in every boss no tactics in commands no point of using combos and shocklocks. but Endgame bosses you can't use the commands that well they are the examples of difficulty spikes.

    Story: A mess this game is the turning point to the franchise nothing makes sense at all i'd rather play metal gear than this. The Dialogue is more cheesy than KH1 about friendship it's a bit tiring.

    Music: 10/10
    Overall: I wish this game could have taken more time because it had great potential :( 1/10
    Expand
  20. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is definitely the best kh as far as combat gameplay goes,but other than that the whole kh series story blows real bad.The characters are all pretty stupid and the story never really feels like it's going anywhere good,way too much anime/manga gayness makes the game feel meaningless it doesn't feel like FF or Disney.Square needs to go back and find out what people like about each FF the worst thing they did was to go back and change a bunch of characters everyone already liked and put them all in one world where all these cool epic stories never happened.It would have been totally awesome to go to each FF world and have the kh characters involved in the story changing certain events.The combat feels much more fluid and like it finally matters which buttons you push like an action/RPG/fighting game but for a game like this I was expecting huge open worlds with alot of hidden stuff.Disney should get some of the writers from pixar or even warner bros not the characters just the writers they could help make the game alot more memorable.I still don't know why the nightmare before christmas is even in this game at all the movie is way lame and misleadingly dark I like pirates of the carribean way more as long as they don't let it get out of hand characters like mickey mouse seem bent around the story their entire purpose is to come in every once in awhile and explain a story that doesn't make any friggin sense because of it's anime **** which try and force you to care about and believe stuff they made up rather than just have a basic story that you can pay attention to.Read some charles dickens,H.G.Wells,J.D.Salinger books and look into some Ghandi for christ's sake.FF 7 was way more realistic being set in a 1984-style world mired in despotism.It never feels like the enemies/bosses are trying to wipe me out.The reaction commands should be plentiful and frantic and you should have to reduce a boss's HP to zero before you can use a reaction command and kill it.I actually wouldn't mind if they went back and changed entire things about the story.So that's it fix the story mix the command deck and recoded's sphere matrix leveling up system and with some control tweaks kh3 might be a pretty great game. Expand
  21. Sep 11, 2010
    8
    For a PSP title, this a great effort Square Enix, with a much improved game-play and an awesome soundtrack this game seemed poised as the best game ever for the PSP... wrong, there's a huge flaw. My only problem in this game is that once again the characters lack depth, they have minimal interaction with the world they visit and I feel like the purpose of visiting those Disney world areFor a PSP title, this a great effort Square Enix, with a much improved game-play and an awesome soundtrack this game seemed poised as the best game ever for the PSP... wrong, there's a huge flaw. My only problem in this game is that once again the characters lack depth, they have minimal interaction with the world they visit and I feel like the purpose of visiting those Disney world are just tor the sake of fan-service and a hint of nostalgia, I felt bored visiting those world and sometimes tempted to skip those scenes because they're not important at all... thank god for the enchanting soundtrack or I'm pissed to even touched it. There's some minor flaw, like despite the amazing solo action provided there are times where you're given teammates and... they're dumb as **** even worse that Goofy in KH2. Camera angles are still a problem, but the good overshadows most of the flaw. As I mention the this is the best battle system in the series due to the freedom of synthesis commands and slicker graphic, the soundtrack is just a reminder of my fuzzy Disney inner child which is great and mutliplayer is just a stroke of genius. This is a great game, but I wished that they take more consideration to being more hands on with plot and less focus on styling the gameplay. Expand
  22. Dec 5, 2010
    8
    Load times are pretty bad. Once an area (like in the other KH games) is loaded, the whole thing is available, though. The start menu at any given time takes about three seconds to pop up. It pauses the action, but the actual menu doesn't come up for a while. I say three seconds, and it doesn't sound like a lot, but it's a start menu.... There are two cool options that should be on everyLoad times are pretty bad. Once an area (like in the other KH games) is loaded, the whole thing is available, though. The start menu at any given time takes about three seconds to pop up. It pauses the action, but the actual menu doesn't come up for a while. I say three seconds, and it doesn't sound like a lot, but it's a start menu.... There are two cool options that should be on every game: colour bit-depth, and clock speed. You can change from 16 to 32 bit, and change the clock speed from 222 to 333mhz. The speed change is a little noticeable, and didn't drain the battery power too much. (I'm on my third hour and it's probably around 15%.) So far I can see no difference between the colour modes, but it's a psychological thing as well. You could probably get maybe 4 to 5 hours with the lower speed and colour settings.
    The battle system is awesome. I loved the one from the console games, and it's basically the exact same thing, with some minor changes with abilities and stuff. My only complaint is with magic and that the camera never really zooms out far enough to view a lot of enemies. It's always pretty close. Buttons were used awesomely and very economically. R-shoulder locks on, L-shoulder moves it behind the player, and L with the analogue stick moves it freely. Analogue stick moves, square is block and dodge roll, triangle uses abilities, and X attacks. The direction buttons do stuff like switching abilities and D-link.
    There's no MP. Instead you can select different things like Fire, or Strike Raid, and put them on a 'command deck'. It starts with 3, and grows as you progress up to 8. Then after you use it, there's a recharge time. Magic power is a stat, but there are the Fire, Firaga progressions as well. Triangle uses these abilities. You can also get passive abilities from these by fusing with rare-ish items.
    Remember mixing materia in Final Fantasy, and how some products had bonuses like HP +100% ? It's kind of similar. You can fuse abilities (which are treated as items) with one synthesis item to get things like Blizara with a Air Combo +. Once you max out the level of the ability (Blizara), you can remove it, and still have Air Combo +. Abilities have to be at a certain level to fuse. Personally I like this aspect.
    I don't know if it's borrowed, but even if it wasn't new, I like how it works.
    Sadly, there aren't any forms (or were they called drives?). Yes, they were cheap, but who didn't love floating around Master Form blowing the hell out of everything? There are two similar things, though, both of which aren't as powerful: D-links and Command Styles.
    D-links are formed with other characters. I think they replace summons, except they're more useful. Your command deck is changed with another character's, and you can use their abilities. It also completely heals you for some reason. Kind of cheap, but I'm doing proud mode, so I like it.
    Command Styles are more similar to drives. You can switch them out like abilities. After you button-mash enough enemies, and use a certain combination of attacks (like fire attacks), you automatically change command styles. They do different things; some give you elemental-physical attacks, one lets you fly around the battle.
    There are also two completely irrelevant things that shouldn't have been included at all because they are stupid, but turn out to be kind of fun regardless. One is a board game kind of like Monopoly. It's completely optional, but can give you new abilities and level up other ones. Another is this thing during battle where you press L+R and then target stuff, and then you shoot everything you targeted, or the same enemy multiple times. It charges up, so you can't spam it. The type of attack it is changes, like for command styles. You can buy, fuse, or find them, as with abilities and command style.
    Graphics aren't amazing, but they're all pretty-smooth 3D. Better than mediocre, and there are a lot of models. Cut-scenes look like in-game models, but have character voices. There are a lot of these as well. And just like KH, there are a lot of enemy models. Considering it's all 3D, and there's no slowdown, I was pretty impressed with how many enemies you could fight at the same time. Bosses look pretty cool. Landscapes are a little bare as far as models go (rocks, tables, whatever), but they're still original and colourful. Cut-off for graphics was great. You can see basically the entire area at one time; nothing magically appeared at a certain point. Oh, and each keyblade has its own model. I might have quit playing if it wasn't that way, so I'm glad someone thought to include it.
    Sound is also like KH. It's where the PSP just pwns the DS. Kingdom Hearts didn't have anything like a ground-breaking soundtrack, but anything Final Fantasy related is nice. The story sucks. But what else do you expect? It's fun enough to keep me entertained for at least 100 hours, probably more like 200 at the end.
    Expand
  23. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Love this game so much!!!!!!!!!
  24. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    My first three hours with this game were disappointing. The first three worlds were tiny and empty. And the boss battles were with faceless, nameless creations that just popped up. And where beating them felt completely empty emotionally. I was already going through my checklist of everything this title was doing wrong. And then just like that, the worlds got bigger. The levelMy first three hours with this game were disappointing. The first three worlds were tiny and empty. And the boss battles were with faceless, nameless creations that just popped up. And where beating them felt completely empty emotionally. I was already going through my checklist of everything this title was doing wrong. And then just like that, the worlds got bigger. The level design better. The combat more interesting. And I started fighting villains that were actual characters. Truly, the combat is much better than Kingdom Hearts 1 & 2. The story pulled me in much more. And some of the level design (not all, but enough) was truly standout, with a special mention for the level of verticality - something this series has never really had much of before. On that note, you won't want to miss Pete's secret lair in Disney Town. It's a bit of a puzzle to open it, but once I did, I just marveled at what the PSP was capable of. I wouldn't normally give a game that started off this slow a 10, but really, I have to agree that overall, this is the best Kingdom Hearts I've played. And it's a long game to, easily clocking in at 30 hours for me. And it made me excited to see what they can do with the processing power of the PS3, and the Pixar and, hopefully, Marvel licenses as well. Expand
  25. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Now I never played any Kingdom Hearts game before, but when I heard this was a prequel, I thought I'd give it a try. And I gotta say, I LOVED IT! Now I regret never playing any of the other games before!
  26. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Anyone who says this game is just some Kingdom Hearts spinoff is so wrong! This game is probably the most important of the Kingdom Hearts games, as it ties the whole saga, and gives us a hint of what Sora needs to do in the future!
  27. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    KH:BBS is a great game. The combat in the game is great and for the PSP, the graphics are really good. The loading screens are a bit long (especially when you haven't installed some of the game data to the PSP), but I didn't mind at all. The story was a bit lost on me with all of the hearts stuff and all of the "I'll do this for my friends" talk, but overall with the great combat, fun miniKH:BBS is a great game. The combat in the game is great and for the PSP, the graphics are really good. The loading screens are a bit long (especially when you haven't installed some of the game data to the PSP), but I didn't mind at all. The story was a bit lost on me with all of the hearts stuff and all of the "I'll do this for my friends" talk, but overall with the great combat, fun mini games and able to play 3 different characters and 3 different story lines, I had a lot of fun. Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Squareenix creates another instant classic with Kingdom hearts Birth By Sleep. Fans will now know more of the origin of the series' storyline in this game. The game features 3 playable characters any of which storyline can be played at any time. In the end it leads to one ultimate storyline and conclusion. Players will be sent through different worlds far different from any Kingdom HeartsSquareenix creates another instant classic with Kingdom hearts Birth By Sleep. Fans will now know more of the origin of the series' storyline in this game. The game features 3 playable characters any of which storyline can be played at any time. In the end it leads to one ultimate storyline and conclusion. Players will be sent through different worlds far different from any Kingdom Hearts game, the storyline is a bit more darker, along with that, many fans who like Star Wars might love this game as the storyline has the same direction. Considering the fact its a prequel, one can say this game is the best game to start the series with, but it doesnt matter as it answers questions for those who played the previous games and creates questions which will be answered if they play the sequels. Regardless, possibly the best game in the series to be released since Kingdom Hearts 2. Expand
  29. Jan 26, 2015
    4
    The game is totally playable and it even has a few touching moments. That being said, somewhere in the poor design, re-used assets, terrible writing, and complete disregard for everything establish in the series so far, Birth by Sleep has convinced me that everything I loved about this series was an accident. Would not recommend.
  30. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    The game offers you three, Identical, scenarios in which you travel to Miniature versions of the previous Kingdom Hearts worlds. These worlds offer neither the amount of Game play nor the awesome Keyblades at the completion of the level. You can burn through a world with 100% completion in less time than the average Gummy ship Mini Game (Which there isn't in this game)

    The Kingdom
    The game offers you three, Identical, scenarios in which you travel to Miniature versions of the previous Kingdom Hearts worlds. These worlds offer neither the amount of Game play nor the awesome Keyblades at the completion of the level. You can burn through a world with 100% completion in less time than the average Gummy ship Mini Game (Which there isn't in this game)

    The Kingdom hearts franchise is known for mixing the Magic of Disney with the Solid Game play of Final Fantasy. With the only Final Fantasy cameo coming from a terrible remake of Zach (Crisis Core and 7) its hard to even call this a prequal to the original.

    In short:

    Three Identicle scenarios

    Quick game, 45 hours 100% completion

    Not enough Key Blades

    One Final Fantasy Character

    No Gummy Ship

    No replay Value

    Does Not compare with other Kingdom Hearts
    Expand
  31. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    This game is good the storyline is great but not as good as kingdom hearts 2. The battle system is not even close to as good as the one in kingdom hearts 2 although its the most diverse battle system, its poorly executed. and the game storyline while fun you dont really feel like going through the game more then once unless you are a super hardcore fan
  32. Apr 12, 2016
    9
    The best Story on all the 9 kingdom hearts games, technically, it was amazing on psp, gameplay is very action driven, 3 campaign from different perspectives, and really defining towards KH3
  33. Jan 8, 2019
    0
    Oscuridad en el interior del castillo de Vlotho (Alemania).
    La oscuridad u obscuridad1​ es la ausencia de luz visible.
    Aunque la oscuridad como ausencia total de luz percibida o visible para los seres humanos es relativamente fácil de alcanzar, la oscuridad pura o total desde un punto de vista científico, no existe, porque la definición científica de luz incluye no solo la luz del
    Oscuridad en el interior del castillo de Vlotho (Alemania).
    La oscuridad u obscuridad1​ es la ausencia de luz visible.

    Aunque la oscuridad como ausencia total de luz percibida o visible para los seres humanos es relativamente fácil de alcanzar, la oscuridad pura o total desde un punto de vista científico, no existe, porque la definición científica de luz incluye no solo la luz del espectro visible, sino todo el espectro electromagnético, y una cierta cantidad de radiación existe en cada lugar del universo, aunque sea imperceptible al ojo humano. Así pues, la oscuridad total es solo teóricamente posible en condiciones de cero absoluto, o en las proximidades de un agujero negro.

    La respuesta emocional a la ausencia de luz ha inspirado diversas metáforas en literatura, en simbolismo y en las artes.

    Anteriormente en la historia, fue vista en ocasiones como sustancia por derecho propio, y aparece en esta forma en un poco de literatura de fantasía. Otro nombre para la oscuridad en este contexto es sombra.
    Caith paga Los bacalaos , Primer aviso
    Expand
  34. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    The best game in the series - so far. The battle system, graphics, music, voiceacting and story are great. Also one of the PSP games out there. Amazing title that every KH fan must play.
  35. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Still, the best Kingdom Hearts handheld game to date. While it can be tedious to play through three different stories, it remains the ideal Kingdom Hearts game on the go. The gameplay is solid, and the story adds a very compelling back story to the franchise.
  36. Feb 18, 2019
    8
    "Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep" was a game in the "Kingdom Hearts" series that I was very much looking forward to playing. Yes, I knew that the game would not be quite as good as "Kingdom Hearts II," the last game I'd played in the series, and one of my favorite video games, but I'd heard a number of people say that, of all the "Kingdom Hearts" games that are not numerical, "Birth by"Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep" was a game in the "Kingdom Hearts" series that I was very much looking forward to playing. Yes, I knew that the game would not be quite as good as "Kingdom Hearts II," the last game I'd played in the series, and one of my favorite video games, but I'd heard a number of people say that, of all the "Kingdom Hearts" games that are not numerical, "Birth by Sleep" is high up there as one of the best in the series (and as evidence by the fact that it even received a "Final Mix" version, it seems pretty popular). And, yeah, I can agree with that!
    "Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep" is yet another beefy adventure in the "Kingdom Hearts" series that feels and plays extremely smoothly: the combat is enticing and fun, it adds some nice features and subtle changes to what's been established in the first two entries, and doesn't feel like "change for the sake of change" like we saw with the card-based mechanics in "Chain of Memories." The new characters introduced in the game, Ventus, Terra and Aqua, are all charming in their own ways, and they do bring different things to the table from a gameplay standpoint. The story is very detailed, in how it tackles three different perspectives at once, and aesthetically, the game is stellar; the visuals are gorgeous especially when being played on the PlayStation 4 where the HD facelift really brings out the colorful environments, and the music is as stellar as you expect out of the "Kingdom Hearts" series.
    Now, unfortunately, I did have some gripes with this particular game: chief among them, repetition. Even though the game allows you to play as three different characters, at the very end of the day, these characters do all travel to the same exacts worlds, which all have mostly the same designs, objective points, and structures to them, so you are essentially playing the same game two more times than you need to, and the character differences don't take away from the general repetition. If you play in the game's recommended order of characters (Terra, Ventus, Aqua), by the time you get to Aqua the game will already start feeling rather stale, and admittedly, I find that Aqua is the least fun character to play of the three, so by the time you get to that last story, don't be shocked if you find yourself hoping for the game to end quicker.
    Still, for all that it does right, "Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep" is an enticing prequel to the series that certainly does better than you'd expect for a non-numbered entry in the "Kingdom Hearts" series. Even if you're a newcomer to the series, don't be afraid to give this game a whirl. And if you're a "Kingdom Hearts" fan that hasn't experienced this yet, it's certainly well worth your time.
    Final rating: 8 out of 10 "Great"
    Expand
  37. Feb 27, 2020
    10
    The best game in the franchise tied with Kingdom Hearts 2.It was amazing what they did on the PSP. The graphics and the soundtrack were impressive. The characters and stories are a welcome addition to the franchise. We have Terra, Ventus and Aqua. Each one has an individual story arc which are connected and a final arc where all three met. You chose in which order you play the adventures.The best game in the franchise tied with Kingdom Hearts 2.It was amazing what they did on the PSP. The graphics and the soundtrack were impressive. The characters and stories are a welcome addition to the franchise. We have Terra, Ventus and Aqua. Each one has an individual story arc which are connected and a final arc where all three met. You chose in which order you play the adventures. Recommendation was Terra, Ventus and Aqua (Would stay with it because of spoilers because some parts are connected). Terra is the strongest and most durable but also a bit slower. Ventus is the fastest but not as strong / durable as Terra or Aqua. Aqua is in the middle and has the best (magic) abilities. They changed the battle style and gave us the Command Deck. You chose / equip abilities you then can use in battles (Start with 3 and can be increased up to 8). You get new abilities during your adventure and can create new ones by fusion. I like this a lot. You can always experiment with new abilities or are exited about new ones. There are of cause special abilities and some only a single character can use (or 2 of 3). Then we have the Command Style. It is basically the foundation were your deck is placed. When the style gauge is filled you get increased stats and abilities for its duration including strong finishers. Again there are special ones and unique ones for each character. Same goes for Shot-locks. You enter a first person mode and aim for enemies until the gauge is empty. Now you fire energy projectiles at them. The battle system is quite interesting and rewarding. For the world and stories: We get new worlds and interlinked arcs which I cant spoil. There are many good and creative ideas in this game. The friendship between the characters is truly remarkable and a virtue of the story. The story itself is a tale of self discovery, friendship, exploration and shows some of the events that became important for the later games (It is the first game in the timeline approx 10 years before Kingdom Hearts 1). Of cause there are a lot of cameos. It does a very good job in foreshadowing some events. Then there are the mini games. Instead of the Colosseum Arena which was not finished back then you get the Mirage Arena with a lot of challenges. You have the excellent Command board game. It was so good that I skipped to it a lot of times. There is a racing game were you see the differences in the characters (Terra is clunky). There is the Ice-creme beat (I hate that game) and the Fruitball Beach-volleyball game which is enjoyable funny. Overall this was surprisingly good and is considered one of the best games on the PSP and in the Kingdom Hearts franchise. Expand
  38. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Three different characters, one destiny. This prequel has stunning graphics, long story, wonderful gameplay and memorable cast of characters. Inside a handheld that's pretty amazing.

    45+ hours, optional superbosses, lots and lots of skills and techniques to collect that will make you come back for more (they're also fast and colorful), mini games, and many more.
  39. Jan 19, 2017
    8
    Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep
    a Step closer to perfection.
    Birth by Sleep is a prequel to the original kingdom hearts that reveals the importance of sora, rikku, and kairi... Here you actually play as 3 different characters. Terra, Vents, and Aqua. 3 wannabe key blade masters you get to choose which order you play their stories in, I suggest playing them in order from top to bottom.
    Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep
    a Step closer to perfection.
    Birth by Sleep is a prequel to the original kingdom hearts that reveals the importance of sora, rikku, and kairi...
    Here you actually play as 3 different characters.
    Terra, Vents, and Aqua.
    3 wannabe key blade masters
    you get to choose which order you play their stories in, I suggest playing them in order from top to bottom.
    Each of their stories last around 8 hours each bringing this game to around 24 hours not including the secret ending which getting to could take you beyond 30 in total
    And while each of the 3 characters revisit the same locations, they each not only see different sections of the worlds you visit, but they meet different characters and all have their own unique story lines and cut scenes making the journey through all 3 characters stories fresh and well worth it…
    Even better Birth By Sleep actually feels stand alone as it introduces new Disney worlds and characters, really only revisiting 3 places from past games..
    It feels just as fresh as the kingdom hearts to kingdom hearts 2 jump…
    And remember how I said I’d love to see a marriage between kingdom hearts 1 and 2 in kingdom hearts 3... Well that marriage is here...
    Not only is there a straightforward path and a great indication of where to go to progress the story, but the combat is more skill based like the original kingdom hearts rather than hack and slashy like kingdom hearts 2…
    Things are a bit different though as they kind of took a page out of the chain of memories books where you have to build a deck of special attacks and magic…
    which adds another layer of strategy… you can do normal attacks all you want, but you have to quickly scroll through your special attacks and items in a deck of limited slots…
    you pick up new spells and attacks from enemy drops, chests and stores…
    And a combination of these attacks can put you into 1 of various super saiyan type forms called command styles that temporarily boosts your attacks and allows you to try and build up to a power move.. as well as a cool shotlock system where you can lock onto enemies and release a pulse of attacks, really useful for bosses that fly across the screen and groups of smaller enemies…
    And you’re also on your own here for the most part.. No Donald and goofy by your side... but some characters will occasionally but rarely join your party...
    The bosses and encounters are miles better than kingdom hearts 2, going back to the routes of epic showdowns and dodging and blocking incoming attacks...
    But in kingdom hearts fashion there are insanely annoying difficulty spikes towards the end of each of the characters stories…
    The game never wants to end and it just throws boss after boss at you who are 1 million times harder than anything you fought the entire game and kills all flow…
    Normally I don’t mind as much.. I still mind... but its worse here because again... you’re playing through the story 3 different times to piece it all together….
    The boss encounters are all different… but each character goes through this insane difficulty spike at or near the end…
    especially aqua… her toughest boss isn’t even the final one. It’s before the final showdowns and was the first time in kingdom hearts history I had to step away and go grind a few levels and come back…
    difficulty spikes are annoying and the spikes here really left a bad taste in my mouth of what otherwise is a really cool and charming Disney and kingdom hearts adventure…
    It doesn’t quite take the crown from kingdom hearts 2 as the series best game.. .but it came pretty close, and even put its finger on the crown a few times towards the credits…
    Birth by sleep is a must play.
    I Give Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep
    an 8.5/10
    Expand
  40. Dec 3, 2018
    10
    One of the most beautiful games in terms of the story and the way to play and even drawings to Jaya Disney, but I congratulate Square and Disney on this project
  41. Sep 7, 2020
    6
    For me this is a game I played to watch TV anime in the background , Because it's more about grinding and exploits combat system In learning enemy movements and getting better at it , The characters didn't engaged kind of dole if it wasn't for the music telling me what to feel I would have felt nothing for the characters, But I cannot say I hated It kind of liked it it has a lot of flawsFor me this is a game I played to watch TV anime in the background , Because it's more about grinding and exploits combat system In learning enemy movements and getting better at it , The characters didn't engaged kind of dole if it wasn't for the music telling me what to feel I would have felt nothing for the characters, But I cannot say I hated It kind of liked it it has a lot of flaws but I like it still Even if I don't really care about the story Expand
  42. Sep 2, 2018
    9
    A must play to understand what is going on in the world of KH especially when these characters play a role with Sora in the future...game mechanics were good however with it being on a handheld, it wasn't as polished as the console games....
  43. Jan 2, 2020
    9
    Increíble, uno de los imprescindibles de psp y de los mejores de la saga KH.
  44. Dec 22, 2018
    7
    Luego escribo una review desas que ahora mismo me da pereza y tal. me cagoento
  45. Jan 9, 2019
    3
    Where do i even begin. Knowing who the villain is going to be from the very start of the game just doesn't feels right. The 3 main protagonists of this game feel kinda...blank. I think you could resume their personalities by saying "they are friends, they do things friends would do". But their friendship is not developed at all throughout the game, the only scene we have is at the start ofWhere do i even begin. Knowing who the villain is going to be from the very start of the game just doesn't feels right. The 3 main protagonists of this game feel kinda...blank. I think you could resume their personalities by saying "they are friends, they do things friends would do". But their friendship is not developed at all throughout the game, the only scene we have is at the start of the game with the friendship bracelets, and that's all, they are best friends because of bracelets. It's not like the start of Kingdom Hearts 1 were the friendship between Sora, Riku and Kairi is developed in a simple, yet well done, prologue/tutorial.
    Having to complete the game with 3 characters to fully understand whats happening was kinda cool at the start, but playing the same worlds with little to no difference between each character, just to see a different cut-scene, felt pretty boring during my second and third play-trough. I think this "multicharacter feature" was better in RE:Chain of memories and Dream Drop, were the playstyle of each character is different enough to don't get bored during the play-through. There's always the "meme" that kingdom hearts 2 is "Press x to win" but the same happens with this game "Press ▲until everyone is dead". Also the difficulty curve is full of spikes, being the highest peaks the bosses around the end, when suddenly 90% of the abilities you got are useless, so you are forced to fill your command deck with surges and cura's in order to be able to defeat the bosses.

    Le doy un treh
    PD: Caith, te mando un saludo, me encantan tus videos y tengo una pregunta, planeas jugar Kingdom Hearts 3 en directo?
    PPD: Se me ha ocurrido esto en base a lo que dice Sora en el opening
    They can take your money
    They can take your sanity
    Cut you loose from all your patience
    But if it's your hype
    Then every step forward
    Will always be a step closer to KH3
    Expand
  46. Jan 9, 2019
    3
    IN THE 1950s, the prominent intellectuals Maruyama Masao and Kato¯
    Shu¯ ichi identified Japan as an “in-between,” liminal entity, thereby undercutting
    the effects of the nation’s loss in the Asia PacificWar. This cultural configuration thus camouflaged the disjuncture created by defeat. The historically specific conditions of the postwar period were projected back onto Japan’s past:
    IN THE 1950s, the prominent intellectuals Maruyama Masao and Kato¯
    Shu¯ ichi identified Japan as an “in-between,” liminal entity, thereby undercutting
    the effects of the nation’s loss in the Asia PacificWar. This cultural
    configuration thus camouflaged the disjuncture created by defeat. The
    historically specific conditions of the postwar period were projected back
    onto Japan’s past: Japan had always already been fragmentary and open
    to foreign cultural elements. Maruyama’s and Kato¯ ’s discourses, which
    commanded much attention in the 1950s, managed to preempt the
    trauma of loss through their particular reconstitution of Japan.
    However, excavations of the rupture in the recent past were not necessarily
    absent in the 1950s, as demonstrated by such authors as Kojima
    Nobuo andO¯ e Kenzaburo¯ . By placing fictional “in-between” characters
    at scenes of rupture such as defeat by, and encounters with, Americans,
    Kojima and O¯ e carefully explore that the trope of in-betweenness could
    be deployed to suture historical disjuncture. Such in-between characters
    literally embody the sutures. Simultaneously announcing and concealing
    the wound, the characters’ bodies emerge as the sites where the reader is
    faced with contradictory desires: the desire to conceal and the desire to
    encounter memories of the past. Whereas Kojima magnifies each stitch in
    order to show the contradictory forces at work, O¯ e impatiently undoes
    the sutures in an attempt to cut open what he believes is a festering wound
    inside.
    The desire to encounter the past in an in-between location also found
    mass cultural expressions in the 1950s. In this chapter, I will discuss the

    Te conosco bacalao aunque vengas disfrasao.
    Expand
  47. Feb 10, 2019
    10
    Mi puntación a Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep es de 10, me explico;
    En cuanto a duración el juego rondaría las 30 horas ( hablamos del final mix, en el cuál hay un mundo extra en el post game ). La trama está dividida en tres partes, tres visiones de los tres protagonistas, Aqua, Terra y Ventus. En cada parte veremos el punto de vista de cada personaje y zonas nuevas que explorar con cada
    Mi puntación a Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep es de 10, me explico;
    En cuanto a duración el juego rondaría las 30 horas ( hablamos del final mix, en el cuál hay un mundo extra en el post game ). La trama está dividida en tres partes, tres visiones de los tres protagonistas, Aqua, Terra y Ventus. En cada parte veremos el punto de vista de cada personaje y zonas nuevas que explorar con cada uno de ellos. La história se centra en detener a los Nescientes un nuevo tipo de enemigo que está amenazando los mundos. La banda sonora es de 10 como es habitual en la saga. Visualmente, aunque estemos hablando de un juego de PSP es una barbaridad, como se ve, los gráficos, su nitidez, etc. Estamos ante posiblemente el mejor juego de ésta plataforma. Le doy un 10 sobre 10 ( comparándolo con juegos de su plataforma, PSP ). Mi quinceava crítica u/o review.
    Expand
  48. Feb 8, 2019
    8
    The story touches back to the ground with 3 new Keyblade wielders that you can connect with just as well as our main heros/. The theme of friendship and heart runs strong again without the mention of Data or diluted storytelling. The one major negative is once again, the floaty combat. Make combos feel pre-destined and non impactful. Overall a very fun experience and a must play in the series.
  49. Oct 16, 2019
    10
    Best game of the series. Great gameplay, very good story, a little repetitive in the worlds, and fhey aren't the best worlds in the series, but good, very good final boss fights, very good characters.
  50. May 28, 2022
    7
    Good game and all, but it's very unbalanced and broken so it can be frustrating to play sometimes.
    Play this one in short bursts, and don't be afraid of using moves that are "overpowered".
    Because some bosses are straight up immune to certain Commands and Shotlocks, so the player doesn't always have a lot of freedom in how they approach some situations. What's the point of giving the
    Good game and all, but it's very unbalanced and broken so it can be frustrating to play sometimes.
    Play this one in short bursts, and don't be afraid of using moves that are "overpowered".
    Because some bosses are straight up immune to certain Commands and Shotlocks, so the player doesn't always have a lot of freedom in how they approach some situations.
    What's the point of giving the player so many options if the majority of those options are just flat-out wrong?
    Also the final level being locked behind getting all the Xehanort Reports is kinda dumb...
    Expand
  51. Aug 4, 2022
    9
    Great Kingdom Hearts
    Birth by sleep tells three diffrent but connected storys wich works super well. Its also my favourite from the Gameplay.
  52. May 15, 2020
    7
    The gameplay mechanic keeps the stale and confusing storyline afloat. There is not much else other than the snappy visual and good soundtrack.
  53. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    hi this game is so **** good terra is one of my favourite character, the dualism of ventus and vanitas is so much good and the story of aqua is one of the best narration in the history of the action rpg
  54. May 27, 2020
    8
    Uno de los mejores juegos de la franquicia. Tal vez mi jugabilidad favorita, la cual era perfecta para un juego portátil. Lo que más le duele es que en lugar de tres historias no tan largas, hubiera preferido una de mayor duración.
  55. Jun 21, 2020
    9
    Such a strong KH narrative from three different perspectives. Might be my favorite Kingdom Hearts game.
  56. Jul 26, 2020
    10
    I give it 10 as in my opinion it have the best game play mechanic and i enjoyed the new characters in this game.
  57. Sep 3, 2020
    9
    Combat’s fun, and story’s great, yet the world’s aren’t very good, and are often bland. The butler said that “The guests were starting to enjoy themselves.” When there’s NO ONE THERE. Even in Olympus Colosseum, someone was cheering, yet the stands were empty. Also there’s a huge lack of Final Fantasy characters, just Zack. Although it’s flawed, I still like BBS
  58. Oct 10, 2020
    10
    The game expands the Kingdom Hearts lore a lot and contextualise a lot of aspects which was mentioned in the games before.

    The game is split between 3 new playable characters and their journey through one quest. I tells a great story and builds the foundation to what will come in the future. The gameplay, while not as flashy as Kingdom Hearts 2, is enjoyable for what it is. You craft
    The game expands the Kingdom Hearts lore a lot and contextualise a lot of aspects which was mentioned in the games before.

    The game is split between 3 new playable characters and their journey through one quest. I tells a great story and builds the foundation to what will come in the future.

    The gameplay, while not as flashy as Kingdom Hearts 2, is enjoyable for what it is. You craft skills and build your own "skill deck" and use them during fights. It has also a lot of side content.

    All in all, I really enjoyed this game. :-)

    The game is also remastered on current gen and can be played in 4k and smooth 60 fps on ps4 pro and xbox one x.
    Expand
  59. Jan 1, 2021
    9
    A must get, if you like action-adventure games. If you're a KH fan, then no questions asked! Amazing gameplay and story!

    This game is a prequel to Kingdom Hearts 1. It talks about three keyblade wielders (Terra, Aqua, and Ventus) that fight the darkness. You go through the story once with each character, while each character encounters different events. It is important that you unlock
    A must get, if you like action-adventure games. If you're a KH fan, then no questions asked! Amazing gameplay and story!

    This game is a prequel to Kingdom Hearts 1. It talks about three keyblade wielders (Terra, Aqua, and Ventus) that fight the darkness. You go through the story once with each character, while each character encounters different events. It is important that you unlock or find some other way to watch the secret ending and final episode because it explains A LOT of the story and how it will carry on to KH1 and it also gives closure to Birth by sleep.

    Throughout KH1 and KH2, I think that Square has been improving the battling system. In birth by sleep, there is no MP cost for magic commands. Instead every command requires time to recharge after one use. There are crystals you can utilize that can help lessen the reload time on commands.

    There are attack commands and magic commands. Some of which will affect the status of the enemies, such as sleep, poison, confusion, slow, and stop. Against certain enemies, using the right one can put you at the upper hand.

    There is a command melding function, which allows you to combine two different types of attack command or magic command, from then which creates a stronger or unique command. Melding the same kind of magic will often lead to a stronger version of the same one such as cure + cura = curaga. The best part is that everytime you meld commands you may add a crystal. Crystals are items that give you character special abilities. They include, more exp, more munny, faster command reload times, HP boost, combo plus, magic damage boost, attack damage boost, etc. The more of the same ability you aquire everytime you meld commands, the more powerful the ability becomes. HP boost is definitely very useful for boss battles, and tough enemy encounters because some of them have very powerful combos, which can 1-hit-KO you if you do not have high HP.

    One of the more satisfying aspects of the battling system is the ability to unleash a special attack. There is a meter that increase everytime you hit an enemy. When that meter is filled, your character will go into a certain type of berserk mode where he/she gets an element implemented on her attacks and combos based on which magic/attack command you have used to attack the enemy. However, if you filled the meter using just a normal attack(sword swings), then you just get a normal finish command which is a powerful swing of the sword usually lasting one or two hits.

    There is one down side to the battle system. Not enough shortcuts to commands. By default the game requires you to scroll through your commands to execute them. The game does help you, by letting you put the most wanted command to a hot key. However, later in the game when you acquire more space to input commands, I think at least 2 shortcuts are needed. For aqua's story I had equiped two curagas for the boss, but when I use one curaga, and I'm waiting for it to reload, I have to run away and scroll through my list of commands to find the other curaga. If there was a second shortcut then I wouldn't have to risk being attacked.

    The graphics for this game is very nice for a psp game. The different worlds have a variety of settings, which doesn't make the scenery repetative.

    There is a decent amount of replay value in this game. You have an arena which you can face off with your friends. In combat or in mini games, such as racing. There are also plenty of things to go back and collect if you haven't done so. Such as the Xehanort reports which enables you to unlock the final episode.

    Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed my review please add me and track me. I will write more.
    Expand
  60. Aug 7, 2022
    8
    Zerei apenas a campanha do Ventus e estou jogando a da aqua,
    esse jogo é espetacular, mesmo que eu não goste muito de RPG, esse jogo me faz não me importar com o estilo, embora tenha seus momentos hardcore eu curti demais.
  61. Oct 28, 2021
    6
    This is my 4th in the list of KH games that I like cause I'm not a big fan of the Command System but its the better one out of DDD and Days. The best fight that visualizes the gameplay of this game and why i don't like it at all is the secret boss fight from the Final Mix versions which are in the 2.5 remix. Essentially what you would do is just use the commands all the time while spammingThis is my 4th in the list of KH games that I like cause I'm not a big fan of the Command System but its the better one out of DDD and Days. The best fight that visualizes the gameplay of this game and why i don't like it at all is the secret boss fight from the Final Mix versions which are in the 2.5 remix. Essentially what you would do is just use the commands all the time while spamming dodge thats it. If you get hit even once you are dead. One thing that makes this game better than DDD and Days
    is the Command Styles those are atleast enjoyable making your normal attacks actually do dmg with nice looking effects, animation and fun.
    Expand
  62. Mar 20, 2022
    9
    Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep is a surprisingly well designed 3D action game for a handheld. Instead of one 30-hour campaign, Birth by Sleep is split between three separate 10-hour campaigns. While each campaign is fairly similar, you are given three separate characters with unique playstyles as well as their own story-line. The narrative of Birth by Sleep is thankfully not quite asKingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep is a surprisingly well designed 3D action game for a handheld. Instead of one 30-hour campaign, Birth by Sleep is split between three separate 10-hour campaigns. While each campaign is fairly similar, you are given three separate characters with unique playstyles as well as their own story-line. The narrative of Birth by Sleep is thankfully not quite as pretentious as other entries in the series, and the three protagonists are generally likable. Couple this with fun and challenging gameplay, and you have one of the best installments in the Kingdom Hearts franchise -- handheld or not. Expand
  63. Mar 26, 2022
    9
    Enjoyed it a lot. Storywise one of the best games in the series. I don't care too much about combat so I can't comment on that.
  64. Sep 1, 2022
    5
    Birth By Sleep, story-wise, is arguably the best game in the series thus far. A somber, poignant tragedy of a troubled but affectionate group of friends as it struggles against forces bigger than all of them, with events packed with superbly directed scenes brimming with pathos and exceptional character drama. Sadly, the story fails to express the full potential of the script due to theBirth By Sleep, story-wise, is arguably the best game in the series thus far. A somber, poignant tragedy of a troubled but affectionate group of friends as it struggles against forces bigger than all of them, with events packed with superbly directed scenes brimming with pathos and exceptional character drama. Sadly, the story fails to express the full potential of the script due to the bond uniting the main cast, cornerstone of the entire plot, feeling somewhat underdeveloped. Gameplay-wise, attack and jump animations have been slowed to an unreasonable degree, resulting in base combos that now feel quite clunky and unplesantly sluggish. Even so, gameplay still manages to be undeniably fun thanks to new great mechanics such as Deck Abilities, giving players a plethora of different attacks and techniques to experiment with, select and upgrade, providing huge strategical variety, elevated by the fact that the three playable characters have significantly different combat styles, although repeating the same world can be tedious. In the same way, Shotlock and D-Links also add a new layer of depth to battles. All of this combines to create a quite rich array of options. The beauty of this wealthy system is slightly compromised by some balancing issues, as a few late game Abilities are way too overpowered and can trivialize some of the final fights. Level Design slighlty improves from KH2 with more vertical developments and platforming, but is still far from the deep heights of KH1. Expand

Awards & Rankings

5
4
#4 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
6
#6 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    85
    Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep isn't just a spin-off; it's an evolution of the series that makes helpful tweaks to combat and introduces interesting new worlds.
  2. Games Master UK
    Jan 13, 2011
    75
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    75
    Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep is a fun game that was almost brought down by questionable control issues and a repetitive story. If players can get past a few minor problems, they'll discover that this prequel offers a surprising amount of great content, beautiful graphics and even some fun multiplayer modes!