User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 5 out of 49
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LiamL.
    Aug 1, 2007
    6
    Xavier R rated this a ten because he saw it online. He obviously has not played the game. Although somehow addictive the game will destroy any schedule you had with 20mins to have a 5 min match due to loading times to move to any new screen. Huge parts of the PS2 version were removed to make room for a bad card game and further Eugine-bashing games that are not fun. At all. Period. I Xavier R rated this a ten because he saw it online. He obviously has not played the game. Although somehow addictive the game will destroy any schedule you had with 20mins to have a 5 min match due to loading times to move to any new screen. Huge parts of the PS2 version were removed to make room for a bad card game and further Eugine-bashing games that are not fun. At all. Period. I bought it and now don't play on it at all. Didnt buy the 2007 version because this one was so bad. Expand
  2. Cameron
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    it is the best wwe game in the history of the wwe games like you can get hulk hogan,eugine,shelton benjiman and most important batista and john cena. and there are heaps of matches to choose from.
  3. DaveA.
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    Other than slower than normal loading times,this game is perfect!
  4. McBainWolfcastle
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    Hands down this is the best game out for PsP right now. Yes there are some horrid load times, but if you bought a PsP you were aware of this issue to begin with. The story mode is great, way better than anything I expected. And all the options and depth are here. But the reason this game stands above all else is the fluidity of the movments. Its not just a button masher like earlier Hands down this is the best game out for PsP right now. Yes there are some horrid load times, but if you bought a PsP you were aware of this issue to begin with. The story mode is great, way better than anything I expected. And all the options and depth are here. But the reason this game stands above all else is the fluidity of the movments. Its not just a button masher like earlier incarnations. Anyone who loves wrestling MUST pick up a copy. Expand
  5. AdamJ.
    Feb 27, 2006
    4
    If you love long load times, you'll love this one! It brings back memories of Crash Bandicoot Wrath of Cortex on the PS2 -- you can measure the load times in minutes.
  6. Jayn/a
    Mar 31, 2006
    9
    I love this game. I think one of the main flaws is how easy it is to reverse grapples. if the opponent puts your characters arm behind their back all you have to do is keep tapping r. 9/10 times you will reverse their graplle. and 1/10 times they will do a strike attack. The rosters are soo small and need to include all superstars that are in the wwe. NO LASHLEY OR TATANKA =(
  7. JohnD.
    Apr 11, 2006
    8
    Pretty good... first game I got on my PSP. It rocked, story mode could be a lil longer and I do admit, the load-times were awful. But it was still the best game ive played for psp.
  8. GregD.
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    This is the best wrestling game since No Mercy for Nintendo 64! I think that verbalazation in the story mode could be better and I was expecting a little out of the gameplay. But overall it's a great game. Highly recommended!!!!
  9. XavierR.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    this game is the best wrestling game in the world.i was online looking at this game and i could'nt believe it. i was so amazed.
  10. RoyG.
    Dec 26, 2005
    8
    Again THQ delivers another great wrestling game for PSP. But I do have some complaints. First the time it takes to load each scene takes a long time and can make a player to get bored early with this game. And even though they have completed such a realistic wrestling game with many features , it still needs some work on its collision engine, so that no arms do not run through other Again THQ delivers another great wrestling game for PSP. But I do have some complaints. First the time it takes to load each scene takes a long time and can make a player to get bored early with this game. And even though they have completed such a realistic wrestling game with many features , it still needs some work on its collision engine, so that no arms do not run through other bodies, and falling through other objects like ring ropes and etc.. Other then this this games is very good and I rate it an 8. Expand
  11. Jul 17, 2020
    8
    In my opinion SvR 2006 is one of the best SvR games out of the whole series, just beaten out personally by '07. And this port for the PSP of this game is near perfect to it's PS2 counterpart. The graphics are almost on par and all the content found on the PS2 version is here. The gameplay is also very well kept in as well, and you'll have as much fun with this version of the game as youIn my opinion SvR 2006 is one of the best SvR games out of the whole series, just beaten out personally by '07. And this port for the PSP of this game is near perfect to it's PS2 counterpart. The graphics are almost on par and all the content found on the PS2 version is here. The gameplay is also very well kept in as well, and you'll have as much fun with this version of the game as you will on the PS2. The only thing taken out that's worth mentioning is the commentary during matches, which is replaces by the soundtrack. Not a very big deal, as the soundtrack is very good. Despite all these positives though, the atrocious load times almost ruin this port on the PSP. Every game type on this version has load times that go into the minute mark, and way past that most of the time. I don't think it's worth playing this game on an original PSP. I'd recommend playing this on either an emulator or on a modded PS Vita. The game on those platforms completely solve the loading problems and gives back all the praise the game deserves.

    TL;DR: very close port to an already good game, just not worth playing on an actual PSP.
    Expand
  12. Dec 24, 2020
    10
    gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Awards & Rankings

11
32
#32 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
9
#9 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 87
    What impresses me most, though, is that other than the load times, all of the same goodies from the console version were ported to the PSP with few technical sacrifices (the loss of a second analog stick and two shoulder buttons didn't hurt the gameplay one bit).
  2. The gameplay holds up tremendously well on the PSP platform, as does the presentation. But the lack of compelling, differing content makes it a tough sell to those who previously invested $50 in this year's game.
  3. This is a cracking port of a cracking game with very few compromises. Find three mates to play against and it's better still. [PSW]