• Publisher: Alliance
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2020
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 27, 2020
    80
    Best Friend Forever has an enjoyable, light-hearted storyline, for an easy relaxed gaming session. Dating Sims can be very hit or miss, and despite being short and having some unfortunate dialogue, I would very much consider this one a hit. The “adopt, don’t shop” message, as well as the inclusion of dog breeds that are considered unpopular only added my enjoyment of the game. Oh, and yes, you can pet the dog.
  2. Oct 21, 2020
    72
    I went into Best Friend Forever expecting to pet a bunch of dogs and date some cool humans, and in that respect, I was not disappointed. The dogs are good boys and girls who deserve all the love in the world, even when they poop. The humans are a fun and varied bunch whose stories may be on the short side but still have a lot of heart. Sadly, the gameplay did not live up to my expectations, but I would love to see what improvements could be made if Starcolt one day decides to create a sequel. If your love of dogs is stronger than the issues I’ve laid out in this review, then you might want to check out Best Friend Forever. Just do yourself a favor, though, and play it on PC.
  3. Oct 16, 2020
    70
    Best Friend Forever is a short and simple visual novel/simulation game, but that doesn’t make it any less fun. The interactions with your furry friend don’t get boring fast, and the interactions you have with the characters are just as engaging.
  4. Aug 27, 2020
    70
    Everything considered, Best Friend Forever is a joyous treat for dog-lovers and dating-sim enthusiasts alike. Currently, the Nintendo Switch version is a bit unruly, but nothing a trip to the vet and some patches won’t fix.
  5. Aug 27, 2020
    60
    It hit me how superficial a lot of the mechanics in Best Friend Forever are. I had thought that, similar to a typical dating sim, you’d have to train specific stats to score points with your lover, but it’s more segregated and mechanical than that. The dog lends a layer of brightness to the game, so it’s not entirely wasted, but from a gameplay standpoint, it’s pointless. From a purely visual novel standpoint, the game is entertaining and well-written, but it fails to make use of the one thing that makes it unique. It has the love it needs, but it will need more training before it can truly be called a "good boy."
  6. Sep 15, 2020
    50
    I think the problem is that Best Friend Forever is trying to do several things at once and isn’t really doing any of them well. It wants to be a pet simulation with a narrative element and dating, but the story of your adjusting to life in Rainbow Bay feels like an afterthought and the love interests could have used a little more, well, love. The simulation elements are interesting, and I liked that you had these dog events while going through the story, but you better be playing in Handheld mode on the Switch because it can be really awkward otherwise. Also, it frankly needs at least one patch to be ready for prime time. I loved the concept, but it’s rough around the edges.
  7. Sep 14, 2020
    50
    Part dating sim, part pet sim, its dimensions end up standing on each other's way and never quite fulfilling the best that those two genres can achieve. The game's world is quite a gem to discover, with its multicoloured design and profusion of characters, but the game's inconvenient controls when it comes to look after the character's puppy and a certain lack of clarity when it comes to the game's purpose make this experience somewhat of a half-success.
  8. 50
    Best Friend Forever offers a fairly generic visual novel, with the only hook being one that fails to do anything truly interesting. The management mechanics are the lightest, most fleeting portions of the game, where you’re bogged down with a rough control scheme that is quite frustrating. Even with the positives in inclusivity, too many shortcomings make this feel like it was built to be vanilla and given the toppings way later on.
  9. Sep 2, 2020
    50
    It’s quite telling that caring for your pooch is generally more fun than the visual novel side of the game, but even this can get repetitive and monotonous after a while. Best Friend Forever is an admirable hybrid of two seemingly disparate genres, but both sides of the game suffer from a lack of variety as a result.
  10. Aug 27, 2020
    20
    Honestly, Best Friend Forever feels like it's having a constant identity crisis. Mechanically and story-wise, everything feels incredibly disjointed. It feels like developers were throwing things at the walls to see what stuck, but then decided the pile of thrown stuff now sitting on the floor was good enough. There's no way I can recommend this title in its current state, and even if it was bug-free, Best Friend Forever still wouldn't be worth your time.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 11, 2020
    5
    Best Friend Forever a doggo dating sim staring you. You’ve recently moved from the big city to Rainbow Bay, the most dog friendly city in theBest Friend Forever a doggo dating sim staring you. You’ve recently moved from the big city to Rainbow Bay, the most dog friendly city in the world. Where the human to dog population is almost 1 to 1. Every human has their doggo and every dog their hooman.

    You are recently single and have never owned a dog before. Because of a cheesy radio show, you decide to both sign up for Woofr, a dating app exclusive to the city, and adopt a dog.

    After answering some amusing questions to set up your dating profile, having a friendly encounter, “settling” into your new home, and passing out in despair on the floor. You wake up the next day to adopt your new best friend and take them to their furever home.

    After you adopt the doggo of your choosing you’re free to encounter your new husbando/waifu inbetween training your dog. You have two goals in BFF. Train your dog well enough to become Valedictorian in training school, and find your next romantic relationship. You have 16 weeks to do this with some weeks consisting of major events and check-ins on your dog’s training.

    Loving and raising Cardigan was the most fun part of the game. Upon adoption he was the sweetest thing. The game notifies you of every lick, bork, poop, and fart. Sometimes he gets spooked and I have to pet him, other times he’s tugging at his leash and I have to pull him back. Or I can just pet him at will and in reality I’m saying “good boy” as I would do my own good girl. The random training events affect his training and mood, but it also makes me feel a little closer to him.

    At the end of each week you pick activities for your doggos training. You can choose to train their smarts, manners, trust, fitness, and sociability. Each activity you pick will raise two of these traits or their mood and energy. After training you tend to your loved one with food, grooming, and playtime. Once you and your doggo is exhausted you both snooze and a new week will arrive.

    As for the characters you have six lovely individuals to choose from. Each person also has their own doggos, interests, and traits. They’re also voice acted! Not fully, you receive a fully voice acted cut screen in the beginning of the game. But the lines and expressions I did receive were A material. THE RED DEATH WILL DESTROY YOU!!!

    My connection between these characters is something I always look for when playing dating sims. I don’t want to play your game if I’m not into your character(s). I would like for every character to be equally interesting and have the ability to find one that stands out from the rest. I did try to be friendly towards other characters, but I couldn’t get close to them because there’s a glaring flaw in the game’s dating mechanic.

    It’s far too easy to get close with these characters and earn a date. No, it feels handed to you. I was expecting to win Robin over with the right cues, make her laugh, earn her trust, don’t talk about poop because as medical workers we have to deal with enough **** However after two encounters I had the option for a first date. Weird but ok. At least I had the option to call it a date or not at the end.

    Why can’t I skip ahead when I don’t want to do anything else for the week and my dog is fine? Why waste time cleaning his spotless ears and depleting his full hunger bar? Games like Person gives you the option to not do anything that day, go home, and skip ahead. The freedom of choice to blow everything and do that is great! In BFF it feels necessary because there’s no point in taking care of my dog and I don’t want to risk seeing the option to date someone I’m not into.

    Things like this makes me wonder what the hell the delays were for. Maybe it was for the voice acting because the voice work is solid. But what’s with the bugs? Where did the thought go into immersing the player into the game?

    I suspect there most time and thought went into the dogs and art, as they are the best part of the game. The character designs are attractive, the art/backgrounds are appealing, and the doggos are cute as sin and I want them all. The writing isn’t half bad either and I really would like to get to know the rest of these characters. But the gameplay and bugs are distracting and plummets my experience.

    I want to love Best Friend Forever more. I want to recommend it to my equally doggo obsessed friends with excitement and not warning. And I will do this when the game is fixed with a simple patch. I also hope the devs will listen to their fans and add more customization options. But for now, 20 bucks is far too great of an asking price. Dear doggo loving reader, wait for a discount and give a good woofer pats while you do.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Look, this game was super cute with great potential. I love the idea of a dating sim with the addition of a dog adoption/raising game. I also love the LGBTQ inclusion and the varying body types of the potential suitors.

    What I didn't like was the fact this game was 20 dollars and it didn't even take me 24 hours to get through one single play through. It also was bugged. The dialog often kept calling my dog a girl, even though I adopted a boy, and character sprites would often glitch on screen, as well as names. This is a huge missed potential. It's a dating sim without any of the substance of actual dating sims and a dog adoption game without many of the cute customization features of pet adoption games.
    Full Review »