Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 24, 2018
    90
    The visual style works brilliantly on the Switch in both handheld and docked. The bold outlines are eye-catching and the muted colour palette lends the game a sense of mystery. Having the full experience of Don’t Starve on the move is wonderful and the day/night cycle is just the right length to hop on and play during a break in your real life. As survival games go, this is one of the best you will find for the Switch.
  2. Apr 16, 2018
    90
    Without a doubt, Dont' Starve is the gold standard as far as the survival genre is concerned. Every playthrough is a mentally demanding endurance match to stay alive, and it's a better game overall for it. Although it's easy to fall into routine a few hours in, the sheer potential and scope of each run ensures there's seldom a dull moment.
  3. Apr 25, 2018
    80
    Don’t Starve: Nintendo Switch Edition is an extremely meaty and punishing experience that always keeps you on your toes. The open ended, tough as nails gameplay isn’t for everyone - particularly in its repetition - but it can be quite addictive once things click. A distinct visual style, countless hours of randomized gameplay, and an open ended nature that favors boldness combine to make this an easy suggestion.
  4. Apr 23, 2018
    80
    A good conversion overall, but it suffers from the direct comparison with the Mega Pack version of the contemporary release, mainly due to the absence of the multiplayer expansion Do not Starve Together.
  5. Apr 18, 2018
    70
    Don't Starve: Nintendo Switch Edition is perfect for survival and strategy-lovers, but it could've used a couple more weeks in testing to nip those pesky bugs in the bud. Though it's as fun as ever there's nothing different about this version and, especially if you've already sunk hours and hours into the game on PC, console, or mobile, there's no real need to pick this up again. I mean, unless you want to own it on the Switch.
  6. Apr 16, 2018
    70
    Half a decade’s worth of expansions deliver a dizzying array of features but this stylish survival game still frustrates as much as it entertains.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. May 27, 2018
    6
    Well maybe permadeath is just not for me (darkest dungeon was beginning to make me feel different) and hard game as well : after dying theWell maybe permadeath is just not for me (darkest dungeon was beginning to make me feel different) and hard game as well : after dying the first night, dying the first hounds, dying collecting flowers and becoming insane, dying the first winter, dying at the first deerclops (and this last death without the feeling of learning something), I'm feeling a bit bored of starting again and again. There is no guidance within the game and it's easy to feel lost. I think I will flee games where hard is emphasis a bit from now on, because frustration is more present than pleasure. Especially true when you want to play easy and portable mode. Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2018
    8
    The game is hard to be sure, but I love all the things there are to discover. Each play through teaches the player new things making you moreThe game is hard to be sure, but I love all the things there are to discover. Each play through teaches the player new things making you more likely to survive longer the next time around. I love the gameplay but I love the art design even more. If you like survival games I highly recommend this Full Review »
  3. Jun 10, 2020
    8
    One of the best survival games out there now in the palm of your hand. If you've never played Don't Starve, watch a few youtube videos and IOne of the best survival games out there now in the palm of your hand. If you've never played Don't Starve, watch a few youtube videos and I guarantee it will draw you in. Plays perfectly on the Switch, features two major dlc packs. Charming, challenging and brings out the survivalist in you. Full Review »