User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 89
  2. Negative: 51 out of 89

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2020
    5
    El juego es como el original, nunca ha sido una de las mayores maravillas del mundo, pero jugarlo con gente es bastante divertido, cosa que facilita el online. Sin embargo SE ha hecho lo minimo para que se pudiera jugar online.

    Hay muchas cosas evidentes que no se entiende que no hayan tenido en cuenta. -Las escenas no se pueden saltar en el online, esto es a la larga, posiblemnte lo
    El juego es como el original, nunca ha sido una de las mayores maravillas del mundo, pero jugarlo con gente es bastante divertido, cosa que facilita el online. Sin embargo SE ha hecho lo minimo para que se pudiera jugar online.

    Hay muchas cosas evidentes que no se entiende que no hayan tenido en cuenta.
    -Las escenas no se pueden saltar en el online, esto es a la larga, posiblemnte lo peor del juego, horas perdidas.
    -La mazmorra solo la completa el que la ha creado, aunque los otros se llevan los objetos que hayan pillado y el artefacto del final, no cuenta como completada ni te llevas la mirra.
    --En relacion a lo anterior, especial mencion a un par de mazmorras que no se pueden completar aunque seas tu el creador. Tanto el desierto como los canales tienes que ir en modo un jugador porque lo que haces alli no afecta luego al mapa del mundo (conseguir el elemento desc y revivir las plantas)
    ---Y hablando del elemento desc, no se s es un bug del juego o esta causado por intentar la pantalla en online primero, pero el puzzle del desierto esta completo...
    -Cuando terminas una mazmorra solo tienes la opcion de repetirla o salir, no puedes usar la misma sala para hacer otra mazmorra o pasar el lider, tienes que salir y crear otra sala .
    -Se han cargado el minijuego y han usado las estampas para proporcionar skins a los jugadores, el problema es, que al igual que el original, solo puedes entrar cuando vas solo, cosa que no pasa nunca, tienes que hacer las mazmorras solo expresamente para conseguir las skins. En el original tenia "mas o menos" sentido porque solo podias jugar con amigos de vez en cuando, el propietario del juego tendria tiempo de hacerlo.
    -Aparte de eso, el juego se bugea bastante por culpa del online, teleports raros, los circulos se quedan pillados y no se combinan las magias, algunos bixos como fantasmas o voladores solo cambian de estado para algunos jugadores...

    Conclusion, no se ni para que lo retrasaron si no han hecho una mierda, casi mejor que hubieran dedicado ese tiempo a adaptar el modo local, estamos en un mundo con moviles, podrian haber aprobechado la version lite del juego para emular lo que era la gba en su momento, o podrian haberlo adaptado a jugar en una pantalla, lo unico que molestaria seria cuando la gente abriera el menu, en el original el menu estaba en la gba.
    Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2020
    6
    The pain of the loss of caravan-style multiplayer has subsided slightly over my time playing, but I feel like this game had so much to gain with its inclusion. In fact, nearly all of my problems with my game stem from the multiplayer changes. (Though there's some positives in what they did)

    It's incredibly disappointing that they essentially gutted this game of its main feature -
    The pain of the loss of caravan-style multiplayer has subsided slightly over my time playing, but I feel like this game had so much to gain with its inclusion. In fact, nearly all of my problems with my game stem from the multiplayer changes. (Though there's some positives in what they did)

    It's incredibly disappointing that they essentially gutted this game of its main feature - experiencing a journey with your friends together. The original had events along the road that you and your friends would see together, and towns you could visit to do some crafting and shop. The remaster takes this feature and makes it much lonelier; trips to towns are solo, your caravan is a 1-person party at all times.

    The multiplayer doesn't kick in until you go to a dungeon and you have the choice to host or join another game. There is almost no reason to join a dungeon unless you just want to grind. Only the host gets the myrrh at the end of the level and only the host will get letters from their family, it would have been great if guests also got these benefits.

    Playing with a friend in person(Difficult atm, I know)/over voice chat is great, this is where the game's original promise starts to come to light. Running dungeons with friends is a lot of fun, and talking strategy before/during fights adds a lot to the game. My partner and I would be fighting a flying monster and coordinate magic to cast gravity, making the fight a cake walk, and it's great! All these years later, the game is still way better with friends.

    I know this sounds like a lot of complaining, but that's because the original game was built around travelling the world together with friends, something that's entirely removed here. Despite this, the core gameplay is still a lot of fun. I loved this game when it first came out, and a lot of what's to love is still here, but it's a much lonelier version of that original game. If SE ever decides to patch the game to include this feature, my score would raise to a 9 easily. Here's hoping.
    Expand
  3. XV_
    Oct 3, 2020
    7
    It's not that FFCCR is a bad remaster at all. Although superficial, it certainly adds a lot of things, like new rearranged music, new re-skinned harder dungeons, and a few other things. The fact is that even without these new additions, I would still get the game regardless. Still, I'm grateful that we get this game with all this new stuff. However, as they say, the devil is in theIt's not that FFCCR is a bad remaster at all. Although superficial, it certainly adds a lot of things, like new rearranged music, new re-skinned harder dungeons, and a few other things. The fact is that even without these new additions, I would still get the game regardless. Still, I'm grateful that we get this game with all this new stuff. However, as they say, the devil is in the details, and with the precision of an ice pick that pierces a big chunk of solid ice, little details are the demise of these chronicles. But let's not get too ahead, and let's talk about the new stuff before we get there.

    The first thing you'll notice about this remaster is the HD graphics. The work fo the developers did in the Game Cube was outstanding in regards to art direction and visuals, and to find that they still hold up pretty well to this day is remarkable.

    Back in the day when the original launched, I didn't have a sound system to enjoy the music as it should, but now that I have one, it was like falling in love with the same person all over again. As far as new music goes, I could only recall two new songs, and also every new dungeon has a rearranged song with different instruments or vocals. In some cases, I even prefer the new rearranged work. Usually, a remastered game doesn't have the luxury of having new songs but the fact that they went extra with one of the strong points of the original game it's pretty amazing.

    When Square Enix first announced this game, they hinted that it will feature voice acting. I was hoping that it will have the option of hearing the Japanese voices, but as it seems for other important stuff, the voice acting was region-locked, so only Japanese audio for Japanese copies. I think the acting in FFCCR wasn't that bad; however, it wasn't that good either, so I turn off the VO.

    The new dungeons are counterparts of the original ones, that means that 13 dungeons (not including the final dungeon) have a new skin. They also come with new re-skinned and re-sized enemies with more powerful attacks and swarms of them. They can present a real challenge, but unlike the original dungeons that increase their difficulty by each cycle you complete (capped at LVL 3), the new ones have a fixed difficulty. Although they're hard, once you complete them, there's not much reason to replay them because the spoils you get there are awkwardly sorted between them.

    Given the number of enemies and difficulty, dungeons are meant to be played with at least two people. Which leads us to this remaster's main problem. The original game was a multiplayer game in its design, local multiplayer, to be precise.

    Sadly, FFCCR doesn't build upon the multiplayer design of the original. It builds around its single-player. While it's not as bad as a lot of people say, it certainly is a different, more condensed, and sterile experience than what you get while playing multiplayer. Now, instead of being in the same caravan. You and your friends can only interact in dungeons, so a big part of the immersion is severed with this decision.

    The main problem with this immersion-breaking decision it's more pronounced when doing dungeons together with friends. For some creative or technical desition, the only person that can get a Myrrh drop after beating a dungeon is the host, this means that for every one of us to complete a year playing together, we needed to play through 9 dungeons, and we could only choose from the exact pool of dungeons, so we ended repeating a lot of them over and over. The issue of advancing so slow through every year but getting stronger is that you overpower yourself too quickly, and it only makes your playtime more hollow and boring.

    Clearly, playing together with friends was not the objective of the developers when making this remaster, because is easier to play at your own pace but one can only have so much fun playing with strangers, and because there are only preset messages that are very limited, to say the least, communication with other players isn't that fun. So more often than not, you'll be paired with people that maybe isn't on the same page as you in terms of how you want to proceed, attack, or navigate.

    When everything's said and done, I have some fun playing this remaster with my friends, not in the way I would like and not even close to my experience with the original. Same with the NGC version it's hard to recommend this game and it feels like a huge missed opportunity, but if you played the original and liked it playing it solo I think this is the definitive version of that experience. But if you're looking for that game in regards to its multiplayer aspect, well, you better get some local friends and look on eBay for that GBA + cable link stuff.
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2020
    5
    This is an adequate remaster of a mediocre game. The core mechanics have always been frustrating and they missed an opportunity to improve the vessel carrying, which reduces one character to a pointless mule role. The removal of local co-op is also a bizarre decision, removing much of what made the original fun. The graphical overhaul and the voice acting are a welcome addition, but thereThis is an adequate remaster of a mediocre game. The core mechanics have always been frustrating and they missed an opportunity to improve the vessel carrying, which reduces one character to a pointless mule role. The removal of local co-op is also a bizarre decision, removing much of what made the original fun. The graphical overhaul and the voice acting are a welcome addition, but there is only so much you can improve a flawed game.

    I feel a bit silly for purchasing it as Ive always considered this to be a poor entry in the FF series, but the allure of the remaster hit me. All I can say is that is "ok". Not a final fantasy XIII trainwreck, but hardly the pinnacle of the good old days of the FF franchise.
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2021
    5
    Crystal Chronicles is a game where you travel in a caravan with your friends. In the remaster, you no longer can have a caravan with your friends.

    The only thing you can do with friends is enter dungeons together, which entirely misses the point. If you're an absolute diehard who can try to have fun in spite of the truly disgraceful state this game is in, go for it (I sadly still am),
    Crystal Chronicles is a game where you travel in a caravan with your friends. In the remaster, you no longer can have a caravan with your friends.

    The only thing you can do with friends is enter dungeons together, which entirely misses the point. If you're an absolute diehard who can try to have fun in spite of the truly disgraceful state this game is in, go for it (I sadly still am), but this may be the biggest disappointment a game has ever been for me. Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles deserved better. As it stands, this is not a good way or a fun way to play this game. It's just unfortunately the only possibility with the current state of the world.
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2020
    6
    Unfortunate tradeoffs drag this game score down. The game is not perfect, not at all. Long load times, awkward menus, and weird online integration bring this game score down. But for a 30 dollar game, that allows your friends to try it out the multiplayer for free I don't think it deserves the red scores it's been getting.

    I think this game will suffer a very sad fate where its first
    Unfortunate tradeoffs drag this game score down. The game is not perfect, not at all. Long load times, awkward menus, and weird online integration bring this game score down. But for a 30 dollar game, that allows your friends to try it out the multiplayer for free I don't think it deserves the red scores it's been getting.

    I think this game will suffer a very sad fate where its first release had a very expensive barrier to entry for multi-player so people just skipped it. Now the remastered version lowered that barrier to entry but in the process broke some of what made the co-op so great when it was released.

    So few are going to really get to experience what this game has to offer unless you have 4 friends who you can bring into the house and a Gamecube laying around. I truly hoped for better with this remake but I'm still enjoying what the remake has given. I doubt future patches will fix it but if they could polish upload times, and offer an option to mute moggles I could bump this into the greens.
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 5, 2021
    90
    This is an absolute must have for fans of the franchise, but also a fantastic game for those new to the series. Multiplayer and crossplay both work incredibly well, and offering both an inexpensive full version and a free lite version means everyone can play together, regardless of their device or budget.
  2. Oct 8, 2020
    58
    Not the best Final fantasy to choose for a re-release and not the best remaster at all, with cumbersome online multiplayer and n o local co-op. Better save your money for the next entry in the franchise.
  3. Sep 21, 2020
    60
    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles Remastered Edition is another classic FF game that featured a lot of revolutionary features for its time. Unlike other re-released FF games that aged like fine wine, however, Crystal Chronicles’ antiquated controls and half-step multiplayer additions don’t nearly stand the test of time, especially when there are so many games available that do loot-based dungeon-crawling far better and far more streamlined. For many modern gamers accustomed to the faster pace and tighter controls of said games, Crystal Chronicles may feel like an old relic that requires a hefty amount of patience. There’s no lack of charm in the visuals and character designs, and getting four synchronized party members together that can effortlessly chain spells together to unleash a powered-up super spell can lead to a decent time, but it also shows that some old games can be harder to revisit due to the rapidly-evolving technology surrounding videogames.