Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Feb 13, 2020
    73
    Kunai is a short and sweet metroidvania with an exciting premise. In this era of rapid technological change, however, Kunai ultimately doesn’t do enough to separate itself from the pack.
  2. Feb 7, 2020
    70
    Thanks to some great controls and a diverse and satisfying set of weapons and tools, Kunai overcomes its weaknesses in level design to become a solid, fun platformer.
  3. Feb 7, 2020
    70
    The game may stumble on occasion from a lack of earlier detailing, with narrative and backdrop never feeling best-served to those looking for a bit more story. But the free-flowing confidence and care-free nature baked into Kunai above all still marks this down as a good (not great) starting point for Metroidvania fans going forth into the new decade.
  4. Feb 6, 2020
    70
    Indie games in the Metroidvania genre are pretty common, but Kunai manages to stands out with exceptionally fluid combat, a wonderful Game Boy Color aesthetic, and swinging around on your kunai. The swinging mechanic is the star of the show here, even if the design of your limited arsenal shows some clear thought went into making every weapon meaningful. Unfortunately, it can be difficult to figure out where you're supposed to go at times, backtracking in Kunai is a bit of a pain, and the level design doesn't offer as many branching paths as its competition. But it's worth playing through the game's short runtime and this is a great foundation for a sequel.
  5. Feb 6, 2020
    70
    The combat balances its melee and ranged weapons, and the enemies offer enough unique challenges. It may not excel at the things Metroidvania games are generally known for, but Kunai is a fun action-platformer in its own right.
  6. Feb 6, 2020
    70
    Kunai is a classic yet breathless metroidvania game, which capitalize on its strong action and fun narration. The sympathic Tabby and its variety of expressions is a bless to see, but the art direction suffers from its unflattering minimalism, and endless boss patterns that grows on frustration.
  7. Feb 6, 2020
    70
    It's disappointing that there isn't more to dig into when it comes down to Kunai's set dressing, especially when it's paired with such a striking visual style and engrossing combat. Kunai's level design pushes you to keep adapting while affording you the space to finish off a group of enemies with a series of pinpoint grappling hook swings, precise double jumps, and intelligently integrated swings of your sword. Kunai loses some of its momentum far too frequently, but when it hits a balance between its engrossing combat and satisfying platforming, it's difficult to put down.
  8. 70
    Kunai knows grappling hooks are cool, so it gives you two of them. But beyond its best feature, it's an indie adventure that falls just a bit short of its excellent peers.
  9. Feb 6, 2020
    70
    Kunai is an expressive, stylish and retro-tinged metroidvania that kept me engaged the entire time I played it. The feeling of slowly mastering the rope-kunai and being able to flawlessly swing around environments and flank enemies was incredibly satisfying. I only wish the rest of your abilities in the game had the same kind of skill ceiling to reach, because without any cool reasons to deflect bullets, why bother having the ability to do so in the first place?
  10. 65
    Kunai is a competent and attractive Metroidvania title let down by uninspired game design, underutilized mechanics, and some bugs. Lovers of the genre will still enjoy this game, as will players who love a strong visual aesthetic. If you don't fit into either of those categories, then Kunai may not be the best option for you.
  11. Feb 12, 2020
    60
    With various weapons, mobility enhancements, and a sprawling series of connected maps, Kunai appears to have all the right components, but they aren’t assembled into a cohesive whole.
  12. Feb 11, 2020
    60
    A competent Metroidvania with some attractive visuals and fun gimmicks, but they can’t hide the fact that the game underneath is far less inspired than it first seems.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 10, 2020
    Kunai throws a grappling hook and a fair amount of style into the Metroidvania genre for a solid if not stellar example of the form.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Feb 11, 2020
    8
    As someone who loves platformers and metroidvanias, this was right up my alley. I loved this from the beginning to the end. A fun swingingAs someone who loves platformers and metroidvanias, this was right up my alley. I loved this from the beginning to the end. A fun swinging mechanic, strong visuals, a lot of collectables and many upgrades, just what I need. However, despite the countless things I love about this game, there are some things that make this, unfortunately, not worth a 9 or 10 rating. Some small cons are: Not the longest game, not really that hard (besides the final boss), one small but sometimes noticeable bug and under-utilized aspects (for example one of the key weapons in the game I literally only got less than a hour before the final boss, although that may be my fault since I unintentionally found a secret-ish game mechanic which let me bypass some areas without the intended weapon ;3). All and all I loved it, definitely worth it if you like platformers (and probably one of my all-time favourite indie games), but short if you're more experienced with 20-60 hour titles.

    EDIT: I completely forgot about one thing! In short: Great music and great tracks.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2020
    9
    If you love Metroidvania like games, this is the game for you. The game designers managed to make you feel like a spider-man with a katana,If you love Metroidvania like games, this is the game for you. The game designers managed to make you feel like a spider-man with a katana, which is awesome! Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2020
    10
    This game is top tier goodness, interesting visuals,really fluid movement and combat with those dual kunais,and also the exploration isThis game is top tier goodness, interesting visuals,really fluid movement and combat with those dual kunais,and also the exploration is handled really well here, overall a good metroidvania,the only con I would say is that it's short,length is on par with another metroidvania timespinner and it's as good as that.superb work turtleblaze Full Review »