User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 83
  2. Negative: 3 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch. I have played this game on IOS, XBOX 360, and WINDOWS 10 but this is the best one yet! The controls are great, the way they display it is something to be framed, and the ending leaves you questioning and theorizing. This is a must have for SwitchThis has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch. I have played this game on IOS, XBOX 360, and WINDOWS 10 but this is the best one yet! The controls are great, the way they display it is something to be framed, and the ending leaves you questioning and theorizing. This is a must have for Switch owners!

    Controls: 10
    Style: 10
    Music: (None (But none needed))
    Ending: 10
    Overall : 10
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2018
    9
    If you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it on Xbox one and loved it . with switch you can bring this game anywhere you want to. when you done with this 6-8 hours game, try to complete it without dying !
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    8
    Limbo is minimalistic in its design, offers limited guidance and is shrouded in an unnerving sense of dread and mystery. You are dropped into a forest playing a young boy who seemingly must escape or progress through the unwinding labyrinth before you.

    The sound design is fantastic with audio cues sometimes the only thing giving you a hint to what lies ahead and the aesthetic is
    Limbo is minimalistic in its design, offers limited guidance and is shrouded in an unnerving sense of dread and mystery. You are dropped into a forest playing a young boy who seemingly must escape or progress through the unwinding labyrinth before you.

    The sound design is fantastic with audio cues sometimes the only thing giving you a hint to what lies ahead and the aesthetic is suitably gloomy and foreboding. The gameplay mechanics are simple, intuitive and don't outstay their welcome in this short but worthwhile adventure.

    Even though this is a short game, it is often challenging and occasionally left me stumped as to how to progress. If you are after a short game with fantastic art and a bleak horror setting to take on the go this is for you. I can't wait to sink my teeth into the teams follow up 'Inside' which is next on my hit list.
    Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2019
    9
    Will there ever be another game like Limbo? This game proves that you can build something that is both a proper playable game (complete with physics puzzles that are brilliant in their economy) and a piece of art.

    With another art direction, Limbo would be a pleasant, but ultimately irrelevant puzzle-platformer. Instead, its creepy, subtly unnerving style makes it an experience you
    Will there ever be another game like Limbo? This game proves that you can build something that is both a proper playable game (complete with physics puzzles that are brilliant in their economy) and a piece of art.

    With another art direction, Limbo would be a pleasant, but ultimately irrelevant puzzle-platformer. Instead, its creepy, subtly unnerving style makes it an experience you won't forget. Other games tried to pad simple gameplay with gorgeous art: Gris comes to mind. They all lack something. In the case of Gris, its gameplay is a tad too simplistic and repetitive. In the case of other games, the art not quite up there. Limbo does it right on both counts.

    Disclaimer: Limbo is short. If you're one of those gamers who like getting lost in a long experience, you might be disappointed. My first playthrough of Limbo, with a friend, started after a late dinner. When we finished the game, stunned and fascinated, it was light outside. But those few hours have been hard to forget, and I had to relive them by playing through the game again on the Switch.
    Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2020
    10
    An indie classic. Haunting and poignant. A clever game you can return again and again.
  6. Nov 3, 2018
    9
    A horror puzzle platformer with a beautiful atmospheric style. Limbo is memorable and every progression is rewarding and delightful. When you're not engrossed in figuring out the puzzle you'll find yourself admiring the attention to detail and the way the minimalistic aesthetics feel rich and realistic.

    The only drawback is that sometimes it was difficult to distinguish interactive
    A horror puzzle platformer with a beautiful atmospheric style. Limbo is memorable and every progression is rewarding and delightful. When you're not engrossed in figuring out the puzzle you'll find yourself admiring the attention to detail and the way the minimalistic aesthetics feel rich and realistic.

    The only drawback is that sometimes it was difficult to distinguish interactive elements from the world. Eventually you learn to try everything but I found myself baffled only to realize I could interact with an item I had been dying next to repeatedly.
    Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2018
    8
    The game is absolutely brilliant and the playability is perfect. The feeling of progress is incredible.
    The unic problem is the duration, it last 6h. The playhablity and the mechanics could offer 6 hour more.
  8. Apr 22, 2021
    9
    A phenomenal puzzle game with a tremendously eerie atmosphere. Not really anything to complain about, it pretty much perfectly executes what it's going for.
  9. Sep 19, 2019
    8
    The game is well designed. It provides a lot of fun. It is definitely an example of how games should be created. The only drawback for me is its length, the game is too short for me.
  10. Dec 31, 2020
    9
    Simple and minimalistic, but with a unique and intriguing artistic flair. I liked the style a lot.
    Puzzles were well thought out and interesting offering a perfect balance of challenge with out being frustrating. It hook me and motivated me to solve each challenge out of curiosity of what they came up with next. I can easily recommend. I'm off to see what they're other title "INSIDE" is all about.
  11. Apr 8, 2022
    8
    Really good puzzles .................................................................................................
  12. Jan 20, 2021
    9
    Brilliant game. Haunting atmosphere, the sound design and music is absolutely sublime, the puzzles are varied and very creative. Games like this are the reason I play video games. A work of art!
  13. Jul 7, 2021
    9
    Great game! The ambience and art are spot on. It’s perfectly made , controls respond on point. Love the mood (creepy) created. It’s an adult puzzler-platform game. There are some dismembering scenes, just in case you plan on playing it with youngsters. It’s a classic cult game!
  14. Oct 12, 2021
    8
    A solid game from Playdead, bested only by Inside. Short and sweet, with great graphics and controls. However, be warned that it can be rage inducing in places, especially towards the end of the game. I wasn't a huge fan of the game mechanic of the brain worms — which prevent the character from changing direction — but they don't spoil the game. For a game from 2011 (10 years old at theA solid game from Playdead, bested only by Inside. Short and sweet, with great graphics and controls. However, be warned that it can be rage inducing in places, especially towards the end of the game. I wasn't a huge fan of the game mechanic of the brain worms — which prevent the character from changing direction — but they don't spoil the game. For a game from 2011 (10 years old at the time of writing) Limbo still looks great. Not as great as Inside, sure, but still well worth playing. Story is a bit thin here, but it has a few nice little teasers along the way that will give you enough hints to form your own opinions. I'd definitely recommend playing if you haven't done already. Or even if it's just been a long while. Expand
  15. Feb 10, 2022
    8
    El juego esta muy bueno, la duracion no me gusto mucho te lo puedes pasar en menos de 2 horas
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    70
    Odds are you've already experienced it for yourself in the past eight years, but just in case you haven't, it might be worth a shot. [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 21]
  2. Aug 21, 2018
    90
    Despite the short length it's easy to recommend LIMBO to anyone who enjoys puzzle games, especially given the way the game expertly crafts a foreboding atmosphere with a minimum of graphics and sounds. If you played the game when it was originally released, you'll find that it has aged well and is still wholly capable of sucking you back in the way it did when you first played it. If you're new to LIMBO, then it's about time you played this classic indie game.
  3. Aug 17, 2018
    100
    For all the time that has passed, Limbo remains a benchmark of the genre that few other games have come within sniffing distance of. It’s nearly unparalleled in terms of presentation and design, and this latest port to Switch has maintained everything about the game that makes it special. While some might lament the lack of any additional content, I wholeheartedly beg to differ. Limbo is a game that doesn’t need a single bit added, removed, or rearranged. It’s a classic in every sense and deserves to be played by as many people as possible.