Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 14, 2020
    100
    I have become obsessed with this game in the last week, with the moments of quiet, uninterrupted, intense concentration it has given me at a time when focusing is difficult. The game has a simple concept, executed very well, with precise controls and finely balanced difficulty, but it is the magical ambience and an urge towards self-mastery that keep drawing me back, hurtling downhill with my heart in my mouth.
  2. May 11, 2020
    90
    The few performance issues aren't enough to keep Lonely Mountains: Downhill from being a must-have for Switch owners, whether a racing fan or not. The result of this masterful mix of the beauty and serenity of nature, and the gripping challenge of extreme mountain biking, is a genuine classic, one with an insane replay value hidden behind its simple concept.
  3. May 7, 2020
    90
    An exquisite bike racer-cum-trials game with tight controls, varied courses, and uniquely zen-like presentation. At once calming and demanding, Lonely Mountains: Downhill looks and feels like no other game on the eShop. Barring one or two disappointing technical issues, it's an absolute freewheeling delight.
  4. 90
    Not since Paperboy on the NES have I been so infatuated with a title revolving around bicycling. By having all the trails locked behind the completion of challenges a strong sense of accomplishment provides the motivation longer play times. Whether you enjoy the tranquility of a nice ride through a beautiful forest, or the adrenaline rush of flying down a hill at breakneck speeds, Lonely Mountains: Downhill is the type of game that can make time float away like a leaf in the breeze of a sweet Spring morning.
  5. May 15, 2020
    85
    Whether you’re pedaling down tight paths with little margin for error, catching air off natural stone ramps, or getting a quicker than expected reprieve by cruising over a railed bridge, Lonely Mountains: Downhill delivers a challenging, yet remarkably calming, experience. Don’t let a few miscues prevent you from checking this one out; it’s a game worth mastering.
  6. 80
    One of the best video games to ever be based around cycling, with the stylised visuals and pitch perfect controls creating an impressively immersive experience.
  7. 80
    Lonely Mountains: Downhill is a fantastic game. You don’t need to be into bikes, mountains, or sports to enjoy it. The simplicity of riding down a mountain trail, even when you’re trying to beat your personal best time, is an oddly relaxing experience that you can zone out to wherever you’re playing. The short trails are perfect for quick sessions on a commute or while you’re out and about, but there’s definitely potential to sit and play for hours at a time.
  8. May 6, 2020
    75
    There’s no shortage of weird little games on the Nintendo Switch. Whatever brief escape you’re seeking out, you’re certain to find it on this system. Cycling down a series of hills may not immediately catch your eye, but it should. Sometimes a single mechanic is a blessing, in that it inspires a narrow degree of perfection. On the other hand, there’s a very good chance this game just isn’t for you. But! On the off chance the confluence of bikes and bodily harm pings something deep in your guts, you won’t be disappointed. The controls, the game feel, and the level design all come together to bring you peace of mind in the strangest way. Let Lonely Mountains: Downhill take you away, and you’ll be deeply satisfied with the trip.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. May 8, 2020
    7
    I would love to say that it's a great port from xbox/ps4 but unfortunately it's not.

    Graphix : I know that the Switch Hardware doesn't have
    I would love to say that it's a great port from xbox/ps4 but unfortunately it's not.

    Graphix : I know that the Switch Hardware doesn't have the power of the Xbox and ps4 but the textures are muddy and not crisp..The game isn't graphically realistic..Switch should handle that easily

    Performance: Framerate stutter and fps drops are noticeable. Especially if you drive faster and better.

    Gameplay : Smooth as on Ps4 and Xbox

    Verdict : It's a great game. But the Performance Problems and the muddy Graphics Stopps it from being awesome.

    I Hope the Developers put some work on it and patch it to make the experience better.

    7/10
    Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2020
    7
    There's a really beautiful game under here, but there are a lot of physics inconsistencies that still need to get worked out.

    Sprinting, a
    There's a really beautiful game under here, but there are a lot of physics inconsistencies that still need to get worked out.

    Sprinting, a core mechanic, doesn't always work and the player will die getting caught on object corners at the slowest speeds. Disappointingly, several of the game's speed challenges aren't possible to complete with the "screen-based" control scheme due to how it's programmed on Switch which isn't called out anywhere.
    Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2020
    9
    When I first tried this game, the controls felt dreadful and the frame rate choppy. I felt I had completely wasted my money and scored theWhen I first tried this game, the controls felt dreadful and the frame rate choppy. I felt I had completely wasted my money and scored the game 0 in anger.

    I still maintain that the switch is capable of running far more graphically demanding games without freezing. Despite all this, after persevering I have to say that this is one of the most fun games I have ever owned.

    The feeling of carving and sliding through the trails at blinding speed is unlike any other racer and you really feel a sense of accomplishment when you start to shave seconds of your times.

    I dont often change my mind about reviews but am so glad I stuck with it.
    Full Review »