User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 502 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 502
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2019
    7
    Luigi's Mansion 3 tries to improve upon it's 2013 predecessor Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon by ditching the much maligned mission based structure as well as returning to a single mansion. The fan favorite portrait ghosts from the original Luigi's Mansion also return, now in the form of "character" ghosts.

    It's clear that Next Level Games took the criticisms form their previous entry to
    Luigi's Mansion 3 tries to improve upon it's 2013 predecessor Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon by ditching the much maligned mission based structure as well as returning to a single mansion. The fan favorite portrait ghosts from the original Luigi's Mansion also return, now in the form of "character" ghosts.

    It's clear that Next Level Games took the criticisms form their previous entry to heart and sought to make a better game this time around. In some ways they did, In others they did not. Those that enjoyed the exhilarating feel of reeling a particular pesky ghost will be ultimately disappointed as the introduction of the new "slam" ability trivializes most combat sections in the game, not only that it also completely underminds what made the combat so special to begin with. Aside from a dumbed down, basic combat system, LM3 has a weird over emphasis on puzzle solving. While these puzzles can be occasionally clever, they may leave you wondering how they belong in a Luigi's Mansion game to begin with. I often found myself going through long stretches of gameplay eagerly anticipating to see what ghost might be lurking around the next corner only to play through a series of puzzles, ranging from clever at best and obtuse at worst. All in all, Luigi's Mansion 3 is a solid game, and fairs much better when looked at as a stand alone experience. As a sequel, it falls just a tad short.
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Beautiful graphics and technical details like framerate and animation. Good music and ambience. Repetitive and simplistic gameplay loop of defeating a few simple ghosts and doing a few simple puzzles that gets very tedious and cant be saved even with the variety of the level themes. Feels lacking in ideas and simply a bigger is better sequel, which this is not. The original MansionBeautiful graphics and technical details like framerate and animation. Good music and ambience. Repetitive and simplistic gameplay loop of defeating a few simple ghosts and doing a few simple puzzles that gets very tedious and cant be saved even with the variety of the level themes. Feels lacking in ideas and simply a bigger is better sequel, which this is not. The original Mansion outshines this with its superior progression, balance and pacing. Not bad, but i expect more from nintendo. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Amazing graphics and very entertaining. The adventure are very skills full and it has humor to it
  4. Nov 8, 2019
    7
    Could have been better if not for how boring and easy the first half of the game is. Later on the ghost battles are more fun, the puzzles get better, the floor boss fights more epic, but it takes time to get there. 10th and 11th floors were my favorites. Very limited replay value if multiplayer doesn't grab you.
  5. Nov 7, 2019
    5
    I'm not sure what the big deal is. Maybe it's because this is my first Luigi's Mansion game, but I found it utterly boring and irritating. The controls are terrible and it looks like a Wii game at best. Some of the puzzles are satisfying, but the ghost combat is not engaging at all. On top of that some of the bosses are downright frustrating because of the controls and the low health soundI'm not sure what the big deal is. Maybe it's because this is my first Luigi's Mansion game, but I found it utterly boring and irritating. The controls are terrible and it looks like a Wii game at best. Some of the puzzles are satisfying, but the ghost combat is not engaging at all. On top of that some of the bosses are downright frustrating because of the controls and the low health sound is beyond annoying. My biggest disappointment fr om Nintendo in awhile. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Geniale, divertente ed unico nel suo genere. Ennesimo capolavoro Nintendo da avere e da giocare assolutamente !!!
  7. Nov 12, 2019
    7
    A really genuinely fun game, with loads of new and creative game mechanics. However the way many of these are implemented are random and can often leave the player in a sticky situation.
    The map design can also feel quite restrictive despite its beauty...
  8. Nov 8, 2019
    7
    Luigi Mansion 3 looks good BUT controls are kinda clunky and the new dumb downed slam mode replaces what made the battles so amazing, having said that its nice that they tried something new. The overall experience of the game should be more scary and dark (I mean why use a flashlight other than using it on ghosts) - it should also have similar dark toned music like 1 and 2 had.
    But what
    Luigi Mansion 3 looks good BUT controls are kinda clunky and the new dumb downed slam mode replaces what made the battles so amazing, having said that its nice that they tried something new. The overall experience of the game should be more scary and dark (I mean why use a flashlight other than using it on ghosts) - it should also have similar dark toned music like 1 and 2 had.
    But what bugs me the most is that the game in certain ways is a really lazy design, each floor is just its own floor. So you load a new floor and the repeative cycle continues. Its like a gameboy game where every area is exactly the same but looks different. No floors are connected. Nothing is really connected, you're just always loading a new area which is cheap for a new Switch game.

    That and Scarescraper, both the floor parts of the hotel and the MP itself is a very lazy design unfortunately, where you can easily see the superiority of the first LM game when it comes to dark,complex halways that unlock certain sections and you're like how do i open this door and then you do and you got up a floor for example..find keys and unlock new areas that connect and your blown away where the games had mystery and eerie feeling leading to the next area.

    Scarescraper feels very lackluster whats with only 4-5 ghosts and 10 floors max, the worst part having a stressful short timer, forcing people to use Discord instead of playing with randoms that dont know what theyre doing.
    Unlocking coins in MP that is pointless because it doesnt transfer over, nothing you really unlock or level up in MP, but first and foremost it needs new modes other than Time Trials.
    Scarescraper is fun but you will lose if you dont know the people you are playing with. So far it seems to be a great experience for couch plays like most Nintendo games are.

    It should have different modes where you can just explore with friends and unlock stuff,get achievements, level up, finish floors, collect ghosts and whatnot. I guess Luigi Mansion online will always be Time Trial only which is kinda sad because the gameplay is so much fun and i thought they would really hit the ground running with Scarescraper 2. (They will however add paid DLC to it, i dont know if thats a good thing or not).
    LM1 was a good GC game (not perfect) and LM2 tried something new as an amazing handheld game with so much content and introduced Scarescraper which had it flaws but wasnt amazing, just a fun MP that could easily be improved upon. LM3 not only doesnt manage that but does nothing new while recreating similar recipe but its just not as good.

    You might think i see this through rose-tinted glasses, i just thought the other games were 7/10 and 8/10, the Scarescraper being fun but nothing amazing.
    I had huge anticipation for LM3 having an easy time to outplay the former 2 but it didnt even come close. That being said the graphics and achievements are the best part about the game and its great to have a new entry in the series. The puzzles are fun and shooting the plunger is a great addition.

    I know i said alot of negatives but they mostly go toward Scarescraper which i had the most hope for on the Switch being an upgrade from the former one, which it really isnt atm.
    I dont rate any of the 3 games super highly but im still a huge fan that wants just a little bit more to Luigi than this. This was a huge opportunity to make the best game so far, not just another game. Also Mario looks so ridiculous if you compare him to Mario 64 and Sunshine, its like an overgrown retarded babyman while Luigi is quite mature in comparison, Luigi is flippin cool always.
    Overall verdict i have to say its still one of the better games of the year and visually the game is stunning.
    Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Meh, its good. But new olympic games are better. Sometime "good" game is BAD game. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 94
  2. Negative: 0 out of 94
  1. Nov 13, 2019
    90
    Luigi’s Mansion 3 is not only the best game by Next Level Games to date, but also one of the best games currently available on Nintendo Switch along with Breath of the Wild and Super Mario Galaxy, and can easily be a candidate for 2019 game of the year.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Luigi's latest adventure is an adorable and well-made game that is far more diverse than we first thought. Exploring the hotel sometimes feels as extensive as the usual Super Mario adventure, instead of the brief experiences that preceded it. In addition, Luigi's arsenal has grown and with the help of Gooigi we also get a whole new way to deal with the many puzzles the hotel offers. But above all, it's the variety of ghosts and their surroundings that makes Luigi's Mansion 3 one of the most entertaining adventures this fall, despite some tricky controlling methods.
  3. Nov 10, 2019
    90
    The third time really is the charm, as Luigi’s Mansion 3 finds a perfect blend of humor and gameplay for a delightfully spooky experience.