• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 26, 2021
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 674 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 674
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    I have played every iteration of the Monster Hunter series since MH3 Ultimate on the Nintendo DS then 3DS (though I've not played MH World). MH Rise maintains the fun of monster hunting (it's most fun when hunting with other players) but adds two key things:

    1. Quality of life improvements e.g. it's quicker to collect materials along the way (it used to be painfully slow), the Palamute
    I have played every iteration of the Monster Hunter series since MH3 Ultimate on the Nintendo DS then 3DS (though I've not played MH World). MH Rise maintains the fun of monster hunting (it's most fun when hunting with other players) but adds two key things:

    1. Quality of life improvements e.g. it's quicker to collect materials along the way (it used to be painfully slow), the Palamute speeds up travel, hold A to carve a fallen monster multiple times, etc.

    2. Fun new mechanics such as the wirebug which turns you into a bit of a mini Tarzan, and of course, the monster or wyvern riding capability, letting you control some monsters

    If you're new to Monster Hunter, my advice is to take it easy. Take your own sweet time at the beginning with the single player "campaign" which walks you through different quests which introduces you key aspects of the game. There is a whole lot to learn, however, you don't need to learn everything in order to enjoy the game. Just learn the basics, and I would say the key basic thing to learn is weapon handling - just pick ONE weapon (easier ones to pick up include sword and shield, dual sword, long sword - note easy to pick up doesn't mean easy to master!), and learn how to use it. (The next important thing is to learn how different monsters "behave" during hunts - it's the difference between success and failure in a hunt!) Your weapon is the main thing (other than armour next) that will carry you through your initial hunts. In fact, once you are familiar with the weapon system, you can immediately jump on multiplayer as well just to get a feel of hunting with other players. Monster Hunter is best played with others around the world - that's the fun of it!

    If you're a veteran of Monster Hunter, well, you don't need any advice. All that you knew is still there, but you get to enjoy the quality of life stuff that makes Monster Hunter Rise much more enjoyable since some of the terribly boring and painfully mundane mechanics have been taken out of the mix, letting you jump on multiplayer hunts immediately. That's not all though - there are new mechanics for you to learn too - the new Tarzan moves with the fun wirebugs, new Switch skills, etc. Hunting is still soooo fun!

    If you've played Monster Hunter World before this, you may find the mechanics in Rise just a slightly more "complicated" at times, but it's a perfect jumping on point because you're already familiar with hunts and weapons.

    As a result, I must say that Monster Hunter Rise is THE best in the Monster Hunter series and is a great time for new Monster Hunter players to join in the hunt, while returning or veteran hunters can continue enjoying the game with lots of new stuff - and helping new Monster Hunter players enjoy the journey.

    Jump in and enjoy the thrill of the hunt! Absolute 10/10!
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2021
    10
    this is the most fun i've ever had with a monster hunter game. very fun game weather you're playing alone or online with friends. also, i became a cowboy
  3. Jun 10, 2021
    7
    It is a very streamlined Monster Hunter game. They removed a lot of "obstacles" (i.e. smaller map size, no tracking) to get players into the core of the gameplay as soon as possible , but while doing so they seem to forgot to put enough late game contents to justify the streamlining. Standalone apex monster hunts feel worthless since they do not have unique armors set or weapons for you toIt is a very streamlined Monster Hunter game. They removed a lot of "obstacles" (i.e. smaller map size, no tracking) to get players into the core of the gameplay as soon as possible , but while doing so they seem to forgot to put enough late game contents to justify the streamlining. Standalone apex monster hunts feel worthless since they do not have unique armors set or weapons for you to craft, unlike MHXX. Once you craft all the Rampage weapons you need, the Rampage game mode will not provide any purpose to you. Worst of all is the charm, for some reason, they decided charms can only be obtained via Alchemy instead of quest reward. All in all, I think they made a lot of head scratching decisions when developing this game. I hope they will amend the issues in later patch and DLC. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2021
    9
    It's a Fan Game cuz it is like old Monster Hunter Game. But at all there are new and good stuffs and it's more easy to learn than older MH Games.
  5. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    How does this game even run on the switch?
    It performs flawlessly. Furthermore, it looks like we ALREADY have an update from Capcom with new monsters coming in April.
    Basically its simple... if you liked Monster Hunter World, and you own a Switch, this is your go to game.
  6. Jun 12, 2021
    10
    Monster Hunter Rise

    Wow this game is so much fun I have around 100 hours on the game and I still can’t stop but there are some problems in the game Pros: -The music is next level -The gameplay and the movement is just addicting I cant stop using the wire bugs and riding the palamute -The map design is superb and the fact that everything around the map such as beetles and
    Monster Hunter Rise

    Wow this game is so much fun I have around 100 hours on the game and I still can’t stop but there are some problems in the game

    Pros:

    -The music is next level

    -The gameplay and the movement is just addicting I cant stop using the wire bugs and riding the palamute

    -The map design is superb and the fact that everything around the map such as beetles and bugs are all so useful for your hunt just shows how far the team went in terms of making the player travel more around and looking everywhere to find all kinds of secrets and power ups

    -The weapons are similar to the way they were in world but so much better the devs just took the weapons and made them so much better plus you can change your skills and the wire bug skills are just wow

    -The new monsters are super cool I really liked the whole yokai design

    -The armors look fantastic and real as if they were really made by the monsters you hunt

    -The new rampage mode had me worried at first but I got hooked I found myself just doing the rampage missions non stop
    The new armor skills they added and the whole re work they did in comparison to world is just superb

    Cons:

    -Although good the gameplay is clunky at some moments

    -the game is beautiful but the switch is still a very weak console and I sometimes found myself in a cave or near a lot of monsters and the fps drops just made me want to turn the game off

    -the lack of end game because of the pandemic is just awful again I know that the team is not at fault here and they are releasing the missing content at the end of April but the game as Is right now is missing a lot of monsters and an ending to the hub story plus the village story just feels weak and short

    in conclusion the game although lacking at some areas is such a fun experience even after I finished my build and every mission in the game I still want to come back and play more so my final score to monster hunter rise is a 9 out of 10 I really recommend this game for veterans and new comers alike

    update 3.0 review: after they added the ending and new monsters and the whole endgame around the game with the new advanced hr missions plus bug fixes i can finally say this is the best and most perfect monster hunter game to date and my review to the final product is a solid 10 out of 10 i think this game is the best monster hunter in the series
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2021
    9
    Excelente juego, vale el precio , gráficos buenos , buena jugabilidad, excelentes monstruos , lo único malo es que si lo juegas en modo portátil, vas a tener que poner a cagar muchas veces la nintendo, ya que consume mucha batería. 9/10
  8. Mar 28, 2021
    9
    This game may be short on cutscenes/monster introductions, but it is basically like Generations which had a few and was great. I could say this is game is a hybrid of Generations and World, in that, the hub area and quest setup is similar to Generations whereas the monster and weapon animations/designs are akin to World.
  9. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    El mejor MH hasta la fecha. Mejora en todos los aspectos de las entregas anteriores.
  10. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    What a beautiful game ! Been playing monster hunter games since Freedom 2 and the franchise improved a lot since then !
    Rise just feel incredibly fun and satisfying to play, they took the best parts and strengths of the games and weapons and made it even better.
    The new skills with silk bind feel surprisingly natural to use. The extra mobility is just excellent. Returning monsters, new
    What a beautiful game ! Been playing monster hunter games since Freedom 2 and the franchise improved a lot since then !
    Rise just feel incredibly fun and satisfying to play, they took the best parts and strengths of the games and weapons and made it even better.
    The new skills with silk bind feel surprisingly natural to use. The extra mobility is just excellent.
    Returning monsters, new moves, secrets, features, ect : everything is just so nicely put together!
    And the Rampage quests are just super fun with a group a friend !
    Monster Hunter Rise is an excellent game !
    Expand
  11. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    A fantastic game the takes all of the improvements of Monster Hunter World and combines it with the style and flavor of older games.
  12. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Es mi primer Monster Hunter y me esta encantando. Nunca me gusto la temática y el modo de juego de los Monster Hunter, pero la libertad y la facilidad de movimiento que hay en este juego me ha enamorado. Y si a todo esto le añades diseños de monstruos increíbles, zonas espectaculares y que se pueda jugar en una Nintendo switch hace que sea perfecto. Sin ninguna duda la compra de este juegoEs mi primer Monster Hunter y me esta encantando. Nunca me gusto la temática y el modo de juego de los Monster Hunter, pero la libertad y la facilidad de movimiento que hay en este juego me ha enamorado. Y si a todo esto le añades diseños de monstruos increíbles, zonas espectaculares y que se pueda jugar en una Nintendo switch hace que sea perfecto. Sin ninguna duda la compra de este juego es obligatoria. Expand
  13. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    El mejor juego de switch del año y en mi opinion, se disputa el primer puesto dentro de los mejores monster hunter junto al mh4u. La mecanica de frenesi es muy entretenida y innovadora para la saga y el cordoptero habre un mundo de posibilidades para atacar a los enemigos desde cualquier pocicion. Los mapas son mucho mejores que en world, estan tan bien conectados que parece un unico mapaEl mejor juego de switch del año y en mi opinion, se disputa el primer puesto dentro de los mejores monster hunter junto al mh4u. La mecanica de frenesi es muy entretenida y innovadora para la saga y el cordoptero habre un mundo de posibilidades para atacar a los enemigos desde cualquier pocicion. Los mapas son mucho mejores que en world, estan tan bien conectados que parece un unico mapa compacto, repleto de varios niveles de verticalidad interconectados de forma muy natural, al contrario que en world que aunque no habia zonas de carga, las diversas areas continuaban sintiendose demasiado ajenas unas de las otras, perdiendo esa inmersion , que en rise no sucede ya que para ir a un mismo sitio existen infinitas rutas. El juego esta estupendamente optimizado y en la version portatil los graficos son inpresionantes, sin sufrir ni la mas minima caida de fps en las mas de 30h que llevo jugando. El online tambien funciona perfectamente , no hay caidas del online ni lag, incluso si juegas con gente de otras regiones. GOTY Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Excellent game. Great gameplay, very good graphics, without a doubt one of the best that Capcom has done
  15. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    World was great but couldn't stand the time spent running around. MH Rise is a game changer! So many quality of life changes. No loading times, mount to travel, in town you can quick travel plus lots more. Great job Capcom!
  16. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    I love this game!! Better graphics!! Better story!! And it’s only for Nintendo Switch. Thanks Capcom!!
  17. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    The best game in the series!

    World was a great game but playing it never felt like playing a Monster Hunter game, with Rise instead I feel teleported back in years when I started my journey on my 3DS with Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, thank you capcom
  18. Mar 27, 2021
    9
    One of the best Monster Hunter games in this 5th generation, portable, with many content and more in the free updates
  19. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    the story must be better but, new action style of weapon, very useful wire bug, beautiful bgm and amazing visual on nintendo switch. what else?
  20. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    El mejor juego de lo que va de año, adictivo, graficos increibles para ser la nintendo switch, genial sistema de combate, un monton de horas de jugabilidad. Me encanto este juego
  21. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    I've been playing Monster Hunter games since the days of the PSP and this series has definitely went from strength to strength with each new releases however with Rise the step up seems more than ever now in the gameplay department.

    From the gorgeous visual style to the ridiculously wholesome setting of the Japanese inspired village, you feel like it has taken the series above and
    I've been playing Monster Hunter games since the days of the PSP and this series has definitely went from strength to strength with each new releases however with Rise the step up seems more than ever now in the gameplay department.

    From the gorgeous visual style to the ridiculously wholesome setting of the Japanese inspired village, you feel like it has taken the series above and beyond what was established in World. The combat with the added Switch Skills and wirebug techniques have brought the action to a whole new level in Monster Hunter Rise, with a strong monster roster and fast paced, frantic fun in the Rampage quests they have added in the game, you won't want to put this game down. A definite 10/10 from me and my new favourite game in the series.
    Expand
  22. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Monster Hunter Rise brings a few new mechanics but doesn't really change what makes the series great. It is hard to rate any of the games less than 10. If you like the Monster Hunter formula you will likely enjoy this entry.
  23. Mar 27, 2021
    9
    The game is beautiful, there are less content than MHWorld at launch but they're already working on new monsters. The scenery is beautiful and interactive, you can climb almost anything. The monsters feature returning fan favorites and new beautiful monsters.
    And the most important thing, twin waifus.
  24. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    This is the best Monster Hunter game I have ever played. QoL improvements make it less tedious than earlier games. The wirebug gives is a great new addition that make the gameplay more fun. The graphics are stunning for a Switch game and the load times are surprisingly short. Absolute must play for any Monster Hunter or action game fan.
  25. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Если в MH World я поигрывал между делом, то в эту часть залип конкретно. Видно что разработчики анализируют свои ошибки и исправляют их. Игра стала в разы динамичнее бодрее, дизайн приятнее. В общем отдаю 10ку
  26. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    This game is one of the best in the series. The wirebug and palamutes are incredible.
  27. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    30 Hours in and not even close to the end the hub quests, this is easily the best monster hunter game in the series with its amazing art style/graphics, new monsters and heaps of quality of life changes that were missing from MHW. This game is the perfect merge of World and double cross and that's not even mentioning the traversal of the map which is just so fun. It feels like breath of30 Hours in and not even close to the end the hub quests, this is easily the best monster hunter game in the series with its amazing art style/graphics, new monsters and heaps of quality of life changes that were missing from MHW. This game is the perfect merge of World and double cross and that's not even mentioning the traversal of the map which is just so fun. It feels like breath of the wild on crack, you're able to go wherever you want and take any route as you can climb practically every wall and cliff in the game. The combat in the game is phenomenal as the new wire bug moves often allow for closing the distance on monsters in a very satisfying and extremely fun way, with switch skills that also change how a weapon can fundamentally work. So far this game has been a blast in every possible way and you need to pick this game up if you have been a fan of ANY previous installment. Ichinose has done it again. Expand
  28. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    A nice mashup of original Monster hunter and MHWorld. Excellent sound and music with great care on details. The town feels alive, the maps are colorful, clean and super fun the explore. I think they really nail it for both old and new hunters.
  29. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    As a long time monster hunter player I’ve seen the series evolve with time. After playing World and it’s Iceborne expansion I didn’t think they could achieve a better product however Rise incorporates the best features from world and the older games while combining them with new engaging ways to play. The theme and story of this game are far more interesting with it also being one of theAs a long time monster hunter player I’ve seen the series evolve with time. After playing World and it’s Iceborne expansion I didn’t think they could achieve a better product however Rise incorporates the best features from world and the older games while combining them with new engaging ways to play. The theme and story of this game are far more interesting with it also being one of the most beautiful and expansive games in the Switch. The only negative I have to say is that there isn’t more of it, however there’s plans in place for free updates that will add monsters and expand the game. This is a must buy for any fan of the series or any switch owner. Expand
  30. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Companion 'Palamute'
    presence is wonderful.
    And in Monster Hunter World, the character's movement speed was very slow. However, Monster Hunter Rise has a fast character movement speed and a cool attack speed. It's the most fun of all monsters so far, but my character is also strong, so it's fun. Above all, it overcomes the limitations of the Nintendo Switch. This is the first
    Companion 'Palamute'
    presence is wonderful.

    And in Monster Hunter World, the character's movement speed was very slow.
    However, Monster Hunter Rise has a fast character movement speed and a cool attack speed.
    It's the most fun of all monsters so far, but my character is also strong, so it's fun.

    Above all, it overcomes the limitations of the Nintendo Switch.
    This is the first time a game has such great graphics on the Nintendo Switch.

    동반자 '가루크' 간지나고 멋있습니다.
    존재감이 훌륭합니다.

    그리고 Monster Hunter World에서는 캐릭터의 이동 속도가 매우 느렸습니다.

    그러나 Monster Hunter Rise는 빠른 캐릭터 이동 속도와 시원한 공격 속도를 가지고 있습니다.

    지금까지 모든 몬스터헌터 시리즈 중 몹들이 가장 강하지만, 캐릭터도 강해서 재미 있습니다.
    Expand
  31. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Basically a beautiful polished new generation Monster Hunter game.

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Maecenas porta ultricies massa. Duis vestibulum velit lectus, in vehicula purus accumsan in. Aenean vel varius velit. Vivamus tortor lorem, luctus et mollis sed, commodo in urna. In tincidunt dolor vel nibh sagittis rhoncus eget quis eros. Sed condimentum, neque sed
    Basically a beautiful polished new generation Monster Hunter game.

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Maecenas porta ultricies massa. Duis vestibulum velit lectus, in vehicula purus accumsan in. Aenean vel varius velit. Vivamus tortor lorem, luctus et mollis sed, commodo in urna. In tincidunt dolor vel nibh sagittis rhoncus eget quis eros. Sed condimentum, neque sed ultricies fermentum, nisi enim accumsan lectus, eget pretium lectus nulla et arcu. Nunc magna turpis, finibus et tempus ut, aliquam vitae sem. Suspendisse euismod mi ut nunc sagittis, vitae laoreet lacus tristique. Sed neque mauris, ornare vitae feugiat quis, tincidunt vel mi. Proin aliquam, odio ac pellentesque dignissim, neque elit dictum augue, id maximus sapien massa sagittis sem. Proin id felis vulputate, feugiat purus at, placerat ipsum. Ut rhoncus suscipit suscipit.

    Donec ac magna a tellus laoreet semper. Duis fermentum lacinia orci, ut elementum sem tincidunt ac. Vivamus vitae ante vitae massa facilisis auctor. Nam aliquet volutpat suscipit. Donec ac orci a enim tincidunt sodales sit amet eget elit. Sed ultricies nulla a dictum ultrices. Sed in pharetra dolor. Cras ultricies massa at hendrerit vulputate.

    Maecenas vel eros lorem. Class aptent taciti sociosqu ad litora torquent per conubia nostra, per inceptos himenaeos. Nam at feugiat felis, sed facilisis dui. Vivamus in purus mauris. Donec leo lorem, accumsan commodo pharetra id, ullamcorper sed erat. Vestibulum ante ipsum primis in faucibus orci luctus et ultrices posuere cubilia curae; Aliquam aliquet hendrerit dolor vitae tempus. Nullam rutrum eu lectus non varius. Praesent eget consequat ipsum.

    Vestibulum congue neque sit amet metus bibendum vehicula. Nam porttitor magna ut nisl malesuada tempus. Aliquam erat volutpat. Vivamus imperdiet nulla id est efficitur, nec ultrices ipsum faucibus. Aenean condimentum leo vitae purus tincidunt, sit amet consequat sapien euismod. In dapibus quam quis est egestas, sed mollis sem sollicitudin. Proin sem urna, aliquam a eros eget, laoreet feugiat magna. Suspendisse potenti. Nunc commodo nec velit quis dictum. Fusce sed urna a odio lacinia sollicitudin at nec quam. Sed porta quam non lobortis pellentesque. Nam sit amet enim erat. Sed vel ligula aliquet, convallis ligula id, rutrum nisl. Mauris blandit diam luctus orci hendrerit mollis. Aliquam id ligula sed nibh imperdiet ornare quis eget arcu. Etiam vitae nisi eu sem mattis mollis non eget dolor.
    Expand
  32. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    I started the series with monster hunter freedom unite at psp I was really young back then now im 22 and I still feel the same excitement while playing
  33. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    It's a Goty 2021. That's all. ;) don't cry sonyer. You'll can play this game too. Only have to buy a Nintendo Switch or PC whit great components bc u need eat graphics, REALISTIC graphics. (JUST JOKE). Anyway, great game, a lot of gameplay time to enjoy te world of this game.
  34. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Simplemente es lo que estaba esperando, e adorado mucho la saga, en especial la tercera gen. Y al saber que MH Rise sería eso que tanto quiero. Quedó satisfecho, que es cierto que se ha simplificado la recolecta de materiales pero son solo detalles minúsculos comparado con sus aciertos. Dificultad más fácil?. Eso siempre a Sido así, cualquiera que allá jugado la saga sabe que el rango G esSimplemente es lo que estaba esperando, e adorado mucho la saga, en especial la tercera gen. Y al saber que MH Rise sería eso que tanto quiero. Quedó satisfecho, que es cierto que se ha simplificado la recolecta de materiales pero son solo detalles minúsculos comparado con sus aciertos. Dificultad más fácil?. Eso siempre a Sido así, cualquiera que allá jugado la saga sabe que el rango G es lo difícil de verdad. Que siga la caza!!!. Sin nada más que agregar, hasta aquí mi reporte Joaquín. Expand
  35. Dt_
    Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Phenomenal game adding on to what was originally done with World. The addition of Wirebugs and the bestest of boys is just a cherry on top. Not to mention Capcom’s post-launch updates for MH games have never ceased to make the game even greater. This is the beginning of what I believe to be the best Switch game to date.
  36. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    The most accessible and dynamic franchise, mesmerizing combat, best switch game.
  37. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Best nintendo switch game since zelda bowt. In this game with good graphics and millions of quests to do
  38. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Absolute perfection... more accessible than previous MH titles. Armor and weapon redesigns are fantastically realized. The new wirebug system is incredibly fresh.
  39. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Absolutely a lot of fun. Granted its a step down in terms of graphics from world but to me, personally, I never played these games because of their fancy graphics. Are they nice? Yes. But the next one on all platforms will be graphically intensive so I'm okay with this.

    Overall Rise is just so much fun. I've been playing since the Freedom Unite days and The verticility, the maps, the
    Absolutely a lot of fun. Granted its a step down in terms of graphics from world but to me, personally, I never played these games because of their fancy graphics. Are they nice? Yes. But the next one on all platforms will be graphically intensive so I'm okay with this.

    Overall Rise is just so much fun. I've been playing since the Freedom Unite days and The verticility, the maps, the monsters, the weapon designs, the village oh and the village theme is all so well bloody done. That music is incredibly well done. The sound design in this game is awesome. It's a nice mashup of MHworld, a little bit of a classic feeling while also being incredibly accessible to everyone. The Village feels alive. The colours are much more vibrant. The incredible setting of the Japanese inspired village and Haiku monster intros. The switch skills and wirebug techniques are also really well done and add a new layer to hunting. Definately up there with one of my favourites in the series.
    Expand
  40. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    É um jogo que mantém tudo de bom que a franquia vem mostrando em todos esses anos, mas também cumpre muito bem o objetivo da capcom, que foi popularizar a saga, já que, antes de Monster Hunter World, era muito nichada, para isso, o jogo precisou ser simplificado para se abrir a novos públicos, e isso não é ruim, é muito bom, na verdade. Nota 10 sem dúvidas.
  41. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    One of the best games on Switch hands down, my favorite actually, and the best Monster Hunter to date! The graphics, gameplay, music are all top notch quality that you’d expect from the Monster Hunter teams at Capcom. This game is amazing in every sense of the word! Do not hesitate to buy it! 10/10, 2021 Game of the Year!
  42. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Finally, the ultimate MH. Perfect gameplay, Excellent artistic direction, practical lobby, good balance and customisation of weapons. Thx Capcom, you did it right!
  43. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    I played it for around 40 hours completing the main missions and some side quests. After playing past iterations I can only say that this game is impressive. Graphically it is 10/10 taking into account that it is just a Nintendo Switch game, and how limited the system is. The load times are impeccable, even faster than walking to the location, and faster than past MH games. The battleI played it for around 40 hours completing the main missions and some side quests. After playing past iterations I can only say that this game is impressive. Graphically it is 10/10 taking into account that it is just a Nintendo Switch game, and how limited the system is. The load times are impeccable, even faster than walking to the location, and faster than past MH games. The battle system is incredibly fun. The only somewhat negative thing is that the game is too short, but this will be fixed in the following patches, since CAPCOM has confirmed new monsters and quests. I loved this game, and I don't remember being so addicted to a game in the past two years. I wish more companies would follow the example set by CAPCOM with this game. Pretty impressive. Expand
  44. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Definitivamente el mejor monster hunter creado, me ha encantado todo... Música espectacular, gráficos espectaculares siendo de switch, jugabilidad totalmente fluida, tiempos de cargas cortos, un gran acierto el canyne, increíblemente bueno el coordoptero(cable bicho) te mueves mucho más fluido por el mapa, una pasada que no haya zonas con tiempo de carga totalmente abierto, una pasadaDefinitivamente el mejor monster hunter creado, me ha encantado todo... Música espectacular, gráficos espectaculares siendo de switch, jugabilidad totalmente fluida, tiempos de cargas cortos, un gran acierto el canyne, increíblemente bueno el coordoptero(cable bicho) te mueves mucho más fluido por el mapa, una pasada que no haya zonas con tiempo de carga totalmente abierto, una pasada poder subir alas montañas o donde te de la gana, el juego gana una verticalidad brutal. Mucho mejor recolectar mineral de un solo golpe enves de perder tanto tiempo recolectando setas, mieles, mineral etc.. Todo un acierto también el mapa que te muestran los enemigos, la fauna, los materiales etc.... El online va de 10. Vienen actualizaciones gratis.... El sistema de creación de armaduras y armas está mejor organizado, y tu equipamiento, la aldea kamura está muy bien organizada, no tienes que investigar huellas ni nada para desbloquear información de los enemigos, esta como antiguamente. ... Etc. Así podría seguir pfff.. Este juego se merece ser goty, lo han hecho increíblemente bien Capcom. Expand
  45. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    My first MH game and my god its gorgeous!Was a bit rough to learn the mechanics but once i did...smooth sail!
  46. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Absolutely outstanding game. On of the beste on the switch. Great Graphics included. Anf theres more to come
  47. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    This is by far 1 of the best looking games on the Nintendo switch I honestly don’t have any complaints about it. In my opinion this the best monster hunter game of all time and it will only keep getting better with future dlc this is a must buy if you own a switch!!!
  48. Mar 27, 2021
    9
    Best action game on switch. However, the story part is poor. I like MHW better where there is a connection between missions.
  49. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    No jugué world, pase del MH 4 de 3DS directamente a este, y que juegazo está hecho, mecánicas nuevas, animaciones modificadas, miles de posibilidades, que buen juego
  50. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Bueno pues para mí es un 10 si o si porque me encantó tiene la esencia de los MH de antes pero este es más frenético se podría decir los gráficos para ser de switch están brutales y todavía llevarlo en modo portátil ufffff juegazo gracias Capcom por traer un juegazo así a nintendo switch
  51. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Perfect game, new features just awesome. I just have a blast playing this gem!
  52. Mar 28, 2021
    9
    Unlike MHW (which I got bored of quite quickly) this one is actually quite a lot of fun and definitely worth playing.
  53. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    The best iteration of monster hunter yet. Silkbind, wyvern riding, quality of life improvements and amazing diversity in monsters. Can't wait for the end game DLCs! One of the best switch exclusives yet!
  54. Mar 27, 2021
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would give an 8.5 if I could. I just completed the story (low rank) in about 6-8 hours of play time, and the only semi challenging monster for me was the last boss, and I still didn't cart. MHW was my first MH game and I have about 500-800 hours into it, so I have decent experience with the game, so maybe that's why it felt too easy. I'm also surprised how fast I beat low rank, but maybe that's because I'm not new, so take this review with a grain of salt.

    I think this game is perfect for beginners, but to fans of the series and gamers who enjoy a challenge, this is a letdown so far. Maybe it will change with high rank (I'll update this), and I'm sure the DLC will have more challenging monsters, but we'll just have to wait and see.

    Still a lot of fun, but I would love some more challenge.

    Definitely recommend it
    Expand
  55. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Es un gran juego aunque los pocos monstruos se compensan con las grandiosas mecánicas
  56. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    It has everything I love about Monster Hunter: wonderful soundtrack, diverse native life, agility in combat, simple and objective storyline, epic battles and great monster design.
  57. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    As a long time fan who has been playing since Freedom on the PSP - 40 hours into Rise, I can confidently say this is the best the series as ever been. Gameplay is exhilarating - wirebug off the face of a canyon to bring your giant lightning arcing sword/axe combo crashing 50 feet down into the face of a monster in the Sandy Plains. Hop behind a Gatling turret in the trenches of what feelsAs a long time fan who has been playing since Freedom on the PSP - 40 hours into Rise, I can confidently say this is the best the series as ever been. Gameplay is exhilarating - wirebug off the face of a canyon to bring your giant lightning arcing sword/axe combo crashing 50 feet down into the face of a monster in the Sandy Plains. Hop behind a Gatling turret in the trenches of what feels like the Monster Hunter equivalent of WW2 in the Rampages. It’s fast, fluid, chaotic and flashy - but with the same level of depth and strategic thought that has always made Monster Hunter shine.

    The QoL improvements are excellent. Be anywhere in the Hub at the click of a button. The design of the village makes it so that you can do everything you need and get back to hunting in moments. Making and connecting with friends is as easy as ever via the mutual like and Hunter Connect systems. Classic style lobbies AND World style signal flares via Join Requests? Awesome. The performance is flawless, even on a 4 person rampage with roughly 8 monsters on screen with explosions and machine gun fire in all directions. The visuals are incredible, the level design and Wirebug compliment each other so well that even just zipping around gathering materials becomes pure joy. The armor and weapon designs, the music, the atmosphere, how much care and detail went into every little aspect - this game just has so much soul. It is a masterpiece in every regard and I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for Rose.
    Expand
  58. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Game looks and feels amazing. Hard to believe they could pull this off on the switch
  59. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    Best Monster Hunter game so far. Takes all that’s good from the previous games, enhances them, introduces significant new stuff (wirebug, climbing, riding,...) and makes it all fast and fun to play solo or online on the TV or handheld.
  60. Apr 5, 2021
    9
    The game is great, but I felt the rampage a little irrelevant since you can't grind good itens from this New mode, it's Just a refreshing way to play. Wirebug is incredible.
  61. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    I know very few games deserve a 10 but in my opinion this game is just that. Only issue is that it isn't very beginner friendly but I won't give it a 9 for that. I've been playing the Monster Hunter series a while and that has really helped me in understanding the new mechanics and all the systems at play. This game has amazing graphics & aesthetics (for Switch), gameplay & performance isI know very few games deserve a 10 but in my opinion this game is just that. Only issue is that it isn't very beginner friendly but I won't give it a 9 for that. I've been playing the Monster Hunter series a while and that has really helped me in understanding the new mechanics and all the systems at play. This game has amazing graphics & aesthetics (for Switch), gameplay & performance is solid, combat & wirebugs are my favorite addition to the series, and the music is 10 out of 10!!.. it rivals that of Nier Automata. The song played at steelworks is a joy to hear everytime. Phenomenal game all around. If you own a Switch this is a no-brainer, must buy game.. even if you are a newcomer. Also, this game is great to play solo or co-op. Please give it a shot. If you aren't vibing.. change your weapon before you put it down. 14 weapons that all feel super unique and change the playstyle considerably. Expand
  62. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    A perfect blend of new and old Monster Hunter games MHRise proves the tried and tested formula and shows that the power and appeal of the switch hasn't lost it's edge.
  63. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    Lo mejor que tiene Nintendo Switch, es espectacular que pueda correr esta obra de arte, y no soy ningún fan de Monster hunter, me gustan y ya, pero en este caso hay que aplaudir a CAPCOM por su increíble trabajo. Y a parte de lo gráfico, jugablemente 10/10, y ambientación, todo, me tiene enganchado.
  64. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    Not only this is the best Monster Hunter game in the series, but it's also one of the best RPGs I seen. A recommendation to everyone. A masterpiece.
  65. Mar 31, 2021
    9
    This game is great! I really cant think of anything bad about it. it's just pure fun.
  66. Mar 31, 2021
    9
    I am loving this game with a big fat exception, however it's hard for me to knock points off for this exception as it may be just because how much I played the older games. The problem I have is how easy the game is. I've yet to fail a quest due to carting and I've actually only carted in total 3 times. For people new to monster hunter this is a perfect game. For veterans it may be tooI am loving this game with a big fat exception, however it's hard for me to knock points off for this exception as it may be just because how much I played the older games. The problem I have is how easy the game is. I've yet to fail a quest due to carting and I've actually only carted in total 3 times. For people new to monster hunter this is a perfect game. For veterans it may be too easy. Still. It's a beautiful and fun game with fun new mechanics. Expand
  67. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Amazing game, highly recommend to any one on the fence about this great game franchise. Graphics are superb as well as how smooth the game runs.

    Gameplay takes a massive step up from previous entries thanks to the amazing wire bug and also switch skillsmassively improve the 14 weapons moves
  68. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Don't compare to World like most of you tube is! This game is the successor to generations ultimate. the way multiplayer works, single player, food, palico training area, quests, everything is born from the old school monster hunter. there is quality of life enhancements such as no loads between areas and load time are really quick. the armour and weapon systems are pretty much the sameDon't compare to World like most of you tube is! This game is the successor to generations ultimate. the way multiplayer works, single player, food, palico training area, quests, everything is born from the old school monster hunter. there is quality of life enhancements such as no loads between areas and load time are really quick. the armour and weapon systems are pretty much the same too.

    Essentially, the quality of life and the new mechanics don't break the game. it is easier than previous titles, but only because your already a skilled hunter if returning to the series. I thought it was stupid easy until I seen family that have never touched the series before trying to get to grips with it all, then I realised that I do have over 5000 hours spent on the series since early 2000's.

    I do miss mechanics from world that I had got used to sure. For instance, I really miss the clutch claw, hanging off its face and punching it directly in the face to turn the hulking beast and smashing a monster into a wall from it is way more satisfying than silk bind control, dropping off a high level directly landing on and mounting the monster is immense fun and missing too. Another infuriating thing is when the creature is battered and needs to run away, you could zip onto it in world and keep it in the area, which now its going to get away even on the back of your trusty Palamute, BUT, that's why all this should not be a comparison to World, its not World. The mechanics feel more of a direct lineage upgrade from generations ultimate rather than from world. World is very western in its story and its characters, and overall look (designed to be so) . Rise goes out of its way to introduce Japanese culture. its built for the handheld market, and that has always been strongest in Japan and Asia.

    Any monster hunter worth his salt is going to own every console or Pc with a current monster hunter game. world will have a world 2 for pc and console, and rise is the start of Capcom's new handheld MH Branding. So get ready to own 2 consoles or Nintendo and a pc whilst MH Stories is Capcom's mobile phone branding. As a business structure its sound (own three games rather than 1) and this will pave the way for a very bright future for all of us hunters as all games are fully supported. The series is still in the 'growing the fan base and loyalty' stage of development due to the west being late to the MH party.

    As for possible lack of content, you only have to see how Capcom have handled this in the past with constant updates and new monsters/weapons/armour/areas. your game is going to stay relevant for a very long time.
    lets hope Capcom don't do an EA or Activision once they have the massive user base, because you can see how that went, all those micro transactions and ripping the customer until the product saturated the market and fell from grace because of greed is to blame for the vacuum of power in the gaming world, and Capcom and Square Enix were just waiting for that moment to launch Jap gaming back into the mainstream.

    MH Rise is worth every penny. Cannot wait for G rank in rise and world 2 on the next gen consoles!
    Expand
  69. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Much like its predecessors, Monster Hunter: Rise brings with it sweeping improvements. Load times have almost entirely been erased. Unlike World, you're now able to see and interact with other Hunters in the village and hub in multiplayer. The weapons feel great and the introduction of wirebug skills helps keep the movesets fresh and even somewhat nostalgic for GU players.

    Of course, Rise
    Much like its predecessors, Monster Hunter: Rise brings with it sweeping improvements. Load times have almost entirely been erased. Unlike World, you're now able to see and interact with other Hunters in the village and hub in multiplayer. The weapons feel great and the introduction of wirebug skills helps keep the movesets fresh and even somewhat nostalgic for GU players.

    Of course, Rise still has some faults. Every now and then the FPS will take a dive. The game also seems to eat a lot of battery. Also, because your companions now always join you in multiplayer, it can be difficult to see with four players on the screen.

    Even so, Rise's stellar experience and gameplay easily earn it a 10 from me.
    Expand
  70. Mar 29, 2021
    9
    Monster Hunter Rise brings massive quality of life improvements to a series long known for clunky controls and unfriendly mechanics, making it one of the easiest entries to get into. Its predecessor MH World introduced the series to a massive new audience with bringing it to not one but three platforms, a first for the series. This put a heavy weight on whatever game would follow to meetMonster Hunter Rise brings massive quality of life improvements to a series long known for clunky controls and unfriendly mechanics, making it one of the easiest entries to get into. Its predecessor MH World introduced the series to a massive new audience with bringing it to not one but three platforms, a first for the series. This put a heavy weight on whatever game would follow to meet the lofty bar set. Rise not only meets this bar but aims to surpass its predecessor down the road in terms of monsters and variety.

    One thing that a lot of veterans of the series can tell you was one of the most aggravating parts of Monster Hunter is getting from point A to point B. Map traversal is usually a difficult ordeal that was tempered in World:Iceborne with the mount system and fast travel system, though still with some rough edges. Rise improves upon both of these systems with the palamute buddy and a fast travel system that's faster to use and easier to understand respectively. Another less than fun portion of games in the series is the gathering quests and small monster hunts, where you're tasked to scrounge the map for gathering nodes and less impressive beasts. Rise answers these long standing low points with simply marking them on your map, leaving the task to simply traverse the zone. Less exciting sub quests are also often relegated to being optional requests that can be tackled during more exciting quests. For example, one request is to slay 8 Kestodon, a small and very easy to kill monster. You can queue a mission to take down a mark in the desert and any Kestodon you see on the way will count to the request. This is true for any of the requests, so feel free to line them up and take them all down while working on your key quests.

    Rise also stands as a technical feat for the Switch, making incredible use of the RE engine and bringing the power of the hardware to bare. With so much going on that the player can lose track of things, the game continues to run at stable frames and shows no drop in visual quality. Obviously compared to World it may not look as realistic or detailed, but these factors would only matter in movies, not in an action game. The art style lends itself to the traditional Monster Hunter mesh of old-styled architecture mixed with bizarre and sometimes impossible industry, this time drawing from traditional Japanese designs.

    Monster Hunter is also a series known for testing out new gimmicks now and again, from swimming to mounting and taking down monsters. Some have stuck around, some have been remixed, and some have fallen to the side. Gone is World's slinger and having to dig around for ammo, softening monster parts and shooting them into walls. In exchange, Rise brings the wirebug, a constantly recharging resource used for traversal and unique new moves for each weapon. You're able to climb nearly any surface you see, recover quickly from attacks and reach airborne nuisances with a quick press and aim. It can take a while to get used to and even longer to master, but when you find the groove you'll feel the incredible power it puts in the player's hand. The traversal benefits alone are a welcome addition, and being able to customize your move set is a welcome return that I personally hope stays for good this time.

    One thing Monster Hunter has never been known for is story. You've heard it quite a few times, you arrive in a village and stave off all manner of dangers until you fight the big final beast and are named the hero, with a few changes here and there. World went to the next level with a more cinematic, if slower and more of a slog, story that required you to be by yourself for the beginning of each quest, leaving a very co-op unfriendly experience for a multiplayer game. Rise does have a sparse handful of cutscenes, but this time allows a full party to start the quest instead of individually viewing the cutscene, leaving and rejoining together. But Rise also suffers from a blatantly unfinished story and while Capcom has stated the upcoming updates will close off the story, right now it leaves a very unsatisfying tale.

    Rise brings nothing but improvements across the board to the gameplay of the Monster Hunter series and a slew of much requested quality of life improvements. Whether the free updates with new monsters and quests will lead it to live up to its predecessors awaits to be seen, but what is there is a fantastic experience for new and old players and one of the best experiences on the Switch. It's lackluster story keeps it from a perfect score, but with so much of the game exceeding expectations, it remains a stellar vanilla entry in the Monster Hunter series.
    Expand
  71. Mar 29, 2021
    9
    I'm now about 20 hours in. Only negative thing for me is, that you don't have to search for the monsters anymore, since they are automatically shown on the map. Hope there will be some "Hard(core)" mode at some point to "fix" this.
    Otherwise a near perfect MH. Graphics top (for the few who really care), not so clunky controls anymore.. In all many small things which makes the experience
    I'm now about 20 hours in. Only negative thing for me is, that you don't have to search for the monsters anymore, since they are automatically shown on the map. Hope there will be some "Hard(core)" mode at some point to "fix" this.
    Otherwise a near perfect MH. Graphics top (for the few who really care), not so clunky controls anymore.. In all many small things which makes the experience very round.
    Expand
  72. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    The best Monster Hunter I have ever played. Without a doubt it is the best Monster Hunter that has been created. You must buy if you have a Nintendo Switch. You will have hours and hours of fun guaranteed.
  73. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    He jugado a Monster Hunter desde Monster Hunter Freedom para PSP y he jugado a casi todos los los existentes a partir de ahí. He de decir que es el más fluido y divertido que he podido jugar junto al Monster Hunter World.

    Gráficamente es una gozada para Switch y llega al techo técnico de la consola o al menos, la exprime. El juego se siente fluido y enganchante, estilo de misiones,
    He jugado a Monster Hunter desde Monster Hunter Freedom para PSP y he jugado a casi todos los los existentes a partir de ahí. He de decir que es el más fluido y divertido que he podido jugar junto al Monster Hunter World.

    Gráficamente es una gozada para Switch y llega al techo técnico de la consola o al menos, la exprime.
    El juego se siente fluido y enganchante, estilo de misiones, monstruos, el uso del cordóptero y las mascotas...
    Llevo varias horas y la ambientación Japonesa es todo un acierto, esperemos que saquen buenas actualizaciones y futuramente saquen una expansión tal y como hicieron con Iceborne.

    En definitiva, se merece ser uno de los mejores juegos del año sin duda alguna.
    Expand
  74. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Masterpiece, I am sure that if this game published by Nintendo or NaughtyDog every reviewer will give it 10/10
  75. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    So much fun, Monster hunter never fails to deliver, if anything the only sin this games commit is being too short.
  76. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Loved Monster Hunter World and this is of the same quality. Perfect game for handheld.
  77. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    One of the best Monster Hunter games released, such an improvement over Monster Hunter World. The armor and weapon designs are mostly like the older games with unique and impressive designs. Gameplay is smooth and satisfying, can’t recommend enough, i hope this sells better than world.
  78. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Easily the best possible combination of everything good in World and Generations
  79. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Dieses Monster Hunter war eine große Überraschung für mich. Monster Hunter habe ich damals mal auf der PS2 abgezockt und bin erst mit MH World wieder eingestiegen, welches ich eine Zeit lang gespielt habe. Bei MHRISE war ich sehr gespannt, auf die vielen Neuerungen, wie das Reiten auf dem Palamute und die Seilkäfer, womit man neuerdings in ungeahnte Höhen kommt! Monster Hunter Rise hat fürDieses Monster Hunter war eine große Überraschung für mich. Monster Hunter habe ich damals mal auf der PS2 abgezockt und bin erst mit MH World wieder eingestiegen, welches ich eine Zeit lang gespielt habe. Bei MHRISE war ich sehr gespannt, auf die vielen Neuerungen, wie das Reiten auf dem Palamute und die Seilkäfer, womit man neuerdings in ungeahnte Höhen kommt! Monster Hunter Rise hat für mich den besten HUB der Spielereihe, ein gutes online System (#Cutcene) und einfach ein wertiges Gefühl. Auf der Switch läuft es super, ein rundes Spielgefühl. Macht auf jeden Fall Bock. Loire. & Leveln! Expand
  80. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Эта игра вернула мне интерес к свичу, топ
    Стабильные 30 фпс, отличная графика(по меркам свича).
  81. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    This game is exactly what I needed for this time of my life. Monster Hunter Rise starts of with a great introduction to the world where the characters shine like never before in any other Monster Hunter game. The graphics have to be one of the best looking games on the Nintendo Switch even on handheld mode. Even at the start of the game it's promising all the way through it's finale. InThis game is exactly what I needed for this time of my life. Monster Hunter Rise starts of with a great introduction to the world where the characters shine like never before in any other Monster Hunter game. The graphics have to be one of the best looking games on the Nintendo Switch even on handheld mode. Even at the start of the game it's promising all the way through it's finale. In the gameplay aspect in the past entries of Monster Hunter the game felt harder to grasp and each entry was a different challenge. In this entry of the series the weapons have never felt smoother and therefore faster. The animations are clean and spot on to what command you execute to be more effective on hunts. The story is simple and each character has it's own charm to add flavor to the story. The game has it's own Japanese- like culture that was the direct influence and it just adds to the charming aspect of the village. The palicos are as cute as ever , now even adding dog companions in to the mix to even further implement different play styles. There are so many different ways to approach each hunt to the point no hunt feels exactly the same which is extremely refreshing. If you are considering playing this game just for fun or because you are a fan you might love it as much as the hundreds of players currently hunting together. Expand
  82. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    This game is the best entry of Monster Hunter to date. Its also one of the best looking games on the Nintendo Switch. Very addicting.
  83. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    While not the best monster hunter game, it is still awesome. I'm giving it a 10 to let everyone know that this game is great.
  84. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    One of the best Action RPG games ever Very nice Combat system and great Monsters with amazing world
  85. Apr 6, 2021
    9
    I've been a Monster Hunter fan since the PSP days through the Wii & 3DS. Where World gave the series a much needed breath of fresh air Rise goes above this with new combat mechanics in the Wirebug.

    The game blends the goofiness of the Old World games and the refreshing quality of life changes that was introduced with World. Combat feels smooth and very responsive after you get used to
    I've been a Monster Hunter fan since the PSP days through the Wii & 3DS. Where World gave the series a much needed breath of fresh air Rise goes above this with new combat mechanics in the Wirebug.

    The game blends the goofiness of the Old World games and the refreshing quality of life changes that was introduced with World. Combat feels smooth and very responsive after you get used to and master the wirebug. A healthy amount of weapons means you'll never get bored with plenty to choose from.

    Monster Hunter Rise is one of the best looking games on the Nintendo Switch with Capcom using a modified version of their RE engine. During my 30 hours of gameplay so far I've only experience minor frame drops in one part of a certain map which had a lot going in with 3 players + our companions fighting.

    One of the biggest cons for me and the reason why I can't give it a 10/10 is the story or lack of, with the game barely scratching on any kind of story apart from "There's a rampage happening." And it leaves you on a cliff-hanger where there was room for more storytelling.

    Overall Monster Hunter Rise is shaping up to be my favourite game in the series and a must play on the Switch. I'm excited to see what they'll be bringing to the game in future updates.
    Expand
  86. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Amazing. Simply amazing. Previously only played a bit of MH: World and was dubious about this release but bucked abs preordered it. Put approx 10 hours in and while veterans I’m sure will relish in the new features, as a newcomer it is brilliantly accessible. A must play for switch owners.
  87. Mar 28, 2021
    9
    Buen juego, la verdad anteriormente intente meter en esta saga con el MHGU y no pude pero con este ya llevo unas 20 horas, estan buenisimas ojala le metan mas cosas en el futuro.
  88. Jun 2, 2021
    0
    Way to easy , too much Focus on Action ,no Endgame , too much Effects (and yet no epilepsy warning),Unbalanced weapons ( slicing ammo & Bow ) and the list goes on.
    The only Positive aspects of MH Rise : fast loading times and the training area ,other than that its just a huge disappointment.
    Kamura and the NPCs sucks btw
  89. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Only played MHW before this. After only about 5 hours of Monster Hunter Rise, i can already say that it’s better than World. Masterpiece
  90. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    This game took everything that was great with World and put it in classic Monster Hunter.

    This is the better game.
  91. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    the best game on nintendo switch except Zelda ,it's really a masterpiece in the truest sense of the word.
  92. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    The game is just beautiful to watch in a big TV and amazing to play with the pro controller.
    The RE engine uses the power of the switch to a degree that I didn’t think was possible. The art direction is amazing, the village sounds and looks gorgeous. If u liked MHWorld u are gonna like this even more, the loading times are super short (comparing it with PS4 MH) the dog riding and the
    The game is just beautiful to watch in a big TV and amazing to play with the pro controller.
    The RE engine uses the power of the switch to a degree that I didn’t think was possible. The art direction is amazing, the village sounds and looks gorgeous. If u liked MHWorld u are gonna like this even more, the loading times are super short (comparing it with PS4 MH) the dog riding and the silkbind insects made the farming and exploring a treat. I played all the games since MH3 and I can say that the old slow pase super hard farming is dead like it or not.
    I will recommend Rise to everybody who liked World, to old players, and to new players. Amazing game , can not wait for all the updates that capcom have prepared.
    Expand
  93. Apr 3, 2021
    5
    I am unsure why so many people are rating this game a 10. Let me preface with I have been playing Monster Hunter since PS2 (the original). I have sunk several hundred hours into every game, so I could just be a jaded veteran (it certainly feels that way).

    Monster Hunter Rise is an okay Monster Hunter title. It is very short for a launch title and our group cleared every single piece of
    I am unsure why so many people are rating this game a 10. Let me preface with I have been playing Monster Hunter since PS2 (the original). I have sunk several hundred hours into every game, so I could just be a jaded veteran (it certainly feels that way).

    Monster Hunter Rise is an okay Monster Hunter title. It is very short for a launch title and our group cleared every single piece of content in a little over a weekend of playing. This has never happened to us before in any Monster Hunter title.

    My biggest gripe is that they traded in the normal tactical essence of Monster Hunter for an action-combat buttonmashing festival. While I am sure many new players prefer this type of mindless combat over the older (albeit clunkier) style, it plays very unlike a Monster Hunter game.

    We went through every single Hub quest without ever needed to prep or practice a hunt. There were no butt-clinching moment of dodging right before fainting, or epic saves from team members. It was just go in, spam attack, wirebug away from big moves, wirebug back in, spam attack. It was a mindless experience.

    I know this is a Switch game, but MHGU had better textures and okay models. In MHR they went wiht amazing models and terrible textures. Many of the textures in the game are blurry, especially on NPC and PC models. I am still confused how MHGU had better antialiasing than MHR, which seems to have no antialiasing. Model lines are very jagged and hard.

    The sense of progression was muted since buttonmashing and wirebugs prevailed in every single fight. We didn't have a real sense of needing to upgrade armor/weapons. Near the middle of the Hub experience we ended up just making weapons more-so because they looked cool because it seemed irrelevant what our stats ended up being. No more prepping for elemental weakness or skills because it was absolutely not needed.

    They went insanely overboard with the Japanese theme. Way more thematic than previous games. If you're not a fan of Japanese culture/lore then it will get very annoying very fast since that's really all there is. It's not really a generic theme, it's more of an in-your-face Japan thing going on. For example, they renamed the Throwing Knife to Throwing Kunai. Not really a bad or good point, just thought I'd mention it.

    So far you might think I have nothing good to say about that game, but I did enjoy quite a few things.

    Palamutes are amazing, I really wish this was now retroactively in World and 4U/GU. Having double puppies is great. As a dog lover, it's amazing fighting besides these canines. The customization options are OUTSTANDING.

    The new monsters share the mechanics of old monsters, but a lot of them are interesting and fun to fight. I just wish they were actually a challenge. I really like this trend of visual differences, but keeping mechanics the same. It allows the devs to focus more time on creating a handful of truly unique monsters while retaining some nostalgia for older monsters while keeping them fresh at the same time.

    There's supposedly an update that is going to add the "harder" hunts later this month, so I might come back and update my review. If the game was harder and less reliant on cheesing everything with the wirebug I would have had a much better review of the game.

    tl;dr - This game should be called Monster Hunter Lite, it's very watered down and insanely easy. No point in prepping for hunts, or even upgrading equipment because every hunt is just a button-mashing fest where you jump in and out with the wirebug to dodge everything.
    Expand
  94. Apr 3, 2021
    10
    an absolutely perfect middle ground between what was already established in MH previous nintendo platform exclusives and what monster hunter world brought to the table on its multi platform release. Absolutely love the new pets, new skill system and retooled armor and weapon upgrades. The pace is quite a bit faster than any monster hunter that has come before which serves to keep thingsan absolutely perfect middle ground between what was already established in MH previous nintendo platform exclusives and what monster hunter world brought to the table on its multi platform release. Absolutely love the new pets, new skill system and retooled armor and weapon upgrades. The pace is quite a bit faster than any monster hunter that has come before which serves to keep things fresh while respecting your time as a player.

    Love this game and I have put in about 15-20 hours so far before writing this. I am also a veteran of the series owning all D.S. releases and putting in another 150 plus hours into generations on release and world. Trust me this game is the best possible jumping in point for new comers and a treat for veterans.
    Expand
  95. Apr 11, 2021
    5
    I know most people love Monster Hunter, but I really don’t. It’s fun for the first few quests but then gets very repetitive and boring. All of the hunts are basically the same. And there’s only a few different locations- most are just within 1 or 2 locales. There is lots of action, but again, it’s very repetitive. Just not my kind of game. I can only give it an average score. There are aI know most people love Monster Hunter, but I really don’t. It’s fun for the first few quests but then gets very repetitive and boring. All of the hunts are basically the same. And there’s only a few different locations- most are just within 1 or 2 locales. There is lots of action, but again, it’s very repetitive. Just not my kind of game. I can only give it an average score. There are a lot of better action games out there. Expand
  96. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Absolutely love it, if you enjoyed world then you will love this too. Everything feels so much smoother and faster pace than world too which is great because it cuts down on a lot of the tedious things from world. Overall if you’re thinking about getting it just go ahead and get it, worth every penny with lots of free content coming down the road soon!
  97. Apr 2, 2021
    10
    Easily my favorite Monster Hunter yet. Adding the Wirebug and Palamute makes getting around the maps a ton of fun. Monster variety is much better than the previous outing, as well as armor and weapons.
  98. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    This is the first time I have actually given the opportunity to learn how to play a MH game and honestly I only regret not giving the opportunity sooner. I'm using the charge blade for most of my play. After finally learning how to pull off the combos I can guarantee that the satisfaction and feeling of achievement were well worth the effort. The game looks beautiful on the switch and theThis is the first time I have actually given the opportunity to learn how to play a MH game and honestly I only regret not giving the opportunity sooner. I'm using the charge blade for most of my play. After finally learning how to pull off the combos I can guarantee that the satisfaction and feeling of achievement were well worth the effort. The game looks beautiful on the switch and the medieval Japanese scenary is gorgeous. The level of customization and possibilities is sometimes overwhelming, but amazing nonetheless. I am really loving this game so far. Strong goty candidate. Expand
  99. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Народ, как хотите, но с первой секунды я понял, что свитч еще может удивить как со стороны графических возможностей, так и со стороны творческих возможностей разрабов!
  100. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Si en dos días le he metido 20 horas y todos mis conocidos incluso más, es porque el juego engancha cosa mala. Quita la paja del World de farmeo de huellas o ir andando a todos lados (ahora con un perro que además de ser más veloz no consume resistencia), y la mejora del online que puedes participar en las cacerías de tus amigos sin impedimentos por no completar la historia. El cordopteroSi en dos días le he metido 20 horas y todos mis conocidos incluso más, es porque el juego engancha cosa mala. Quita la paja del World de farmeo de huellas o ir andando a todos lados (ahora con un perro que además de ser más veloz no consume resistencia), y la mejora del online que puedes participar en las cacerías de tus amigos sin impedimentos por no completar la historia. El cordoptero y la montura es dios. El juego está buenísimo, poco se puede mejorar además de añadir contenido que ya anunciaron. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 121 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 121
  1. CD-Action
    Nov 19, 2021
    90
    I’m impressed by how well the developers thought this game through. Rise simultaneously improves the formula used in World and makes Monster Hunter more friendly towards newcomers. It makes great use of Switch’s nature and by clearly separating the multiplayer from the single-player campaign, it ensures you’re going to have fun regardless of the circumstances. Apart from one subpar mode (which imitates a tower defense), it’s an amazing game. [06/2021, p.42]
  2. May 29, 2021
    90
    Rise has taken note of the franchise’s most successful elements, and refined them into the best Monster Hunter yet. By continuing the streamlining that Generations and World started, Rise has focused on making the actual hunting the most engaging it has ever been.
  3. Nintendo Force Magazine
    May 17, 2021
    90
    One of the most stunning spectacles on the Switch. [Issue #52 – May/June 2021, p. 71]