User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 610 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2021
    3
    Copy paste copy paste lo mismo de lo mismo..nada nuevo en jugabilidad,Cpiando descaradamente otros juegos de años atras. Cero historia,mismas graficas de un telefono móvil. Si bien es para niños...por lo menos mas calidad!
  2. May 2, 2021
    1
    un robo sin pistola nadie con mas de 3 de iq gastaría 60 dólares en tomar fotos a pokemones por 10 horas lo único bueno son los gráficos
  3. May 2, 2021
    4
    This is a fair, thorough review. The original game was better, here's why:

    1) The developers seem to not understand the point of the game. The game is not the act of taking photos of pokemon. The *game* is more like a puzzle, you're supposed to figure out how to create situations with the pokemon using the tools you've been given. Can't figure out how to move onto the next level? Figure
    This is a fair, thorough review. The original game was better, here's why:

    1) The developers seem to not understand the point of the game. The game is not the act of taking photos of pokemon. The *game* is more like a puzzle, you're supposed to figure out how to create situations with the pokemon using the tools you've been given. Can't figure out how to move onto the next level? Figure it out. New Pokemon snap has removed the puzzle solving element of the game almost entirely. Levels are unlocked, not through unique and cool discoveries, but through a mundane leveling system that literally locks certain pokemon from a level until you grind through it a few times....

    not worth writing more.
    Expand
  4. May 1, 2021
    4
    Comprado de salida por 49'99€ creo que el juego podría haber dado más. Los diálogos y tutoriales pueden ser un poco pesados y se hace aburrida la experiencia.

    A pesar de que el videojuego es entretenido (en lo que respecta a mi opinión) y las mecánicas son diferentes a lo normalmente visto en Pokémon, creo que les ha quedado una versión un poco más light de lo que realmente podría haber
    Comprado de salida por 49'99€ creo que el juego podría haber dado más. Los diálogos y tutoriales pueden ser un poco pesados y se hace aburrida la experiencia.

    A pesar de que el videojuego es entretenido (en lo que respecta a mi opinión) y las mecánicas son diferentes a lo normalmente visto en Pokémon, creo que les ha quedado una versión un poco más light de lo que realmente podría haber sido el videojuego.

    Seguiré jugando pero veo difícil el completarlo porque apenas he desbloqueado la tercera y cuarta zona y ya me está resultando un poco pesado. Una pena, porque recordaba con gusto el juego de N64.
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2021
    0
    60 euros por esta basura Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  6. May 2, 2021
    1
    La verdad lo compre y me arrepiento, nintendo solo vive de su glorias pasada, es un juego súper aburrido, repetitivo una fórmula que funciona en los tiempos de la nintendo 64 pero esta obsoleta en esto tiempos
  7. May 2, 2021
    3
    El juego carece de muchas cosas, una de ellas es la inteligencia artificial, ademas que es demasiado repetitivo y no creo que 60$ sea su erdadero valor.
  8. May 1, 2021
    2
    I'm here to give you a real review of the game, not a 10, not a 0. To start off this is at BEST a pretty game to look at. At worst this is a bland, boring, repetitive nostalgia bait game that costs about 3x as much as it should. This game in total is 6 HOURS TO COMPLETE. 6 hours, including cutscenes, tutorials, and story segments. No, not all of the Pokémon are in the game, maybe aboutI'm here to give you a real review of the game, not a 10, not a 0. To start off this is at BEST a pretty game to look at. At worst this is a bland, boring, repetitive nostalgia bait game that costs about 3x as much as it should. This game in total is 6 HOURS TO COMPLETE. 6 hours, including cutscenes, tutorials, and story segments. No, not all of the Pokémon are in the game, maybe about 15-20%, there are no secret paths, or special evolutions, this is a very basic game, that only improves from the original with graphics, in terms of gameplay there are very little in terms of significant improvements. I can't even recommend this game over the original, as it felt special, and you earned abilities that really made the game feel special, and the photographs felt unique and interesting. In 'New' Pokémon Snap, you gain star ratings for photos, that seem to be entirely random, sometimes you'll get 4 stars for an idle Pokémon, and sometimes it's 3 stars, pretty much random and never explained in game. This game much like the Pokémon franchise in general as of late is completely overhyped, and undelivers in nearly every single aspect. Do not buy this game, it is a complete waste of your money, and your time. Expand
  9. May 2, 2021
    0
    There's hardly any innovation in it. They failed miserably. They shouldn't have continued with the gondola. There should have been a free playable character on the overworld who tracks a Pokemon, camouflages itself and adapts to the surroundings, lures it with food/berries and waits patiently in one place to take a picture. Imagine if there was a way to camouflage a camera in an decoy andThere's hardly any innovation in it. They failed miserably. They shouldn't have continued with the gondola. There should have been a free playable character on the overworld who tracks a Pokemon, camouflages itself and adapts to the surroundings, lures it with food/berries and waits patiently in one place to take a picture. Imagine if there was a way to camouflage a camera in an decoy and put it in a nest or in a cave to take pictures there or to follow the herd from the air with a drone. You could have gotten so much out of it. But they were too lazy to do that, they were also too lazy to put in all Pokemon. Expand
  10. May 2, 2021
    3
    Pagar 60 dolares por este juego es de locos pero bueno, para mi unos 30 o incluso menos estarian mejor. El inicio del juego es terrible, 30 minutos para un tutorial para recien poder jugar de verdad...eso te quita las ganas, ademas el resto no es tan emocionante que digamos, ademas los personajes son mas genericos...al menos en espada y escudo habia algunos carismaticos
    Si eres un
    Pagar 60 dolares por este juego es de locos pero bueno, para mi unos 30 o incluso menos estarian mejor. El inicio del juego es terrible, 30 minutos para un tutorial para recien poder jugar de verdad...eso te quita las ganas, ademas el resto no es tan emocionante que digamos, ademas los personajes son mas genericos...al menos en espada y escudo habia algunos carismaticos
    Si eres un nostalgico del juego de la nintendo 64 quizas te guste pero si no... no es recomendado.
    Expand
  11. May 1, 2021
    2
    After seeing how hyped some people were to play this game, I decided to check it out. Here are my thoughts on it:
    It's a $60 game where all you do is... take pictures of Pokémon. That's it. That's all you do. For $60.
    This game sums what Nintendo does at its best: relying on nostalgia to sell low-effort, overpriced exclusives. I admit, they have 2 great exclusive titles for the Switch
    After seeing how hyped some people were to play this game, I decided to check it out. Here are my thoughts on it:
    It's a $60 game where all you do is... take pictures of Pokémon. That's it. That's all you do. For $60.

    This game sums what Nintendo does at its best: relying on nostalgia to sell low-effort, overpriced exclusives. I admit, they have 2 great exclusive titles for the Switch but, other than those, that's exactly what happens.

    New Pokémon Snap literally looks and plays like it could be a $10 game for iOS and Android and I'm not even joking. If anything, it should be a mini-game in the main series, because there's not enough substance for it to be a full-priced standalone game.
    Expand
  12. May 2, 2021
    1
    60€ por un juego de hacer fotos no tiene ningún tipo de sentido.
    La jugabilidad es arcaica y el progreso por los "niveles" se hace repetitivo y lento.
    ¿Es bonito? Sí.
    ¿Qué sea bonito justifica el precio? Para nada.
  13. May 4, 2021
    0
    simplemente antes era un juego que iba con el pokemon stadium de gratis y ahora siendo un juego con no mucho más contenido de ese allá por los 2000´s te lo venden a 50€ lo normal es que la gente pues se cabree de un juego con tan poco que hacer y tan caro en el hecho de repetitivo me diras bueno los rogelike son repetitivos ... si y no cada partida es diferente, desbloqueas nuevas cosas ysimplemente antes era un juego que iba con el pokemon stadium de gratis y ahora siendo un juego con no mucho más contenido de ese allá por los 2000´s te lo venden a 50€ lo normal es que la gente pues se cabree de un juego con tan poco que hacer y tan caro en el hecho de repetitivo me diras bueno los rogelike son repetitivos ... si y no cada partida es diferente, desbloqueas nuevas cosas y lo más importante no parece una atracción de feria movida en railes por un mapa tan corto con solo 3/4 mecanicas.
    relajante quizás para un día de estres pero como juego sinceramente es una basura a ese precio y con ese contenido, no todo es defendible por mucho que te guste una saga.
    Expand
  14. May 2, 2021
    0
    Repetitive and boring. Each course is the exact same each time you play them. Nothing new happens.
  15. May 3, 2021
    1
    I gave it 1 because I'm a fan of Pokémon, this series should leave the laziness of Nintendo, and gets some Sony high quality love or Microsoft's bigger budget, Nintendo proved again and again that wii was their maximum limit & capability..they cannot do more than that, and I believe that Nintendo still exists because the loyal fans.
  16. May 1, 2021
    1
    Waste of money, should be worth way less!! No evolutions, repetitive game... where is all the fun Easter eggs and secret ways to evolve Pokémon?? All gone, feels dull and rushed.
  17. May 4, 2021
    0
    60 bucks for a photo mode on Pokemon congrats consumer robots keep consuming your daddy Nintendo needs your money
  18. May 2, 2021
    0
    No puedo comprender porque no es un mundo abierto como BotW o porque tenemos que seguir atados a un carro sobre rieles.
    En el trailer se veía bien, pero al momento de jugarlo, se sintió anticuado y aburrido al instante. Sin duda la nostalgia ciega, y es que si este genero de juegos se quedo en el pasado, es por una buena razón.
    Además de que el juego en si se siente muy desfasado, la…
  19. May 2, 2021
    0
    Please don’t make anymore Pokémon games like this. I get that it’s a refresh, but I really hope they don’t make anymore of these. It’s stale and the Pokémon world doesn’t need to be bogged down by titles like this. As long as it remains a side game, whatever. I’m mostly just here for the main series and now know better than to leave that bubble. Maybe it’s my fault. Maybe I just expectedPlease don’t make anymore Pokémon games like this. I get that it’s a refresh, but I really hope they don’t make anymore of these. It’s stale and the Pokémon world doesn’t need to be bogged down by titles like this. As long as it remains a side game, whatever. I’m mostly just here for the main series and now know better than to leave that bubble. Maybe it’s my fault. Maybe I just expected too much from a game whose focus is photographing Pokémon. Expand
  20. May 2, 2021
    3
    Thus game should NOT be full price this is a $10 game at most, the game is almost identical to the arcade games we used to play at fun zones arcades or the like but with a skin of Pokémon slammed on top.
    Is boring and repetitive every time i finish a level i expect a message to pop up saying "inseret a coin" this could work great as a mini game inside a mainline pokemon game, other wise is
    Thus game should NOT be full price this is a $10 game at most, the game is almost identical to the arcade games we used to play at fun zones arcades or the like but with a skin of Pokémon slammed on top.
    Is boring and repetitive every time i finish a level i expect a message to pop up saying "inseret a coin" this could work great as a mini game inside a mainline pokemon game, other wise is a waste of money
    Expand
  21. May 2, 2021
    0
    God does this game suck. All you do is take pictures of pokemon! If I wanted to take pictures of animals, I would go outside and do just that! Instead, I wasted 60 dollars, hoping that everyone's constant praise for the game was for a good reason. But no, it wasn't. Not by a long shot. Incredibly slow, incredibly boring, incredibly stupid. The best part about this game was the fact that IGod does this game suck. All you do is take pictures of pokemon! If I wanted to take pictures of animals, I would go outside and do just that! Instead, I wasted 60 dollars, hoping that everyone's constant praise for the game was for a good reason. But no, it wasn't. Not by a long shot. Incredibly slow, incredibly boring, incredibly stupid. The best part about this game was the fact that I could get a full refund on it. Do not buy this piece of trash in a game case. You are just wasting your own time. Expand
  22. May 3, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many times I have criticized previous Pokémon games for the same problem, so my criteria will be consistent with this one.
    That there are only 200 pokémon and little else, considering that there are currently 1000, is a lack of respect for TPCI when it comes to spin-offs.

    I don't ask for all the existing pokémon to be there, but at least half would have been something more appropriate, as well as more open areas to explore and have some control where we want to go to take photos.
    New Pokémon Snap feels like a short game whose potential was left halfway, in pursuit of making more money with the brand.
    Expand
  23. May 23, 2021
    1
    60 USD to take photos of pokemons, nothing more.
    It's like an Android game but the Android games are a lot cheapier
  24. Jun 6, 2021
    0
    No se merece ni el titulo de juego, es un fondo de pantalla móvil sobre railes digno de un salvapantallas de los años 80
  25. Jun 26, 2021
    1
    This game feels like it was made specifically for 5 year olds. Everything but the graphics is like a downgrade from the previous entry. But even the graphics aren't amazing or anything.
  26. Jun 5, 2021
    4
    The good:
    A new Pokemon Snap. You can photograph special Pokemons with silhouettes, shadows, plants (as in the original game)
    The bad: A continuation that no one asked for now (it was requested 5,10,15 years ago), came 20 years later. "New" for being a new game but it is as anachronistic as the original game, if you tell me that it is a Polemon Snap Remake with little monsters from
    The good:
    A new Pokemon Snap. You can photograph special Pokemons with silhouettes, shadows, plants (as in the original game)

    The bad:
    A continuation that no one asked for now (it was requested 5,10,15 years ago), came 20 years later.
    "New" for being a new game but it is as anachronistic as the original game, if you tell me that it is a Polemon Snap Remake with little monsters from recent generations, I believe you. Even with the improvements that have been in matters of open worlds and exploration, the game is on rails

    What Meh:
    As a Pokemon fan since GB games, I am bothered by the franchise's excess and overexploitation in ridiculous games like this one. If they give it to you, go ahead, but it is not an essential game in the Pokemon collection
    Expand
  27. May 15, 2021
    3
    Boring. It is so sad that they charge the same amount for this game and Breath of the Wild. If BOTW is 60 dollars then Pokemon Snap should be 3 dollars. Because that is how much effort they put into this game. I have never felt ripped off by a game in all my decades, but this is the first
  28. Jul 15, 2021
    0
    I was nostalgic cause I played it on N64 but this one is so bad, so slow, so repetitive...
  29. Aug 4, 2021
    1
    The new DLC just came and I don't have access to it, and everyone is saying it should unlock automatically, which was not true.
  30. Jan 27, 2022
    0
    One of the worst games I've ever had the chance to play.
    Very short (5 hours), repetitive ad nauseam, and without any evolution of the concept seen in N64.
  31. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    Una vergüenza para el juego original, no hay casi evolución en la formula y se siente como un juego anacrónico en sus mecánicas y conceptos básicos.
  32. May 12, 2021
    0
    This game is one of the Worst games that is on switch. Don’t waste your money to this sh*t
  33. May 10, 2021
    0
    Repetitive, boring and shockingly overpriced. I really wish I bought a hard copy, rather than digital, so I could have sold it. My most regrettable Switch title purchase.
  34. May 7, 2021
    3
    it's just okay.. gets boring. ends too fast .. would not give it a zero but a three seems fair. might not be for me
  35. May 10, 2021
    3
    This game is a huge step down from the original game. less secrets, more grindy gameplay, lazy "level design" (which is just turning a night filter on) The illumina stuff is fun the first time and then becomes a boring addition that adds nothing but padding. The fact that this game has a higher score than the original is a disgrace and an insult to the classic game
  36. May 9, 2021
    4
    Does not have puzzle elements and secrets like the original, very lazy directing
  37. May 8, 2021
    0
    I would play but i fall Asleep everytime so i just play other Games its not Worth maybe for 10€ yes otherwise man theres really much better Games out there.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 116 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 116
  2. Negative: 0 out of 116
  1. CD-Action
    Dec 7, 2021
    80
    In a nutshell: as a researcher, you travel to various places, interact with wild Pokémon and take photos to document their behavior. This simple concept only works thanks to the Pokémon, but it doesn’t have to be a drawback, because the game shows the world of pocket monsters more realistically and vividly than any title before it. [07/2021, p.72]
  2. Ninty Fresh Magazine
    Dec 3, 2021
    75
    New Pokémon Snap looks beautiful and is packed full of exciting Pokémon, but the increased complexity has brought the game to a grinding halt. [Issue #4, p.51]
  3. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Oct 6, 2021
    90
    New Pokémon Snap isn't totally perfect, but it is a lovingly, intelligently updated take on a now 22-year-old original that only came to life because it was imbued with Mr. Iwata's magic. I know seeing this sequel would have made him smile. [Issue #53 – July/August 2021, p. 69]