Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 19, 2020
    90
    Lots of care has gone into the creation of this game, and it shows with the gorgeous graphics and atmospheric soundtrack. It's a game that feels vast, and a slow burn experience for the patient gamer. It's possible that its difficulty will take some time to get used to, but it's worth persevering with this truly rewarding and excellent game. Phoenotopia: Awakening is a thoughtful, coherent game which, if you click with it, doesn't lose a step. A marvellous surprise.
  2. Sep 22, 2020
    82
    Overall Phoenotopia is a very beautiful looking game that does well at hiding its punishing difficulty, whilst people who are looking for a Zelda 2 style game may be attracted to this title, the more causal amongst us will find it very difficult to enjoy the later aspects of the game where in truth the game gets easier.
  3. Aug 26, 2020
    80
    The visuals and atmosphere at first seem standard as far as pixelated indie games go, but it does have more going on than it may initially suggest. Things start out very bright and colourful, like most Ghibli-inspired indie titles tend to be, but Phoenotopia: Awakening has a much darker side to it. There are some weirdly chilling moments and well directed sequences that build a profound sense of unease and alienation. There are some surprises within that may shock people who dismiss this as another generic Zelda II clone. The team behind this is not afraid to get dark and to show a little teeth.
  4. Aug 21, 2020
    80
    I found myself largely enamored with Phoenotopia Awakening. Its often humorous and sometimes sentimental dialogue got through to me, and its challenging but tight platforming action really appealed. I’m a little bit weary from my trek through its expansive campaign, but I’m satisfied all the same. It’s an aesthetically pleasing, unforgivingly mean, but an altogether lovingly assembled experience.
  5. Aug 20, 2020
    70
    Phoenotopia Awakening is filled with a lot of potential from its wonderfully-charming presentation to utterly-delightful characters, but it just falls short of being something iconic and memorable with systems that often work against the player and can feel almost unfair like many retro video games most people don’t tend to pick up and play anymore. With a few tweaks it could make for a much more balanced experience, but Phoenotopia Awakening would be hard to recommend to those not looking for a steep challenge.
  6. Sep 29, 2020
    65
    Phoenotopia: Awakening has a highly inviting look, but the gameplay can’t match the tone. Some ill-fitting decisions work against it, and the emphasis isn’t always where it should be. It’s still an ambitious, impressive indie adventure that demonstrates real passion, but one reflecting growing pains.
  7. 60
    By the time you get anywhere in this game, you’re too exhausted to really celebrate it. The pleasant music is a strength, and the pixel-art environments are colorful and detailed, but the art style can also obscure important background elements. Too many NPCs, too many doors, and not enough direction may not dissuade you from giving it a try; achievements and a lengthy campaign provide lots of content for those who want it, but at least give us a map screen. All told, Phoenotopia: Awakening could probably use a little more REM sleep to get some much-needed editing in.
  8. Aug 25, 2020
    50
    Phoenotopia: Awakening has the ingredients for an excellent experience, but poorly balanced combat mechanics and incredibly steep difficulty get in the way of a good time. With no adjustable difficulty settings in the game, be prepared for a slog.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Aug 22, 2020
    8
    So far I'm having a great time playing this with a few hours clocked in so here's my impressions so far. This definitely isn't an easy game asSo far I'm having a great time playing this with a few hours clocked in so here's my impressions so far. This definitely isn't an easy game as the very first boss took me over 10 tries to beat. The opening areas of the game had me in a bit of a jam with not having enough money to get quest items and essential equipment so a slow grind ended up happening. But soon after that the game really picked up for me and money isn't too much of an issue now.

    This game has a lot of love put into it. Music is very good and the characters and their dialogue are well done too. Gameplay is challenging but feels rewarding once you get the hang of it. I realized this wasn't a hand-holding experience and that I needed to be careful during fights and managing recovery items or I'd get destroyed. Overall I'm happy I bought this.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    Basically a perfect blend of Zelda games (in a Zelda II shell) with a touch of Metroid and a very charming aesthetic. Bought this randomly onBasically a perfect blend of Zelda games (in a Zelda II shell) with a touch of Metroid and a very charming aesthetic. Bought this randomly on the Switch store and didn’t expect the amount of substance, or the level of attention to detail. Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2020
    9
    I'm having a blast playing this game, despite knowing that it would be a challenging experience. It was super satisfying beating an obstacle/I'm having a blast playing this game, despite knowing that it would be a challenging experience. It was super satisfying beating an obstacle/ boss that was giving me trouble. However I can see the complaint about how money is scarce in the game to be a legitimate pitfall of the game forcing you to grind a bit, but I felt it was not that detrimental to my overall experience with what the rest of the game had to offer. But if you're up for a fun, but challenging, game with great art and music than I would definitely recommend this game to others. Full Review »