Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Aug 5, 2020
    80
    A beautiful, hilarious and all-around cute platformer/roller, Skully is deserving of the praise. The difficulty can ebb and flow at times, but don’t let that put you off.
  2. Aug 27, 2020
    70
    Skully is a platformer that challenges and entertains you. The game lets you die a lot, but never in an unfair way. The game's physics are always on point which pushes you to keep an eye on the little skull all the time. Solve puzzles with three other characters and roll, jump, bash, and dash your way to the lairs of four gods in this indie game.
  3. Aug 14, 2020
    70
    Couple this with some excellent vistas, cool level design ideas and a charming cast of characters, it’s no wonder Skully has sucked me into its magical, muddy world.
  4. Aug 4, 2020
    70
    Ultimately, Skully feels to me like the little game that could. It’s rough around the edges, sure, but it has heart and a solid underpinning that I hope Finish Line Games run with for a sequel. When it all comes together it inspires the same kind of wonder you might have felt when you were a kid trying to navigate your way through your first platformer - frustrations and all.
  5. Aug 4, 2020
    68
    Between ironic tones and a least bizarre protagonist, Skully has the potential to entertain players willing to try their hand at a title whose structure is modeled around a frequent oscillation between platform and puzzle game.
  6. 65
    While Skully definitely has its share of problems, I still had a fun time in this world. The camera is frustrating, but the twitch rolling and platforming mixed with the increasingly devious puzzles makes for a good gameplay combo. Even though the Switch version’s visuals are a little rough, which doesn’t play nicely with the overall visual blandness of the levels, the style of the character designs is appealing. Underneath Skully is a lot of charm, but enough issues pile up that pull it back into the mud.
  7. Aug 26, 2020
    60
    Skully would be a great recommendation, were it not for its execution: poor camera mechanics, an inconsistent visual performance and unstable fluidity mean that the game's experience is severely harmed, not because of the game's creative input but because of its subpar execution. With a thorough update that can correct those issues, Skully can be a star in the Nintendo Switch catalogue.
  8. Aug 25, 2020
    60
    Skully bites off more than it can chew. Its central concept is excellent; the combination of the balance mechanic in a 3D world is solid. But the drab environment, awkward camera, and overall lack of quality take the shine off things.
  9. 60
    While the voice acting, storytelling and platforming in Skully is top class, the visual issues might cause you to lose your head.
  10. Aug 4, 2020
    60
    Skully isn’t an entirely lost cause. There’s an entertaining enough puzzle platformer hidden underneath its myriad visual flaws. It may be uglier than sin and you may be accompanied by an irritating voiceover throughout, but you’ll still have some fun playing through it and the plot does resolve itself in a nice way by the end. You'll just need to be able to roll with a lot of annoyances to get there.
  11. Aug 17, 2020
    50
    Skully has some interesting gameplay involving your multiple forms, but is ultimately let down by checkpoint issues, and blurry visuals.
  12. 50
    I really wanted to like Skully because it falls neatly into a genre I have fond memories for – I’ve played more Marble Blast on old iMacs than I’d like to admit – but Skully very rarely succeeds at being the frenetic action platformer that it wants to be. Lacklustre level design and an inconsistent difficulty curve, matched with a meandering and confusing story, make this a hard sell for just about anyone. It’ll take a lot of patience to enjoy this one, even if you are a seasoned fan of 3D platformers.
  13. Aug 12, 2020
    30
    I always feel a little bad being hard on a game. I know some people put a lot of work into this and they may even be proud of it, but the simple truth of the matter is I did not have fun. I didn’t even feel the satisfaction of overcoming a challenge. Whenever I thought I’d find something I enjoyed, the NPCs would snipe insults at each other and make me feel awkward about being around them.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 25, 2020
    7
    I’ve always been a big fan of 3D Platformers, whether it was Super Mario 64 or Spyro the Dragon, I always ate that **** up back in the day.I’ve always been a big fan of 3D Platformers, whether it was Super Mario 64 or Spyro the Dragon, I always ate that **** up back in the day. Which just makes it sadder knowing that those times are mainly gone, I miss the collectathon’s of Banjo Kazooie and the challenge of the original Crash Bandicoot (excited for Crash 4 though). So I’m glad to play whatever I can get my hands on, including today’s game Skully.

    You play as a skull who has washed up on an island, which through some magical mumbo jumbo with a mud bath as seemingly come to life, however all you can do is roll. The rolling is actually fairly easy to handle, especially when it comes to turns and such, however, as I’ll explain later platforming can prove difficult.

    The island is run by four sibling diety’s that represent the elements and are currently in the midst of a huge feud. But it feels less like a battle of keeping the balance and more “you shut up, no YOU shut up” squabbling. There were times when they were fighting during the cutscenes and I wanted to scream “HEYYYY everyone calm the hell down” and give them all time outs in the corner. You team up with Terry, the Earth one and seemingly the only one who is still trying to seek peace, whose character ranges from lovable goof to dumbass in the span of a few minutes.

    You are not just a skull though, utilising the games many mudpits you are able to take three forms that help you on your journey. The strong form that has more frown than face, the nimble one that can move objects and the double jump. It would have been interesting to see you actual utilise elemental powers. But really they only amount to obstacles.

    While controlling Skully, for the most part, is fairly easily there are moments that can be incredibly frustrating with a mixture of complex puzzles and a half-assed checkpoint system. Especially later on where you can create your own moving platforms and solutions require switching to multiple forms at once it can prove terribly disheartening to the fall into water or lava which will instantly kill you and find yourself having to try and solve the entire thing again.

    There are collectible flowers littered everywhere but they don’t contribute towards anything in game, only unlocking concept art and other little trinkets, so I’d recommend you don’t go out of your way to collect them all. While there are certainly some difficulty curves, the creators behind Skully were far from dropping the ball…..or skull in this case. I actually got fairly invested in the story, especially the third act twist even though I did see it coming from a mile away.

    Skully is definitely one of the better 3D Platformer’s I’ve played recently and it managed to stick the landing instead of landing face first in the mud.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2020
    7
    Graphics can get very blurry when there’s too much going on, but the gameplay is solid and the story is decent enough. Definitely worth a tryGraphics can get very blurry when there’s too much going on, but the gameplay is solid and the story is decent enough. Definitely worth a try for the price. Full Review »
  3. Aug 8, 2020
    6
    Started playing it on the switch lite and man are there a lot of frame drops and pixilated issues. Game is mad difficult and frustrating lol.Started playing it on the switch lite and man are there a lot of frame drops and pixilated issues. Game is mad difficult and frustrating lol. Not for the younger kids. I just ignore collecting all the flowers as it is so frustrating. Overall I feel this would be a fun game for the regular switch; hooking it up to the tv. Fun but idk if I would purchase if I knew how it played. Beautiful environment though. Full Review »