• Publisher: Level 5
  • Release Date: Feb 14, 2020
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 66
  2. Negative: 14 out of 66
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    A fantastic game from the creators of Inazuma Eleven, Professor Layton, Yo-kai Watch and Ni no Kuni.
    Excellent game play and tons more to do in Snack World
  2. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    The game is fun. Very relaxing. I think the person who invented the words or decided on them was mega high, but the game is a lot of fun. It's not high speed or stressful and it's kind of like a monster hunter with good load times and much lighter in terms of materials. I'd really recommend it to anyone who wants a game with a lot of playability and relax.
  3. Feb 16, 2020
    10
    Very fun in small burst. Nothing about it is fantadtic, nothing is terrible. O.k. I lied, the camera is terrible some of the time. If you want a super entertaining grindfest of an action rpg dungeon crawler with instanced zones and a mediocre hub world with a large dose of pre-teen level humor, this is a safe bet. Be warned, the game is NOT kid safe unless your kids are allowed to rubVery fun in small burst. Nothing about it is fantadtic, nothing is terrible. O.k. I lied, the camera is terrible some of the time. If you want a super entertaining grindfest of an action rpg dungeon crawler with instanced zones and a mediocre hub world with a large dose of pre-teen level humor, this is a safe bet. Be warned, the game is NOT kid safe unless your kids are allowed to rub feces on themselves, say @$$ and Goddamit that is. The game is actually a 7/10 but since metacritic allows people to just do review bombs, this might negate some of the idiots. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2020
    8
    Cool Game with a lot of funny dialoges. Its a bit grindy, but quests aren't that long. Gameplay is a mix of Monster Hunter (the way quests work and bit looting) and Diablo.
  5. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    Honestly my new favourite game. Full to the brim with character and charm. One of the only games I've found genuinely funny with its adult innuendos and jokes that will go over a child's head
  6. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    Honestly had to make an account just to review this game because of the lack of attention its getting. Go out today and buy this game!
  7. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    Truly a wonderful experience. Without a doubt the best multiplayer Action RPG experience you can get on the switch currently, either it be local co-op or online co-op, prepare to spend endless hours of hilarious fun filled metagamey comedy bits from start to finish!

    ive been playing it with my wife since it came out and we havent been able to put it down. Tons of weapons or "Jaras" as
    Truly a wonderful experience. Without a doubt the best multiplayer Action RPG experience you can get on the switch currently, either it be local co-op or online co-op, prepare to spend endless hours of hilarious fun filled metagamey comedy bits from start to finish!

    ive been playing it with my wife since it came out and we havent been able to put it down. Tons of weapons or "Jaras" as they are called in the snack world, and even outfits where you can "overlay" with outfits you like visually incase u dont wanna get stuck with an outfit you only like for the stats!!! monsterhunter could truly learn from this game in that regard.
    Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2020
    9
    An amazing dungeon crawler filled with Dad puns! I love it!

    Random loot, no split screen coop. One piece of advice, save before doing a pick a prize. It's not random
  9. May 1, 2020
    10
    I’m giving this game a 10 for 1 simple reason...it’s an awesome dungeon crawler with lots of gear etc. Idk wtf Snack World is, but I assume it’s a show or something because there seems to be certain inside jokes I’m no part of littered throughout the dialog etc. It’s an amazing isometric RPG with outstanding mechanics all round. From the movement to the battles and everything in between.I’m giving this game a 10 for 1 simple reason...it’s an awesome dungeon crawler with lots of gear etc. Idk wtf Snack World is, but I assume it’s a show or something because there seems to be certain inside jokes I’m no part of littered throughout the dialog etc. It’s an amazing isometric RPG with outstanding mechanics all round. From the movement to the battles and everything in between. It’s a surprisingly DEEP n rich game world and this definitely surprised me as I wasn’t expecting much but wanted a fun and well made crawler (run around maps fighting n looting etc.) it’s outstanding and I’m a 38 y/o hardcore gamer with a taste for old school simplicity and difficulty Expand
  10. Feb 25, 2020
    8
    After spending hours on Fantasy Life I had high hopes of this Switch port as Level-5 are known for their GOD Tier RPGs. The game is decent but there are a lot of underlying problems that make it less than perfect and probably Level-5's worst:

    - The camera is really bad combined with the dungeon's design it makes it extremely obnoxious to explore. - Snacks are pretty much useless since
    After spending hours on Fantasy Life I had high hopes of this Switch port as Level-5 are known for their GOD Tier RPGs. The game is decent but there are a lot of underlying problems that make it less than perfect and probably Level-5's worst:

    - The camera is really bad combined with the dungeon's design it makes it extremely obnoxious to explore.
    - Snacks are pretty much useless since they don't level up and are basically dumb AI that cost you treasure chests (eg. make you use potions, die because they are dumb as f***, etc.)

    Overall the game is nice, but could have been better. Undeserving of the price tag of $50 I guess. Will recommend to get it on sale.
    Expand
  11. Mar 9, 2020
    8
    Snack World is a really fun and cute little dungeon crawler. I did not pay attention that this game was rated T so when the first swear came out I was pleasantly surprised.
  12. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    Hilarious side-splitting game with addictive gameplay! Humor is very adult but most jokes will go over kids heads. Highly recommend!
  13. Feb 25, 2020
    10
    This game has been a wonderful surprise. It's addicting and can last forever with its random dungeons. Many situations and characters are really funny.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Sep 22, 2020
    70
    There’s a lot to digest when it comes to Snack World, and like red bean paste, you either love it or can’t stomach it. If the idea of a glorified casino with a simple battle system and insane level spikes makes your mouth water, Snack World is a dungeon crawler worth delving into. There is in fact a significant amount of content with side quests, crafting, and collecting that gives prospective explorers plenty to take part in. But the gameplay still turns up incredibly repetitive, and the smorgasbord of comedy styles makes it even more tedious getting from one dungeon to the next.
  2. Aug 19, 2020
    60
    Overall, there really is nothing fundamentally wrong here, but with its reliance on deriving humour from treating RPG standards as dated and ripe for mockery, Snack World: The Dungeon Crawl - Gold pretty much shoots itself in the foot. Leaning into these tropes, and really investing the time into a combat system that is as much of a treat as the rest of the game could have really elevated this above a saturated market. Collecting 'Snacks' and using them as party members is fun, and a worthwhile curiosity, plus visually it has charming designs, reminiscent of Final Fantasy: My Life as a King, which both enthrals and delights. Sadly, though, without a sturdy and, more importantly, fun battle system driving this forward, this may leave a sour taste for those expecting something of the calibre of Level-5's past RPG efforts.
  3. NF Magazine
    May 1, 2020
    60
    It's just a shame that half of the crawl is getting past the game's process – and ego. [Issue #45 – March/April 2020, p. 68]