Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Jan 13, 2021
    100
    All in all, I think Super Meat Boy Forever is a really great follow-up to the original game by Team Meat, but also understand that the auto-run mechanic may take some getting used to. If you’re willing to spend more than an hour with it, running through a handful of early stages and tackling the first boss encounter, I think you’ll start to feel the rhythm of the game, and come to appreciate the puzzle approach to the way the level chunks are designed. It’s a really satisfying experience and one that shouldn’t be missed in the post-holiday game release slump.
  2. Dec 28, 2020
    85
    Super Meat Boy Forever is clearly a lovingly designed sequel to the original hard as nails platformer. It takes on a new genre but still retains some familiar beats to keep players coming back for more. It might not be the sequel some fans were waiting for, but on its own, it’s an addictingly well-designed platformer for a modest price.
  3. Jan 12, 2021
    80
    While some glaring struggles were noted throughout my time with Super Meat Boy Forever, it is also worth noting that I dealt with them and stuck with it as the heart of the game is incredible.
  4. Jan 12, 2021
    80
    To compare Super Meat Boy Forever to its predecessor is folly. They're two different types of games, but Team Meat makes sure to inject its unique seasoning into both. As far as auto-runners go, Forever stands along the top as one of the best in the genre, despite a short story length. With so many possible stage layouts, a multitude of challenging mechanics, and Team Meat's fluid platforming design, it makes this game feel like a joy.
  5. Jan 12, 2021
    80
    Don't trust review bombers. Super Meat Boy Forever is a great platform game, maybe the best auto-runner of all time and a very good sequel. And we are here to tell you why.
  6. Jan 6, 2021
    80
    Like Super Meat Boy, this title is bold and experimental and while Super Meat Boy Forever’s genre does differ, the game manages to hold onto most of what made the last game so compelling to begin with.
  7. Jan 2, 2021
    80
    Meat Boy returns more frantic and challenging than ever in Super Meat Boy Forever. A title that evolves graphically and that is still as difficult as before. A perfect game for fans of challenges.
  8. Dec 29, 2020
    80
    Super Meat Boy Forever is a challenging sequel that will have you testing your controller’s durability in no time.
  9. Dec 28, 2020
    80
    Super Meat Boy Forever is an excellent precision-platforming presented with a beautiful art style. Although, it is a "different" game from what fans of the original would expect.
  10. Dec 28, 2020
    78
    While Forever still is a great platformer, we feel it doesn’t come closer to the quality of the original. In any case, if you enjoyed it, you’ll have fun with this one too.
  11. Jan 4, 2021
    76
    Super Meat Boy Forever may be a little bit of a controversial sequel to some Super Meat Boy fans. Even if you are disappointed or turned off by the addition of the auto-running mechanic, I encourage you to give the game a try–especially if you are a fan of the original. The game has a massive amount of variety and replayability, a charming and fun storyline to follow, and some incredibly difficult boss fights to take on. While a game like The End is Nigh might be more similar to Super Meat Boy, Super Meat Boy Forever is one of the best indie games to release this year and shouldn’t be overlooked or looked down on for taking a different direction than previous titles in the series.
  12. Dec 24, 2020
    71
    Super Meat Boy is a genuine classic that has stood the test of time and contrary to its title, I don't think Forever will. It still offers challenging and rewarding gameplay but its core mechanics sometimes make for a patience-testing and tedious affair.
  13. Jan 13, 2021
    70
    Super Meat Boy Forever is a fun little distraction. Though it fails to live up to the legacy of its predecessor, it’s entertaining for a few playthroughs. If you loved Super Meat Boy, you might just get a kick out of Forever… or you may not.
  14. Jan 11, 2021
    70
    Super Meat Boy Forever is an interesting sequel. It attempts to build on the legacy of its predecessor, but the additions it brings to the table cannot elevate it beyond the simplicity of the original. The updated visuals are welcome, but Super Meat Boy Forever is a classic example of trying too hard to innovate, while losing sight of what made the series so beloved.
  15. Jan 6, 2021
    70
    Super Meat Boy Forever makes changes to its predecessor which add to the difficulty but also serve to make things less memorable. There’s immense satisfaction in finishing levels, but bugs throw a dampener on the experience in places.
  16. Jan 4, 2021
    70
    A pleasant return to an hardcore and challenging videogame from Team Meat, the authors of Super Meat Boy.
  17. Jan 2, 2021
    70
    Failing to hit previously established highs encapsulates a lot of Super Meat Boy Forever. Although the game oddly hides its interesting seeding system, its levels are designed well and repeatedly introduce new tweaks that allow for an even difficulty curve that always tries to spice things up. Fluid controls even make that difficulty curve a welcome challenge. But the light detachment intrinsic to the auto-running genre is more of a shackle than the key to a better game. Going meatless for an entire decade inevitably raises the steaks stakes for the next Meat Boy game, and even though Forever doesn’t fully meet those expectations set upon it, it does narrowly avoid meaty-ocrity through its tight controls and level structure.
  18. Dec 24, 2020
    70
    Super Meat Boy Forever makes some big changes to its predecessor's classic formula, ushering in an endless-running style of gameplay, simplified control scheme and procedurally-generated levels that are a blast to play through but ultimately rob the game of the fiendishly additive quality of the 2010 original. We miss perfecting Super Meat Boy's bespoke little death mazes here and although fans of brutally tough platformers will still find plenty to love, we can't help but feel this one's a little bit of a step back for Team Meat's squishy red mascot.
  19. Jan 12, 2021
    65
    Forever, if nothing else, remains an above-average endless runner; a result that for the fans of the last chapter, understandably, may not be enough.
  20. Jan 4, 2021
    65
    In the end, a game that can be walked through by hanging on a bit, without really doing its predecessor honor.
  21. Jan 5, 2021
    60
    Super Meat Boy Forever is far from achieving the same result as 2010's classic. With a ton of hardcore but mostly random levels, the game especially suffer from questionable one-button-does-it-all handling, and a lack of finished features. Too bad, because the Dark Worlds and manu secrets still offers to hardcore players a true challenge.
  22. 60
    Your enjoyment of Super Meat Boy Forever will be determined entirely by your particular enjoyment of masochistic platformers. If you played Super Meat Boy 1.0 and thought “man, I wish this were way harder,” Forever may be just what you’re looking for.
  23. Dec 29, 2020
    60
    Although a fun autorun platformer, Super Meat Boy Forever just can't live up to the 2010 classic. Despite being packed with ideas, its awful boss fights and lack of control make it hard to recommend.
  24. Jan 14, 2021
    50
    Super Meat Boy Forever is dated. It has not stood the test of time and offers less than its predecessor in every aspect. An autorunner offers so much less control and the bosses seem annoying rather than fun.
  25. Jan 13, 2021
    40
    The pain and the pleasure of platformers such as this is their precision: the controls must be so tight, the jumping and running so perfectly predictable, that your failures are always your own. In Super Meat Boy Forever, though, enemies can turn up in especially unfair places, and the architecture of the levels sometimes feels thrown together as opposed to carefully placed by human hand. Its difficulty feels vindictive rather than playful, and oddly soulless, like trying to beat a computer at chess. For all its challenges, it felt as if I could feel the creators cheering me through the original Super Meat Boy’s death chambers, willing me onwards. Here, the algorithm is coldly indifferent to your efforts, and, despite the offbeat art and quirky vibe, the game is a punishing gauntlet that’s not worth running.
  26. 40
    A hugely disappointing sequel, where the high difficulty, restrictive controls, and randomly-generated levels all contribute to a thoroughly miserable platforming experience.
  27. Dec 29, 2020
    40
    A lot of Super Meat Boy's charm came out of its level design and platforming gameplay elements. It's a shame that Super Meat Boy Forever is not enjoyable enough to even want to play a second time, and fans would do well to pay no heed to the implication of playing "forever" that's made by the game's ambitious title.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 53
  2. Negative: 26 out of 53
  1. Dec 24, 2020
    4
    Huge disappointment. The auto-run completely kills this game. You can't change direction at will, and you can't adjust your movement speed inHuge disappointment. The auto-run completely kills this game. You can't change direction at will, and you can't adjust your movement speed in any way. The respawns are MUCH slower than the original and slow down the game WAY too much each time you die, and due to the procedurals generated levels you will die a lot. I totally regret buying this game, and thanks to Nintendo's return policy I'm stuck with it. If you absolutely must try this one out do yourself a favor and wait for the Steam version so you can get your money back when you're inevitably as disappointed as I am. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2020
    5
    The original game made me fall in love, but this one has been a huge disappointment. I bought it instantly without previously reading anythingThe original game made me fall in love, but this one has been a huge disappointment. I bought it instantly without previously reading anything about the game (the developer and editor seem to know that they haven't done very well when they haven't given much information and haven't advertised it either). That's why the surprise has been very unpleasant. Due to the auto-run, scenario design, random scenario generator errors and absurd difficulty peaks, I constantly have the feeling of being in front of a poor mobile spin-off. The animations and cinematics are really good, but the base is not. If you come looking for a worthy successor run away, if you are a fan of auto-run and look for a challenge maybe you like it. Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2020
    0
    I also feel ripped off. The people who made this game have no clue what made the original good, or even how to make a good platformer. TheyI also feel ripped off. The people who made this game have no clue what made the original good, or even how to make a good platformer. They advertise this game as a sequel, so I am going to review it as a sequel. Sequels beg comparison to the original. I’m rating this game as a fan of the original platformer that had high expectations for this release. People can enjoy whatever game they want, but for me, the controls in this game (completely irrespective of the auto-running style) are an embarrassment when compared to the original. They’re stiff, unfulfilling, and one-dimensional. Reading some developer interviews, this seems to be a design choice in favor of accessibility that hopes to also remain a good challenge. It fails to do so, and it definitely feels like it was dumbed down. The game feels insulting to play with how much movement they took away from you. Again, THEY ADVERTISE THIS GAME AS A SEQUEL. In addition to the controls being a complete disappointment, the overall style of the game is not honest to the tone of McMillen's title, or any of his other titles. McMillen was not involved in the creation of this game, by the way, and it is obvious in every frame. Full Review »