User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 799 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2021
    3
    Having just finished the absolutely phenomenal Danganronpa series and the very good Raging Loop I was looking for another visual novel to scratch that itch.

    I had heard good things about this. The art style was nice. Thought I would give it a go. It's basically an anthology of stories set in a mysterious mansion with a history of tragedies. The first story was really promising! In
    Having just finished the absolutely phenomenal Danganronpa series and the very good Raging Loop I was looking for another visual novel to scratch that itch.

    I had heard good things about this. The art style was nice. Thought I would give it a go.

    It's basically an anthology of stories set in a mysterious mansion with a history of tragedies.

    The first story was really promising! In isolation I'd say it was a really good 7 or 8 out if 10. After that, however, is where things really started to fall apart. Every story follows a similar pattern after that. It's all written in the manner of a 14 year old who's not good at writing. I don't know if it's just due to the bad translation but it was next to unbearable.

    There were scenes that went on for way to long where a character would have one opinion and the other character would be trying to change that opinion. The scene would basically be one character saying "I'm going to do x" over and over and the other character would be saying "No. Please don't do that. Do y instead." and they would repeat this over and over and over and over and over to the point where I was just skipping through to the end of the scene where the character did inevitably change their mind.

    Because I had heard such good things about it I persevered hoping that at some point it would get good... But it never did. It never did. To see this averaging 100 on critic reviews on Metacritic is completely ludicrous. They must be on crack.
    Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    I didn't like it at all. Story was very boring and this game has hardly any actual gameplay. Not recommending to actual gamers.
  3. Apr 16, 2021
    2
    Mediocre at best. And that's being nice.
    Can't recommend it, don't waste your time.
  4. Jan 2, 2022
    0
    Somehow a visual novel made it as the top Switch game of the year... seriously?
  5. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    I usually like visual novels, but this one was just meh. Not sure why it is hyped up.
  6. Jun 27, 2021
    0
    Nothing about this game deserves a 100. It is simply absurd to think a graphic novel for the Switch would be this highly praised, let alone good.
  7. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    I really tried to like it, but i guess it isn't for me. Looks beautiful, but story didn't connect with me at all. To each their own i guess.
  8. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    Very mediocre game. I finished it and i just don't like it. There's something missing and i guess biggest problem was this extremely high metascore, because thanks to that i was expecting something mind blowing, something extremely new or interesting, but it's just all same. I have played games like this forever. Not recommending!
  9. Jun 13, 2021
    2
    is very boring, i'ts not a game, i'ts a novel, the history is nice, but just, is boring, with no gameplay, and the music is bad too
  10. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    It had potential for sure, but overall it's extremely meh. It's just not that good. Sorry, not sorry.
  11. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    What's worse - reading a boring book that has extremely high metascore (not that it ever matters) or reading a boring book and pretending that it is video game?
  12. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    It has hardly any combat, it's just boring overall. I was literally waiting when will game actually start, but apparently it never starts. You just read it, that's it. That's the whole "game".
    How the hell has a book, 100/100 metascore on video game site? This is literally insulting. I just can't...
  13. Jun 30, 2021
    0
    Expected more as the highest rated game on the system. You may enjoy it i did not.
  14. Jun 10, 2021
    0
    I bought this game and it turned out it is not even a game per se. I still tought I should give it a try but the longer i tried playing the more painful it was to keep playing it is extremely boring.
  15. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    I tried it because of extreme hype it has and i'm very confused. What is this? Video game? Really? You serious? With score 100? Did i shift into some parallel universe, because i want to go back to my universe where actually good games got credit. Not recommending.
  16. Apr 19, 2021
    0
    Overall it's very overrated. I'm serious. This is not some trolling or fake review. I actually have this game and i played it. There are so many better visual novels, i just can't believe it has metascore 100/100. I'm shocked and disappointed, because so much better games got way less attention.
  17. Jun 9, 2021
    0
    Boring. Seriously dont get the hype tbh story is fine ig but it’s a very lackluster gaming experience
  18. Oct 7, 2021
    0
    How can this thing take such a high rating when it's not even a game very disappointed.
  19. Jun 11, 2021
    4
    I'm Sorry, but even tho it's a great story with beautiful art and soundtrack, Visual Novels shouldn't be a genre of game. There's totally zero gameplay, it's letterally the same thing as pressing a button on your controller to skip to the next episode of a Show on Netflix. If there's no gameplay IT IS NOT A GAME.
  20. Apr 20, 2021
    0
    Yet another boring bad game from 2021. I didn't like almost any of the characters and it was just boring.
  21. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    Visual Novels are NOT games, stop labeling them as such. This kind of practice is destroying the industry nearly as much as microtransactions.
  22. May 3, 2021
    0
    Я не понимаю как в такое вообще можно играть, тем более платить за это деньги
  23. Aug 25, 2021
    0
    Go read a book if you like stuff like this. Why in God's name is it rated so high? Pathetic
  24. Apr 20, 2021
    0
    Not huge fan of visual novels, but sometimes i read them when i'm bored and they have somewhat interesting story. Only reason i tried this one was because it has 100/100 score and that's like extreme rarity. Of course anyone buying this, has to keep in mind that it has 100/100 score with only 4 reviews. This means that only 4 people out of 7.6 billion, think that this game is worth 100/100Not huge fan of visual novels, but sometimes i read them when i'm bored and they have somewhat interesting story. Only reason i tried this one was because it has 100/100 score and that's like extreme rarity. Of course anyone buying this, has to keep in mind that it has 100/100 score with only 4 reviews. This means that only 4 people out of 7.6 billion, think that this game is worth 100/100 score. There could be thousands who think that it's only worth 80/100 or 50/100. So it really should have more reviews to be fair. But either way, it wasn't that special or interesting. I was bored most of the time. Expand
  25. Jul 6, 2021
    0
    This should not be on tops. Waste of time. It feels same like giving 10 score to calculator application.
  26. Jun 11, 2021
    1
    Boring as hell..Avoid..I didn't like it at all. Story was very boring and this game has very bad gameplay. Not recommending to actual gamers just to nintendo fans!!
  27. Apr 20, 2021
    0
    Imagine pretending that book is a video game, because you actually don't like real video games, but you wanna look cool, modern and trendy so you could say that you play video games too, but it's actually just virtual book. That's next level pathetic. How is it so hard to understand that gamers read books too. It's not like gamers hate books or something, that was never the point. Point isImagine pretending that book is a video game, because you actually don't like real video games, but you wanna look cool, modern and trendy so you could say that you play video games too, but it's actually just virtual book. That's next level pathetic. How is it so hard to understand that gamers read books too. It's not like gamers hate books or something, that was never the point. Point is that video games and books are different things okay? crazy, am i right? Giving 100/100 score to book on video game site is just absurd. If we start pretending that books are video games, i wanna get off this planet. I'm done. Expand
  28. Aug 8, 2021
    0
    The game is bland, original, and derivative. Why it's top 4 of the greatest games of all time is absolutely absurd. The devs should be ashamed of making such a terrible effing game.
  29. Jul 14, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Contiene una historia muy plana y repetitiva, no abarca muchos personajes secundarios y no profundiza, es un juego muy repetitivo y no innovador Expand
  30. Jun 27, 2021
    4
    I personally think it's fine for visual novels to be loyal to the name, and be a novel with visuals and music rather than contain gameplay elements. In fact I really like that. My issue is mainly with how incredibly tedious the story is and how hard it is to relate to some characters, who are often either cliché, annoying or just have the weirdest logic. The last chapter was actually goodI personally think it's fine for visual novels to be loyal to the name, and be a novel with visuals and music rather than contain gameplay elements. In fact I really like that. My issue is mainly with how incredibly tedious the story is and how hard it is to relate to some characters, who are often either cliché, annoying or just have the weirdest logic. The last chapter was actually good though, as was the ending. The soundtrack is good as well, aside from some tracks. I cannot give this game a high score however, because of incredibly difficult it was to get through the first 80% of the game, which seemed to drag on forever. Expand
  31. Jun 9, 2021
    2
    Jogo razoável, um pouco lento e ruim de angrense. Jogo razoável, um pouco lento e ruim de angrense. Jogo razoável, um pouco lento e ruim de angrense. Jogo razoável, um pouco lento e ruim de angrense.
  32. Jun 7, 2022
    0
    96/100?! That’s 1 point off from amazing games like Breath of the Wild, Super Mario Odyssey, Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2, GTA 4 & 5, Red Dead Redemption II and some Tony Hawk games! And don’t worry, I’m not just hating on it for the sake of it, it’s bad too. It’s literally just a visual novel with BARELY any interactivity, if this was like DDLC where you still do you’re own thing that’d be96/100?! That’s 1 point off from amazing games like Breath of the Wild, Super Mario Odyssey, Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2, GTA 4 & 5, Red Dead Redemption II and some Tony Hawk games! And don’t worry, I’m not just hating on it for the sake of it, it’s bad too. It’s literally just a visual novel with BARELY any interactivity, if this was like DDLC where you still do you’re own thing that’d be fine, but no, you have NOTHING to do with the plot, it’s basically a movie at that point… SO WHY NOT JUST MAKE A MOVIE?! Long story short isn’t as good as Sonic 06 or some dumb joke Expand
  33. Jul 30, 2021
    0
    Recently finished 9.9.9, am playing Danganronpa, and so recently bought this because it's the "best game on Switch". Not even by its own genre standards, this is not a good visual novel. Less player engagement than the previously mentioned games, and from a visual novel perspective very dull and slow in terms of pacing. This feels more like an illustrated book than an interactive novel. IRecently finished 9.9.9, am playing Danganronpa, and so recently bought this because it's the "best game on Switch". Not even by its own genre standards, this is not a good visual novel. Less player engagement than the previously mentioned games, and from a visual novel perspective very dull and slow in terms of pacing. This feels more like an illustrated book than an interactive novel. I do not understand the high rating this is getting. Expand
  34. Feb 3, 2022
    1
    The Visual novel genre is something difficult to understand and it's clearly not for everyone. But that goes for any genre, you can't be a fan of everything out there. That said, when something gets the highest of praise it can be just enough to get you to learn and fall love with a genre you weren't keen on before. Is The House in Fata Morgana that game? Well no, it isn’t.

    This has
    The Visual novel genre is something difficult to understand and it's clearly not for everyone. But that goes for any genre, you can't be a fan of everything out there. That said, when something gets the highest of praise it can be just enough to get you to learn and fall love with a genre you weren't keen on before. Is The House in Fata Morgana that game? Well no, it isn’t.

    This has nothing to do with this game lacking actually gameplay elements. A visual novel game that contains only a story to click through can be perfectly fine if the story is good enough and the visuals, music, sound and text all complaint the story. But House in Fata Morgana fails in doing that by several ways. For one, it's far too long. But that has to do with its pacing. Almost 50% of its text doesn't need to be there. Something happens, a character says something and then the exact progress repeats itself with text just being slightly different to feel new while you’re just being reminded of the thing that just happened or has been said. Is a character evil? Here are several scenes to show you just how evil he or she is, even though it was obvious from the start. Or things are being described while there is no need for it. This is a visual novel, so we see the characters and the background so there’s no need for descriptions of what we see and yet this happens constantly. Everything gets stretches out far more than it needs to be and that causes this game to feel incredibly slow and more like quantity over quality.

    It’s structure is also not good. You start as a character who doesn’t know who he or she is so the chapters are treated as memories, so after several chapters it is implied that you’ve regained your memory and the story ends there (and you can choose so, for a very lousy ending) only for it actually be just the beginning of this tale. Even one of these memories is called out by the main character as bad so why did the game made us sit through a useless, boring memory if only for it to be a twist? And that’s what this story relies on too heavily, twists. Twists just for the sake of twists. You’ll quickly become so use to them that nothing feels shocking anymore (and that while this game deals with some very dark themes) and the twists serve little to no purpose other than to make things feel ‘scary’.

    The art and music also doesn’t stand out. It’s very basic. Backgrounds are bland stock photos and the characters look like they’ve been drawn by several different artists who didn’t align their artwork together. The music is more annoying than pleasant and it only gets stuck in your head because it keeps looping like crazy.

    House in Fata Morgana is not good. It is strange that it gets such high praise while it clearly has some huge flaws. It is a story with dark moments, yet it is written as if it is for children. I can only give it credit for keeping me curious at the start, with the promise of it becoming better later on and it all to be worth it. But it doesn't. If you’re not of a fan of the genre, this will not change your mind.
    Expand
  35. May 17, 2022
    4
    This is one of the most overrated games ever. I played my fare share of VNs and this one is mediocre at best. It's tedious. I mean TEDIOUS. Pacing is horrible. Story itself is alright, but nothing to write home about. But IMO the biggest problem of that game is dialogues... It's something 14 years old girls writting in their blogs. It's so... Unrealistic. Poorly written. Cheesy. I don'tThis is one of the most overrated games ever. I played my fare share of VNs and this one is mediocre at best. It's tedious. I mean TEDIOUS. Pacing is horrible. Story itself is alright, but nothing to write home about. But IMO the biggest problem of that game is dialogues... It's something 14 years old girls writting in their blogs. It's so... Unrealistic. Poorly written. Cheesy. I don't recommend this game. Go play Stein's Gate or Zero Escape series. Expand
  36. Jun 8, 2022
    2
    No gameplay, you just read text. If you really want to read a lot of text and at least have a bit of gameplay play pokemon rangers
  37. Jun 8, 2022
    0
    its a visual novel and is no where near the leagues of botw and odyssey so it just should not be rated near them
  38. Jun 8, 2022
    0
    This isn't a game. How come Citizen Kane isn't on the best games of all time list?
  39. Jun 9, 2022
    3
    it's a goodish visual novel, and only attractive to a very small niche. Personally, I didn't enjoy it, and I don't believe this game should be ranked this high.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 25, 2021
    90
    The House in Fata Morgana is over 40 hours long, and in those 40 hours, you'll maybe get to make about three decisions. It is a visual novel in the strictest sense of the word, and you must be prepared for that going in. But with a fantastic, original, slow-burn story about love, loss, hurt, forgiveness, and recovery, it's one of the best visual novels out there — and your patience will be paid off in the end.
  2. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Oct 7, 2021
    85
    I think fans of gothic literature, visual novels and/ or engrossing stories will find something to love about this game. Just know that if you start it, you've got to reach the end to really appreciate what it has to offer. [Issue #55 – October 2021, p. 28]
  3. Jun 11, 2021
    80
    The House in Fata Morgana: Dreams of the Revenants Edition is a long and finely constructed visual novel. It promises an intricate plot of suspense, intrigue and revenge for anyone willing to commit forty or more hours to the story.