• Publisher: Nicalis
  • Release Date: Oct 10, 2017
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Oct 12, 2017
    70
    At its budget retail price we found Tiny Barbarian DX to be a bit light on the content side, as the game can be completed in six hours or less, depending on skill levels. If you're going to pick this one up we recommend skipping the eShop download and going for the physical edition as it at least contains some cool stuff - as Nicalis is becoming known for - to add value to your purchase.
  2. Oct 11, 2017
    70
    Tiny Barbarian DX is a great little retro-inspired platformer that riffs on the likes of Donkey Kong Country, but it suffers from repetition and a lack of inspiration at times.
  3. Oct 11, 2017
    68
    Tiny Barbarian DX is a decent take on retro 2D action games. Plus, you can play it with a friend. However, the frustration factor is high and its linear campaign will make you wish there was more than just traversing from point A to point B.
  4. Nov 10, 2017
    60
    Tiny Barbarian DX is clearly a tribute to the 8 and 16-bit era of action platformers and it's a competent game at that, thanks to very sharp controls and a good lifespan. Where it fails is on its charisma, or lack thereof, as its levels turn out to be too generic and its difficulty level can be way too high for many players, not to mention its relative lack of content beyond the main campaign mode.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 26, 2017
    It’s more expensive than the vast majority of indie games: even Shovel Knight, which offers significantly more content. What it does is entertaining, then, but at the moment it’s far too expensive for what it offers.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Oct 31, 2017
    8
    In an indie gaming market saturated with retro-styled 2D platformers, Tiny Barbarian DX stands out with its stellar pixel art, lengthy andIn an indie gaming market saturated with retro-styled 2D platformers, Tiny Barbarian DX stands out with its stellar pixel art, lengthy and thematically varied episodic pulp adventures, blood pumping soundtrack, and couch co-op. The bosses are extraordinary, the platforming is challenging, and the game is very speed-runner and score-chaser friendly, ensuring high replay value. If you've ever wanted to play a Mega Man 2-like game as Conan the Barbarian, this is what you've been waiting for. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2018
    7
    First thing first. This is a very challenging game which I am not necessarily used to. I almost quit a good 5-6 times (3 times during theFirst thing first. This is a very challenging game which I am not necessarily used to. I almost quit a good 5-6 times (3 times during the ''Final Battle'' boss/3 bosses in one after all). I got about 40% of the crystals (did not really explore the worlds). It is a simple (no new abilities, simple story, etc.), but well crafted game. It took me about 12 hours to complete it, but I probably died 400 times lol The soundtrack is actually pretty good and the bosses were average. I would recommend Tiny Barbarian DX to any gamer who likes platformer and who is looking for a challenge. My score would be 7.5 out of 10, but I could only chose between 7 and 8. Full Review »