Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. May 26, 2021
    100
    Given how much I enjoyed Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion from start to end, I’m feeling pretty confident right now that I’ll be remembering this game fondly for quite some time.
  2. Apr 23, 2021
    90
    Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is a ridiculous little game with a twisted sense of humour, uncomplicated gameplay and a surprisingly absorbing plot.
  3. Apr 27, 2021
    80
    Really, the only reason to avoid this game is if you don’t like Zelda-style games or can’t deal with a game that can’t stop cracking jokes for even a split-second. In which case, I’m not sure why you’re even looking at a game called Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion.
  4. Apr 25, 2021
    80
    Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is a delight. Its gameplay is not quite on the same level as some of the more top tier examples of the top-down ARPG genre, but it boasts an outstanding tone and utterly ridiculous characters that drive the narrative beautifully. If you’re after a breezy, cheerful palate cleanser, then look no further; this is a great way to get more veggies into your gaming diet.
  5. Apr 27, 2021
    79
    If you can call being a menace to society a harmless and casual endeavor, Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion will easily bring many smiles to your face. Truly a masterpiece that doesn’t require much thinking to enjoy, all you have to do is pick up your controller and avoid all adult responsibilities by playing as a turnip who is avoiding all adult responsibilities. With the game being released so close to the end of tax season, I would like to think Turnip Boy was intentionally released in April as a joke or perhaps a form of escapism. At the same time, it’s probably also a great reminder to all of us to file our taxes by the end of this month.
  6. May 8, 2021
    75
    Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is a fun little game with a crazy story and an adorable cast of characters. This tittle is recommended for any fans of 2D Zelda gameplay style. However, the internet humor and lack of extra content might hurt the experience in the end.
  7. May 5, 2021
    75
    A colorful, funny and terribly catchy little adventure.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Apr 26, 2021
    6
    Underwhelming variety, dialogue, and length when compared to the price tag. The gameplay seemed like it would be reminiscent of the originalUnderwhelming variety, dialogue, and length when compared to the price tag. The gameplay seemed like it would be reminiscent of the original Legend of Zelda games. This game is extremely simplistic. The combat is super basic, never adopting any kind of range attacks, unless the bombs are explicitly laid out for you. The water can feature can feel a bit unnecessary, sometimes to the point of it seeming like an artificial game lengthener. The most compelling part of the gameplay is the portal gun, but the game being in a top down 2D perspective, its impact on the gameplay is minimal. The result of this is extremely surface level puzzling. Certainly not bad enough to keep me from 100% completing this game, but enough that I mostly felt on autopilot. The main praise I hear for this game is its comedic writing. While this game *can* be genuinely funny at points (for some reason it never gets old when someone hands Turnip boy an important piece of paper and he immediately rips it in half), a lot of the "attempts" at humor are lazy and overly dependent on references. There's a very out of place JoJo reference that amounts to nothing gameplay wise. There's a random character that will just go into the navy seal copypasta completely unprovoked. So much of what I'm supposed to find funny about this game is "you know that thing? well we know it too." I'm not a huge believer in length = price tag, as I feel it incentivizes developers to drag out a game, but $15 for a 4 hour game better be Firewatch caliber, and nothing of this game is to that standard.

    The main success of this game is getting me excited to see what is in store for Snoozy Kazoo. The high price tag is a lot easier to swallow for small, growing, indie studios than it would be for a bigger company. I can tell a lot of passion into this, and a lot of attention to detail is evident in how seamless it is to progress the plot. They built a small little world that is compelling and draws intrigue. A lot of games do backtracking poorly, but Turnip Boy does it in a way that is time efficient, and serves to make the different parts of the map more deeply ingrained into my memory, rather than feeling like a chore.

    Unless money is tight, I still recommend picking this game up. I played it on the Nintendo Switch, because it seemed like it would be right at home in Nintendo's library and that it would be a casual game to play away from my desk. Unfortunately, I would probably recommend you get this on Steam as the performance dips when going between rooms and the button layout for the Switch version is *still* mapped to the Xbox controller instead of the Switch controllers (probably the most unforgiveable aspect of the Switch port. Come on guys, this shouldn't be hard to fix).

    Bottom line: a fun short, derivative, simple romp that feels slightly overpriced, but I'm still excited for the future of Snoozy Kazoo.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2021
    10
    Cute and hilarious Zelda like game. The only problem I had with it is that it was to short. I wish it was longer, but I still had a great time.
  3. Jul 2, 2021
    9
    I really genuinely enjoyed my time with this game! Don't expect a long adventure. I completed the entire thing in a little over 2 hours, butI really genuinely enjoyed my time with this game! Don't expect a long adventure. I completed the entire thing in a little over 2 hours, but all of those two hours were spent having a lot of fun. The dialogue was often genuinely funny, and really cute throughout. I will say the Switch version feels poorly optimized. There's pretty consistent frame drops, but the game isn't difficult enough that it's ever really an issue. I was always excited to see what came next. Also ending credits song slaps super hard. Full Review »