• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2006
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    72
    A pretty, but shallow experience. If only you could walk freely on the island, the game would be much more interesting. [Jan 2007]
  2. 68
    While this is an improvement from the first Xtreme title, the game feels repetitive and some what boring.
  3. If you enjoyed the first game, you might enjoy the second game, although the minor differences between the two games make you wonder if Team Ninja could have done more to differentiate it from the first game.
  4. A nice game to look at in areas, but not overly fun to play. Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 is worth a rent to see what Team Ninja can do in the high-def age, but I won't be adding this one to my collection.
  5. Think of it as a way to spend some personal time with the girls from the fighting game. If that doesn’t interest you, and you don’t have a thing for well-endowed video game chicks, you’re probably out of luck.
  6. 65
    For those of you who simply want to stare at unrealistically proportioned females jumping around a beach with hardly any clothes on and performing sexual innuendos at every turn, then by all means grab a copy of this game and live out your fantasy with the DOA girls. Those looking for depth and a meaty game steer very clear as DOA is all about the visuals and spending quality time with imaginary women.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine
    65
    It's less enjoyable, more difficult, and at times blatantly creepy. [Jan. 2007, p.68]
  8. Play Magazine
    65
    Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 is the Mannhattan Project for video game jiggle physics. Sadly, this is not enough for Tecmo's dress up deluxe simulator for Xbox 360. [Jan. 2007, p.69]
  9. Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 is pure and unadulterated fan service, nothing more, nothing less.
  10. 64
    Although the visuals are nice and there isn't a better game out there for ogling digital women, the new mini-games are a poor excuse for added gameplay and too much of the first game was recycled.
  11. Xtreme 2 may be tacky but it can be fun the first time through if you play it with the right attitude. You’ll even get some replay value with the multi-player modes but if you just want to ogle women you’ll save yourself a lot of money buying the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit edition.
  12. The first DoA Beach Volleyball game was actually a good volleyball game and the girls were built to look like realistically hot girls. This one has gone to just ludicrous looking girls with little else to offer in the game.
  13. 60
    It's an improvement over the first one, but is there enough of a difference to warrant buying it? Only if you're a fan of the series and plan to spend a lot of time collecting.
  14. As always, Team Ninja has produced a visual feast, a truly attractive game, and for that they should be commended. Sadly, there isn’t much more here than the pretty graphics and pretty girls.
  15. Your enjoyment of Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 will be directly proportional to your interest in lusting over ridiculously idealized polygonal female models.
  16. Gamers' Temple
    52
    The volleyball is worse than in the first game. [Feb 2007, p.82]
  17. 50
    Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 just isn't as relaxing, with its frustrating mini-games and flawed core game mechanics. There's still plenty of eye-candy to be had, but if you're looking for anything more, you may want to pass.
  18. Utlimately, all that Xtreme 2 did for us is to make us wanna play earlier incarnations of the series' fighting games - and head to the tropics for a much-needed vacation. We've got a feeling that wasn't Tecmo's objective, but that's about all this one's good for.
  19. This is worlds beyond the bar set by The Guy Game, but not far enough to garner any respect. Stick with the fighting games, if you know what’s good for you.
  20. Even fans of the original game might be a little put off by this rather pointless and soulless sequel. The volleyball is still good, bouncy fun, though.
  21. games(TM)
    50
    Anybody who suggests that the volleyball in DOA: Xtreme 2 is a good enough simulation to justify the expense either earns far more money than we do or is simply too proud to admit that animated bosoms float their boat. [Jan 2007, p.110]
  22. Edge Magazine
    50
    Some will still find DOAX 2 to be a soothingly directionless or charmingly goofy, a game that feels numbingly pointless when treated like other games. But if this is you second visit to Zack Island, you may well find yourself wasting fewer hours than expected. [Feb 2007, p.79]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 52
  2. Negative: 15 out of 52
  1. Dec 22, 2015
    7
    Use to have Paradise which was a complete rubbish,but i heard that Paradise is a port of this version so i decided to pick this to try itUse to have Paradise which was a complete rubbish,but i heard that Paradise is a port of this version so i decided to pick this to try it out,it looks more gorgeous thanks to the potential of the Xbox 360,you pick a girl,play the 2 weeks vacation,it has morning,afternoon,evening and nighttime,during morning to evening you can play volleyball,tug of war,marine race,flag race etc while during night all you can do is play in the casino.The game needs to add in a couple more minigames to give more points but i can say that this version is better then the psp version.If your a fan of DOA and you want to get away of the fighting version of it,DOA Xtreme 2 is the game for you. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    What you have here ladies and gentlemen is video game perfection here I mean 10 outta 10. I mean the concept is just amazing This should goWhat you have here ladies and gentlemen is video game perfection here I mean 10 outta 10. I mean the concept is just amazing This should go down as the best game of all time. It's all about the art for me, one of my all time favorites. Be sure to pick it up, it is a major recommendation and you will not regret when you consider the very cheap price. It has everything you want in a video game beautiful environments and landscapes, solid gameplay and incredible athletes. This is one hell of a sequel now we just have to wait for the third game which I am happy to say should be released this year. In summary and in all serious this game is alot more fun than most of you think it lacks a story really but did it really need one not really, it is a really cheap game easy to find if you look in the right places and so much fun plus the soundtrack overall is also good featuring artists such as Inner Circle, Baha Men, Big Mountain, Janet Kay and even Bob Marley so you will be greeted to some very relaxing music whilst you play through some of the various mini games. When it comes to the mini games most are good the only one I did not like was flag race but it does not hurt the game in anyway, I really enjoyed pool jump and tug of war. There are also various casino games that you can play and all work well. This is not a game for everyone, the serious gamer would not take one look at it but if you are a very casual gamer such as myself you will pretty much play anything if you look at my other reviews you see they are all 10/10 and that is because I dont nit pick everything I just get down to the enjoyment factor and the factor is high for this game so take the time to check it out you wont regret it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2018
    10
    its amazing. the game has good graphics, good designs and doesnt have dlc i think.