User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 165
  2. Negative: 54 out of 165
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    0
    OK, so this is not a game, this is a demo at best. Don't spend any money on this. The game itself is good while it lasts, but I just still can't wrap my mind around the plain arrogance of releasing this one as a game, in a box. I really hope Konami will hurt itself with this move, and the sales of phantom pain will suffer, so this won't become a thing in the gaming industry.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    'Demo' has no qualification for 'Critic Score'.

    I'll just wait for 'full retail game'.
    and then, write review that 'full retail game' for critic score.
    So I have no criticism for 'this demo'.
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    The gameplay is good as you would expected from a metal gear. but asking for $30,00 to a demo is a shame to konami who just want to cash in with their loyal fanbase, i advise to stay out of this game, it should be free, this is damaging the gaming industry, gamers do not buy this game.
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    I made this account solely for the purpose of expressing my disappointment towards Kojima/KONAMI's attempted rip-off and franchise milking.
    I've been a MGS fan since MGS on the PS1 and back in the day MGS demos (or prequels if you prefer) were free and came along other KONAMI games, they didn't have a 30$ price tag in it! It's really a shame that such a credible developer/publisher tried
    I made this account solely for the purpose of expressing my disappointment towards Kojima/KONAMI's attempted rip-off and franchise milking.
    I've been a MGS fan since MGS on the PS1 and back in the day MGS demos (or prequels if you prefer) were free and came along other KONAMI games, they didn't have a 30$ price tag in it! It's really a shame that such a credible developer/publisher tried to take advantage of the game's hype and fanbase (which gets smaller by the day) to make an easy cash-in...
    And for those of you that are saying: "Blah blah blah, they warned people that the main mission was only about 2 hours long so if you don't like it don't buy it" , let me tell you something, have you heard of a game called "Dead Rising 2: Case Zero"? It was a prequel to Dead Rising 2, just like Ground Zeroes. The only differences were the price (it cost 5$ instead of 30$), the content (it was longer and less buggy) and the people behind it; I mean, you could maybe expect a rip-off from the Dead Rising franchise but from the Metal Gear franchise? No way, that was too ridiculously greedy.
    SHAME ON YOU KONAMI... I just hope this doesn't sell well and other publishers start doing it, although for 30$ they don't need to sell that much to have a good profit.
    First it was Rockstar's constant attempts at milking more money out of what already is the best selling franchise ever, and now this? What was a respectful and trusted company is now turning into EA.
    They can pull off these "scams" and keep getting good revenues, but it's companies like Valve that don't need to worry about cashing-in easily and still have some of the best-selling franchises ever, due to the simple fact that they care about their consumers.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2015
    0
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 5 (Story is After World War 2)
    Cast: 7 (Great)
    Score: 0/10 (Due to no Easy Mode for me Only Hard Mode Unlocked from Start)

    Overrated By All should got less then 7.8s
  6. Oct 14, 2015
    0
    This game was a MASSIVE dissappointment. I was having fun and i was like YEAAAAH ON TO MISSION TWO and then NOPE. HERES SOME DISGUSTING CUTSCENES AND SOME CREEEEDITTTS. No mission two. Nothing added to the story. A full-price game for ONE MISSION. SCREW THAT! IT WOULDVE BEEN GREAT IF NOT FOR ONLY HAVING ONE FREAKING MISSION (Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing / 10)
  7. May 2, 2022
    4
    Historia: 0/10
    Sonido: 2/10
    Jugabilidad: 10/10
    Graficos: 10/10
    DuraciĆ³n: 1/10
    Total: 4.6
  8. Feb 11, 2016
    1
    Absolute trash! This is free content sold to the unsuspecting public, cashing in on the franchises rep. I will never buy any Metal Gear merch again, ever. And this is from someone who's played from the 1st rendition on PS one.

    Those who support this should realise they are fueling a possible trend by developers. Absolutely shocking! I gave it One coz I did have fun on the one
    Absolute trash! This is free content sold to the unsuspecting public, cashing in on the franchises rep. I will never buy any Metal Gear merch again, ever. And this is from someone who's played from the 1st rendition on PS one.

    Those who support this should realise they are fueling a possible trend by developers.

    Absolutely shocking! I gave it One coz I did have fun on the one solitary mission for about an hour.Couldn't be bothered with pointless side ops and going over the mission again. No wonder Hideo Kojima has left Konami.

    Disgraceful and a slap in the face to loyal supporters of the franchise.
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Review

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. 80
    Betting on depth of mechanics over breadth of content is a gamble, but one that massively pays off. This is a muscular, versatile slice of stealth, and a great indicator of things to come.