User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 223
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlixeViolet
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    I am desperately awaiting the sequel for this. The story was great and had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The humor was spot-on and the chemistry between the prince and Elika was amazing. The ending was manly, and there are still secrets to unlock. Additional content and bonuses make it worth replaying, and the game system never seems to get tired. The perfect blend between 3DI am desperately awaiting the sequel for this. The story was great and had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The humor was spot-on and the chemistry between the prince and Elika was amazing. The ending was manly, and there are still secrets to unlock. Additional content and bonuses make it worth replaying, and the game system never seems to get tired. The perfect blend between 3D fighting and platforming. Gotta love this game. Expand
  2. McDeadChowder
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    McDead McLikes! I
  3. SaxonU
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    This game was fantastic. I played it over Christmas at my parents house on their 52" LCD TV and could not have been more breath-taken. I tried to take my Xbox into another room to play while Dad was watching football, but playing it on a CRT just doesn't do it justice. The character development was top notch, the game play mechanics were challenging but forgiving, and what's This game was fantastic. I played it over Christmas at my parents house on their 52" LCD TV and could not have been more breath-taken. I tried to take my Xbox into another room to play while Dad was watching football, but playing it on a CRT just doesn't do it justice. The character development was top notch, the game play mechanics were challenging but forgiving, and what's more is that the ending ACTUALLY left me satisfied that I had actually earned it and sad that the game ended since I have to say bye to the characters for a year or two. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Don't see why ppl r hating on this so bad, its pretty good. I know it has some flaws, but they are few and far between. First, the characters. The witty protagonist and the serious love interest is very funny indeed and seeing how theyr get along by pressing the chat button once in a while gives me a lot of comedic banter. Next, the story. Hasn't really changed that much since the princeDon't see why ppl r hating on this so bad, its pretty good. I know it has some flaws, but they are few and far between. First, the characters. The witty protagonist and the serious love interest is very funny indeed and seeing how theyr get along by pressing the chat button once in a while gives me a lot of comedic banter. Next, the story. Hasn't really changed that much since the prince of persia series. Dark Vs Light, or defeat this evil guy, its all the same. Now onto the combat. The combo system is incredibly and the wicked acrobatics you use combined with Elena's magic make for some jaw-dropping attacks, it's ust a same the gcombat, and the platforming is all a bit too easy, on the account that you can't die. Platforming now. THis is some of the best platforming I've ever done. Easily the shining point of the game, with some sweet acrobatics and jumps where you constantly have to think fast and make the next jump or risk being sent back to the last safe platform you were on, but as I said before, it can be a bit easy at times. Finally, the graphics. I know some ppl can't stand cel-shaded graphics personally I love it, after all, Prince of Persia isn't exactly all that gritty and realistic. So, to sum it up, this is a great game, but the story is boring and but is saved 2-fold by the characters and the platforming and the combat is great but can sometimes feel just a tad too easy. Expand
  5. HagenM
    Jan 7, 2009
    8
    What a great job Ubisoft Montreal has done with the Prince of Persia series with this installment. They have taken out the emphasis on combat which started to turn the Prince of Persia series into a mediocre franchise. What they have done is returned the game to it's platforming roots, with a little bit of combat in between. What we're left with is a great game with loads What a great job Ubisoft Montreal has done with the Prince of Persia series with this installment. They have taken out the emphasis on combat which started to turn the Prince of Persia series into a mediocre franchise. What they have done is returned the game to it's platforming roots, with a little bit of combat in between. What we're left with is a great game with loads brainmelting platforming, jaw dropping scenery, amazing graphical art styles, and a genius musical score. The story has sucked me in and I have to speak with Elika every chance I get. The new Prince is a cocky and arrogant smartaleck, and that's why he's so awesome. I'm really looking forward to the next installment. Expand
  6. JayG
    Feb 3, 2009
    9
    The new PoP is visually stunning, the gameplay is absolutley fun, and the story will leave you begging for more. The only complaint which is is a lot of comments is that you cant die. Other than that the game is great, must buy for fans, rental for those who are new to the series.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 6, 2008
    8
    I was really looking forward to this, I love prince of persia to death, i have played every single pop game ever (yes even the rare dream cast one). but i have to say i am a little let down. the platforming is extremely easy, and kind of boring. its like, hit A, wait 5 full seconds, hit b, wait, hit a again, for hours. in the past games it was more like a puzzle, you had to figure out I was really looking forward to this, I love prince of persia to death, i have played every single pop game ever (yes even the rare dream cast one). but i have to say i am a little let down. the platforming is extremely easy, and kind of boring. its like, hit A, wait 5 full seconds, hit b, wait, hit a again, for hours. in the past games it was more like a puzzle, you had to figure out what to do to get past obstacles. but here every wall that needs a wallrun has scratches on it, every ring you see needs to be grabbed, and every ledge you need to jump to is worn down, and any time your little flying friend is needed the screen turns black and white(very agitating) It just feels like the game is treating you like you are a 5 year old. also there is no way to die, ever, so say your in the middle of combat, you can just drop the controller without pausing and go leave the room for a bit and come back and nothing will have changed, your character will still be there getting his ass kicked but he will not have died. also the usual puzzle elements of the other games has been mostly removed, meaning all you will be doing for this fairly lengthy adventure is fighting and jumping. Now with that being siad, you may be curios of my high score, and i give it an 8 mostly for the graphics, sound, and story. This game is abosutly beutiful, and is one of the rare games that looks better in motion, because the animation is so smooth and cool looking. there has never been a frame rate drop, or glitch, for the entire time i have played. and the game just looks like concept art in motion. Also this has got to be the most colorful game i have ever played. even your character is colorful, with his bright blue and bright red scarf. it all looks flawless and should be recognized as the best looking game of the year. I think you should buy this game if you are a fan of the series, or if you want a game with a great art style. and on a side note, this game has absolutely nothing to do with Persia for a game called Prince of Persia. Expand
  8. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Quite possibly the last "must own" of 2008 and easily one of the best action-adventure games of the year. With a fantastic soundtrack and a unique and superb look, Prince of Persia is a platformer that you shouldn't miss. Granted, it's not the hardcore platformer that fans of the series yearned for, but if you're looking for a rich story in an even richer setting, then Prince of Persia isQuite possibly the last "must own" of 2008 and easily one of the best action-adventure games of the year. With a fantastic soundtrack and a unique and superb look, Prince of Persia is a platformer that you shouldn't miss. Granted, it's not the hardcore platformer that fans of the series yearned for, but if you're looking for a rich story in an even richer setting, then Prince of Persia is for you ... If anyone wants us, we'll be waiting in a cupboard for the DLC which is due next year. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    For the most part, this game is really good. The graphics are really nice, the game play is good, the story is interesting and the characters are good. I've been a fan of the series since The Sands of Time, and I've loved Prince of Persia since. Even though this is a reboot, I liked it a lot.
  10. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    It's such a shame they didn't give this version of the series a chance. Sure there were problems with the combat, the complaints that it was "too easy" were valid and the character's weren't super well developed but the art style was breathtaking, the control was fluid, the score was excellent and by the end, I was interested in the relationship between Elika and the Prince. Like Mirror'sIt's such a shame they didn't give this version of the series a chance. Sure there were problems with the combat, the complaints that it was "too easy" were valid and the character's weren't super well developed but the art style was breathtaking, the control was fluid, the score was excellent and by the end, I was interested in the relationship between Elika and the Prince. Like Mirror's Edge, it was flawed but none of the problems were insurmountable. So much potential and such a nice package it's sad that they felt the need to scrap this version for a 3rd reboot. Expand
  11. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prince of Persia is a game that tends to the casual audience while keeping the masochistic at bay. There are some hiccups that could have been fixed, but with a beautifully unique art direction that is unparalleled to anything previously done, dynamic and perpetually new environments with seamless acrobatic platforming, much can easily be forgiven. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2019
    9
    I’ve had this game for about 7 or 8 years now and have always found myself pretty addicted to it. Once you master all the moves both in travel and combat it has a nice satisfyingly dynamic flow to it and it also feels very satisfying when you heal a fertile ground, I always found The Prince (why they didn’t bother giving him a name I don’t know) & Elika to have a really good chemistry andI’ve had this game for about 7 or 8 years now and have always found myself pretty addicted to it. Once you master all the moves both in travel and combat it has a nice satisfyingly dynamic flow to it and it also feels very satisfying when you heal a fertile ground, I always found The Prince (why they didn’t bother giving him a name I don’t know) & Elika to have a really good chemistry and Nolan North’s performance as him definitely has the same charismatic charm that he bought to Nathan Drake. I wouldn’t say it’s perfect, the whole world could maybe at least afford to have a bit more of a bigger and majestic look & feel to it, find it a bit annoying when using Breath & Wings Of Ormazd the music slowly dies down and the puzzles could maybe afford to be just little more trickier, I’m sure if Ubisoft gave it a sequel or full-on remaster all of that could be fixed but overall I’ve always found this game pretty fun & satisfying, and I guess that’s all that counts Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game's core mechanics are all still there, neatly created and presented stunningly. But underneath this evident beauty, Prince of Persia fails to deliver on any sort of a challenge, and instead of carrying on the proud tradition of the series, deviates to a considerable and damaging extent because of its simple gameplay and excessive accessibility.
  2. While Prince of Persia is definitely flawed and can even become tedious at points, it creates a dreamlike world that keeps you interested. It is an interactive extension of what good fiction tries to be, and while it's not for everyone, it can often leave you with a desire to come back for more.
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    61
    Newcomers are likely to get more out of this new trilogy's opening than veterans, who know much better. [Feb 2009, p.74]