• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2009
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 86
  2. Negative: 15 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Cheap, Retro goodness and while I don't feel the game is quite as good a game as sonic 2 was, it is still a 16 bit classic sonic game, for the price you seriously can't go wrong (pick up sonic and knuckles with it (also very cheap) and you can play through the two games as they were meant to be one whole gamebut sega released them seperately as 2 diff games).
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Simply the most perfect Sonic game on the 16 bit era. Sonic 2 took Sonic the Hedgehog and made it better but this took both of them and made them the very best they can be. More features, a great 2 player, the ability to play as Sonic and Tails (and using Tails to fly is a bonus), better power ups, great story and level transition make this easily one of the best (dare I say the best)Simply the most perfect Sonic game on the 16 bit era. Sonic 2 took Sonic the Hedgehog and made it better but this took both of them and made them the very best they can be. More features, a great 2 player, the ability to play as Sonic and Tails (and using Tails to fly is a bonus), better power ups, great story and level transition make this easily one of the best (dare I say the best) Sonic games to date. If you haven't played them you have clearly been living under a rock for the last 2 decades. Pick it up for cheap and your in for a treat.

    PS. I feel it deserves the top spot of being better than Sonic 2.
    Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    People who think that this game is better than Sonic 2 then something is honestly wrong with you. Sonic 3 gets everything better than what sonic 2 got wrong in every way and is probably the best sonic game out there
  4. Mar 1, 2019
    8
    This and Sonic and Knuckles make for the best sonic game ever made. It's just a well made, faste paced platafomer with a difficul curve that is just right. There are no lowpoint in terms of zones even though some aren't as good looking as others. Would recommend to anyone.
  5. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS UUUUGB YG G YGG GU TVYFVG Y U GUTU UT T BU EXS SWZRCUNIO P,OM HS R DYFU U Y UIONU HITU R RT. UY T RU T RZWZDT GU. HOPIK
    OJIH YFREXZEREXTCBIY AWWWESSS gunk jinvgu
  6. Jul 16, 2016
    10
    DIS GAME IS DA BEST SONIC game ever made !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i have the MEGA DRIVE VERSION BTW
  7. Jul 29, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was awesome. Locking it on to S&K makes it BETTER! S3 truly the best Mega Drive Sonic game.
    S3&K is the sequel. (Maybe?) I recommend this to any one who has the Mega Drive / Genesis, X360 or anything compatible with S3 and S&K.
    (Spoilers!: There is a glitch where if you beat a level in 9:59, you 100,000 bonus points! Patched in S3&K and S&K)
    Expand
  8. JPK
    Aug 19, 2018
    10
    3 Brilliant Games In A Row!
    Sonic The Hedgehog 3 Is Another Platformer That Guarantees A Fun Time.
  9. Feb 26, 2021
    10
    Best Classic Sonic in the Franchise, a big update than the second game, you really must play this, a big sequel and the last of the Genesis era.
  10. Sep 18, 2020
    9
    Brilliant game, decent port. For 2009, the emulation isn't half bad and still holds up impressively well, even by today's standards. So major props to that. I like the extra options, like being able to stretch the aspect ratio to whatever you want and togglable pixel smoothing, but they're nothing groundbreaking. The GUI is nice. Again, nothing special, but it doesn't need to be. Less isBrilliant game, decent port. For 2009, the emulation isn't half bad and still holds up impressively well, even by today's standards. So major props to that. I like the extra options, like being able to stretch the aspect ratio to whatever you want and togglable pixel smoothing, but they're nothing groundbreaking. The GUI is nice. Again, nothing special, but it doesn't need to be. Less is sometimes more. One thing I'm not too happy about is having to buy Sonic & Knuckles separately and as a different game. I mean, both games are pretty cheap, but for convenience's sake, I would have preferred having the full experience in one. A slightly higher price point I wouldn't mind.
    As for the game itself, it might just be the pinnacle of 2D platforming. Excellent design, head-boppin' music, brilliant art... the game is near flawless.
    All in all, pretty good port. If you just want a way to play the classic game on your Xbox 360, this is the way to go. But, for the definitive experience, not so much.
    Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2020
    8
    По мне так, лучшая часть трилогии. Очень красивая- куча пиксельный деталей. Игра наконец-то под конец наконец)) не скатывается в внезапные шипы на скорости. Мини игра нормально проходиться. На метакритикие объединенной игры нет, так что 'этот отзыв именно о sonic the hadgehog 3 and nukcles.По мне так, лучшая часть трилогии. Очень красивая- куча пиксельный деталей. Игра наконец-то под конец наконец)) не скатывается в внезапные шипы на скорости. Мини игра нормально проходиться. На метакритикие объединенной игры нет, так что 'этот отзыв именно о sonic the hadgehog 3 and nukcles.
  12. Nov 2, 2020
    10
    This game is wonderful! This is by far my favorite game in the entire 2D series of Sonic games!
  13. Feb 4, 2021
    9
    Amazing Sonic game with michael jackson music it just doesnt get any better than this and also you move fast super-duper fast
  14. Feb 26, 2021
    10
    Amazing game, you must play this, long level and fun desing, really outstading music, really loong game for a 16bit platformer, try one time at least.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 80
    Sonic the Hedgehog 3 is a fantastic game, but you can find it elsewhere for cheaper. This package adds a few things you can't find in most other Sonic re-releases, such as online play and leaderboards, but those really don't add much.
  2. Not quite a stone-cold classic, but close enough to make the low asking price a no-brainer.
  3. For 400 Microsoft points, Sonic 3 is not just a pleasant trip down memory lane, but a welcome return to a series that has gone awry.